RA Safaris

29 reviews
Reviews: 29
Tour packages: 7 tours
Private, custom tours
Group, set date tours
Photos: 20
Main focus: Mid-range
Established: 2004
Headquarters: Tanzania
Languages:
English, French, German, Italian, Mandarin, Swahili

Offers tours in

Contact info

About RA Safaris

"SAFARI EXPERTS IN TANZANIA - LOCALLY OWNED AND GUIDED" Plan your perfect Tanzania Safari with RA Safaris Co. RA (Real Adventure) SAFARIS is a Fully Licensed, reliable Tanzania Safari Tour Operator organizing safaris and tours to explore the nature of Tanzania. RA Safaris is run by a qualified team of African safari tour professionals with over 20 years of combined experience in the travel industry. The vehicles and equipment used are of high quality. Our professional and experienced staff is always up to discuss and arrange proper itineraries. RA Safaris also specializes in mountain climbing/trekking in Tanzania, including Mount Kilimanjaro, Mount Meru and Oldonyo Lengai. RA Safaris can combine these excursions with walking safaris, cultural tours, biking and Zanzibar beach holidays. We are a full service Tanzania safari tour company. RA Safaris will guide you through the nature of Tanzania with quality service and your safety always in mind.

About our safari vehicles

We have a fleet of 5 - 7 seaters which combine ordinary and stretched land cruisers. All customers are assured of window seat to maximize game viewing and photographing. Every Safari vehicle is fitted with all necessary accessories to overcome challenging situations during safari trips. Our Drivers-Guides have Mechanical training and this is a very important item when it comes to safety. Our safari vehicles are special for safari, equipped with pop-up roofs to maximize game viewing and photographing, a real adventure safari for a life time experience of African safari.

"A+++ travel experience (with small kids!) with RA Safaris"

United States United States
0 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jun. 2024 Reviewed: Jul. 08, 2024 Submitted in:

A+++ travel experience (with small kids!) with RA Safaris

I cannot recommend RA safaris highly enough. They may not have as snazzy a website as some of the other tour companies, but I promise you that traveling with this locally owned and operated (and thus supporting locals!) travel agency was one of our best decisions in our most recent trip to Tanzania (June 2024). Some friends of ours used RA Safaris back in 2015 and said we MUST use them. Their prices are really competitive but most importantly, their customization and attention to detail was superb. Zeph, the owner of RA safaris, personally ensured our satisfaction throughout the trip. Eli managed all of our trip logistics/planning in advance, and Johnson, our onsite tour guide, could not have been better.

My husband and I traveled with our two young kids (6 and 7) and Johnson was so, so good with the kids. He paid more attention to the kids than to us, which I LOVED. Our trip was a mix of high-end lodges (e.g., Gibbs Farm) and tented lodges, and the itinerary put together was so smooth and such a nice mixture of options and accommodations. They accommodated all requests. The safari vehicle was in great condition and we had everything we needed while on safari. When our little kiddo needed to go to the bathroom while deep in the Serengeti, Johnson knew all the (unmarked) backroads to get us to a hidden lodge to find a restroom. He knew ALL of the other guides and was intimately familiar with the terrain, which is essential in the Serengeti and Ngorongoro Crater. The information delivered about the flora and fauna was delivered precisely, with accuracy, yet wasn't overwhelming. Johnson gave us plenty of space as a family. The trip was exciting, yet we felt safe and cared for the entire time.

All food was amazing, both at the lodges and on the road when on safari. When we were picked up from the airport, Zeph and Johnson met us outside with a small picnic of fruit and fresh coffee. Their service was impeccable. When we go back to Tanzania, there is no other company that we would consider.

Thank you to Zeph, Johnson, Eli and the rest of the RA Safaris team. We wish you the very best!!!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: None
United States United States
Countries visited:
Visited: Jun. 2024
Reviewed: Jul. 06, 2024

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Write a review

Sort by:

"A memorable and perfect safari experience."

