Kilimanjaro Kilimanjaro
ParkReviewDetailView

Kilimanjaro National Park

186 reviews

Safari suitability: 2/10

Find your tour

Visitors will see some big game and other African animals on their trek, but this park is really all about summiting the tallest mountain in Africa.

Found in: Tanzania
Companies: 1708
Tour packages: 1897
Wildlife: 2 animals listed
Total area: Encompasses the entire mountain above the tree line
Year established: 1973
Anti-malarial: Not required

What YAS members think

Quality of wildlife:
Not reviewed
Crowdedness:
Quality of lodging:
Not reviewed
Most-visited month:
January
* Crowded parks have a lower rating

Highlights

  • Home to the tallest mountain in Africa.

  • There is the ability to do smaller, day hikes and to see some of Tanzania’s wildlife.

  • The park’s proximity to Arusha makes it easy for people to add a northern Tanzania safari on to their Kilimanjaro summit.

About Kilimanjaro National Park

In the northeastern part of Tanzania, and very close to the Kenyan border, lies the tallest mountain in Africa – Mount Kilimanjaro. At nearly 6000 meters—5895 m (19,340 ft)—it is the largest free-standing volcanic mass in not only all of Africa, but in all of the world. Kilimanjaro is comprised of several peaks, with Uhuru Peak being the highest. The park was established in 1973 and encompasses the entire mountain above the tree line. In 2005, the park boundary was extended to include the Kilimanjaro National Forest Reserve

The vegetation of the mountain varies dramatically as the elevation increases, and it is more pronounced that some other mountains as the base Mount Kilimanjaro or “Kili” starts at around 700 m (2296 ft) on the southern slopes. Climbers will start in a humid, rainforest zone and continue up into alpine desert and finally into the barren, glacial zone. The dramatic variation in climate means layers are a necessity for all those who wish to climb and summit Kilimanjaro. Most people who visit Kilimanjaro National park come to climb and not for a safari. It is, however, possible to see many animals in almost all of the zones, such as: black and white colobus monkeys, blue monkeys and olive baboons. Buffalo, elephants and elands also live here but they are seldom seen. 


What are the climbing routes of Kilimanjaro?

It is generally agreed that Kilimanjaro has six official trekking routes: Lemosho, Machame, Marangu, Rongai, Shira and Umbwe. Marangu and Rongai are considered to be the easier routes, but also the less-scenic of routes, particularly Rongai. Marangu is nicknamed the ‘Coca-Cola Route’ due to the huts along the way where people can buy Coke and because it’s quicker and easier than most of the other routes. It also is not a circuitous route and climbers must use the same route for their descent. Rongai is the only northern approach to Kilimanjaro and, although it is one of the easier routes, its final summit is one of the most difficult. Of all the routes, Machame is considered the most scenic but steeper route, which also makes it one of the most popular and crowded routes. It has the highest success rate of the six routes. Shira and Lemosho routes also have good success rates and are scenic options with fewer visitors than Machame. Umbwe is a very direct route, which means it is a shorter option, but also offers much less time for acclimatization. It tends to be less popular than the other routes. 

Climbers are advised to allot anywhere between five and nine days for summit and descent, depending on fitness levels and route selected. Many people also opt for an extra day for acclimatization, which can have a significant impact on success rate. It is recommended that climbers and trekkers thoroughly research their guide and outfitter, as the guide can make or break the trip. There are numerous companies offering guided treks up Mt. Kilimanjaro, and a bit of research prior to choosing an outfitter will pay off in the long run. 


When is the best time to climb Kilimanjaro?

Kilimanjaro can be climbed year-round. The months which are considered to be optimum climbing months are January, February, and September. These months are high tourist season. The end of March through May is the heavy rains seasons, which means the mountain may be shrouded in heavy cloud. It does, however, mean the crowds are much thinner. The winter months of June through September are also recommended, but temperatures tend to be lower than in December through February. 

