The great migration, Serengeti National Park The great migration, Serengeti National Park
ParkReviewDetailView

Serengeti National Park

82 reviews

Safari suitability: 10/10

Find your tour

This park has it all and an incredible tourism infrastructure to boot.

Found in: Tanzania
Companies: 2075
Tour packages: 3284
Wildlife: 37 animals listed
Total area: 14,763 km² or 5700 miles²
Year established: 1951
Anti-malarial: Not required

What YAS members think

Quality of wildlife:
Crowdedness:
Quality of lodging:
Most-visited month:
July
* Crowded parks have a lower rating

Highlights

  • Annual migration of over two million ungulates

  • The big five are present here

  • Vast, open plains with the ability to get away from crowds and have your own ‘private’ safari.

About Serengeti National Park

Serengeti National Park is one of the most famous parks in Africa and is certainly Tanzania’s most famous and visited park. Established in 1951, it is also Tanzania’s oldest national park. Measuring around 14,763 km² or 5700 miles², it is over six times the size of its contiguous park in Kenya—the ​Masai Mara.  The Serengeti and Masai Mara are very similar in terrain and in the types of wildlife sightings, but off-road driving is severely limited in the Serengeti whereas it is freely allowed in the Masai Mara. By restricting where the safari vehicles can travel, the wildlife of the Serengeti are less accessible to tourist and are able to live in a more wild environment. 

Serengeti wildlife

Serengeti is home to the big five and big seven, which are the big five plus cheetah and wild dog. Probably the biggest claim to fame for the Serengeti is its annual migration of herbivores. All year-round over three million herbivores travel throughout the Serengeti, in a clockwise fashion, in search of the most lush and nutritious grasses. While the main stars of the migration are the blue (or white-bearded) wildebeest, of which there are over two million, the annual migration also includes herbivores such as zebras and various species of antelope. 

Regions of the Serengeti

The Serengeti is generally divided into four sections:     

  •  Central Serengeti

  •  Eastern and Southern Serengeti

  •  Northern Serengeti

  •  Western Serengeti


Central Serengeti

The central region of the Serengeti is a very fertile area with year-round water supplies. At the heart of the Serengeti is the Seronera Valley, with its lush green grasses and rivers. The year-round water results in resident prides of lions and other predators that do not need to follow the migration as they’ve adequate prey around the water supplies. Almost any safari to the Serengeti will include a few days in the central region as there is always ample wildlife to be seen. 

Eastern and Southern Serengeti

The eastern and southern regions are where the short grass plains are, which makes for an excellent viewing locale for cheetahs. The area is more open here and one can see a large number of elephants and, during the migration, prides o f lions. 

Northern Serengeti

As one heads north, the land becomes more rolling and is dotted with trees. The migration passes through this area on its way up to Kenya and must cross two rivers in the north: the Grumeti River and the Mara River. Both rivers are home to the Nile crocodile and crossings are a sight to behold. This region is also home to the largest population of elephants. 


Western Serengeti

The western corridor is the least visited but has much to offer. The Grumeti River also runs through here and makes for excellent game viewing when the migration passes through. This area tends to be more open than that of the north and central and regions.

When to see the annual wildebeest migration in the Serengeti
 

Month Wildebeest location in the Serengeti
January Central Serengeti, Eastern and Southern Serengeti
February Eastern and Southern Serengeti
March Eastern and Southern Serengeti
April Central Serengeti, Eastern and Southern Serengeti
May Central Serengeti. Western Serengeti
June Central Serengeti. Western Serengeti
July Western Serengeti, Northern Serengeti
August Northern Serengeti
September Northern Serengeti
October Northern Serengeti
November Northern Serengeti, Central Serengeti
December Central Serengeti, Eastern and Southern Serengeti

The Serengeti is often considered the best wildlife reserve in Africa, and it offers an unparalleled concentration of wildlife. 

When is the best time to visit the Serengeti?