By: Ziyu
0 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Feb. 2024 Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2024

In October 2023, I decided to travel to Tanzania during the Chinese New Year. During that month, I extensively researched various travel tips on social media and requested quotations from domestic travel agencies. At the time, domestic travel agencies were quoting around 40,000 yuan for an approximately 8-day safari itinerary, excluding airfare and visa fees. Some routes even excluded Ndutu, which seemed unreasonable. Consequently, I decided to directly contact local travel agencies in Tanzania. Ultimately, I chose Real Adventure, and I'm very glad that I did. Their email responses were prompt, and they provided direct and clear answers to all my questions, making the communication process very smooth. Their quotation was reasonable and within my budget, and Zeph was extremely helpful throughout the process. The final itinerary they designed provided a fulfilling experience without being overly exhausting, offering new experiences every day.

I highly recommend our guide, Johnson. Not only does he have keen eyes, but he's also extremely patient. Any wait he suggests always leads to pleasant surprises. Feel free to ask him questions; he knows everything about the animals on the savannah. Thanks to him, we saw over 60 kinds of animals during 7 days. Johnson cleaned the vehicle daily, ensuring that we could start our journey in the most comfortable environment possible. The roads in the Serengeti are bumpy dirt tracks, dotted with mud pits and puddles after rain, but his driving was steady. Thanks to him, our safari experience was outstanding. Real Adventure's vehicle was also quite comfortable; we didn't experience any discomfort after long hours of sitting, and I didn't need to use the back support I brought along.

I highly recommend visiting Tanzania during this short rainy season. Although the lush vegetation increases the difficulty of spotting animals, the breathtaking landscapes, moist and comfortable climate, vibrant grasslands, and adorable animal offspring make it all worthwhile. Tanzania is worth visiting, especially in February.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Ziyu
Countries visited:
Visited: Feb. 2024
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2024

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!

"Trip of a lifetime and smart choice to go with RA Safaris"

China China
0 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jul. 2023 Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2023 Submitted in:

I went to Tanzania to see the animal migration in Serengeti for my honeymoon with my husband. It's our first time been to the Africa land, and the trip we memorable and incredible. We are so glad that we chose RA Safaris who has made everything so easy and wonderful for us.

- Trip Planning
Zeph the contact from RA, is really helpful on customizing the itinerary based on our needs. We actually started planning our trip pretty late, and Zeph made everything happened within such short notice. Also he is really good at giving genuine suggestions about the itinerary.

- Tour Guide
Our tour guide is Salehe, who is extremely experienced, knowledge, kind and friendly, in short, PERFECT. He has everything you would ask and need for a safari tour guide. He made our experience very memorable as he has eagle eyes and knows where to find animals. And more importantly he makes us feel safe all the time.

- Food and Accommodations
Soooo pleasant. Although there was a bit pity that my favorite lodge got sold out but I did find another treasure Ole Serai. Everything is great.

- Price
Since RA Safaris is locally owned and operated, they offer competitive rate.

I've recommended RA to my friends and family already and hope they will have their safari dream come true.
Last, just remind everyone who plan to visit during migration season, do plan as EARLY as possible.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
China China
Countries visited:
Visited: Jul. 2023
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2023

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!

"Family safari adventure"

By: jakoba
Sweden Sweden
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jul. 2022 Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2022 Submitted in:

We are a family of five, three kids age 12, 11 and 6, that decided to do the trip of a lifetime in the summer of 2022. We were fortunate to have RA Safaris recommended to us by friends living in Tanzania. While preparing the trip Zeph was very helpful doing the very best possible getting a trip together that would be adventurous but still doable for the whole family. In the end we did 9 days, including an excursion to the northern part of Serengeti to see the great migration. Highlights of our adventure were Serengeti (of course), Ngorongoro Crater and Tarangire parks. Our accommodations were a mix or luxury lodges and campsites, carefully selected by Zeph to provide us with both adventure and comfort within the limitations of our budget. Our guide was Isa and our cook was Kitoi. Isa is a wonderful guide that really made us all feel welcome and always did his very best to get us the best possible game viewing experiences. He soon became the hero of our 6-year-old son who still misses him. The food during the camping days was always very tasty and plentiful. Through our experiences we came to know Zeph and his staff as wonderful and truly honest people who did their very best to make our trip a Real Adventure (RA).

