Biwakwango

20 reviews
Reviews: 20
Tour packages: 1 tour
Private, custom tours
Group, set date tours
Photos: 8
Main focus: Budget safaris
Established: 2001
Headquarters: South Africa
Languages: English, French


Contact info

About Biwakwango

Biwakwango is a South African based Tour Operator with 18 years of experience in creating and running exciting and unique tours. We strongly focus on low impact tourism such as walking, hiking and small groups. Biwakwango was founded by Thierry, born in France and permanently living in South Africa for more than 20 years. His passion for Africa, wildlife, adventure travel, nature conservation and the well being of local people are his fundamental approaches for a sustainable tourism.

Sort by:

Write a review
"3 dream weeks thanks to a tour operator who listens! | 3 semaines de rêve grâce à un TO à l'écoute !!!!"
By: cath
Safari enthusiast
France France
12 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Aug. 2015 Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2019

Many mail exchanges with Thierry to build this three-week trip: 14 days driving through Namibia, two days to discover Victoria Fall falls six days and finally distributed in three destinations in Botswana. Thierry remained on high alert to answer all our questions and changes in the structures of our trip. He also offered alternatives that were ALL proven to be wonderful surprises! The pace was perfect. The recommended car rental company was top-notch. We were surprised and amazed by the many landscapes of Namibia, its starry heavens, those roads that we believe are endless but full of surprises! The flora and fauna were on rendez-vous in Botswana ... but above all, as in Namibia, kindness and thoughtfulness of everyone we met and who made this journey is so special. Thierry was also attentive, where possible, to offer us stops away from it all, where, thanks to solar energy, our days started at dawn and ended at sunset. Following the tiny mishap of a scheduled taxi that never came to collect us, Thierry repaid us the next day the service we initially paid for twice. A pro who loves what he does and fully knows what it offers! Thierry, THANKS !!!! _______________________________________________________ De nombreux échanges de mails avec Thierry pour construire ce voyage de 3 semaines : 14 jours en voiture à travers la Namibie, 2 jours pour découvrir les chutes de Victoria Fall et enfin 6 jours répartis en 3 destinations au Botswana. Thierry est resté en alerte maximum pour répondre à toutes nos questions et changements lors de la constructions de notre voyage. Il nous a aussi proposé des alternatives qui se sont TOUTES révélées être de magnifiques surprises ! Le rythme était parfait. Le loueur de voiture conseillé juste au top. Nous avons été surpris et émerveillés par les multiples paysage de la Namibie, de ses cieux étoilés, de ces routes que l'on croient interminables mais qui sont pleines de surprises ! La faune et la flore étaient au rendez-vous au Botswana... mais surtout, comme en Namibie, la gentillesse et la prévenance de tous ceux que nous avons rencontré et qui ont fait que ce voyage soit si spécial. Thierry a aussi été attentif, lorsque cela était possible, pour nous proposer des arrêts loin de tout, où, grâce à l'énergie solaire, nos journées commençaient à l'aube pour s'achever au coucher du soleil. Suite à l'infime petit dérapage d'un taxi prévu qui n'est pas passé nous prendre, Thierry nous a dès le lendemain remboursé du service que nous avions finalement du payé deux fois. Un Pro qui aime ce qu'il fait et qui connait à fond ce qu'il propose! MERCI Thierry !!!!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Botswana Namibia Zimbabwe
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: cath
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
France France
Countries visited: Botswana Namibia Tanzania Zimbabwe
Visited: Aug. 2015
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2015

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Thierry from Biwakwango organised our 5 star honeymoon in Botswana and Zambia, simply brilliant !"
By: Berty75
Safari enthusiast
France France
77 kudus
Photos (5)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jun. 2014 Reviewed: Sep. 03, 2019