The Serengeti is a top safari destination at any time of year. January through early March is when the ungulates of the great migration give birth.
Looking to see baby wildebeest faces? Visit in January or February.
After a cheaper safari? March through May is the long rain season, which has its benefits, including lower lodging prices, less tourists and flowers.
Want that wildebeest river crossing photo? July through October sees the migration in northern Serengeti, where wildebeest must cross the perilous Mara River.

"Best Tanzanian National Park"
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Sep. 2022 Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2023 Submitted in:

The Serengeti National Park in Tanzania is an absolute marvel. The expansive plains, teeming with wildlife, create a breathtaking spectacle. The thrill of witnessing lions prowling, elephants roaming freely, and the Great Migration in action is unparalleled. The park's pristine beauty, coupled with knowledgeable guides, ensures an immersive and educational safari experience. Serengeti National Park truly embodies the raw essence of African wildlife, leaving visitors in awe of nature's wonders.

Quality of wildlife
Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
By: EXPLORE
Safari tour operator
Tanzania Tanzania
Visited: Sep. 2022
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2023

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!

Sort by:

"A Journey Into the Heart of the Wild: Serengeti National Park Marvels"
United States United States
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Feb. 2024 Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2024 Submitted in:

Serengeti National Park, a name that evokes images of boundless plains, iconic wildlife, and the rhythm of life in its purest form. My recent visit to this legendary park was nothing short of a mesmerizing adventure, leaving an indelible mark on my soul. From the moment we entered the park, the vastness of the Serengeti unfolded before us like a canvas painted with the colors of nature. Endless stretches of golden grasslands stretched to the horizon, punctuated by rocky outcrops and acacia trees silhouetted against the sky. It was a landscape that seemed to defy description, its beauty transcending words. As we embarked on game drives through the park, we were greeted by an astonishing array of wildlife at every turn. Towering giraffes gracefully moved through the savannah, while herds of elephants roamed leisurely in search of water. Zebras and wildebeests dotted the plains in their thousands, their movements synchronized in the timeless dance of the great migration. But it was the predators of the Serengeti that truly captured my imagination. Lions lounged lazily in the shade of acacia trees, their golden coats blending seamlessly with the surrounding grasslands. Cheetahs prowled the plains with unmatched grace and agility, their sleek forms a testament to nature's perfection. And elusive leopards, masters of stealth, watched from the branches above, their piercing gaze a reminder of the wildness that still thrives in this untamed land. One of the most unforgettable moments of our journey was witnessing a river crossing during the great migration. As thousands of wildebeests and zebras braved the crocodile-infested waters of the Mara River, the air was filled with a palpable sense of anticipation and adrenaline. It was a spectacle of nature unlike anything I had ever seen before, a testament to the enduring cycle of life and death in the Serengeti. Throughout our time in the park, our guide's passion for the Serengeti and its wildlife was palpable. Their knowledge and expertise not only enhanced our safari experience but also deepened our appreciation for the delicate balance of this ecosystem. From identifying animal tracks to unraveling the intricacies of predator-prey relationships, every moment spent with our guide was a masterclass in conservation and respect for nature. In conclusion, Serengeti National Park is more than just a destination – it is a sanctuary for the soul, a place where the wild spirit of Africa thrives in all its glory. My journey into the heart of the Serengeti was a transformative experience, one that left me humbled by the beauty and resilience of the natural world. If you have ever dreamed of embarking on a safari adventure, I urge you to make Serengeti National Park your destination – for it is here that the magic of Africa truly comes alive.

Quality of wildlife
Quality of lodging
Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
By: Wogji
None
United States United States
Visited: Feb. 2024
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2024

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"The best park indeed. Often no need for binoculars."
Safari guru
Tanzania Tanzania
52 kudus
Reviews (4)
Visited: Feb. 2024 Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2024 Submitted in:

An amazing place to see all the Animas of the region in their natural habitat. You can see all of the "big five" within a couple of hours. Serengeti Nation Park is truly an Africa "must see/experience". Often no need for binoculars.

