HM Safaris

11 reviews
Reviews: 11
Tour packages: 8 tours
Private, custom tours
Photos: 19
Main focus: Mid-range safaris
Established: 2010
Headquarters: United States
Languages: English, French

Offers tours in


Contact info

About HM Safaris

HM Safaris focuses exclusively on Tanzania and is managed and operated by experienced Tanzania safari guides with over 15 years' experience. Tanzania provides the perfect location for safaris. It is endowed with many natural resources that form a mainstay of tourist attractions. It is the largest country in East Africa and over 35% of its land is allocated to national parks and game and forest reserves. Serengeti National Park is located in Tanzania and is renowned for the annual migration where a staggering 1.8 million+ wildebeest make their journey north into the Masai Mara in Kenya and then back into Tanzania in their continuous search for lush green grass. If you are unsure as to where you would like to visit here are some of the safari destinations that we cover.
"Serengeti: Mingling with the migration"
Safari enthusiast
Australia Australia
70 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jun. 2014 Reviewed: Dec. 06, 2016

After initially searching for African safari companies, I settled on some I would contact. HM Safaris was the only company that responded to my request. From there it was an painless procedure to arrange and finalise our two-week safari. We were four, two couples, and were fortunate in having Ralph as our driver and guide. My esearch had indicated that the Serengeti migration would be approximately at the Grumeti River for its spectacular crossing in mid to late June so we timed our safari for that time. But, of course, Mother Nature had other intentions and the rains were late this year and by the time of our safari the herds of zebra and wildebeest were only just gathering in Central Serengeti. Nevertheless, we had a fantastic safari spotting elephant, giraffe, lion, leopard, cheetah and hippos plus much, much more. Many we were able to observe at very close range for some time, a boon for us as very keen photographers.
The Ngorongoro Crater Conservation Area has to be mentioned as a stand out and anyone contemplating a trip should plan for at least a full day inside the crater – you will not be disappointed. The Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge right on the crater rim is where we stayed and couldn't have been happier. Rooms were great and they offered stupendous views over and into the crater. Elsewhere, the Tarangire National Park was also excellent as was the Tarangire Safari Lodge. But nothing compares to the open spaces and vistas of the Serengeti where game abounds. Every day was magical and full of surprises – you just didn't know what you were going to happen upon next. And that is all part of the excitement and magic of a Serengeti safari. Ralph, our driver and guide, was fantastic. He was extremely knowledgable and passionate about his animals and birds – there was not a question he could not answer. His command of English was faultless and he could even contend with the sense of humour of four down-to-earth Australians. He did more than what was called for and if you are contemplating a safari with HM Safaris, request him. Among our favourite lodges were the Oldavai Tented Lodge run by local Masais. Don't neglect a tour to the local village - it is great and the people fantastic. No credit cards taken there so make sure you have cash to pay for extras like drinks. The Serena Kirawira Tented Lodge we also loved. A bit more expensive but worth it for our last night in the Serengeti. There are other lodges, some more expensive, and your choice depends on your budget. Regardless, one thing is sure, your safari will be a trip of a lifetime. Thank you HM.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
14People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Safari enthusiast
Australia Australia
Countries visited: Botswana Namibia Rwanda South Africa Tanzania Zimbabwe
Visited: Jun. 2014
Reviewed: Jul. 08, 2014

14People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Write a review

Sort by:

"Amazing safari throughout Tanzania"
By: ksatala
Safari enthusiast
United States United States
11 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Aug. 2017 Reviewed: Sep. 04, 2020

HM Safaris did an amazing job helping us design and execute our 9-day custom safari throughout Tanzania. From pick up at the airport in Kilimanjaro to drop off at the airport in Serengeti, the 9-day trip was seamless. The camps that we stayed at throughout the trip were amazing, and I was beyond impressed with the food and amenities offered by the all the camps, especially given the remote locations.

