RA Safaris

22 reviews
Reviews: 22
Tour packages: 6 tours
Private, custom tours
Group, set date tours
Photos: 20
Main focus: Mid-range safaris
Established: 2004
Headquarters: Tanzania
Languages: English, French, German, Italian, Mandarin, Swahili

Offers tours in


Contact info

About RA Safaris

"SAFARI EXPERTS IN TANZANIA - LOCALLY OWNED AND GUIDED" Plan your perfect Tanzania Safari with RA Safaris Co. RA (Real Adventure) SAFARIS is a Fully Licensed, reliable Tanzania Safari Tour Operator organizing safaris and tours to explore the nature of Tanzania. RA Safaris is run by a qualified team of African safari tour professionals with over 20 years of combined experience in the travel industry. The vehicles and equipment used are of high quality. Our professional and experienced staff is always up to discuss and arrange proper itineraries. RA Safaris also specializes in mountain climbing/trekking in Tanzania, including Mount Kilimanjaro, Mount Meru and Oldonyo Lengai. RA Safaris can combine these excursions with walking safaris, cultural tours, biking and Zanzibar beach holidays. We are a full service Tanzania safari tour company. RA Safaris will guide you through the nature of Tanzania with quality service and your safety always in mind.

Sort by:

Write a review
"RA Safaris 8 days what an exciting safari in Ngorongoro Crater, Nduto and Serengeti!"
Safari enthusiast
Sweden Sweden
68 kudus
Photos (5)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Dec. 2013 Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2018

A VERY VERY fantastic nice and by RA Safaris well organized safari och Zanzibar holiday. We saw all Big Five (and have on photos) and many more species of mammals and many species of birds (thanks to our fantastic guide Edward). We are very satisfied with all hotels and tented camps, and the tented camp in Ndutu where an extra special and nice experience. We are VERY VERY satisfied to have had your friendly, nice and very experienced driver/guide Edward! We really enjoyed that you from your staff met as both before and after the safari. We are VERY satisfied with the hotel Zanzibari on Zanzibar (very nice personal and fantastic dinners and calm and relaxing atmosphere and hotel area).

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Sweden Sweden
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Dec. 2013
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014

13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Arusha, Tanzania, Serengeti, an amazing private safari adventure with RA Safaris."
By: roberts
Safari enthusiast
United States United States
67 kudus
Photos (5)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Mar. 2011 Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2018

This was a trip of a lifetime, and I did my research beforehand extensively, since I was coming from the USA. I wanted to use a local tour company, that way I support the local economy. I found RA Safaris and HIGHLY recommend them, and when we go back, we will use them again! They worked with me within my budget, along with the length of the trip. They gave me their itinerary, and then altered it based on some additional things we wanted to see. They are amazing, and they are worth every penny. The mix of tented camps and lodges was perfect. Our first night in a tented camp was amazing. The first night we went to sleep with the roar of the lions and woke up in the night hearing the zebras 3 feet outside our tent munching on the grasslands. Gideon, our tour guide, was knowledgeable in every aspect. I can't wait to go back and request him again.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
11People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: roberts
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
United States United States
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Mar. 2011
Reviewed: Feb. 05, 2014

11People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"RA Safaris made our African safari incredible!"
Safari enthusiast
United States United States
67 kudus
Photos (5)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jan. 2013 Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2017

My husband and I had the pleasure of traveling through Tanzania with four wonderful guides, and I have to say - I think that the guides really made the trip for us. They were literally a walking, talking version of Google. I'd ask myself out loud, "I wonder why the zebras and wildebeast travel together?" and out comes a thorough explanation from our drivers! There was almost nothing they didn't know. All of them were not only polite and friendly, but incredibly well educated and knowledgeable. My husband and I are bird people, and they tailored the trip to our needs. They would drive well out of their way to take us to a places they knew would have exotic species, and then proceed to tell us everything about them! We also discussed life in Africa, politics, their families - you name it. On safaris, it is easy to only learn about the animals and wildlife, because you are very far away from people and cities. Driving with RA Safaris, we really got a good glimpse into their opinions, beliefs, and culture. The best part was that we all watched the Arsenal football match together - I left feeling like we had made four new friends, who I hope to visit again soon :) We are definitely coming back to Tanzania, and we will be calling RA Safari to lead the trip!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
United States United States
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Jan. 2013
Reviewed: Feb. 07, 2014

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Wonderful experience"
Safari enthusiast
Belgium Belgium
12 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jul. 2013 Reviewed: May. 13, 2016

