African Breeze Tours

6 reviews
Reviews: 6
Tour packages: 8 tours
Private, custom tours
Group, set date tours
Photos: 20
Main focus: Mid-range safaris
Established: 2009
Headquarters: Kenya
Languages: English


Contact info

About African Breeze Tours

A Kenyan Based Licensed and Registered Tour Operator offering Safaris in East Africa. We have specialized in arranging tailor-made travel, safaris to East Africa,We provide the best of our services thus creating a memorable holiday experience. Our tailor-made department can arrange any itinerary to suit your exact requirements, and additionally we also have a dedicated honeymoon and wedding department. Let us share your Africa Travel Experience with you.
"African Breeze Tours: 5 day safari in Masai Mara, Naivasha and Nakuru"
By: Robin
Safari enthusiast
United Kingdom United Kingdom
69 kudus
Photos (5)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jan. 2015 Reviewed: Mar. 07, 2018

When looking for a last minute January break, I came across African Breeze Tours online. As a professional photographer based in the UK, I thought a Kenyan safari would be an ideal opportunity to see a new country and some interesting wildlife... and I wasn't disappointed!

Cate at African breeze was very helpful right from the start, providing me with useful information about the various packages to suit my requirements, right through to joining in with the Hell's Gate mountain-bike safari so that I would have some company!

I opted for the 5 day, budget safari package, spending 3 days in the Masai Mara, 1 day in Naivasha and another day in Nakuru. I was travelling solo so joined a larger, mixed group for the first days - I'm not sure if it was luck but they were all very friendly and any initial apprehension was short-lived. I was very impressed by the knowledge and general helpful nature of the tour guides throughout the trip and they enabled the group to see some fantastic wildlife. I saw cheetahs, lions, elephants, giraffes, buffalo, hippos, rhinos, hyenas and all manner of incredible eagles and other birdlife. For more detailed info, check out the 3 photo blog posts that I wrote:

Masai Mara:
http://www.robinboot.com/#!Kenya-Part-1-Maasai-Mara/c1cqh/A32FD2E8-9171-4C82-AFC8-367EEC01C3FA

Naivasha:
http://www.robinboot.com/#!Kenya-Part-2-Naivasha/c1cqh/3183F1B5-0F6D-4D36-B30B-26579009FB8B

Nakuru:
http://www.robinboot.com/#!Kenya-Part-3-Nakuru-and-Nairobi/c1cqh/5E53F64F-50A6-49AE-BA0F-7FCEA9F6E9BD

I knew this was going to be a budget safari so accommodation was basic but more than acceptable. The food provided was copious and provided enough variation. I wasn't looking for luxury, I was wanting adventure and African Breeze Tours certainly delivered! Thanks a lot!!


P.S. The highlight of the trip for me was the boat safari on Lake Naivasha - the fish eagles and kingfishers were incredible!!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya
13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Robin
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Countries visited: Kenya
Visited: Jan. 2015
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015

13People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Write a review

Sort by:

"Be careful"
By: mayumio
Safari enthusiast
Japan Japan
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Did not go on this tour Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2020

I paid USD 300 in August 2019 via wire transfer as deposit to join the safari tour but I had to cancel because they offered a really high price in last minute before I joined the tour in January. So I did not agree to join the tour and they agreed that they will refund the full amount of USD 300 to me in January. Since then, I've tried to email them many times to get me refund but they kept saying there are finance issues (even before COVID 19) so they will refund later, however it's been 7 months since they acknowledged and refund has not been done. I will try my best to get my refund of USD 300.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: mayumio
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Japan Japan
Countries visited:
Did not go on this tour
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2020

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Avoid at all costs"
Safari enthusiast
United Kingdom United Kingdom
2 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Sep. 2019 Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2020

DO NOT BOOK with African breeze tours – warning! Cate is at best, disorganised, unresponsive and manipulative, and at worst a con artist. AVOID AVOID AVOID

We booked our honeymoon with Cate at African Breeze tours – we were super impressed with her communication, putting together a bespoke package, and offering a great price.

We arrived at the airport, expecting a driver to pick us up from arrival. We landed at 5am, and Cate told us that we would have to wait until 7.30am for her and a driver – which we did.