Quality of wildlife
Quality of lodging
Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
Safari guru
Tanzania Tanzania
Visited: Feb. 2024
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2024

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Best serengeti safari"
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Reviews (3)
Visited: Oct. 2023 Reviewed: Jan. 02, 2024 Submitted in:

What can be said about the Serengeti that hasn’t already been said? This is simply Africa as you always imagined it. Endless rolling bleached grasslands with scattered flat-topped acacia trees and animals everywhere. This is the Tanzania’ mirror image of Kenya’s Masai Mara and it’s physically much the same but on a much larger scale. Kenya’s Masai Mara is probably my single favourite park in Africa but the only reason it beats the Serengeti is because I know it better. If I had to choose between the two though, then it would simply come down to the time of year. Between roughly late-October and early June the Serengeti is home to over a million wildebeest and thousands of other grazers, but from June to October the majority of those animals head north to the Masai Mara in what’s known as the wildebeest migration. My decision as to which of the two parks would basically come down to where the wildebeest were at the time of my visit.

Quality of wildlife
Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
By: MBEGA
Safari tour operator
Tanzania Tanzania
Visited: Oct. 2023
Reviewed: Jan. 02, 2024

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Heaven on earth"
Safari guru
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jul. 2023 Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2023 Submitted in:

I have been to this park more than 70 times but each time I feel like it's the first time. Beautiful endless scenery, abundant wildlife healthy ecosystem and above all "The great migration". For sure Serengeti is a heaven on earth planet.

Quality of wildlife
Quality of lodging
Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
Safari guru
Tanzania Tanzania
Visited: Jul. 2023
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2023

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Epic 5-day group safari in Tarangire, Serengeti, Ngorongoro"
Netherlands Netherlands
0 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Aug. 2023 Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2023 Submitted in:

Our 5-day group camping safari, with six of us in a friendly jeep, was an absolute delight! The adventure was taken up a notch with the camaraderie under starry nights. Our guide made wildlife encounters unforgettable as we explored Tarangire, Serengeti, and Ngorongoro. Camping at Nyani Campsite in Serengeti and Simba Campsite in Ngorongoro added a rustic charm, making the experience even more memorable. Hats off to the team for a fantastic camping safari! Highly recommend for a short and unforgettable group adventure!

Quality of wildlife
Quality of lodging
Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
By: Yaby
None
Netherlands Netherlands
Visited: Aug. 2023
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2023

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Serengeti, the unforgettable experience!"
Kenya Kenya
5 kudus
Reviews (5)
Visited: Oct. 2023 Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2023 Submitted in:

One of the best decisions i made this year was traveling to Serengeti National Park, Tanzania. This park has captivating landscape and is filled with abundance of wildlife. The moment we entered the park, we were greeted by iconic grasslands punctuated by acacia trees that stretch as far as the eye could see. We had a very nice guide who made sure that we would navigate the terrains to see all kinds of wildlife! Our group were treated to the best bush breakfast that has left me wanting to go back. Given the second chance to travel again before the year ends, the i will choose Serengeti again and again.

Quality of wildlife
Quality of lodging
Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
By: Sitonic
Safari tour operator
Kenya Kenya
Visited: Oct. 2023
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2023

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"The beauty of Tanzania Serengeti National Park"
United States United States
1 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jul. 2023 Reviewed: Nov. 09, 2023 Submitted in:

Serengeti National Park is the most beautiful with the attractive Big 5 animals and others. This park made me to reach my explore target in Tanzania and it is most memorable for lifetime adventure

Quality of wildlife
Quality of lodging
Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
None
United States United States
Visited: Jul. 2023
Reviewed: Nov. 09, 2023

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Serengeti National Park. A stunning gem of Tanzania's wilderness"
Top contributor
Safari guru
African traveller
Tanzania Tanzania
210 kudus
Reviews (11)
Visited: Oct. 2022 Reviewed: Nov. 04, 2023 Submitted in:

