Hyenas in Amboseli | Transtrek Safaris Hyenas in Amboseli | Transtrek Safaris
ParkReviewDetailView

Amboseli National Park

53 reviews

Safari suitability: 9/10

Find your tour

Elephants at the base of Mount Kilimanjaro and close proximity to major international airports.

Found in: Kenya
Companies: 1339
Tour packages: 1146
Wildlife: 19 animals listed
Total area: 392 km² (151 mi²)
Year established: 1974
Anti-malarial: Not required

What YAS members think

Quality of wildlife:
Crowdedness:
Quality of lodging:
Most-visited month:
July
* Crowded parks have a lower rating

Highlights

  • Views of majestic, snow-capped Mount Kilimanjaro

  • Masai villages

  • Safari by vehicle, horseback and hot air balloon

  • Big five present

  • January through March and July through October are the best times to visit

About Amboseli National Park

Located in the Loitoktok District of Kenya’s Rift Valley province, home to the Masai, Amboseli National Park—previously known as Masai Amboseli Game Reserve—is located 140 km (87 miles) south of Nairobi and just northwest of snow-capped, free-standing Mount Kilimanjaro. The Kilimanjaro-adjacent park is known for its elephants and proffers 392 km² (151 miles²) of remarkable scenery.

Part of a larger ecosystem surrounding the border of Kenya and Tanzania, Amboseli is a study in contrasts, mingling the browns of savannah and elephant with the blues of mountain and sky to grand effect and plentiful habitat. Plains, woodland, bush country, swamp and marshland dot the park, and impala, cheetah, hyena, giraffe, wildebeest and zebra ramble alongside the big five, beneath hundreds of flitting bird species and against the background of majestic Mount Kilimanjaro. Underground water supplied by the mountain’s ice cap and filtered through its volcanic rock pools in two clear-water springs within the park.

Amboseli doesn’t allow safari by foot, but safari by vehicle, horseback and hot air balloon each provide extraordinary views of animal, vegetable and mineral, and the park’s Observation Hill overlooks mountain and mammal alike.

The best times to visit Amboseli National Park

January through March and July through October are the best times to visit, with July through October coinciding with the dry season. It is during the dry season that the animals are forced around the remaining water supplies and make for some great game viewing. That said, the dry season is also peak tourist season and, given Amboseli's small size, can mean crowds. The long rains come in March and run through the end of May, but also mean lush, green scenery and flowers. Very few lodges close during the rainy season, so budget-hunters may wish to consider the off-season. 

"Amboseli National Park"
Safari guru
Kenya Kenya
162 kudus
Reviews (3)
Visited: Mar. 2017 Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2017

Amboseli National Park is one of the best places to see elephants in Kenya. In addition to the elephants, you are sure to see the zebra, gnu (wildebeest), hippopotamus, buffalo, spotted hyena, waterbuck, Maasai giraffe, Thomson's and Grant's gazelle, impala, lion and cheetah. It was incredible to see the Mt.Kilimanjaro with snow on the top so beautiful. The elephants are amazing with so many families the baby elephants are just a beautiful site to see. Would highly recommend this park.

Quality of wildlife
Quality of lodging
Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating

11People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
Safari guru
Kenya Kenya
Visited: Mar. 2017
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2017

11People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!

Sort by:

"Most stunning national park"
Safari guru
Kenya Kenya
0 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jul. 2023 Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2024 Submitted in:

Amboseli National Park is one a kind due to its swampy nature. The animals are in plenty, and the park is not too big so you do not have to spend hours and hours looking for wildlife. My favorite part is how some big animals like elephants look somewhat tiny because half of their bodies are submerged into the muddy water. The birdlife there is also incredible. The vastness of the park makes spotting animals easy and enjoyable. Last but not least are the overwhelming views of Mount Kilimanjaro. As a photographer, one would have amazing pictures taken against the backdrop and the elephants there are always in plenty so it is very easy to achieve spectacular shots. The lodges in Amboseli are beautiful positioned and cater to all types of travelers. Whether you’re traveling on a budget, midrange or luxury there are lodges and facilities to accommodate your travel needs. Airstrips are easily accessible for those who opt to fly in and balloon rides are also available for those who wish to experience the park from an eagles point of view.

