Gilmag Safaris

42 reviews
Reviews: 42
Tour packages: 5 tours
Private, custom tours
Photos: 12
Main focus: Luxury
Established: 2016
Headquarters: Tanzania
Languages:
English


Contact info
About Gilmag Safaris
We are a Tanzanian company!!!We were born here, live here and work here; we know Africa. When you purchase a Gilmag Safaris package you are dealing directly with the company providing the services, not with an agent shopping for services in Africa on your behalf. Our guides are all local, knowledgeable and indigenous to this part of Africa – we do not employ foreign guides as we believe the best people to show you our homeland has to be a Tanzanian born and bred! When you think of superlatives, you must think of Tanzania. From the highest peaks of Africa with Mount Kilimanjaro, to the deepest depths of the continent with Lake Tanganyika. From the vast plains of the Serengeti, to the massive Selous Game Reserve. From the migration of more than two million wildebeest to the nocturnal movements of the predators that stalk them. You can find it all through Gilmag Safaris.
About our safari vehicles
Our 4WDs consist of Toyota Land Cruisers; we do not use minibuses for safaris. Among other things, we pride ourselves in our unique vehicle designs. We are therefore, proud to be the trend-setters that other tour operators have seen fit to try and emulate. Our 4WDs are equipped with HF radio, a set of referral books, a first aid kit, a cool box, a pair of binoculars & have pop-up rooftop- ideal for game viewing and photography! Our 4WD vehicles are well maintained and can go just about anywhere in just about any conditions! Hot Deal: More exciting and better value safari10% Off Explore the
"Best 14 days Kenya-Tanzania safari"
Mauritius Mauritius
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Apr. 2024 Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2024 Submitted in:

Our 14 days Kenya-Tanzania, organized by Mary at Gilmag Safaris, was absolutely spectacular, far surpassing even our highest expectations. This trip was the best vacation I’ve had up to date.
We found Gilmag Safaris randomly online. When booking a trip for Africa who knows where to start? I am glad we found Gilmag. Mary will probably learn reading this review that I was in discussion with 3 other tour operators during the planning stage. Not only was Mary more responsive than the others but her trip was the best value as well.
I’m happy that Mary recommended that we visit 3 different parks (Kenya – Masai Mara, Naivasha and Amboseli. Tanzania – Serengeti, Ngorongoro and Tarangire) in both countries - both were wonderful but had differences and we saw all of the big 5 and experienced so many amazing sights
Preparation and organization was excellent, every day a highlight, all things were safe. We had a wonderful experience in the planning of our Safari and had an absolutely FANTASTIC holiday! I wish I could relive this exact trip again and again because it was perfectly curated and so much fun. Much appreciation to our tour guides Amos and Nickson. We love Tanzania and highly recommend it as a must do destination.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Mauritius Mauritius
Countries visited:
Visited: Apr. 2024
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2024

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Write a review

Sort by:

"Perfect Tanzania safari"
By: Innessa
Mauritius Mauritius
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Dec. 2023 Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2023 Submitted in:

We found Gilmag Safaris randomly on Google Search and contacted them. Every question was answered quickly and the preparation information was spot on. The payment process was effortless with flexible payment plan.
Everything was perfect especially the warm welcome from our guide, Erick who was neat and perfect in everything with a clean and nice safari landcruiser. We visited Tarangire, Lake Manyara, Ngorongoro and Serengeti where we witnessed the Great Wildebeest Migration. Accommodation was well arranged according to our request and we had the best experience which exceeded our expectations. The Plantation Lodge – was the icing on the cake! The gardens, the rooms, the restaurant - fabulous!
We had the best vacation ever! I recommend Gilmag Safaris 100%.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Innessa
Mauritius Mauritius
Countries visited:
Visited: Dec. 2023
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2023

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Simply amazing company – amazing service!"
Mauritius Mauritius
1 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Oct. 2023 Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2023 Submitted in:

