Africa 2000 Tours

26 reviews
Reviews: 26
Tour packages: 0 tours
Private, custom tours
Photos: 10
Main focus: Budget safaris
Established: 2013
Headquarters: South Africa
Languages: English


Contact info

About Africa 2000 Tours

Africa 2000 Tours is a company operated by people who have been involved in Travel and Wildlife Safaris since childhood, people who were raised in and have traveled through the remote regions of Africa and beyond. We would like to share our passion for Africa with you, its wildlife, culture, and outstanding scenery. With our wide diversity of expertise we will plan every aspect of your African holiday / vacation,ensuring you a very personal experience.We specialize in tailor made safaris for families, small groups of friends, and the single traveler to Botswana, Zambia, South Africa, Malawi, Namibia, Tanzania, Kenya, Madagascar, Mozambique and the Seychelles
"Namibia safari"
Safari enthusiast
Australia Australia
10 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Apr. 2015 Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2018

My wife and I had used Africa 2000 Tours in 2009 to organise a trip to Victoria Falls and Botswana which was great and will be one of our top five best trips EVER.
We had some experience of Africa when we worked in Zambia from 1976 to 1981 and had always wanted to experience Namibia. Given their wonderful service previously with us and other friends we consulted Graham and Gill to advise how we might plan a trip when we were in South Africa in early 2015.
Their responses were prompt and very informative, professional but warm and friendly. They were very responsive to our requests and budget. We only had a ten day window and after some email comms decided to take a individually guided trip from Windhoek taking in Swakopmund, Damaraland and Etosha (including a couple of nights in a private game park)..... WOW!!

What a wonderful trip. Nicco our guide that Graham and Gill had sourced for us was great, a good tracker, very knowledgeable about the game, the flora, the geography, geology and local environment. Also he was able to educate us regarding the socio-political and economic situation in Namibia.
We could go on endlessly about the fantastic sites we saw, excellent lodges and guest house that we stayed in, all the animals and experiences we experienced, but I am sure that you get the message, it was just fantastic and the highlight of a 7 month trip that included South Africa, Austria, France, UK, Spain and Portugal.

I could write about the game that we saw, the wonderful people that guided us, the fantastic experiences we enjoyed, but words cannot do it justice so contact Graham and Gill, go and see for yourselves…I promise that you won’t regret it.
They listen to your needs and expectations, they advise on things to do that you did not even know about…..they are not just good but great and lovely with it. I would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone.
Thank you Graham and Gill, you have given us excellent advice and organised two of the most memorable trips that we have experienced in over 40 years of travel.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Namibia
10People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Australia Australia
Countries visited: Namibia
Visited: Apr. 2015
Reviewed: Jan. 04, 2016

10People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Write a review

Sort by:

"Trip of a lifetime"
By: Elias
Safari enthusiast
United States United States
4 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Nov. 2018 Reviewed: Nov. 05, 2020

What started out as a single vacation turned into five vacations in one through the efforts of Africa 2000 led by Gill Maskell and her husband Graham who worked tirelessly with our group to plan the perfect customized itinerary which blended comfort, nature and culture.

Graham was an extraordinary guide in introducing us to South Africa and all that is Cape Town. Graham shared so much knowledge about South African history, culture and present circumstances that made each day of our Cape Town experience meaningful and lasting. From penguins, to gardens, table top views and ocean vistas, each day brought new adventures. The restaurants chosen added to the experience and we felt each day was new and fresh.

Our trip to wine country was an entirely different experience where we felt we transported to serenity and the beauty of God’s creation. Our accommodations were excellent and we relaxed surrounded by boundless gardens, a fishing pond, and the amazing scents from the homemade soaps. When one of our party took ill, Graham did everything he could to assure she found medical help after hours and that SAVED the TRIP!!! The wineries selected were unique and each offered a different vista and take on this amazing area. Again, every detail was considered so we both did a lot and yet had time for a swim, massage, shopping and yes even a doctors visit.

We experienced the Blue Train for all its elegance and charm and fully understood that everything was done following the uptrack derailment.

Our trip to Johannesburg and Soweto was a one of a kind immersion into your recent history and the power of the peace makers. We were moved and touched by all we saw. The Apartheid museum was transformative in our understanding of the challenges of the peacemakers.

What can we say about our safari in Londolozi. At every level it exceeded expectations. Each excursion was its own adventure enhanced by our tracker who showed reverence, understanding , and a true love for all of the wildlife. Each return became more magical through the hospitality of the staff and the amazing cuisine. Lastly, our stay in Zambia was an immersion into another African country. The farmhouse, the village, the school in Zambia enabled us to feel fully connected with the amazing Villagers, staff, teachers and children who were gracious, hospitable and open that made us want to return.