For us it was a dream holiday and we hope we will have the chance to return one day to this beautiful country. Everything has been perfectly arranged and the choice of lodges has been excellent, as all of them were beautiful and offered a unique experience. We didn't have to worry about anything and the whole trip was managed with a lot of professionalism. Moreover, we are very happy to have used a local company obviously interested in the development of its community and would suggest everybody to do the same. Emmanuel, who accompanied us during the week, is not only a very knowledgeable guide and skilled driver, but also a great human being, sharing smiles and good mood. We fully enjoyed every moment and hold a very fond memory of our time together. Once again, asante sana and congratulations for everything you do there at RaSafaris!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Belgium Belgium
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Jul. 2013
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Extraordinary Safari"
Safari enthusiast
Canada Canada
12 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Sep. 2013 Reviewed: Jun. 09, 2018

Jambo, After considerable research on the Internet, reviewing several African Safaris forums and exchanging e-mails with many companies, we selected RA Safaris to arrange a 13 days safari in Tanzania for us in September/October 2013. The proposed safari brought us to Tarangire National Park, Manyara National Park, Ngorongoro National Park and finally in the Central and North of Serengeti National Park. Afterwards, we spent seven days in Zanzibar, also arranged by RA Safaris. We have been extremely satisfied and impressed with the quality, professionalism and client focus of RA Safaris during the planning phase of the trip. Gideon, Eli & Zeph were always very fast and curteous in their responses to our inquiries. Salim was our driver and guide during these 13 days....he was fluently trilingual in Swahili, French and English. Salim is extremely knowledgeable on the Tanzanian fauna....he can miracuously spot, over and over again, animals that none of us could see. He identified these animals and would freely explain their behaviours. He has a very good sense of humour and is very patient. RA Safaris and Salim took extremely good care of us, either during game viewing or during our stays in lodges or tented camps. RA Safaris took even the opportunity to come and see us before our transfer to Zanzibar which we really appreciated. We saw the big five and the big nine...buffalo, rhino, elephants, lions, leopards, cheetahs, hippos, giraffes, zebras on numerous occasions, and Salim took the time to stop and let us admire them, over and over again. We also saw part of the migration of the wildebeest in the north of the Serengeti. All our expectations were surpassed. Thank you RA Safaris and thank you Salim. Asante sana. Raymond et Lucie Québec, Canada

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Canada Canada
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Sep. 2013
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Once-in-a-lifetime experience with RA Safaris"
By: Sarita
Safari enthusiast
India India
72 kudus
Photos (5)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Dec. 2012 Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2018

We booked a 6-night, 7-day safari with Real Adventure Safaris (RA Safaris) in December 2012. All our inquiries were addressed efficiently, patiently and very promptly. One of the main reasons we chose RA Safaris over other operators was because it stood out in terms of email query response times. Our emails received an almost immediate response. It didn't matter what time our emails were sent - we realized we'd get a reply in 30 minutes to an hour tops! Emmanuel proved to be an excellent driver/guide. He has an immense amount of knowledge about wildlife and local culture too. We learnt a lot of new facts - about animals, birds, the Masai and plants. He was also very good at spotting animals and showed excellent judgment - knowing exactly when to drive away when a particular place got too crowded with other safari vehicles. On long drives between national parks, Emma kept us engaged in very interesting conversation - our drives were always filled with fun facts and a lot of good humour and laughter. He very patiently and knowledgeably fielded all our questions and concerns. He was always punctual, polite, efficient and cheerful. Even when our vehicle broke down and we had a long wait for a replacement, Emma took excellent care to keep us as entertained as the available resources would allow. Spotting 44 lions was no insignificant experience. Emma was also responsible for one of the highlights of our safari - just the three of us eating our lunch while a lion and lioness cavorted right outside our vehicle. It was amazing! Overall, we saw 44 lions, 3 cheetahs, the "Big 5" and almost everything that the African bush has to offer. Gideon and Eli were extremely efficient and helpful in organizing the entire safari. When our vehicle broke down just before we entered the Serengeti, Gideon drove out from Arusha with a replacement vehicle and ensured that we got to the safety of our camp in good time. The itinerary was absolutely perfect. Kudos to Eli who did a great job in factoring in all our requests and crafting the perfect customized itinerary. A lot of thought, care and personal attention was clearly put into crafting the perfect itinerary tailor-made for us. The safari was exactly the right duration and the perfect blend of lodges and camps. I was touched that RA took such a personal interest in us. I was pleasantly surprised that Eli had taken note of my wish to see bushbabies and Emmanuel even took us to Gibbs Farm in the hope of seeing these elusive nocturnal creatures. An individual file is maintained on each client, factoring in all their requirements and wishes! This is customer service beyond compare. A big thank you to RA Safaris for giving us such a perfect once-in-a-lifetime experience and such fond memories!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
14People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Sarita
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
India India
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Dec. 2012
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014