As Dakado Tanzania Safari, Tour Operator in Serengeti Big 5, I've had the privilege of exploring the remarkable Serengeti National Park extensively, and it's a place that never ceases to amaze me with its breathtaking beauty. This iconic wilderness reserve in Tanzania is a natural wonder that encapsulates the very essence of Africa's untamed splendor. Majestic Wildlife: What sets Serengeti apart is its remarkable wildlife. The park is home to the famous "Big Five" lions, elephants, leopards, buffalo, and rhinoceros. But it's not just about these magnificent creatures. The Serengeti boasts an astonishing array of fauna, from graceful giraffes to the agile cheetahs and a dazzling variety of birdlife. The annual Great Migration of wildebeest and zebras is a sight to behold, as thousands of animals move across the plains in search of greener pastures.

Quality of wildlife
Quality of lodging
Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
Safari guru
Tanzania Tanzania
Visited: Oct. 2022
Reviewed: Nov. 04, 2023

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Africa's crown jewel of wildlife"
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jul. 2023 Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2023 Submitted in:

Serengeti National Park has long held the title of Africa's Best National Park, and 2023 is no exception. With its breathtaking landscapes, astonishing biodiversity, and captivating wildlife, it remains a top destination for nature enthusiasts and adventure seekers alike. This year, the park proudly clinched the award for "Africa's Best National Park," reaffirming its status as a natural wonder that deserves the recognition it receives. Awards and Accolades: 2023: Africa's Best National Park - Serengeti National Park has once again been honored as the best in the continent, an award that underscores its unwavering commitment to wildlife conservation and eco-tourism. Africa's Leading National Park at the World Travel Awards: Serengeti National Park has been a consistent winner of the Africa's Leading National Park category at the World Travel Awards, highlighting its status as one of the premier national parks in the African continent. Best National Park in Africa by Safari Awards: Serengeti National Park has been a recipient of the Best National Park in Africa award by Safari Awards, further solidifying its reputation as a top wildlife destination in the region. African Safari Awards - Best National Park: The park has received recognition at the African Safari Awards in the Best National Park category, underscoring its exceptional wildlife experiences and natural beauty The Uniqueness of Serengeti: Wildebeest Migration The most iconic event that defines the Serengeti is the Great Wildebeest Migration. It's an awe-inspiring spectacle that attracts visitors from around the world. Every year, over a million wildebeests, along with zebras and gazelles, embark on a perilous journey in search of greener pastures. This epic migration unfolds in a dramatic fashion as predators lurk nearby, waiting for their opportunity to pounce. Witnessing this extraordinary migration is a testament to the unending circle of life in the wild, and it's an experience that etches itself into the memory of anyone fortunate enough to behold it. Mara River Crossing If there's one event within the Great Migration that captures the imagination, it's the heart-pounding Mara River crossing. As thousands of wildebeests gather at the riverbank, the tension builds. Crocodiles lie in wait, and the currents are treacherous. As the first brave wildebeest takes the plunge, the rest follow, creating a chaotic and tumultuous spectacle. It's an incredible battle for survival, and it's not uncommon to witness predator-prey interactions of a lifetime. The Mara River crossing epitomizes the raw and unfiltered drama of the African wilderness. Landscape Diversity Beyond the migration, the Serengeti is a land of diverse landscapes. From vast grasslands and acacia-dotted savannas to wooded hills and rocky outcrops, the park offers a rich tapestry of natural beauty. Each season brings its own unique charm, from the lush greenery of the wet season to the dusty drama of the dry season. The Serengeti's ever-changing scenery ensures that no two visits are ever the same. Remarkable Wildlife Serengeti National Park is home to the Big Five (lion, elephant, buffalo, leopard, and rhinoceros) and an impressive array of other wildlife species. Whether it's witnessing a lioness nursing her cubs, observing a cheetah in hot pursuit of prey, or spotting a leopard camouflaged in the branches of a tree, the Serengeti is a wildlife lover's paradise. Cultural Richness The park is not just about wildlife; it's also a place where you can experience the rich cultures of the local Maasai people. Engage with Maasai tribes and learn about their customs, traditions, and way of life, which have coexisted with the wildlife for centuries.