Quality of wildlife
Quality of lodging
Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
Safari guru
Kenya Kenya
Visited: Jul. 2023
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2024

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"A tour destination for a lifetime!"
Kenya Kenya
5 kudus
Reviews (5)
Visited: Oct. 2021 Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2023 Submitted in:

As I stepped into this park, I was immediately captivated by the sheer beauty of the Landscape! The open savannah dotted with acacia trees and shimmering with golden grass that stretch as far as eye could gave me the best feeling. Amboseli National Park should always be in the bucket list of every traveler. I was able to have a look at the incredible array of wildlife. Every moment felt like a scene from wildlife documentary come to life! The highlight of my tour was elephants roaming freely in their natural habitat. Such an experience left me in awe!

Quality of wildlife
Quality of lodging
Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
By: Sitonic
Safari tour operator
Kenya Kenya
Visited: Oct. 2021
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2023

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"The park fed by Kilimanjaro water"
Uganda Uganda
29 kudus
Reviews (4)
Visited: Sep. 2013 Reviewed: Oct. 03, 2023 Submitted in:

Its one of the best national parks i have so far visited in Africa, but my heart still goes for Masai Mara and Serengeti, When i visited the park in the morning the water level was ok, and we experience tough water floods in the park, and our guide told us that it happen when there is too much sun shine and melt the snow and form water flow through the river to the park. We saw a lot of flamingos, Hyena and lot of Elephants grazing in the swamp.

Quality of wildlife
Quality of lodging
Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
Safari tour operator
Uganda Uganda
Visited: Sep. 2013
Reviewed: Oct. 03, 2023

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Elephantastic !!"
Kenya Kenya
6 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: May. 2023 Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2023 Submitted in:

Amboseli National Park in Kenya is home to the majestic elephants of Amboseli. These giants, with their impressive size and intricate social structure, captivate all who encounter them. The park's diverse vegetation provides a perfect habitat for these elephants to thrive. Amboseli's elephants are known for their enormous size, with males reaching heights of up to four meters and weighing six tons. They live in tight-knit family units led by a matriarch, who plays a vital role in guiding and protecting the group. The elephants communicate through a range of vocalizations, showcasing their emotional intelligence and strong bonds. However, these magnificent creatures face challenges such as human encroachment and poaching. Conservation efforts are crucial for their protection. Responsible tourism plays a significant role in raising awareness and supporting elephant conservation. Visitors to Amboseli National Park can witness these incredible creatures in their natural habitat and contribute to their preservation. The elephants of Amboseli symbolize the grandeur of nature and remind us of the importance of safeguarding wildlife. Let us cherish and celebrate these magnificent giants, ensuring a future where they continue to inspire awe and wonder for generations to come.

Quality of wildlife
Quality of lodging
Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
By: otuga
Safari tour operator
Kenya Kenya
Visited: May. 2023
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2023

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Wonderful safari"
By:
Italy Italy
0 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Aug. 2014 Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2023 Submitted in:

We did 4 days of safari it was really mind blowing. Amboseli, Tsavo East and Tsavo West. Amboseli is what impressed me the most. We saw tons of animals: elephant, giraffe, leopard, cheetah, hyena, jackal, hippo and lion and lionesses. The lodges we stayed in were all beautiful. Our very professional guide, who also spoke Italian well, showed us everything that was possible to see. I recommend this experience to everyone

Quality of wildlife
Quality of lodging
Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
By: None
None
Italy Italy
Visited: Aug. 2014
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2023

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Great park and guaranteed pleasure"
Kenya Kenya
0 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jul. 2020 Reviewed: Feb. 03, 2022 Submitted in:

The location of Amboseli National Park makes it a huge attraction for inclusion in a Kenya safari holiday. The whole park is overlooked by the world famous views of Mount Kilimanjaro. Kilimanjaro is undoubtedly best seen at dusk or dawn when low hanging clouds thin out to reveal the iced summit of this continent’s highest mountain. This backdrop has contributed to this park being amongst the most visited in Kenya, which has brought its own drawbacks. On my last visit I stayed in the beautiful Kibo Safari camp. Magnificent views of the Kili, large herds of elephants and plain game. Its a park I can always recommend!

Quality of wildlife
Quality of lodging
Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
Safari tour operator
Kenya Kenya
Visited: Jul. 2020
Reviewed: Feb. 03, 2022

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Amboseli National Park experience"
Safari guru
Kenya Kenya
11 kudus
Reviews (2)
Visited: Dec. 2020 Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2021 Submitted in:

Great sightings at Amboseli National Park on my holiday experience during December. Amboseli is a popular safari destination in Kenya with a super view of Mount Kilimanjaro-the highest mountain in Africa. Many wildlife attractions included; different bird species, lions, many buffaloes, big tusked elephants, zebras, giraffes, cheetah, and many more.

