Gilmag Safaris

37 reviews
Reviews: 37
Tour packages: 5 tours
Private, custom tours
Photos: 12
Main focus: Luxury
Established: 2016
Headquarters: Tanzania
Languages:
English


Contact info
About Gilmag Safaris
We are a Tanzanian company!!!We were born here, live here and work here; we know Africa. When you purchase a Gilmag Safaris package you are dealing directly with the company providing the services, not with an agent shopping for services in Africa on your behalf. Our guides are all local, knowledgeable and indigenous to this part of Africa – we do not employ foreign guides as we believe the best people to show you our homeland has to be a Tanzanian born and bred! When you think of superlatives, you must think of Tanzania. From the highest peaks of Africa with Mount Kilimanjaro, to the deepest depths of the continent with Lake Tanganyika. From the vast plains of the Serengeti, to the massive Selous Game Reserve. From the migration of more than two million wildebeest to the nocturnal movements of the predators that stalk them. You can find it all through Gilmag Safaris.
About our safari vehicles
Our 4WDs consist of Toyota Land Cruisers; we do not use minibuses for safaris. Among other things, we pride ourselves in our unique vehicle designs. We are therefore, proud to be the trend-setters that other tour operators have seen fit to try and emulate. Our 4WDs are equipped with HF radio, a set of referral books, a first aid kit, a cool box, a pair of binoculars & have pop-up rooftop- ideal for game viewing and photography! Our 4WD vehicles are well maintained and can go just about anywhere in just about any conditions! Hot Deal: More exciting and better value safari10% Off Explore the
"Gilmag Safaris stands out from the crowd"
By: AlexM
Tanzania Tanzania
6 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Oct. 2021 Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2021 Submitted in:

The first thing I must mention is the level of professionalism at Gilmag Safaris. The tour was completely tailored to our desires. Lots of little extras!!! We recently had 9 days in Tanzania and wanted to make the most of it. We were referred to Gilmag Safaris who put together a customized itinerary which included picking us up at the airport, transferring us to our hotel in Arusha and the safari itself. Gilbert who picked us from the airport was super welcoming and knowledgeable during the entire trip.
In a sea of tour providers and options, Gilmag Safaris stands out from the crowd. We had an amazing African trip and returned back with great memories. We had a blast. I would high recommend Gilmag Safaris. I will definitely go to Tanzania again, and will definitely hire Tour Company again.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
6People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: AlexM
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Oct. 2021
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2021

6People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Write a review

Sort by:

"Extremely organized safari"
By: Sonia
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Oct. 2022 Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2022 Submitted in:

We just wanted to express our sincere gratitude to Gilmag Safaris for its planning assistance, contacts and absolute gold-star service with our multi-day holiday through Tanzania. This trip has been my on my bucket list for as long as I could remember. I had always wanted to go on an African Safari. I reached out to Gilmag Safaris and Mary took care of everything for us. She created multiple itineraries based on our wants and desires allowing us to pick which one we felt like we would most enjoy. Plus she was willing to adapt to any requests that we had. We communicated everything via e-mail and she was quick to get us answers or just let us know that things were being worked on. Mary hits all the points: organized, nice, professional, good listener and the best was the personal touch. It truly felt as she was planning this for someone she knew. The itinerary gave us a good understanding of the country, flora and fauna and time she allotted for each destination was perfect.
Together, we worked to find various styles of 4-star and 5-star accommodation in Arusha, Tarangire, Ngorongoro and Serengeti and all suited us very well. Mary’s recommendations and ideas were spot-on. All connections ran without incident and the properties she booked for us were all excellent - better than we expected!
Right before the trip Mary reached out with her WhatsApp information so that we could communicate quickly while on the trip.
Last but not least; we had the best guide Nickson. He was polite, friendly and extremely knowledgeable. With his help, we saw all the Big 5 and much more. The trip was made exceptionally easy and went off without a hitch! We couldn’t be happier with Gilmag Safaris; we couldn't have had this trip of a lifetime without them!
If you're looking for someone to plan your trip, look no further. I know I'll be emailing Gilmag Safaris again soon for another visit!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Sonia
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Oct. 2022
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2022