Quality of wildlife
Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
By: DEXTERS
None
Tanzania Tanzania
Visited: Jul. 2023
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2023

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"My luxury safari in Tanzania"
Safari guru
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Dec. 2022 Reviewed: May. 05, 2023 Submitted in:

I took a luxury package with Pocho Tours to Tanzania. The entire experience was incredible! The tour guides were knowledgeable, friendly and accommodating. They made sure that our group had the best possible experience in Tanzania. The accommodations were luxurious and the food was delicious. The wildlife sightings were spectacular and we were able to take many pictures and videos to remember our trip.

Quality of wildlife
Quality of lodging
Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
Safari guru
Tanzania Tanzania
Visited: Dec. 2022
Reviewed: May. 05, 2023

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!

Driving to the Serengeti from Arusha

Most international flights will arrive at JRO, Kilimanjaro International Airport. As many of the international flights arrive in the evening, many tour operators will have guests spend their first night in Arusha, which is about 45 minutes away. Depending on where in the Serengeti you are headed, the drive will take between four and six hours. The first part of the journey will be on tarmac roads, which allow for faster speeds. The roads then turn to dirt, and become bumpier. Most people who drive to the Serengeti combine the trip with a visit to Ngorongoro Crater since the park is en route. 

Domestic flights from Arusha, Dar es Salaam or Kilimanjaro to the Serengeti 

The Serengeti is easily accessible by plane, with domestic flights daily out of Arusha and Dar es Salaam. There are a few air strips in the Serengeti: one in the northern part, one in the western corridor and one in the central area, Seronera.

The following airlines travel to Serengeti National Park


company logo

As Salaam Air has grown to be a leading air carrier between the Tanzanian Islands. Our experienced team understands that customer satisfaction is important to the creation of a successful flight operation. Thus, we go above and beyond to satisfy our clients. The airline plies eight routes to promote tourism within and outside the country. We have two fuel-efficient aircraft – Cessna 208B Grand Caravan and Embraer EMB 120 Brasilia, which are good for the environment and the safety of our clients.We would like to help you discover more about our Islands here on our website and at every step of your journey Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

Auric Air Services Ltd is Tanzania's preferred corporate and safari airline with a wide network of domestic scheduled services with daily scheduled services to more than 30 destinations and handles approximately 8500 passengers every month. From its bases at Mwanza Airport—Mwanza, Julius Nyerere International Airport—Dar-es-salaam and Arusha Airport, Auric Air provides scheduled charter flights to some of the most remote and otherwise inaccessible destinations (parks & game reserves) within Tanzania. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

Coastal Aviation is an airline operating out of Dar es Salaam - charter flights. Coastal Aviation flying to some 100 strips located in some of the most isolated pockets of the East African Region. The scheduled Coastal network also connects visitors to Kenya, Uganda and Rwanda with the world-famous Serengeti, links the emerging tourism destinations of Mozambique with the Southern Tanzania parks of Selous and Ruaha, and unites the tropical island paradises of Pemba, Zanzibar, Mafia and Fanjove Private Iaslandwith the National Parks and towns of the mainland. Our state of the art fleet is composed of 20 aircraft and has been expertly-adapted to the African safari environment, without compromise to safety and comfort. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

Flightlink is a scheduled airline with Air Operator Certificate (AOC) and Air Service License (ASL) granted by Tanzania Civil Aviation Authority & Kenya Civil Aviation Authority to conduct Private & Scheduled Flight under Public Transport category within the region. All the aircraft in our fleet are chosen for their excellent safety records and their ability to perform in even in the most hostile conditions, so landing be it in the bush or on tarmac is not at all taxing. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

