Biwakwango

20 reviews
Reviews: 20
Tour packages: 1 tour
Private, custom tours
Group, set date tours
Photos: 8
Main focus: Budget safaris
Established: 2001
Headquarters: South Africa
Languages: English, French


Contact info

About Biwakwango

Biwakwango is a South African based Tour Operator with 18 years of experience in creating and running exciting and unique tours. We strongly focus on low impact tourism such as walking, hiking and small groups. Biwakwango was founded by Thierry, born in France and permanently living in South Africa for more than 20 years. His passion for Africa, wildlife, adventure travel, nature conservation and the well being of local people are his fundamental approaches for a sustainable tourism.
"South Africa: Just perfect"
By: cel
Safari enthusiast
France France
17 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Oct. 2018 Reviewed: May. 20, 2020

It was my first trip to South Africa and it was just amazing. Thierry is a top, passionate, fun guide. Thanks to his knowledge of the bush and the fauna, and through safari on foot and in 4x4, he knew how to pass on his passion. Each place was at the top with amazing views.
Just one last word, only to program the next trip.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: South Africa
9People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: cel
Safari enthusiast
France France
Countries visited: South Africa
Visited: Oct. 2018
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2018

9People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Write a review

Sort by:

"Botswana et Victoria Falls"
By: Rollier
Safari enthusiast
France France
10 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: May. 2018 Reviewed: Nov. 09, 2020

Thierry organized a great trip to Botswana for us. Everything went as planned. We went from lodge to lodge via charter plane. On-site, the game drives were well-organized and with very competent guides. The lodge staff were very friendly and accommodating. We ended with two nights at Zambezi Sand lodge--it was utter paradise.

______________________________________________________________

Thierry nous a organisé un très beau voyage au Botswana. Tout s'est passé comme prévu. Nous nous déplacions en petit bimoteur d'un lodge à l'autre. Sur place les game drives étaient bien organisés avec des guides très compétents. Le personnel des lodges étaient très sympa et serviables. Les 2 nuits au "Zambezi sand" Lodge pour finir étaient paradisiaques.
N'hésitez pas à passer par Bikawango pour votre organisation même si vous habitez en Europe.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Botswana Zimbabwe
10People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Rollier
Safari enthusiast
France France
Countries visited: Botswana Zimbabwe
Visited: May. 2018
Reviewed: May. 28, 2018

10People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"l'Afrique=Zambia"
By: JMA
Safari enthusiast
France France
9 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Sep. 2018 Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2020

We met Thierry on a trip with our children in South Africa. I contacted him 8 years later, for him to put together a couples safari in Zambia, after a week-long stay in the Cape region (on our own).

The transfers were perfect. Tide and Time camps and Chongwe were exceptional. We often were the only ones for walks or game drives, despite it being high season in September.

Once again, a big thanks to Thierry and his team. Africa, we miss you already!
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

Nous avions rencontré Thierry lors d'un séjour avec nos enfants en Afrique du sud, par le biais de terre d'aventure. Je l'ai contacté 8 ans après pour nous préparer un safari en Zambie, en couple, après un séjour d'une semaine dans la région du Cap(en autonomie).

La gestion des transferts a été parfaite. Les camps de time and tide, et de chongwe sont exceptionnels.
Les guides untrapro et nous étions souvent seulement tous les deux pour les walk ou gamedrives(malgré la haute saison de septembre).

Encore un grand merci à Thierry et à son équipe. Afrique, tu nous manques déjà!!!!!

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Zambia
9People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: JMA
Safari enthusiast
France France
Countries visited: Zambia
Visited: Sep. 2018
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2018

9People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Our greatest adventure for a safari"
Safari enthusiast
France France
4 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jun. 2019 Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2020

It was so great, we were in Botswana and Victoria falls for 11 nights. Only our family and in campsites. We liked so much to be so close to the animals with a fantastic guide from Botswana (Justice). Everything was perfect: the trip, the camps, the safari, the food. Such an amazing and trip! Thanks a lot.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Botswana Zimbabwe
4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Safari enthusiast
France France
Countries visited: Botswana Zimbabwe
Visited: Jun. 2019
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2019

4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Just perfect"
By: CVB2
Safari enthusiast
France France
63 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Apr. 2017 Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2020

Perfect trip thanks to Thierry.
Great guide and cook. He's passionate, funny, attentive. He has a deep knowledge of the flora and the fauna.
We got off the beaten path and enjoyed vistas that took our breath away. We visited local villages.