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Wonderful Tanzania experience"
Tanzania Tanzania
1 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Oct. 2022 Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2022 Submitted in:

After much and extensive online research, I contacted Mary of Gilmag Safaris to book their 8 days Tarangire, Ngorongoro and Serengeti tour for my friends and I. Mary was very professional in the way she communicated and gave detailed information. She answered all the questions I had. Our experience with Gilmag Safaris was just perfect! We spent amazing 8 days on safari. We were assigned a brilliant tour guide, Nickson who made sure we had the best drives ever, of course culminating with the wildebeest crossing of the Mara River. Apart from the millions of wildebeest, we saw so many animals namely lions, hyenas, rhinos, secretary birds, and many more.
The trip was amazing, from the company services to all the activities we engaged in.
Thank you for the experience, Gilmag Safaris.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Oct. 2022
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2022

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Best safari planners in Tanzania"
By: MarkleM
Tanzania Tanzania
1 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Sep. 2022 Reviewed: Sep. 09, 2022 Submitted in:

My girlfriend and I booked a 10 day private tour with Gilmag Safaris. It was a round trip through Tanzania Northern Safari Circuit. We had the most unbelievable experience. Every part of the itinerary was well thought out by Gilmag Safaris. Our itinerary was very well organized with accommodations carefully selected to meet our requirement.
I came across Gilmag Safaris when I was researching for our trip, but we had no idea what they would be like. We booked with them and it turned out to be the best decision we ever made. There aren’t enough words to accurately describe our trip through Serengeti, Lake Natron, Ngorongoro and Tarangire with our guide Gilbert. If you are looking for an authentic experience and the opportunity to have a memorable experience, then this is the company for you! We had the honour of visiting Hadzabe and Datoga families in their homes and it was an incredible experience

Gilbert was brilliant right from the start. Super knowledgeable, really flexible and an incredibly genuine and nice guy. The accommodation was way better than we thought it was going to be and the food was great. The trip was well planned, with a number of beautiful vistas and informational stops along the way to break up the drive.
Overall, we loved travelling with Gilmag Safaris; we can only hope to be back one day!!!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: MarkleM
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Sep. 2022
Reviewed: Sep. 09, 2022

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Unforgettable Tanzania safari"
By: Grayson
Tanzania Tanzania
2 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Sep. 2022 Reviewed: Sep. 06, 2022 Submitted in:

My wife, son and I had the experience of a lifetime with Gilmag Safaris during our fifteen-day tour of Arusha, Tarangire, Manyara, Ngorongoro, Serengeti and Zanzibar. All correspondence before, during, and after our tour was timely, personal and professional.
Every moment; from my first email, to my constant, "what if we did this", to even the ‘I hope you landed safely back home’...this level of caring only comes from people who love their country and love to make sure everyone who comes there has the time of their lives.. Mary worked with us to tailor the tour and it was wonderful.

Nickson was the crown jewel of the tour—polite, incredibly informative, very intelligent and friendly in his conversation and explanations; helpful beyond any reasonable expectation. He met us at the Kilimanjaro International airport with a big smile which never left. He is also an excellent driver. The accommodations chosen by Gilmag Safaris were wonderful; beautiful facilities, hospitable and excellent staffs. We’ll always remember the tour with fondness and we’ll never forget our guide, Nickson.