14People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"RA Safaris, the best holiday I had"
By: xhoco
Safari enthusiast
United Kingdom United Kingdom
13 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Dec. 2012 Reviewed: Aug. 01, 2020

I organized a trip winter 2012 with RA Safaris and was one of the best experiences in my life. The guide was incredible, he knew where the animal would be and would take all the effort for us to see the most difficult to find, like the leopard, male lion and rhinos. When I booked they were the only ones that tailored the itinerary to make sure we were going to be staying on the best areas depending on where the migration would most likely be. I would recommend everyone to book with them,

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: xhoco
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Dec. 2012
Reviewed: Mar. 03, 2014

13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"A lifetime experience with RA Safaris"
By: Ruud
Safari enthusiast
Netherlands Netherlands
68 kudus
Photos (5)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Feb. 2014 Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2019

We booked our seven-day safari with RA Safaris in Tanzania online; using nothing more than e-mail!! Always almost immediate response with all the information, advice and patience you need to make the right choices and decisions!! It felt like "our wish, was their command"... Everything seemed to be possible. The friendly, enthusiastic, experienced and patient staff managed to put together a great safari for the three of us at a very good price! They even booked an internal flight for us, for after the safari! A big safari-jeep, just for the three of us. The experienced, English-speaking guide (named Salehe), was a very friendly local, with a great sense of humor, who not only knew almost everything about flora and fauna, but also always managed to find the wildlife we wished to see. When we only saw a vague dot in the far distance, he recognised the rhino and proved to be right!! Unbelievable!! He made us feel very comfortable, safe and welcome to Tanzania!! We were very lucky and even met the president of Tanzania at the entrance of Serengeti National Park!!! He even shook our hand, how about that!!! The tented camps and lodges were fantastic and its staff even better!! Very friendly and helpful. Also the food was very good and there was enough choice to suit everybody. At the end we had seen all the animals we hoped to see and even more, at very short range. Sometimes you could almost touch the animals, which, of course, was not recommended!!! In short: a lifetime experience in beautiful Tanzania, thanks to RA Safaris and of course thanks to our great guide Salehe R. Mgongolwa!!! Thanks very much guys!! "Asanta sana"!!!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Ruud
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Netherlands Netherlands
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Feb. 2014
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014

13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Unforgettable experience"
Safari enthusiast
Israel Israel
13 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Mar. 2011 Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2020

RA Safaris organized a private safari for me several years ago. The safari and abundance of wildlife that I saw left such an amazing impression on me that I feel like it was yesterday. As a female, I was concerned about going on a safari alone. From the moment I stepped out of the airport, Eli and my guide, Gideon, did everything they could to make me feel comfortable and safe. They were wonderful and extremely professional. While on the safari, Gideon taught me so much about animal behavior and because of him, I gained a much deeper appreciation of wildlife. The trip was amazing. 100%, I recommend Real Adventures. You will not be disappointed. Gideon is a fabulous guide!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Israel Israel
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Mar. 2011
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014

13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"RA Safaris: perfect tour operator"
By: vb1
Safari enthusiast
Italy Italy
12 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Aug. 2014 Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2020

I want to spend just a couple of word to review this company for the organization of Your African Safari. We were two people from Italy that asked for a week of safari visiting the most it was possible. They offer us a 6 night safari visiting the Lake Manyara, Serengeti and Ngorongoro. They booked for us all the lodges and the internal flights to and from Arusha. Our guide (amani) was perfect, he really knows everything of the parks and animals. We had a private jeep, that was in a good condition, clean and with thew opportunity of charging our phone and camera inside. Gideon (the owner of the company) is a very nice person, he organized all for us with just a couple of mail and everything was great.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: vb1
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Italy Italy
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Aug. 2014
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Show more
YAScore: 80/100
Based on 22 reviews

Overall rating
Cleanliness of vehicle
Meet and greet team
Quality of itinerary
Responsiveness of staff

Latest photos (20)