We contacted Thierry from Biwakwango in August 2013, explaining to him that we wanted to go to Africa for our honeymoon. Thierry very quickly picked up our interests and what we were looking to experience, and came up with a proposal which matched all our requirements, as we wanted to mix top-class safaris, adventure and luxury. Not only was he very quickly available to discuss the details with us (despite the fact that he's often on the road, or in the bush), but we also appreciated his relaxed and friendly approach, and our discussions on sustainable development and ecology, issues that are very important to us. By the way, he did not hesitate to recommend that we not go for certain experiences we'd been considering, as they would have disappointed us from a conservation/ecology point of view, which we very much appreciated. During our trip, everything was flawless and we did not have to worry about the organisation (park fees, plane transfers, road transfers, ...). Besides, Thierry informed us of many important issues such as vaccines, visas, and was very helpful and knowledgeable on everything that you should be aware of before going on such a trip, which prevented bad experiences! To sum up, we are very thankful to Thierry for having organised such a memorable and outstanding trip to Botswana and Zambia, probably one of, if not the best, trips we have ever experienced. We are always very demanding when we travel, and are much involved in the preparation of our trips. Thierry definitely did a great work with us and no doubt that we will contact him again for our next journeys to Africa. Thank you! Beata & Bertrand Paris, FRANCE

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Botswana Zambia
13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Berty75
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
France France
Countries visited: Botswana Zambia
Visited: Jun. 2014
Reviewed: Sep. 01, 2015

13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"A lovely family adventure | Une belle aventure en famille et une belle rencontre."
Safari enthusiast
France France
12 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Oct. 2015 Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2018

Biwakwango was our local service provider on a family trip to Earth Aventure. For us and our two children (11 and 13) it turned into private trip (2 participants couldn't embark from Europe). What a great experience we have lived: whale watching, sea lions and penguins in the south. A little bit of activity when we climbed Table Mountain! Then St. Lucia, Imfolozi and its cortege of rhinos, hippos, crocs ... A quick pass through Swaziland before Kruger National Park. Complete opposite of Blyde River Canyon: finally a varied experience that our children could enjoy and that was executed perfectly by our guide, Thierry Biwakwango. He knew to recommend things that suited us and created a great atmosphere: it felt like family or "between friends"! _____________________________________________________________________________________________ Biwakwango était notre prestataire local sur un voyage famille Terre d'Aventure.Pour nous et nos 2 enfants ( 11 et 13 ans)cela s'est transformé en voyage privé (2 participants n'ayant pu embarquer en Europe). Quelle belle expérience nous avons vécue : observation des baleines, manchots et otaries au Sud . Un peu de sport quand même pour monter Table Mountain! Puis St Lucia, Imfolozi et leur cortège de Rhinos, Hippos, Crocos...Petit passage au Swaziland avant le Kruger.Un final du côté de Blyde River Canyon.Finalement une expérience très variée, idéale pour les enfants et portée par notre guide.Thierry de Biwakwango a su nous proposer des choses qui nous correspondaient et créer une ambiance géniale : on se sentait comme en famille ou "entre potes"!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: South Africa
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By:
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
France France
Countries visited: South Africa
Visited: Oct. 2015
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2015

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Unforgettable adventure | aventure inoubliable"
By: cauvin
Safari enthusiast
France France
46 kudus
Photos (3)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Nov. 2015 Reviewed: May. 22, 2019

We wanted to combine a safari trip to South Africa with a couple of friends. We were keen to get off the beaten path. We contacted Thierry Biwakwango, a local agency, and his proposals were consistent with our expectations. Our choice was wise. We left for 19 days in November 2015, where we did two safaris (Kruger and Imfolosi) and treks (Swaziland, Drakensberg rise of the amphitheater, Lesotho and Table Mountain). We also explored the Cape region and its vineyard. Thierry quickly put us at ease. We found more than a guide: we found a true friend. His extraordinary knowledge of wildlife, his ability to take us hiking in the beautiful and unusual places, his devotion to us all the varied cuisine days have made this trip unforgettable and highly recommend this agency. ______________________________________________________ désirant avec un couple d'amis faire un voyage en afrique du sud alliant safaris, treks hors des sentiers battus, nous avons pris contact avec Thierry de Biwakwango agence locale, ces différentes propositions correspondaient à nos attentes. Ce choix s'est avéré très jucicieux. Nous sommes partis 19 jours en novembre 2015, nous avons 2 safaris(Kruger et Imfolosi) et treks (Swaziland, Drakensberg montée de l'amphithéatre, lesotho et montain table) et la découverte de la région du cap et ses vignobles.Thierry nous a très vite mis à l'aise et plus qu'un guide nous avons trouvé un véritable copain, son extraordinaire connaissance de la faune, sa capacité à nous faire randonner dans des endroits magnifiques et insolites, son dévouement à nous faire la cuisine variée tous les jours ont rendu ce voyage inoubliable et nous recommandons vivement cette agence.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: South Africa
13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: cauvin
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
France France
Countries visited: South Africa
Visited: Nov. 2015
Reviewed: Jan. 06, 2016