As promised, despite a whirlwind schedule, we had time to relax and enjoy our vacations. Every detail was considered, all the drivers/guides were on time and courteous. Our itinerary was full yet balanced. Upscale at times and at other times we felt immersed into the culture and life of South Africa. We felt pampered, safe and completely attended to. It did not happen by accident. It happened due to Africa 2000's extraordinary efforts!! I highly recommend them based on their service, knowledge, flexibility, high end support, and complete command of logistics, entertainment and the needs of travelers.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: South Africa Zambia
4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Elias
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
United States United States
Countries visited: South Africa Zambia
Visited: Nov. 2018
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2019

4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"A feast for the senses"
By: Paul g
Safari enthusiast
United States United States
12 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jun. 2013 Reviewed: May. 14, 2020

Seven member adult family plus guide. 3 Kwando lodges plus a trip to Victoria Falls. 2.5 staff members per guest. Long days, early nights. Animals galore, great drivers and trackers. Breakfast at 6 am. Bedtime at 10 pm. Lots of nightly noises, all part of the charm, especially the hot water bottles.
After 8 nights, off to Islands of Siankaba located on the outskirts of the city of Livingstone and Victoria Falls. A thrill with the best view being seen from a microlite flying machine. We got wet walking around the Falls and loved it.
Graham Maskell, our guide, made our trip interesting, safe and was worth every penny of his stipend. When we needed emergency medical services, he really came thru for us, he is the husband on the owner of Africa 2000 tours, Gill Maskell.
Darn long trip to get there from the USA and not an easy adventure. It was once in a lifetime for us but we truly enjoyed it.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Botswana Zambia
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Paul g
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
United States United States
Countries visited: Botswana Zambia
Visited: Jun. 2013
Reviewed: Nov. 01, 2013

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Botswana with African 2000 Tours is a MUST"
Safari enthusiast
United States United States
46 kudus
Photos (3)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Nov. 2013 Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2019

Botswana is a MUST!
Every part of our trip was grand and I heartily recommend Africa Tours 2000,
Husband & wife team, Gill and Graham Maskell. Gill (pronounced Jill) and I set up the itinerary and her husband Graham was our guide throughout our two weeks. Gill was super to work with and Graham a wonderful guide and they both are now friends of ours! They are South Africans and are smart, funny, fun, knowledgeable and efficient.

Briefly the key aspects of our trip:
• The six of us family members had our own land cruiser with a guide/tracker at each camp along with Graham who was with us from touch down in to flight out of Johannesburg. If you go with them, arrange to have Graham as your guide. He's also an expert photographer and has unending jokes - some real groaners - and tons of info about all life forms, etc.
• Our first stop was Zambia at the Islands of Siankaba - a lovely resort to refresh and have fun. We white water rafted on the Zambezi, went for other rides on this great river in various kinds of boats...with sunset stops for sundowners, perhaps the Brits best contribution to Africa. We also went to Victoria Falls from here - and we walked with young lions and rode elephants!
• Flew to Botswana and stayed in three different camps in a huge private Concession which has other camps but we chose three of them in the northern part. The camps are Kwara, Lebala and Lagoon.
• Camp is a relative term as each one was more luxurious than the last. All comfortable, lovely, own bathroom, etc.
• Each camp provided a driver and tracker for our entire time there and each pair was really informative, very entertaining, and dedicated to finding every sort of critter we wanted. You end up being sad to say good-bye to them when you moved on.
• We saw virtually everything except the very beautiful and shy cheetah (saw lots last trip) and rhino. Botswana banned hunting last year so they are beginning to re-introduce rhino to certain areas. The Botswana military's main job is stopping poaching. The policy is simple - If you think someone is poaching, shoot him. Seems to be working.
• Our routine was:
o Up at 5 for tea/biscuit and out on game drive 5:30 - 10, 11 or 12 depending on what we were seeing.
o Wonderful brunch then siesta in hot part of day - noon to 4
o Tea/refreshment at 4; back on game drive 4:30 to 8, 9 again depending on what we found; can't forget the Sundowner stop just before sunset in some great place in the vastness
o Dinner on our return; they really cater to each person’s dietary needs/desires
Get up and do it again!
Often during siesta time we asked Graham to do an animal/bird/geology/cultural "lecture" and one day the history of apartheid. All lectures were excellent.

Of interest to me was all the coverage when we returned to Johannesburg the day after Nelson Mandela died-it was amazing. I had read lots about him and especially his Long Road to Freedom, which I've given many friends over the years. Shortly after apartheid ended I was in Cape Town and went to Robben Island where he was prisoner for 17/18 of his 27/28 years. If you have time, go!