I strongly recommend Biwakwango!

____________________________________________

Séjour formidable grâce à Thierry.
Super guide et bon cuisinier. Passionné, drôle, attentionné,... Il a de grandes connaissances sur la faune et la flore.
On sort des chemins touristiques. Paysages à couper le souffle, rencontres avec des communautés,...il est plein de surprises.
Je vous conseille vivement Biwakwango !!!!!!!!!!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Mozambique South Africa
11People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: CVB2
Safari enthusiast
France France
Countries visited: Mozambique South Africa
Visited: Apr. 2017
Reviewed: May. 08, 2017

11People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"A breathtaking South African adventure"
Safari enthusiast
France France
8 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Aug. 2019 Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2020

We spent 10 days in South Africa this August, going through private reserves and the famous Kruger parc. It was a breathtaking experience. We alternated walking safari and vehicle ones. We experienced unique moments watching the unique South African Wildlife: Elephants, rhinos, lions....
I came back filled with magical memories.
Big thank you to our guide Thierry who share his passion for African nature and made us all spend a great time from beginning to end.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: South Africa
8People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Safari enthusiast
France France
Countries visited: South Africa
Visited: Aug. 2019
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2019

8People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"The wonderful African tour"
Safari enthusiast
Switzerland Switzerland
42 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Oct. 2017 Reviewed: Jul. 09, 2020

We were a group of 7 people and we spent 2 weeks with Thierry who shared with us his passion for nature, animals, wild life and for South Africa.

Every details was perfect, well organise clean and save (Safari, hike, food, transportation...). Thanks to his experience, he well know strategic points to observe various big 5 (e.g. elephants and lions close to the water at the same time). We had an authentic stay and every moment was unique. We bring with us wonderful souvenirs.

I definitely recommend Biwakwango to do safaris and discover South Africa. I will for sure renew the experience.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: South Africa
10People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Safari enthusiast
Switzerland Switzerland
Countries visited: South Africa
Visited: Oct. 2017
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2017

10People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"The best of Namibia & Victoria Falls - Le meilleur de la Namibie et des chutes Victoria"
Safari enthusiast
Belgium Belgium
11 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Sep. 2016 Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2020

We started off in the awesome Namib dunes at sunset and experienced the searing heat of the Sossusvlei, with flocks of oryx to keep us company. Then onward to the rock paintings and engravings at Brandberg and Twyfelfontein, even meeting up with the Damaraland elephants during a four-hour hike. Etosha was breathtaking, with such a variety of wildlife that it's almost impossible to describe. Boat trips on the Kavango and Zambezi rivers allowed us to connect with the local people and view wildlife from a different angle. We were delighted with the choice of lodges and our guide's thorough understanding of the country, its wildlife and history, which he enthusiastically shared with us.
_____________________________________________________________

Nous avons démarré par les impressionnantes dunes du Namib au crépuscule, avons fait l'expérience de la chaleur torride du Sossusvlei, accompagnés de troupeaux d'oryx. Ensuite en route vers les peintures et gravures rupestres du Brandberg et de Twyfelfontein, et avons même pu approcher les éléphants du Damaraland lors d'un trek de 4 heures. A Etosha nous avions le souffle coupé par le diversité des animaux évoluant dans leur milieu, une émotion mémorable. Des sorties sur les rivières Kavango et Zambèze nous ont permis de nouer des contacts avec les habitants, et de voir la faune sous un autre angle. Nous étions ravis par le choix des lodge et la connaissance approfondie de notre guide du pays, de la vie sauvage et de son histoire, qu'il a partagé avec nous avec enthousiasme.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Botswana Namibia Zimbabwe
11People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Safari enthusiast
Belgium Belgium
Countries visited: Botswana Namibia Zimbabwe
Visited: Sep. 2016
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2016

11People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Zambia - 14 days trip with Thierry"
By: Martine
Safari enthusiast
Belgium Belgium
12 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Oct. 2016 Reviewed: Mar. 07, 2020