Without Gilmag’s precise planning, time management, connections, and passion for Tanzania, we would have missed many learning opportunities. By the end of our adventure, we had fallen in love with the people, food, music and beauty of Tanzania and Zanzibar
Thank you Gilmag Safaris for being a part of our blessed journey!!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
2People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Grayson
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Sep. 2022
Reviewed: Sep. 03, 2022

2People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Marvelous Tanzania and Zanzibar Vacation"
By: Wellens
Tanzania Tanzania
1 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jul. 2022 Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2022 Submitted in:

We were referred to Gilmag Safaris by a friend, and we were so lucky to be able to work with them! We had no idea how to begin planning our safari, and the team there worked with us to develop the perfect trip. Based upon what we told them we wanted, the staff recommended several places, and we chose a trip to Serengeti, Ngorongoro, Tarangire and Zanzibar - What an amazing decision that was. They listened to what we wanted and our budget and were able to offer us several options for safari.
Gilmag Safaris managed to put together a stunning and unforgettable trip even though we were rather late to book for the busy holiday season. Vivian was particularly helpful, stayed in contact throughout (both before, during and after our trip).
Nickson, our professional guide was amazing! His knowledge of the behaviors of the wildlife helped us to see so many animals..…. lions, zebras, giraffes, elephants, hippos, buffalos, black rhinos, wildebeest migration and much more! Nickson can spot any animal from miles away! Nickson shared with us the history of Tanzania, background on the wildlife parks, information on the wildlife and personal details about his life and family! He made our experience unforgettable!
I could go on and on about the trip, but I have to say that Gilmag’s service was excellent the entire time! I highly recommend that you work with them. They will help you plan the most perfect vacation! We thank all those involved for setting up such an awesome trip and recommend Gilmag Safaris without any doubt!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Wellens
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Jul. 2022
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2022

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"An incredible Tanzania tour filled with memories!"
By: AustinJ
Tanzania Tanzania
3 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jul. 2022 Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2022 Submitted in:

We found Gilmag Safaris randomly on Google Search. I had never heard of Gilmag Safaris and have had several friends use other companies for double the price for a similar itinerary so I was a bit skeptical. The offer sounded too good to be true. We did quite a bit of research before booking and this tour itinerary was packed with all the highlights our group of five wanted to experience, nothing comparable was offered by any other company, and certainly not at the value price we paid. I cannot express how incredible Gilmag Safaris made my trip to Tanzania. The level of communication leading up to and during my trip was stellar. Mary was very thorough in setting up all of our accommodations and reservations and sending us a detailed itinerary along with contact information prior to our arrival. Their overall level of service was awesome. I had a spectacular time and won't hesitate to book with them again.

What was especially remarkable about our tour was our tour guide, Gilbert. Gilbert was a fantastic guide for our private 10-day tour; very knowledgeable about the history of the country and very eager to be sure we were taken care of and that we had a great experience. The 2 highlights of the tour were Ngorongoro and Northern Serengeti. In Serengeti, we were fortunate to see almost all of the animals in their natural habitats: leopard, elephants, giraffes, zebras, rhinos, hippos, baboons, buffalo, wildebeest, hyenas and many more.
The people were amazing and everything was perfect. Everything was extremely organized, we never got bored. There was never a concern about our safety, or that an unforeseen glitch would spoil the trip for us. It’s been a truly breath-taking and educational experience and we highly recommend Gilmag Safaris to anybody who wants to travel to Africa.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
3People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: AustinJ
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Jul. 2022
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2022

3People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Gilmag Safaris – Amazing trip in Tanzania"
Tanzania Tanzania
3 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jun. 2022 Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2022 Submitted in:

What an amazing experience this trip was! I have been wanting to do this for a while and a work trip to Tanzania gave me that kick to finally do it. Me being a planner, I researched a lot of tour companies and Gilmag Safaris received overwhelming positive feedback. Everything was very thoughtfully planned, from pick-up time and what to expect through on arrival, to sleeping accommodations, dining, etc.
Nickson, our tour guide while in Tanzania, was fantastic. He was so knowledgeable and was very patient with us and the hundreds of questions that were asked. During the tours he gave us plenty of time to explore the local markets, Tanzanite Experience, which was greatly appreciated. From a scale of 1 to 10, the trip itself was a 10, but Nickson made it a 15!
Over the course of our 8 days trip, with his wit, wisdom, encyclopedic knowledge, care, compassion, and sense of humor, Nickson became family. If you are fortunate enough to get Nickson as your guide, you are in for a special treat.
In Serengeti, I would highly recommend staying at Tanzania Pure Tented Camp and not a hotel. It is set in a beautiful location and the tents are very comfortable and showers are more than adequate.
I would definitely recommend Gilmag Safaris, and thank you, Nickson, for sharing your amazing country with us!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
3People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Jun. 2022
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2022