The next few days were fine, although we hadn’t booked a private tour, no one else joined us, and it was great. We stayed at Treetops (highly recommend a stay here), Samburu Lodge (again a great hotel), and our driver/guide Solomon was good, he was a little maverick, and at times I wasn’t too sure if he was totally sure where he was going or whether we were lost.

The second half of the week though was horrendous, stressful and has really tainted my view of the honeymoon. We arrived after an 8 hour drive from Samburu to Lake Nakuru (although Cate told us it was a morning drive, and we would be there by lunchtime – we left at 8am and arrived gone 4pm!). Our driver struggled to find the hotel (Eagle Palace), which was in the city centre, not a hotel you would expect on a safari. Once we checked in, the driver said we should go for a drive around Lake Nakuru, but Cate hadn’t sent all of the money, and so we would need to pay $200USD. With the park only open for another hour, we decided it wasn’t worth it, but we were now worried that our driver didn’t have any money for fuel, and wasn’t prepared to drive us to Maasai Mara until he was paid. Cate didn’t pick up anyone’s calls, said she was having bank issues, and couldn’t pay until the morning. She didn’t read the WhatsApp messages and we had a strife night in Nakuru.

Cate paid the driver his fuel money so we left Nakuru, and headed for the Maasai Mara. En route we switched vehicles and drivers, and it appeared that Cate had booked us onto a tour with another company (Bencia tours – who were amazing!), we checked into the lodge (Ol Moran) and went for a drive the next day. When we arrived back at the lodge the staff were waiting for us and said our agent hadn’t paid for the room and so we were unable to get into our room until we paid $360USD. They had tried to get hold of Cate all day and she had promised to pay, but didn’t. After over 2 hours we managed to scramble together all the money the lodge required and paid it over, only then did Cate pay the lodge and our money was returned later that night. The lodge had told us that Cate had booked us into the lodge on the day we arrived, despite us booking with Cate 9 months before we arrived, and she had confirmed the lodge name and booking with us.
Overall the Safari was great, but African breeze were a nightmare. The company address is a PO box at JIKA airport – and this should be a warning sign to anyone.

AVOID AFRICAN BREEZE TOURS AT ALL COSTS, if you already have booked with them, I suggest you double check that all the accommodation has been booked and paid for before you leave, and that the driver has all the money and park fees before you leave for safari.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya
2People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Countries visited: Kenya
Visited: Sep. 2019
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2019

2People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"New lease of Life! 7-day safari. "
Safari enthusiast
Kenya Kenya
11 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jan. 2018 Reviewed: Jun. 05, 2020

Early this year, booked our honeymoon with African Breeze Tours. It was a fabulous experience, the hotel was very homely, the driver was very helpful and knowledgeable and Cate, the consultant, was very helpful and always a phone call away! They gave us a new lease of life as we start our new path of life!! Big up and trust me we will be back for another out of the world experience!!! Thank you

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya
11People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Kenya Kenya
Countries visited: Kenya
Visited: Jan. 2018
Reviewed: Jun. 08, 2018

11People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"A perfect trip very well organised."
Safari enthusiast
Kenya Kenya
6 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Oct. 2017 Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2020

Services are efficient and arrangements were perfect.
The parks visited were amazing and luxury accommodation great.

I won't hesitate to recommend others on using African Breeze tours.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya
6People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Kenya Kenya
Countries visited: Kenya
Visited: Oct. 2017
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2018

6People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"African Breeze Tours"
Safari enthusiast
United States United States
12 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Mar. 2015 Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2016

Cate and her team made our Kenya-Tanzania tour memorable. Cate's team knew when and where to find animals. The most outstanding memory was watching a leopard scale up a huge tree with a gazelle carcass to evade losing her kill to closing-in hyenas. Cate was also able to find a luggage my mother in-law had lost at the airport and we are forever grateful! I would recommend African Breeze Tours to anyone without reservations! Go team Cate!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya Tanzania
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
United States United States
Countries visited: Kenya Tanzania
Visited: Mar. 2015
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2015

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
YAScore: 60/100
Based on 6 reviews

Overall rating
Cleanliness of vehicle
Meet and greet team
Quality of itinerary
Responsiveness of staff

Park reviews written by None

The 8th wonder of the world

When: April 3, 2015, 11:21 a.m.

Latest photos (20)