The Kati Kati and Rhotia Valley Lodge were our favorite camps, as the staff were beyond friendly and the food was delicious. Our guide, Edward, was friendly, knowledgeable and funny. I highly recommend him and HM Safaris.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
11People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: ksatala
Safari enthusiast
United States United States
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Aug. 2017
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2017

11People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"HM Safaris made my dream adventure a reality"
By: steve_c
Safari enthusiast
United States United States
259 kudus
Reviews (13)
Visited: Nov. 2011 Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2019

We spent several years putting money aside for our safari so we wanted to go with a reputable tour operator recommended by someone we knew and trusted. Our friends had been on safari with HM Safaris and couldn't stop talking about how great of a time they had and how it was their best ever vacation. Based on their feedback we booked our safari with HM, for myself my husband and our two children, ages nine and twelve.

I found HM to be very responsive, flexible, informative and thorough. They worked with us to find out what we liked and which animals we particularly wanted to photograph more so than others. They created a tailored package based on the information we shared. They gave us all the important information on vaccinations, what to take,etc

On safari our vehicle great and well equipped with water, binoculars for everyone. A book on all the animals and birds.

The guide we had during the safari was the best you could ask for. He was a talking encyclopedia when it came to nature. He had eagle eyes and could spot animals we failed to find using binoculars even! He educated us on the animals and their behavior, the different types of birds and their calls, plants and trees. It was fascinating. He had a great personality and the kids just loved him. He'd have us play games on who spotted the most animals.

If you're thinking about going on safari, I'd highly recommend HM Safaris.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: steve_c
Safari enthusiast
United States United States
Countries visited: Botswana Kenya Madagascar Rwanda Tanzania Uganda
Visited: Nov. 2011
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013

13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"HM Safaris and my Serengeti photography bliss"
By: Ralph
Safari enthusiast
United States United States
33 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Mar. 2011 Reviewed: Mar. 05, 2019

“The Serengeti, Lake Eyasi, Ngorongoro Crater will all look the same regardless of the guide you are traveling with…but the experience of those events will be vastly different depending on who is showing you through those worlds. I was fortunate to travel with HMS and to have a guide who took the time to let me stop and take photos--as many as I want--and not rush me on to the next big thing. I often think about my time in the Serengeti and wish I could go back and slow time down again.
Until the next time!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Ralph
Safari enthusiast
United States United States
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Mar. 2011
Reviewed: Nov. 08, 2013

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Once in a lifetime opportunity"
Safari enthusiast
24 kudus
Reviews (2)
Visited: May. 2010 Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2019

Our guides were absolutely excellent and always went the extra mile to provide us with that “once in a lifetime” experience. It was even the small things which made the difference. At first I thought how will everything be organised, but I can now say as long as you HM Safaris it then “Hakuna matata!” (No worries)."

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Safari enthusiast
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: May. 2010
Reviewed: Mar. 06, 2015

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"A trip to remember"
Safari enthusiast
United States United States
12 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Aug. 2015 Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2018

Let's face it, traveling with a family of 5 (children aged 14, 12, & 7) from Boston to Tanzania on a middle class budget provides little room for error. It was a vacation of a lifetime, and not one where we could afford complications and hassle. With that in mind, I can tell you that the HM Safaris people met my expectations and produced a trip that my family will never forget. They set up an itinerary that put my family in places where we were free to enjoy the animals and culture without worry. We had several items on our wildlife checklist that we could focus on, knowing that the trip's particulars were taken care of. The transfers were seamless and the preparations were clearly made to ensure that the tour company added value to the trip. By the time we came back to Boston, we made a lifetime of memories and learned quite a bit while in Tanzania. Asante sana (thank you), HM Safaris. You helped make our trip special.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Safari enthusiast
United States United States
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Aug. 2015
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2015

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"The Serengeti experience "
Safari enthusiast
United States United States
146 kudus
Reviews (6)
Visited: May. 2010 Reviewed: May. 02, 2018

After experiencing Serengeti National Park's vast size, varied scenery and amount of wild life, Yellowstone Park, in comparison, is no more than my back yard. Our outfitter was a professional yet personal outfitting company with very experienced guides that never tire of giving people the best experience of their life.
Our guide, Ralph, of HM Safaris, was very knowledgeable about all the wild life, if he didn't know the answer to a question, at the next stop he would look it up in the accompanying books he carried and give us a complete explanation.
The lodging at Mbalageti was first class and very authentic, I felt like I was always in Africa yet the accommodations were modern, clean and well laid out.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Safari enthusiast
United States United States
Countries visited: Botswana Tanzania
Visited: May. 2010
Reviewed: Sep. 03, 2013