3People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Incredible trip to Tanzania"
By: RochD
Tanzania Tanzania
4 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jun. 2022 Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2022 Submitted in:

I have traveled to Tanzania twice with Gilmag Safaris. Once with a group and then with friends.
Right from when we landed, Nickson and Gilbert helped us with the problems we had with our luggage, to the very end of our 1 week tour, including dropping us off and saying goodbye to us at the airport. During our week in Tanzania, They were very attentive to all of our needs. We could tell that they really care about their clients. Everything was planned perfectly and the guides were a wealth of knowledge so we could learn and explore so much about the region and its wildlife, history and culture.
The food was incredible and the accommodation was outstanding. The accommodation was unique, super clean and just in the most astonishing spots you can imagine. When you go on a vacation, most of the time you are looking to disconnect from the world, relax, recoup, and just enjoy your time. We were able to get in touch with nature, Tanzanian culture and ourselves.
We were so lucky to see so much wildlife during the tour. The knowledge of the guides was incredible, they knew everything about the animals and really made the trip great with all information they gave us. We really felt they did everything to make our trip perfect, which it was.
We went in June 2022 and it was one of our all time favorite trips. We have told many people about Gilmag Safaris and how they made our trip outstanding.
Definitely choose Gilmag when planning a trip around this magnificent part of the world. Thank you Mary and team, we would definitely recommend you with confidence to anyone.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: RochD
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Jun. 2022
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2022

4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Amazing Tanzania Safari"
By: Randall
Tanzania Tanzania
4 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Mar. 2022 Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2022 Submitted in:

We spent 7 days in Tanzania on our first international trip as boyfriend and girlfriend. It was amazing! At first, it seemed too expensive, but afterwards, we realized how much value we got out of it and how much we were able to see and learn with our guide who knew exactly where to take us and pretty much was a Tanzania encyclopedia for that matter.

By the time we landed at the airport, our tour guide, Nickson, was already waiting in the arrivals area with the sign. We had a free day before our tour started and Gilmag Safaris provided a full day, private tour of Arusha City. Every pickup was on time and effortless. Everyone spoke clear English and was easy to understand.

What an experience!!! Great culture. Great experience. But what made it so enjoyable and such a great experience is Mary. She owns the company and serves you like no other can. Nice, outgoing, modern safari vehicle and great service. You are safe and secure with this company.
Overall, we had a great experience; the wonderful sights and sounds of Ngorongoro and Serengeti Parks. Best customer service I've experienced in a very long time. 100% recommended!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Randall
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Mar. 2022
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2022

4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Phenomenal Tanzanian safari"
Tanzania Tanzania
5 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Feb. 2022 Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2022 Submitted in:

I found this company purely by searching the internet. The communication was straightforward from the very beginning and Mary made it easy for me to find a suitable offer. I was promised that this will be my life time unforgettable adventure and experience of life and literally it was as they said. The team organized a terrific and thoughtful itinerary that included lovely and luxurious properties.

The communication and details provided allowed for a worry free experience. They truly wanted to make us safe, comfortable and excited and they went out of their way to do so! They were always available to answer questions. Gilmag Safaris planned a perfect trip for us! We made some changes along the way, and it would have been really difficult without their help.
The lodgings at each location were welcoming with loving, joyful staff and all of our needs (if any) were attended to. The food was outstanding and did I mention how wonderful the Tanzanian people are? It was definitely the trip of a lifetime. Our guide, Gilbert was a careful driver and the best tour guide. He gave us a lot of information about the animals, birds, etc. We saw lots of animals.

Overall, the trip was exceptionally excellent. I highly recommend Gilmag Safaris to anyone who is planning a trip. I'd give them 6 stars if I could!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
5People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Feb. 2022
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2022

5People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Show more