13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Beautiful and wild Namibia! Belle et sauvage Namibie!"
Safari enthusiast
Belgium Belgium
68 kudus
Photos (5)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Sep. 2016 Reviewed: Mar. 06, 2019

It was our second trip with Biwakwango. After S. Africa and the unforgettable Lesotho, we discovered Namibia. Gorgeous landscapes! Walls of ocher-colored dunes, picnic in the vast minerals, encounters with locals, super hike in Naukluft and watching a magnificent fawn in marvelous circumstances. A new journey under the guidance of Thierry, who showed us these exceptional locations! _______________________________________________________________________________________ C'était notre deuxième voyage avec Biwakwango. Après l'Afrique du Sud et l'inoubliable Lesotho, nous avons découvert la Namibie. Fabuleux paysages! Escalade de dunes impressionantes aux couleurs ocre, pick nick dans de vastes étendues minérales, rencontre avec les populations locales, rando superbe dans le Naukluft et observation d'une faune magnifique dans les meilleures circonstances. A nouveau un voyage sous le signe de l'authenticité sous la conduite de Thierry qui nous fait découvrir des endroits exceptionnels! Mirjam

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Namibia
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Belgium Belgium
Countries visited: Namibia
Visited: Sep. 2016
Reviewed: Oct. 07, 2016

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"The best of Namibia & Victoria Falls - Le meilleur de la Namibie et des chutes Victoria"
Safari enthusiast
Belgium Belgium
11 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Sep. 2016 Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2020

We started off in the awesome Namib dunes at sunset and experienced the searing heat of the Sossusvlei, with flocks of oryx to keep us company. Then onward to the rock paintings and engravings at Brandberg and Twyfelfontein, even meeting up with the Damaraland elephants during a four-hour hike. Etosha was breathtaking, with such a variety of wildlife that it's almost impossible to describe. Boat trips on the Kavango and Zambezi rivers allowed us to connect with the local people and view wildlife from a different angle. We were delighted with the choice of lodges and our guide's thorough understanding of the country, its wildlife and history, which he enthusiastically shared with us. _____________________________________________________________ Nous avons démarré par les impressionnantes dunes du Namib au crépuscule, avons fait l'expérience de la chaleur torride du Sossusvlei, accompagnés de troupeaux d'oryx. Ensuite en route vers les peintures et gravures rupestres du Brandberg et de Twyfelfontein, et avons même pu approcher les éléphants du Damaraland lors d'un trek de 4 heures. A Etosha nous avions le souffle coupé par le diversité des animaux évoluant dans leur milieu, une émotion mémorable. Des sorties sur les rivières Kavango et Zambèze nous ont permis de nouer des contacts avec les habitants, et de voir la faune sous un autre angle. Nous étions ravis par le choix des lodge et la connaissance approfondie de notre guide du pays, de la vie sauvage et de son histoire, qu'il a partagé avec nous avec enthousiasme.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Botswana Namibia Zimbabwe
11People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Belgium Belgium
Countries visited: Botswana Namibia Zimbabwe
Visited: Sep. 2016
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2016

11People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Zambia - 14 days trip with Thierry"
By: Martine
Safari enthusiast
Belgium Belgium
12 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Oct. 2016 Reviewed: Mar. 07, 2020