Quality of wildlife
Quality of lodging
Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
By: Safari
Safari guru
Kenya Kenya
Visited: Dec. 2020
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2021

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Mountain in Tanzania, view it in Kenya"
Kenya Kenya
7 kudus
Reviews (2)
Visited: Apr. 2019 Reviewed: Feb. 03, 2020

What amazing views from Amboseli, this is breathtakingly beautiful views while in Kenya. We call it the floor of Africa but we call it the Majestic Kilimanjaro

Quality of wildlife
Quality of lodging
Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating

2People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
Safari tour operator
Kenya Kenya
Visited: Apr. 2019
Reviewed: Feb. 03, 2020

2People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Breathtaking trip"
Safari guru
Kenya Kenya
67 kudus
Reviews (8)
Visited: Sep. 2019 Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2019

We had a very smooth and wonderful three day safari trip to Amboseli National Park that is crowned by Mount Kilimanjaro, Africa's highest peak and the tallest free standing mountain in the world. The name "Amboseli" comes from a Maasai word meaning "salty dust", and it is one of the best places in Africa to view large herds of elephants up close range. Nature lovers can explore five different habitats here ranging from the dried-up bed of Lake Amboseli, wetlands with sulphur springs, the savannah and woodlands.

Quality of wildlife
Quality of lodging
Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating

6People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
Safari guru
Kenya Kenya
Visited: Sep. 2019
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2019

6People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Incredible elephant safari destination"
Kenya Kenya
962 kudus
Reviews (8)
Visited: Jun. 2019 Reviewed: Oct. 08, 2019

If you are an elephant lover this is the game reserve that you definitely need to visit. It has one of the largest elephant herds in Kenya. You'll get to see them moving about and if you are a photographer it'll even be better for you. Also, Amboseli offers the best view of Mount Kilimanjaro either early in the morning or late evening depending on the weather conditions at the time of your visiting. Apart from the elephants and Mount Kilimanjaro, you'll get to see various wildlife species like lions, cheetahs, buffaloes, zebras and birds.

Quality of wildlife
Quality of lodging
Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating

5People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
Safari tour operator
Kenya Kenya
Visited: Jun. 2019
Reviewed: Oct. 08, 2019

5People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!

Driving to Amboseli from Nairobi

Amboseli is just under four hours away, in vehicle, in normal conditions. 

Driving to Amboseli from Kilimanjaro International Airport

The drive from JRO to Amboseli is just under three hours, in normal conditions, and from Arusha to Amboseli is closer to four hours. 

Domestic flights to Amboseli

Safarlink offers daily flights from Nairobi Wilson to Amboseil. The direct flight time is 45 minutes. Air Kenya also offers daily flights. 

The following airlines travel to Amboseli National Park


company logo

Regional services within Kenya. At Airkenya safety and security are of paramount importance. As one of Africas leading aviation companies Airkenya aspires to reach new heights of service delivery. At Airkenya our diverse operations are looked into with eagle eyes. Our aircraft are thoroughly inspected by highly trained engineers to ensure our passengers enjoy consistently smooth safe flights. Our excellent maintenance facilities have been approved by the Kenya Civil Aviation Authority and the Tanzania Civil Aviation Authority in accordance with international airworthiness safety standards. This together with our dedicated ground team has secured Airkenya an impressive track record for safety. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

Mombasa Air Safari is a Kenya coast scheduled airline. MOMBASA AIR SAFARI has been based at Mombasa's Moi International Airport since 1974. Our offices at Mombasa and Diani Beach Ukunda Airport are open during normal business hours. Our agent in Malindi Southern Sky Safaris have offices in the centre of Malindi. Our fleet consists of five aircraft with a seat capacity exceeding 100 seats. We have our own maintenance capability based at Moi International Airport Mombasa. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

Premier safari airline and charter. Safarilink is Kenya's premier safari airline with a network of connecting domestic scheduled services to all the best safari destinations within Kenya and across the border into northern Tanzania. From it's base at Wilson Airport, Nairobi SafariLink provides daily scheduled flights to Masai Mara, Amboseli, Tsavo West, Naivasha, Nanyuki, Lewa Downs, Samburu, Lamu, Kilimanjaro, Loisaba, Migori and Diani Beach. Additionally it can also provide private charter flights if a client's particular requirement as regards destination or timing cannot be met by the scheduled services. Visit website

Also flies to:

Amboseli map