We were very pleased with Gilmag Safaris and Mary in particular who has been amazing! She was so patient with us while going through all the various options in order to plan our trip. Her insights were invaluable in making the right choices of where to stay and things to do. Mary was always available even after working hours or weekends to help with everything we needed! She was truly fantastic.
Everything went smoothly and Mary was there to help with changes when needed. The attention and service was excellent at all times, from the planning of the trip to the return home. We had an amazing time throughout the whole trip with our tour guide, Erick. He was relatively young, but so knowledgeable and we could tell that he loves what he does.
At every accommodation that we stayed, the food was wonderful and we were served like royalty.
The payment process was easy and I appreciated the option of paying online by credit card instead of having to wire funds. We strongly recommended Gilmag Safaris. We are going to be back very soon!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Mauritius Mauritius
Countries visited:
Visited: Oct. 2023
Reviewed: Oct. 08, 2023

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Perfect Tanzania safari and Zanzibar vacation"
Tanzania Tanzania
1 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: May. 2023 Reviewed: May. 08, 2023 Submitted in:

The communication between myself and Mary was on time, reliable and accurate. She was very accommodating to my requests. And everything that was mentioned in the itinerary was as it was and all on time! The lodges and tented camps booked were very comfortable and cozy. But of course, the safaris were the best part with Nickson as our guide. We took so many amazing pictures of the wildlife. The tour guide was the best - very knowledgeable and experienced - we'll never forget. The safari was perfect with real effort to find us all the animals we wanted to see, Nickson full of knowledge and willing to show us the best of Tarangire, Manyara, Ngorongoro and Serengeti. The food everywhere was amazing and we got a beautiful singing performance from the staff at Serengeti Serena Lodge.
A Gilmag Safaris tour is worthwhile if you want to experience the magic of Africa with reliable airport transfers both in Tanzania mainland and Zanzibar.
We'd recommend Gilmag Safaris to anybody and wouldn't hesitate to use them again.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: May. 2023
Reviewed: May. 07, 2023

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Perfect solo trip"
By: Edgah
Tanzania Tanzania
3 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Mar. 2023 Reviewed: Apr. 04, 2023 Submitted in:

I was absolutely satisfied with the whole organization and execution of the trip. The staff were so hospitable. The trip was very well planned and prepared
The 4WD vehicle was always clean and comfortable. The lodges were all very nice and well selected. The prices were affordable and a wonderful surprise when I arrived at my accommodations; with friendly staff and lovely food. I can't say enough about how helpful they were. For the tour, I had a private guided tour for 8 days. The tour guide, Nickson, was clearly experienced. His vehicle was super clean, neat and in perfect working order. I was travelling solo and spent the 8 days with Nickson, driving, eating, chatting, enjoying the scenery and companionable silences. I visited Kilimanjaro, Tarangire, Ngorongoro, Ndutu and Serengeti. My guide, Nickson, was outstanding!!! His knowledge of the parks, the wildlife (especially birds) and the local culture was fantastic.
I highly recommend Gilmag Safaris. Don’t hesitate to book with them.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
3People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Edgah
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Mar. 2023
Reviewed: Apr. 01, 2023

3People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Extremely organized safari"
By: Sonia
Tanzania Tanzania
3 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Oct. 2022 Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2022 Submitted in:

We just wanted to express our sincere gratitude to Gilmag Safaris for its planning assistance, contacts and absolute gold-star service with our multi-day holiday through Tanzania. This trip has been my on my bucket list for as long as I could remember. I had always wanted to go on an African Safari. I reached out to Gilmag Safaris and Mary took care of everything for us. She created multiple itineraries based on our wants and desires allowing us to pick which one we felt like we would most enjoy. Plus she was willing to adapt to any requests that we had. We communicated everything via e-mail and she was quick to get us answers or just let us know that things were being worked on. Mary hits all the points: organized, nice, professional, good listener and the best was the personal touch. It truly felt as she was planning this for someone she knew. The itinerary gave us a good understanding of the country, flora and fauna and time she allotted for each destination was perfect.
Together, we worked to find various styles of 4-star and 5-star accommodation in Arusha, Tarangire, Ngorongoro and Serengeti and all suited us very well. Mary’s recommendations and ideas were spot-on. All connections ran without incident and the properties she booked for us were all excellent - better than we expected!
Right before the trip Mary reached out with her WhatsApp information so that we could communicate quickly while on the trip.
Last but not least; we had the best guide Nickson. He was polite, friendly and extremely knowledgeable. With his help, we saw all the Big 5 and much more. The trip was made exceptionally easy and went off without a hitch! We couldn’t be happier with Gilmag Safaris; we couldn't have had this trip of a lifetime without them!
If you're looking for someone to plan your trip, look no further. I know I'll be emailing Gilmag Safaris again soon for another visit!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
3People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Sonia
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Oct. 2022
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2022

3People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Wonderful Tanzania experience"
Tanzania Tanzania
3 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Oct. 2022 Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2022 Submitted in:

After much and extensive online research, I contacted Mary of Gilmag Safaris to book their 8 days Tarangire, Ngorongoro and Serengeti tour for my friends and I. Mary was very professional in the way she communicated and gave detailed information. She answered all the questions I had. Our experience with Gilmag Safaris was just perfect! We spent amazing 8 days on safari. We were assigned a brilliant tour guide, Nickson who made sure we had the best drives ever, of course culminating with the wildebeest crossing of the Mara River. Apart from the millions of wildebeest, we saw so many animals namely lions, hyenas, rhinos, secretary birds, and many more.
The trip was amazing, from the company services to all the activities we engaged in.
Thank you for the experience, Gilmag Safaris.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
3People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Oct. 2022
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2022

3People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Best safari planners in Tanzania"
By: MarkleM
Tanzania Tanzania
4 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Sep. 2022 Reviewed: Sep. 09, 2022 Submitted in:

My girlfriend and I booked a 10 day private tour with Gilmag Safaris. It was a round trip through Tanzania Northern Safari Circuit. We had the most unbelievable experience. Every part of the itinerary was well thought out by Gilmag Safaris. Our itinerary was very well organized with accommodations carefully selected to meet our requirement.
I came across Gilmag Safaris when I was researching for our trip, but we had no idea what they would be like. We booked with them and it turned out to be the best decision we ever made. There aren’t enough words to accurately describe our trip through Serengeti, Lake Natron, Ngorongoro and Tarangire with our guide Gilbert. If you are looking for an authentic experience and the opportunity to have a memorable experience, then this is the company for you! We had the honour of visiting Hadzabe and Datoga families in their homes and it was an incredible experience

Gilbert was brilliant right from the start. Super knowledgeable, really flexible and an incredibly genuine and nice guy. The accommodation was way better than we thought it was going to be and the food was great. The trip was well planned, with a number of beautiful vistas and informational stops along the way to break up the drive.
Overall, we loved travelling with Gilmag Safaris; we can only hope to be back one day!!!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: MarkleM
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Sep. 2022
Reviewed: Sep. 09, 2022

4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Unforgettable Tanzania safari"
By: Grayson
Tanzania Tanzania
3 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Sep. 2022 Reviewed: Sep. 06, 2022 Submitted in:

My wife, son and I had the experience of a lifetime with Gilmag Safaris during our fifteen-day tour of Arusha, Tarangire, Manyara, Ngorongoro, Serengeti and Zanzibar. All correspondence before, during, and after our tour was timely, personal and professional.
Every moment; from my first email, to my constant, "what if we did this", to even the ‘I hope you landed safely back home’...this level of caring only comes from people who love their country and love to make sure everyone who comes there has the time of their lives.. Mary worked with us to tailor the tour and it was wonderful.