The 14-day circuit in Zambia was super well-organized and balanced between the 3 parks: Lower Zambezi, South Luangwa and Kasanka. The choice of lodges was perfect both for their hospitality and for the activities proposed and supervised by competent guides. We had unforgettable moments. Would recommend the canoe and the Muchinga escarpment! Thank you Thierry and at a future opportunity. _______________________________________________________________ Le circuit de 14 jours en Zambie était super bien organisé et équilibré entre les 3 parcs Lower Zambezi, South Luangwa et Kasanka. Le choix des loges était parfait tant pour leur hospitalité que pour les activités proposées et encadrées par des guides compétents. Nous avons passé des moments inoubliables. A recommander : le canoë et l’escarpement Muchinga ! Merci Thierry et à une prochaine occasion.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Zambia
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Martine
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Belgium Belgium
Countries visited: Zambia
Visited: Oct. 2016
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2016

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Magnificent honeymoon organized with care | Magnifique voyage de noces organisé avec beaucoup de professionalisme"
Safari enthusiast
France France
10 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Oct. 2016 Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2019

We did our honeymoon with Biwakwango. We have no complaints, the choice of dishes was perfect, authentic, natural and quality. Thierry's advice was precious and always tailored, personalized and courteous. We also thank Biwakwango for the quality of e-mail exchanges and their responsiveness. A quick answer to any question. The stay was fantastic and we left with our heads full of great memories. We recommend and would return, for sure, with this team if one day we return to Africa. _______________________________________________________________________________- Nous avons réalisé notre voyage de noces organisé par BIWAKWANGO! Nous n'avons rien à redire, le choix des hébergements était parfait, authentique, naturel et de qualité. Les conseils de Thierry étaient précieux et toujours adaptés, personnalisés et courtois. Nous remercions aussi Biwakwango pour la qualité des échanges par mails et leur réactivité. Une réponse rapide à n'importe quelles question. Le séjour était fantastique avec des souvenirs plein la tête et des photos pleins les valises ! Nous les recommandons et repartirons ^pour sûr avec cette équipe si un jour nous revenons en Afrique.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Botswana South Africa
10People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
France France
Countries visited: Botswana South Africa
Visited: Oct. 2016
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2016

10People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"What an adventure !"
Safari enthusiast
New Caledonia New Caledonia
12 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Sep. 2016 Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2019

Thierry organized a first personalized trip 3 years ago that was magical. We spent 2 weeks in Namibia and a week at Victoria Falls and Chobe Park; This year Thierry organized a second trip of one month (2 weeks in Namibia, one week in the OKAVANGO Delta and one week in the Cap Town area; Great once again for the desert of Namibia and its incredible red colors, for the paysages and the animals of the park ETOSHA and for the magic delta of OKAVANGO Thanks to Thierry for organizing the trip.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Botswana Namibia South Africa
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
New Caledonia New Caledonia
Countries visited: Botswana Namibia South Africa
Visited: Sep. 2016
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2016

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Just perfect"
By: CVB2
Safari enthusiast
France France
63 kudus
Photos (5)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Apr. 2017 Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2020

Perfect trip thanks to Thierry. Great guide and cook. He's passionate, funny, attentive. He has a deep knowledge of the flora and the fauna. We got off the beaten path and enjoyed vistas that took our breath away. We visited local villages. I strongly recommend Biwakwango! ____________________________________________ Séjour formidable grâce à Thierry. Super guide et bon cuisinier. Passionné, drôle, attentionné,... Il a de grandes connaissances sur la faune et la flore. On sort des chemins touristiques. Paysages à couper le souffle, rencontres avec des communautés,...il est plein de surprises. Je vous conseille vivement Biwakwango !!!!!!!!!!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Mozambique South Africa
11People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: CVB2
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
France France
Countries visited: Mozambique South Africa
Visited: Apr. 2017
Reviewed: May. 08, 2017

11People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Show more
YAScore: 77/100
Based on 20 reviews

Overall rating
Cleanliness of vehicle
Meet and greet team
Quality of itinerary
Responsiveness of staff

Latest photos (8)