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: jakoba
Sweden Sweden
Countries visited:
Visited: Jul. 2022
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2022

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!

"See it all with local guides"

United States United States
1 kudus
Reviews (2)
Visited: Mar. 2022 Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2022 Submitted in:

After speaking to a bunch of different tour operators, we decided to go with RA Safaris because they’re a small local business, owned and operated by Tanzanians - important in a time when tourism is still recovering. Zeph was very generous with his time and went back and forth over the itinerary with us to make sure we made the most out of our time, settling on 5 days with them - Tarangire, Serengeti, Ngorongoro Crater, plus a day hike at Kili.

Our guide was Sahele, and he was with us from the airport pickup all the way to drop off. He was so knowledgeable and determined to get us to see every animal - AND WE DID. Big 5 plus cheetahs, sable cats, so many hippos, thousands of zebras. He took us to a spot way out in the Serengeti for lunch and while we were peeling hard boiled eggs, several elephants came up to this tree and scratched themselves on it, giving themselves dust showers. It was stunning. Sahele knows all the spots and isn’t shy about getting on the radio or driving out into the sticks to make something amazing happen. We ended up seeing 4 rhinos when some folks don’t get to see any.

He came down with a pretty bad cough during the trip and had no problem wearing a mask for our comfort during the trip. The gas tank cracked in the Serengeti but Sahele was able to resolve it without having it affect the overall timeline of the trip.

On Safari we did a mix of lodges and tented lodges. Everywhere we stayed was fantastic and comfortable with delicious food. We enjoyed the tented lodges the best! We are vegetarians and meals were not an issue for us.

I wouldn’t recommend doing a day-hike of Kili - there’s surprisingly no animals at Kili, there wasn’t a rewarding view, and it’s an exhausting drive from Arusha. Maybe do Meru instead, which is much closer and seems to be more interesting at lower elevations.

As to be expected, you’ll make some sacrifices going with a small local operator (like the truck being on the older side) but go with RA Safari because the prices are extremely competitive, the lodges they selected are incredible, they are knowledgeable and great communicators, and they’re the type of organization that deserves the support for the community they’ve created.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: None
United States United States
Countries visited:
Visited: Mar. 2022
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2022

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!

"Amazing experience"

By: Silvia
Tanzania Tanzania
5 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Aug. 2021 Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2021 Submitted in:

We made 10 days game drive through Selous Tarangire Serengeti and Ngorongoro. I chose this agency because it was a small one I wanted to support Tanzanian tourism and workers. So I suggest always to choose a local agency not an European one so that money could stay in Tanzania. I love animals I am vegetarian and the tented camps and lodges suggested were perfect, they always asked me about food preferences or intolerance.
The trip was great so many lions in Serengeti, i counted during the safari 77. Their conservation is at the top; also many elephants in Tarangire and stunning views of nature.

The Driver Salehe made his best for let us see wildlife, the contact with the owner Zef were very good he managed well also at the first by mailing. We had problems with car and Zef solved them.

So I suggest this agency they try to make the best in order of what are your planner. Amazing game viewing.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Silvia
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Aug. 2021
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2021

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!

"Amazing and unforgettable experience"

By: ighude
United States United States
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jun. 2021 Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2021 Submitted in:

RA Safaris made our trip to Tanzania an incredible and unforgettable experience. Our guides, Johnson and Salehe, were extremely knowledgeable of the habitat and animals. They were also both great drivers and even while driving could spot animals. The land cruisers were such a fun vehicle to drive in. The car’s ability to open on the top made it even easier to get a better view of the animals. There were also outlets in the land cruisers which were extremely convenient to charge our phones and camera.