The 14-day circuit in Zambia was super well-organized and balanced between the 3 parks: Lower Zambezi, South Luangwa and Kasanka. The choice of lodges was perfect both for their hospitality and for the activities proposed and supervised by competent guides. We had unforgettable moments. Would recommend the canoe and the Muchinga escarpment! Thank you Thierry and at a future opportunity.
_______________________________________________________________

Le circuit de 14 jours en Zambie était super bien organisé et équilibré entre les 3 parcs Lower Zambezi, South Luangwa et Kasanka. Le choix des loges était parfait tant pour leur hospitalité que pour les activités proposées et encadrées par des guides compétents. Nous avons passé des moments inoubliables. A recommander : le canoë et l’escarpement Muchinga ! Merci Thierry et à une prochaine occasion.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Zambia
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Martine
Safari enthusiast
Belgium Belgium
Countries visited: Zambia
Visited: Oct. 2016
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2016

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Super sejour familial"
By: RLA
Safari enthusiast
Reunion Reunion
12 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jul. 2017 Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2019

Our first family trip in Africa with our four children and with Thierry. We had 15 days between Swaziland, Mozambique and South Africa.
Thierry knows how to share his passion for nature and animals. Bonus: his Franche-Comtois accent attracts leopards--we observed two leopards during our stay. Everyone loved the safari and Thierry knew how to keep the kids entertained.

Thank you, Thierry, and until the next time!

_____________________________________________________________

Premier séjour familial en Afrique avec nos quatre enfants et en compagnie de Thierry, 15 jours entre le Swaziland, le Mozambique et l'Afrique du sud.
Thierry sait faire partager sa passion de la nature et des animaux avec une très bonne connaissance des milieux traversés. En plus un accent franc-comtois qui attire les léopards :observation de deux léopards pendant le séjour. Tout le monde a adoré et Thierry a su intéresser les enfants.

Merci à Thierry et certainement à bientôt

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Mozambique South Africa
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: RLA
Safari enthusiast
Reunion Reunion
Countries visited: Mozambique South Africa
Visited: Jul. 2017
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2017

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"In love with southern Africa"
Safari enthusiast
France France
221 kudus
Reviews (4)
Visited: Apr. 2018 Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2019

On arrival in Zimbabwe we went on a cruise on the Zambeze river from where we saw mainly hippos, birds and a crocodile and watched the beautiful sunset. After one night in a splendid location on the cliff edge of the Zambezi Gorge, we visited the spectacular Victoria Falls before taking a small aircraft to Somalisa Camp in the Hwange Park.

We fell in love with the bush, the camp and of course the animals, many elephants who come to drink just in front of the camp. Our transfers between the camps were by small aircraft, an exhilarating experience. We were hit by the immensity of just pure nature. In Botswana, we also went on a sunset cruise on the Chobe River where we saw hippos, and other animals on the banks. After one night in a small chalet by the river, we went on a safari of which the highlight was a herd of buffaloes and lions contemplating hunting them. Fortunately, we didn't see a kill!

Our next destination was Savuti Camp in beautiful Savute. At the end of the rainy season the bush is so luxuriant and, even though, it must be easier to see the animals in the hot dry season (can't stand the heat), we loved the fragrances of the grasses and saw many animals, lions in particular. From Savute we flow over the Okavango Delta, an exhilarating experience. The views and colours of the water are simply sublime. The Oddballs camp where we stayed was perhaps even more integrated with nature. No game drives but walking safaris and a short crossing of the Moremi River via mokoro (wooden canoe). The highlight of our walk was a male lion at around 40 metres from us and at sunrise a big family of hippos in the Moremi river. As you may have guessed, we particularly enjoyed the camps which provided two safaris per day, early morning and late afternoon. We didn't miss one. The staff were friendly, the food delicious, the environment and animals an absolute marvel. It was like returning to our origin and we dream to go back.

Sincere thanks to Thierry at Biwakwango for the excellent organization and for proposing exactly what we desired.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Botswana Zimbabwe
9People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Safari enthusiast
France France
Countries visited: Botswana South Africa Zimbabwe
Visited: Apr. 2018
Reviewed: May. 30, 2018

9People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Show more
YAScore: 69/100
Based on 20 reviews

Overall rating
Cleanliness of vehicle
Meet and greet team
Quality of itinerary
Responsiveness of staff

Latest photos (8)