Nickson was the crown jewel of the tour—polite, incredibly informative, very intelligent and friendly in his conversation and explanations; helpful beyond any reasonable expectation. He met us at the Kilimanjaro International airport with a big smile which never left. He is also an excellent driver. The accommodations chosen by Gilmag Safaris were wonderful; beautiful facilities, hospitable and excellent staffs. We’ll always remember the tour with fondness and we’ll never forget our guide, Nickson.

Without Gilmag’s precise planning, time management, connections, and passion for Tanzania, we would have missed many learning opportunities. By the end of our adventure, we had fallen in love with the people, food, music and beauty of Tanzania and Zanzibar
Thank you Gilmag Safaris for being a part of our blessed journey!!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
3People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Grayson
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Sep. 2022
Reviewed: Sep. 03, 2022

3People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Marvelous Tanzania and Zanzibar Vacation"
By: Wellens
Tanzania Tanzania
4 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jul. 2022 Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2022 Submitted in:

We were referred to Gilmag Safaris by a friend, and we were so lucky to be able to work with them! We had no idea how to begin planning our safari, and the team there worked with us to develop the perfect trip. Based upon what we told them we wanted, the staff recommended several places, and we chose a trip to Serengeti, Ngorongoro, Tarangire and Zanzibar - What an amazing decision that was. They listened to what we wanted and our budget and were able to offer us several options for safari.
Gilmag Safaris managed to put together a stunning and unforgettable trip even though we were rather late to book for the busy holiday season. Vivian was particularly helpful, stayed in contact throughout (both before, during and after our trip).
Nickson, our professional guide was amazing! His knowledge of the behaviors of the wildlife helped us to see so many animals..…. lions, zebras, giraffes, elephants, hippos, buffalos, black rhinos, wildebeest migration and much more! Nickson can spot any animal from miles away! Nickson shared with us the history of Tanzania, background on the wildlife parks, information on the wildlife and personal details about his life and family! He made our experience unforgettable!
I could go on and on about the trip, but I have to say that Gilmag’s service was excellent the entire time! I highly recommend that you work with them. They will help you plan the most perfect vacation! We thank all those involved for setting up such an awesome trip and recommend Gilmag Safaris without any doubt!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Wellens
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Jul. 2022
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2022

4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"An incredible Tanzania tour filled with memories!"
By: AustinJ
Tanzania Tanzania
4 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jul. 2022 Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2022 Submitted in:

We found Gilmag Safaris randomly on Google Search. I had never heard of Gilmag Safaris and have had several friends use other companies for double the price for a similar itinerary so I was a bit skeptical. The offer sounded too good to be true. We did quite a bit of research before booking and this tour itinerary was packed with all the highlights our group of five wanted to experience, nothing comparable was offered by any other company, and certainly not at the value price we paid. I cannot express how incredible Gilmag Safaris made my trip to Tanzania. The level of communication leading up to and during my trip was stellar. Mary was very thorough in setting up all of our accommodations and reservations and sending us a detailed itinerary along with contact information prior to our arrival. Their overall level of service was awesome. I had a spectacular time and won't hesitate to book with them again.

What was especially remarkable about our tour was our tour guide, Gilbert. Gilbert was a fantastic guide for our private 10-day tour; very knowledgeable about the history of the country and very eager to be sure we were taken care of and that we had a great experience. The 2 highlights of the tour were Ngorongoro and Northern Serengeti. In Serengeti, we were fortunate to see almost all of the animals in their natural habitats: leopard, elephants, giraffes, zebras, rhinos, hippos, baboons, buffalo, wildebeest, hyenas and many more.
The people were amazing and everything was perfect. Everything was extremely organized, we never got bored. There was never a concern about our safety, or that an unforeseen glitch would spoil the trip for us. It’s been a truly breath-taking and educational experience and we highly recommend Gilmag Safaris to anybody who wants to travel to Africa.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: AustinJ
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Jul. 2022
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2022

4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Show more
YAScore: 79/100
Based on 42 reviews

Overall rating
Cleanliness of vehicle
Meet and greet team
Quality of itinerary
Responsiveness of staff