"5 days Lemosho Route"
France France
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Nov. 2022 Reviewed: Mar. 01, 2023 Submitted in:

The Lemosho Route offered a more secluded in 5 days and less crowded experience than some of the other popular Kilimanjaro trekking routes. The sunrise views from the summit were absolutely breathtaking.

Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating
Route: Lemosho Altitude sickness meds: No Summited: Yes

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
None
France France
Visited: Nov. 2022
Reviewed: Mar. 01, 2023

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!

Sort by:

"Barafu to the summit"
France France
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: May. 2024 Reviewed: May. 16, 2024 Submitted in:

The last day of the climbing from barafu to the summit is very tough, just prepare for the physical challenging -the crew are very important you will need to tip them well at the end

Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating
Route: Machame Altitude sickness meds: Yes Summited: Yes

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
None
France France
Visited: May. 2024
Reviewed: May. 16, 2024

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Breathtaking adventures to Mount Kilimanjaro summit"
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Reviews (3)
Visited: Apr. 2024 Reviewed: May. 04, 2024 Submitted in:

From the Machame gate to every camp that we stayed, we were amazed by the beautiful landscape and panoramic view of Mount Kilimanjaro. With my fellow hikers we were glad, we made it to the Uhuru peak summit although we faced some challenges due to attitude changes but we stayed together and motivate one another that we can make it. This was one of a kind adventure

Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating
Route: Machame Altitude sickness meds: No Summited: Yes

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
By: linton
None
Tanzania Tanzania
Visited: Apr. 2024
Reviewed: May. 04, 2024

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Unforgettable experience Machame Route"
By:
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Mar. 2024 Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2024 Submitted in:

drink water, listen to the guides, a good equipment. Don't forget you can do it. You can enjoy a lot if you know a little bit swahili because the guys are very very nice!

Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating
Route: Machame Altitude sickness meds: Yes Summited: Yes

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
By: None
None
Tanzania Tanzania
Visited: Mar. 2024
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2024

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Machame Route"
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jul. 2023 Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2024 Submitted in:

Make sure have at proper mountain gear You must follow the guide's instructions because they have good experience with the mountain, especially young people who think they are fit enough to conquer Kilimanjaro.

Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating
Route: Machame Altitude sickness meds: Yes Summited: Yes

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
Safari tour operator
Tanzania Tanzania
Visited: Jul. 2023
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2024

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Summiting Kilimanjaro on August 21, 2023"
United States United States
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Aug. 2023 Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2024 Submitted in:

But deep into the mountains Moses assessed our situation, modified his plan, and helped us summit Kilimanjaro on August 21, 2023. And just as important, despite our exhaustion, he safely led the descent from base camp at 15,500 feet to the gate almost 10,000 feet below. (Reaching the summit is one thing, getting down safely when exhausted another.) We danced with his team, shared meals together, learned about his passions (he even sponsors a non-profit for helping disadvantaged children), and ate ice cream with his family at the hotel.

Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating
Route: Lemosho Altitude sickness meds: No Summited: Yes

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
By: Steve36
None
United States United States
Visited: Aug. 2023
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2024

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Summiting Kilimanjaro via Lemosho Route"
Czech Republic Czech Republic
3 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Jan. 2024 Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2024 Submitted in:

The Lemosho Route, renowned for its scenic beauty and gradual acclimatization, was the perfect choice for our ascent. Dakado's meticulous planning ensured our safety and comfort every step of the way. Our team of guides, porters, and cooks were not just professionals but companions, fostering a sense of camaraderie that made the journey even more memorable. Each day brought new challenges and breathtaking vistas, from the lush rainforests at the start to the rugged terrain of the alpine desert. Our guides, with their unrivaled expertise and unwavering encouragement, kept our spirits high even as the altitude increased. Their knowledge of the mountain's intricacies and commitment to safety were truly commendable. Camp life. Comfortable tents, hearty meals prepared with care, and warm hospitality awaited us at every stop. Even in the face of adversity, such as the occasional rain or chilly nights, D Reaching the summit of Kilimanjaro was an indescribable triumph, made possible by the support and expertise of Dakado Tanzania Safari. As the sun rose over the vast African plains below, we stood atop Uhuru Peak, the highest point in Africa, with a profound sense of accomplishment and gratitude. It was a moment made even sweeter by the knowledge that we had chosen the best companions for this epic journey.

Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating
Route: Lemosho Altitude sickness meds: No Summited: Yes

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
By: LUKANYA
None
Czech Republic Czech Republic
Visited: Jan. 2024
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2024

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Incredible experience! Lemosho route, the Kilimanjaro climb was challenging yet rewarding."
Travel writer
Safari guru
Germany Germany
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Jan. 2023 Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2024 Submitted in:

For those considering this experience, I recommend being prepared physically and mentally for the Kilimanjaro climb. Additionally, embrace the safari with an open heart and camera, ready for the breathtaking wildlife encounters.

Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating
Route: Lemosho Altitude sickness meds: Yes Summited: Yes

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
By: Casper
Safari guru
Germany Germany
Visited: Jan. 2023
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2024

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Lemosho Route Kilimanjaro"
France France
3 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Dec. 2023 Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2024 Submitted in:

Our journey began with a warm welcome at the airport by our guide, who briefed us on what to expect during the trek. The accommodation provided before and after the climb was comfortable, allowing us to rest and acclimatize to the altitude. The trek itself was both challenging and rewarding. The Lemosho route offered stunning panoramic views and diverse landscapes, from lush rainforests to barren alpine deserts. Our guide was incredibly knowledgeable about the flora, fauna, and geology of the region, enhancing the experience with fascinating insights along the way. One of the highlights of the trip was the camaraderie among our group and the support provided by the entire Dakado Tanzania Safaris team. Our guides, porters, and cooks were exceptional, ensuring our safety, comfort, and well-being throughout the climb. Their encouragement and positivity kept us motivated, especially during the toughest sections of the ascent. Reaching the summit of Kilimanjaro was a momentous achievement, made possible by the expertise and dedication of Dakado Tanzania Safaris. The sense of accomplishment and awe as we stood atop Uhuru Peak, the highest point in Africa, is indescribable.

Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating
Route: Lemosho Altitude sickness meds: No Summited: Yes

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
By: Timmy
None
France France
Visited: Dec. 2023
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2024

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Crossing the Shira Plateau and summiting Kilimanjaro's Uhuru Peak"
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Dec. 2023 Reviewed: Mar. 05, 2024 Submitted in:

If you are planning to embark on an 8-day Lemosho trek, here is some unique and valuable advice to make the most of your experience: 1. Physical Preparation: Ensure you are physically prepared for the trek by engaging in regular cardiovascular and strength training exercises. Focus on building endurance, as the Lemosho route is challenging and requires a good level of fitness. 2. Acclimatization: Take the time to acclimatize properly to the altitude to minimize the risk of altitude sickness. Stay hydrated, walk at a steady pace, and listen to your body. Kizza Adventure will likely have a well-planned itinerary that includes gradual ascent to help with acclimatization. 3. Packing Essentials: Pack light but make sure you have all the essentials such as appropriate clothing layers, sturdy hiking boots, a good quality sleeping bag, sunscreen, sunglasses, and a refillable water bottle. Don’t forget essential documents like your passport and travel insurance details. 4. Mental Preparation: Mental preparation is key for a successful trek. Stay positive, embrace the challenges, and immerse yourself in the stunning surroundings of Mount Kilimanjaro. Remember that trekking at high altitudes can be mentally taxing, so maintaining a positive mindset is crucial. 5. Respect Nature and Local Culture: Respect the environment and local culture throughout your trek. Follow Leave No Trace principles, listen to your guides’ instructions, and engage respectfully with the local communities you encounter along the way. 6. Capture Memories: Bring a good camera or smartphone to capture the breathtaking views and unforgettable moments during your trek. However, remember to also take moments to disconnect from technology and fully immerse yourself in the natural beauty around you. 7. Enjoy the Journey: Lastly, remember that the journey is just as important as reaching the summit. Take time to appreciate each step of the trek, connect with your fellow trekkers and guides, and savor the unique experience of climbing one of Africa’s most iconic mountains.

Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating
Route: Lemosho Altitude sickness meds: Yes Summited: Yes

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
None
Tanzania Tanzania
Visited: Dec. 2023
Reviewed: Mar. 05, 2024

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Machame Route"
Tanzania Tanzania
1 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Feb. 2024 Reviewed: Mar. 04, 2024 Submitted in:

Embarking on the 6-day Machame route was an unforgettable journey that exceeded all expectations. From start to finish, every moment was filled with excitement, awe, and a deep connection to the stunning landscapes of Kilimanjaro. Breathtaking Scenery: The Machame route treated us to a kaleidoscope of landscapes, from dense rainforests to alpine meadows and rugged rock formations. Each day brought new vistas that took our breath away and served as a reminder of the natural beauty that surrounds us. Summit Success: Reaching the summit of Kilimanjaro was the culmination of days of hard work and determination. As we stood atop Uhuru Peak, watching the sunrise over the vast African plains below, we were filled with a sense of accomplishment and gratitude that words cannot describe. Physical Preparation: The Machame route is challenging and requires a good level of physical fitness. Prior training, including cardio and endurance exercises, will greatly enhance your trekking experience. Acclimatization: Take the time to acclimatize properly to the altitude to minimize the risk of altitude sickness. Stay hydrated, listen to your body, and follow the guidance of your guides. Pack Wisely: Pack light but don't skimp on essential gear such as sturdy hiking boots, warm clothing layers, and a quality sleeping bag. Be prepared for changing weather conditions and fluctuating temperatures. Enjoy the Journey: While reaching the summit is a major goal, don't forget to savor the journey itself. Take time to appreciate the stunning surroundings, forge connections with your fellow trekkers, and embrace the challenges and triumphs along the way. Overall, trekking the Machame route was an experience of a lifetime that will forever hold a special place in my heart. From the natural beauty of Kilimanjaro to the camaraderie forged on the trail, it was a journey that I will cherish for years to come.

Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating
Route: Machame Altitude sickness meds: Yes Summited: Yes

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
By: Lukas
None
Tanzania Tanzania
Visited: Feb. 2024
Reviewed: Mar. 04, 2024

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!

Driving to Kilimanjaro National Park

Due to its proximity to JRO, Kilimanjaro Internationnal Airport, the drive to Kili is around an hour to 90 minutes, depending on which route you'll be climbing. 

Riverside Shuttle also runs between Nairobi, Arusha, Moshi, Kilimanjaro and JRO and is an option for budget travelers. 

The following airlines travel to Kilimanjaro National Park


company logo

Scheduled domestic services in Tanzania. Air Tanzania Corporation (ATC) the Tanzanian flag-carrier, was established on 11 March, 1977, to operate the services suspended following the dissolution of East African Airways (EAA), which was owned jointly by Tanzania, Kenya and Uganda. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

As Salaam Air has grown to be a leading air carrier between the Tanzanian Islands. Our experienced team understands that customer satisfaction is important to the creation of a successful flight operation. Thus, we go above and beyond to satisfy our clients. The airline plies eight routes to promote tourism within and outside the country. We have two fuel-efficient aircraft – Cessna 208B Grand Caravan and Embraer EMB 120 Brasilia, which are good for the environment and the safety of our clients.We would like to help you discover more about our Islands here on our website and at every step of your journey Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

Coastal Aviation is an airline operating out of Dar es Salaam - charter flights. Coastal Aviation flying to some 100 strips located in some of the most isolated pockets of the East African Region. The scheduled Coastal network also connects visitors to Kenya, Uganda and Rwanda with the world-famous Serengeti, links the emerging tourism destinations of Mozambique with the Southern Tanzania parks of Selous and Ruaha, and unites the tropical island paradises of Pemba, Zanzibar, Mafia and Fanjove Private Iaslandwith the National Parks and towns of the mainland. Our state of the art fleet is composed of 20 aircraft and has been expertly-adapted to the African safari environment, without compromise to safety and comfort. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