We saw some spectacular sights on our game drives including many baby animals, parts of the migration, and several lion hunts. Salehe and Johnson were always ready to get up and go early in the morning and happy to drive until dusk, allowing us to see as much wildlife as possible. Salehe and Johnson were also accommodating to the many photos we wanted to take and let us take our time in capturing all the beauty that was around us. Our trip to Tanzania was truly spectacular and we do not think it would’ve been possible without the amazing guides and planning done by RA Safaris. We can’t recommend RA Safaris more!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: ighude
United States United States
Countries visited:
Visited: Jun. 2021
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!

"Unforgettable experience"

Safari enthusiast
Israel Israel
13 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Mar. 2011 Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2020

RA Safaris organized a private safari for me several years ago. The safari and abundance of wildlife that I saw left such an amazing impression on me that I feel like it was yesterday.

As a female, I was concerned about going on a safari alone. From the moment I stepped out of the airport, Eli and my guide, Gideon, did everything they could to make me feel comfortable and safe. They were wonderful and extremely professional.

While on the safari, Gideon taught me so much about animal behavior and because of him, I gained a much deeper appreciation of wildlife.

The trip was amazing. 100%, I recommend Real Adventures. You will not be disappointed. Gideon is a fabulous guide!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Israel Israel
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Mar. 2011
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014

13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!

"Beyond amazing"

Safari enthusiast
United States United States
2 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Did not go on this tour Reviewed: Oct. 05, 2020

RA Safari is the best tour operator that we could have worked with.

I found them through a reference from a relative who has traveled with RA multiple times and always had a great experience, so going in I had some peace of mind. However, Zeph, Elli, and our guide and friend Salehe surpassed all expectations.

I contacted over a dozen operators and not only were RA best pricing-wise but while traveling everything was perfect and extremely professional. A big part of your safari trip is the guide and Salehe was extremely patient with all of our requests. A big purpose of my trip was taking pictures and whether 1 or 100 shot, Salehe was always patient and careful to ensure that we got the best possible angle.

All in all, if you are going for a safari, I only have two suggestions:

1. Go with someone local rather than a non-Tanzanian operator
2. Travel with a guide who is patient, hard-working, and genuinely likes animals. This will make a huge difference to your trip.

RA Safari was the best and I wholeheartedly recommend them

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
2People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
United States United States
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Feb. 2020
Reviewed: Jun. 08, 2020

2People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!

"RA Safaris: perfect tour operator"

By: vb1
Safari enthusiast
Italy Italy
12 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Aug. 2014 Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2020

I want to spend just a couple of word to review this company for the organization of Your African Safari. We were two people from Italy that asked for a week of safari visiting the most it was possible.
They offer us a 6 night safari visiting the Lake Manyara, Serengeti and Ngorongoro. They booked for us all the lodges and the internal flights to and from Arusha. Our guide (amani) was perfect, he really knows everything of the parks and animals. We had a private jeep, that was in a good condition, clean and with thew opportunity of charging our phone and camera inside. Gideon (the owner of the company) is a very nice person, he organized all for us with just a couple of mail and everything was great.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: vb1
Italy Italy
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Aug. 2014
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!

"RA Safaris, the best holiday I had"

By: xhoco
Safari enthusiast
United Kingdom United Kingdom
13 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Dec. 2012 Reviewed: Aug. 01, 2020

I organized a trip winter 2012 with RA Safaris and was one of the best experiences in my life.

The guide was incredible, he knew where the animal would be and would take all the effort for us to see the most difficult to find, like the leopard, male lion and rhinos.

When I booked they were the only ones that tailored the itinerary to make sure we were going to be staying on the best areas depending on where the migration would most likely be.

I would recommend everyone to book with them,

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: xhoco
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Dec. 2012
Reviewed: Mar. 03, 2014

13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Show more
YAScore: 75/100
Based on 29 reviews

Overall rating
Cleanliness of vehicle
Meet and greet team
Quality of itinerary
Responsiveness of staff

Latest photos (20)