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Wedding and safari combo"
By: VeenaC
Safari enthusiast
United Kingdom United Kingdom
27 kudus
Reviews (2)
Visited: May. 2010 Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2018

I was fortunate enough to attend a wedding in the Serengeti. The couple used HM Safaris to organise the wedding and they did such a great job. We were there for four days to also do a safari, and our guides were so entertaining that I didn't mind being up before dawn each day. I also enjoyed stopping at the Arusha markets on the way home. My Masai warrior souvenirs are place on either side of my television to remind me of such a happy occasion.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: VeenaC
Safari enthusiast
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: May. 2010
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015

13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"In good hands"
Safari enthusiast
69 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jun. 2013 Reviewed: Aug. 04, 2017

From our initial enquiry until our last farewell, all was well organised and all attention was given to our needs. Sue was quick to respond with our initial queries, helpful in her information and suggestions and easily put together a safari which suited us completely, both in content and cost.
All organisation fell into place without a hitch. Our experienced driver and guide (excellent doing both) Ralph found no request too difficult: he was well-informed and knowledgeable about the animals and their habits and was as excited as we were in finding them. He has excellent English, but we managed to teach him a few Australian words. He also has an excellent sense of humour which we found very useful.
Serengeti was our first stop and favourite: we were spoiled because we found so much wildlife there.
A visit to a Masai village at $40 each was still worth the experience.
Chosen lodges and tented camps were excellent.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
14People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Safari enthusiast
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Jun. 2013
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013

14People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Unforgettable safari experience!"
Safari enthusiast
United States United States
12 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jun. 2010 Reviewed: Aug. 07, 2016

I was lucky enough to do a safari with friends and some family.
Our guides were superb and always went the extra mile to provide us with that “once in a lifetime” experience.
It was even the small things which made the difference. At first I thought 'how will everything be organised', but I can now say as long as you HM it then “Hakuna matata!” (No worries). Would love to return again with the entire family and spend even more time.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Safari enthusiast
United States United States
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Jun. 2010
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"First safari in Africa"
By: Julie
Safari enthusiast
69 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jun. 2013 Reviewed: May. 11, 2016

I did a lot of research to find a great safari company. I emailed many, some replied and a few replied very quickly. Sue from HM was one of the latter and was extremely responsive to all the queries we had and eventually provided us with an excellent itinerary at an extremely competitive price. We left Australia feeling very confident that we were headed for a great experience, but you never know until you're there!
We very much enjoyed our flight from Arusha across the Serengeti, and I would recommend this as it provides a particular perspective on the landscape. Ralph met us at Grumeti airstrip and it didn't take long for us to know that we were in the hands of someone who was extremely knowledgable, good humoured and absolutely passionate about the wildlife and people of Tanzania. On the whole we selected mid-range accommodation and we were delighted with every place we stayed - we were always comfortable and well catered for. Our favourite area and camp was the Moru Kopjes and Kirurumu Tented Camp. The scenery in this location is gorgeous, we saw many many animals and the camp is small (only 7 tents) and intimate with outstanding service. We fell in love with the Serengeti, though that doesn't mean that we didn't enjoy the likes of Tarangire. Ralph was an excellent driver, spotter and educator. We always felt very safe. The whole experience was top rate, and I am looking for opportunities to return! I have no hesitation in recommending HM to those looking for a great value, captivating safari in Tanzania.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
14People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Julie
Safari enthusiast
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Jun. 2013
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013

14People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
YAScore: 66/100
Based on 11 reviews

Overall rating
Cleanliness of vehicle
Meet and greet team
Quality of itinerary
Responsiveness of staff

Park reviews written by None

Great to combine with cultural visits

When: July 16, 2014, 3:50 p.m.

A must-see

When: July 15, 2014, 7:06 p.m.

Star of the show!

When: July 18, 2014, 10:56 a.m.

So many elephants!

When: Aug. 5, 2016, 11:41 a.m.

Latest photos (19)