Flightlink is a scheduled airline with Air Operator Certificate (AOC) and Air Service License (ASL) granted by Tanzania Civil Aviation Authority & Kenya Civil Aviation Authority to conduct Private & Scheduled Flight under Public Transport category within the region. All the aircraft in our fleet are chosen for their excellent safety records and their ability to perform in even in the most hostile conditions, so landing be it in the bush or on tarmac is not at all taxing. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

At flydubai we’re committed to making air travel more affordable. Dubai based flydubai operates routes to more than 95 destinations across the Middle East, Subcontinent, Africa, Russia and Eastern Europe. flydubai is dedicated to reducing the cost of air travel in the region. We keep things simple, reducing our operating costs and passing the savings on to you. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

Precision Air is a publicly-listed Tanzanian airline and a leader in providing scheduled flight services to over 10 destinations within and outside Tanzania from its main hub Dar es Salaam. The company operates on the principle that quick, comfortable and reliable service is the best way to serve its customers. Through its customer-focused approach, many have become part of the Precision Air family. Precision Air started with its headquarters in Arusha - the midpoint between the Cape and Cairo, which is the entry point to many of Tanzania's world-renowned landmarks and national parks. The headquarters of Precision Air are now Dar es Salaam, the business complex of the country, which is home to a vast size of traffic travelling within and outside Tanzania. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

Premium Charter Service is an air charter broker based in Tanzania. We offer our valued clients a truly exclusive flying experience, one that combines luxury with the convenience of flying privately. Our network of domestic and international operators adheres to strict standards of quality. We deliver a superior experience to our clients with a high level of professionalism. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

Regional air is a recognized leader in the aviation industry in Tanzania, the airline began in 1997 with one pilot and one aircraft. They are affiliated to the long-established Nairobi-based domestic airline, Airkenya. We are based in the northern Tanzanian town of Arusha. Arusha is the starting point of safaris into Northern Tanzania, as the airline also offers charters to these various parks and game reserves. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

Premier safari airline and charter. Safarilink is Kenya's premier safari airline with a network of connecting domestic scheduled services to all the best safari destinations within Kenya and across the border into northern Tanzania. From it's base at Wilson Airport, Nairobi SafariLink provides daily scheduled flights to Masai Mara, Amboseli, Tsavo West, Naivasha, Nanyuki, Lewa Downs, Samburu, Lamu, Kilimanjaro, Loisaba, Migori and Diani Beach. Additionally it can also provide private charter flights if a client's particular requirement as regards destination or timing cannot be met by the scheduled services. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

TANZANAIR was formed in 1969 and pioneered aviation throughout Tanzania. Today it continues to live up to its slogan as the“Complete Aviation Company”. It was founded by Dinos J Samaras who managed the Company until he passed away in April 2010. It is now headed by his son John Samaras who was his deputy since 1983. With 45 years’ experience, TANZANAIR offers tailor-made air travel to suit the needs of its customers. With a modern fleet of twin and single-engine Cessna and Beechcraft turbine aircraft, TANZANAIR’s well-established reputation leads the way in air charter services throughout the region. TANZANAIR operates out of its own purpose-built Passenger Terminal located between Terminal I and II at Julius Nyerere International Airport in Dar es Salaam. The passenger lounge is adjacent to the two hangars. It is housed within a secure wall enclosed compound with ample parking facilities. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

Flown by an international team of pilots, Zantas Air has one of the youngest fleets of Cessna Grand Caravans in Tanzania. These are maintained to the highest safety standards and comply with the ICAO, CESSNA, and TCAA directives. We have an exclusive lounge at Arusha airport. Guests can relax in our comfortable lounge while they wait for their flight. Our operations are designed to suit our client's needs with a customized itinerary based on their schedule. Zantas Air works with its sister company, Mbali Mbali Lodges and Camps, to offer shared charter flights. We fly passengers from Northern Tanzania to Western Tanzania twice a week on Monday and Thursdays. Visit website

Also flies to:

Kilimanjaro map