Precision Air is a publicly-listed Tanzanian airline and a leader in providing scheduled flight services to over 10 destinations within and outside Tanzania from its main hub Dar es Salaam. The company operates on the principle that quick, comfortable and reliable service is the best way to serve its customers. Through its customer-focused approach, many have become part of the Precision Air family. Precision Air started with its headquarters in Arusha - the midpoint between the Cape and Cairo, which is the entry point to many of Tanzania's world-renowned landmarks and national parks. The headquarters of Precision Air are now Dar es Salaam, the business complex of the country, which is home to a vast size of traffic travelling within and outside Tanzania. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

Premium Charter Service is an air charter broker based in Tanzania. We offer our valued clients a truly exclusive flying experience, one that combines luxury with the convenience of flying privately. Our network of domestic and international operators adheres to strict standards of quality. We deliver a superior experience to our clients with a high level of professionalism. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

Regional air is a recognized leader in the aviation industry in Tanzania, the airline began in 1997 with one pilot and one aircraft. They are affiliated to the long-established Nairobi-based domestic airline, Airkenya. We are based in the northern Tanzanian town of Arusha. Arusha is the starting point of safaris into Northern Tanzania, as the airline also offers charters to these various parks and game reserves. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

Safari Plus is Tanzania’s first, Premium Charter operator in Tanzania positioned to offer unique flying experience while giving our customers flexibility and total control over their travel needs around the country and beyond. The Airline was established in 2009. 1 x Beechcraft King Air 350 with 8 Seats configured in executive club seating. 2 x Beechcraft 1900D with 18 Seats. Head office based in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania. Operating base at Julius Nyerere International Airport. Approved by the Tanzania Civil Aviation Authority to operate both; Scheduled Air Services and Non-Schedule Air Services (Charter Services). Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

Premier safari airline and charter. Safarilink is Kenya's premier safari airline with a network of connecting domestic scheduled services to all the best safari destinations within Kenya and across the border into northern Tanzania. From it's base at Wilson Airport, Nairobi SafariLink provides daily scheduled flights to Masai Mara, Amboseli, Tsavo West, Naivasha, Nanyuki, Lewa Downs, Samburu, Lamu, Kilimanjaro, Loisaba, Migori and Diani Beach. Additionally it can also provide private charter flights if a client's particular requirement as regards destination or timing cannot be met by the scheduled services. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

TANZANAIR was formed in 1969 and pioneered aviation throughout Tanzania. Today it continues to live up to its slogan as the“Complete Aviation Company”. It was founded by Dinos J Samaras who managed the Company until he passed away in April 2010. It is now headed by his son John Samaras who was his deputy since 1983. With 45 years’ experience, TANZANAIR offers tailor-made air travel to suit the needs of its customers. With a modern fleet of twin and single-engine Cessna and Beechcraft turbine aircraft, TANZANAIR’s well-established reputation leads the way in air charter services throughout the region. TANZANAIR operates out of its own purpose-built Passenger Terminal located between Terminal I and II at Julius Nyerere International Airport in Dar es Salaam. The passenger lounge is adjacent to the two hangars. It is housed within a secure wall enclosed compound with ample parking facilities. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

ZanAir Limited is a domestic airline based in Zanzibar. Since their inaugural flight in 1992, ZanAir has continued to establish a quality reputation, serving esteemed clientele. ZanAir is an acknowledged expert within Tanzania serving all destinations, including remote unpaved bush locations. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

Flown by an international team of pilots, Zantas Air has one of the youngest fleets of Cessna Grand Caravans in Tanzania. These are maintained to the highest safety standards and comply with the ICAO, CESSNA, and TCAA directives. We have an exclusive lounge at Arusha airport. Guests can relax in our comfortable lounge while they wait for their flight. Our operations are designed to suit our client's needs with a customized itinerary based on their schedule. Zantas Air works with its sister company, Mbali Mbali Lodges and Camps, to offer shared charter flights. We fly passengers from Northern Tanzania to Western Tanzania twice a week on Monday and Thursdays. Visit website

Also flies to:

Serengeti map