Anyway, this is a lot, but as you can tell, I encourage you and your family to put Botswana at the top of your travel list..and encourage you to contact the Maskells at Africa 2000 Tours as a great tour company.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Botswana Zambia
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
United States United States
Countries visited: Botswana Zambia
Visited: Nov. 2013
Reviewed: Jan. 09, 2014

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Perfect Trip"
Safari enthusiast
66 kudus
Photos (5)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Apr. 2013 Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2019

Gill from Africa 2000 put together a great trip for my husband and I from Cape Town to Botswana and Zambia. We did not lift a finger it seemed like. We were escorted door to door of each camp and the choices of camps she gave us were awesome. I highly recommend her services to give you a memorable trip in Africa.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Botswana South Africa Zambia
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Countries visited: Botswana South Africa Zambia
Visited: Apr. 2013
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Our South African Adventure October & November 2015"
Safari enthusiast
United Kingdom United Kingdom
72 kudus
Photos (5)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Oct. 2015 Reviewed: Apr. 03, 2019

Our trip to South Africa had been planned in outline for some years. Having made contact with Gill & Graham, our plans quickly crystallised based on the areas and sights we wanted to see combined with Gill's recommendations.

We specifically chose a Tour Company that specialised in South Africa, we also wanted a company that was based in South Africa for that extra degree of local knowledge. It was quickly apparent that Africa 2000 Tours was the right choice. Gill & Graham have a passion for their business and a desire to make sure their clients are looked after extremely well.

From the outset, it was clear that Gill & Graham do not simply play lip-service to the notion of checking and auditing the quality of the lodges they recommend - they are very familiar with each of the lodges, the staff, the management, in fact every aspect of the lodges and the services they provide.

My abiding memory of our trip was that, whenever we arrived at a lodge, or were expecting a transfer, whenever we arrived to participate in an activity, our arrival was anticipated, we were expected, and greeted by name without introduction. It was clear to us that the planning and execution of our trip had been undertaken by a real professional, with an impeccable eye for detail.

We would not hesitate to recommend Africa 2000 Tours for anyone who wants to visit Southern Africa. It's a long way to travel to South Africa, so you want to make sure you do it right!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Botswana South Africa Zambia Zimbabwe
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Countries visited: Botswana South Africa Zambia Zimbabwe
Visited: Oct. 2015
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2015

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Enjoy the wonders of Africa while in good hands!"
Safari enthusiast
23 kudus
Photos (1)
Reviews (1)
Visited: May. 2001 Reviewed: Jan. 01, 2019

We first met Gill and Graham in May 2001. We hired Graham for a personal driving tour of South Africa, spent four weeks on a fascinating adventure of wilderness, parks and cities. We learned about South Africa from a great tour guide, full of knowledge on his country, people and wildlife. We continued on with this same trip, traveling another fifteen days to Botswana and Zambia. We have continued to put our trust & travels in their hands on several other trips to Africa. When we go to Africa, no matter which country, we call Gill to set up our trip because of her great knowledge and ability to plan an adventure you will not be disappointed in. Trust and knowledge are what sets Gill and Graham apart from the normal.
Thanks Gill and Graham for great memories,
Carol and Mike Hausle

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Botswana South Africa Zambia
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Countries visited: Botswana South Africa Zambia
Visited: May. 2001
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
" Botswana memories"
By: Havard
Safari enthusiast
United States United States
10 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jul. 2016 Reviewed: Oct. 02, 2018

5 family members had 12 nights on safari in Botswana only, and 3 nights at Vic Falls. Ages 18-71. Cold morning jeep drives were fascinating, siestas in camp were perfect, afternoon drives always full of wildlife just at sunset. Gill asked our priorities, and then matched them perfectly to the camps she chose. She is knowledgable, detail-oriented and fully familiar with the operators and camps. Get in touch, you'll always be glad.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Botswana
10People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Havard
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
United States United States
Countries visited: Botswana
Visited: Jul. 2016
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2016

10People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Dreams of Africa"
Safari enthusiast
12 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: May. 2002 Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2018

About a year before we actually took our trip, I began searching for help. In an international travel magazine something led me to the Africa 2000 ad. I began e-mailing Gill and it soon became clear that we could easily communicate. She took my ideas, I took hers and she helped us enjoy an African trip of a lifetime. We had never been on a guided trip before, always were a do it ourselves couple. We quickly discovered what a fun, intelligent Graham was and enjoyed every minute he was with us. It certainly makes sense to have an African company help you plan your African trip. Africa 2000 gives you so many options when planning. You could never imagine how many they offer and for the various areas they cover. Just start an e-mail conversation with Gill and you have the beginning of a vacation you will always dream about. Sandy & Dean Soash, Waverly, Iowa

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Botswana Kenya South Africa Tanzania Zambia Zimbabwe
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Countries visited: Botswana Kenya South Africa Tanzania Zambia Zimbabwe
Visited: May. 2002
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Most amazing tour of Africa - Ever"
By: kdk
Safari enthusiast
United States United States
12 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Nov. 2015 Reviewed: Sep. 01, 2018

In November, my husband and I and my in-laws toured Botswana, Zambia, and South Africa. We have traveled and lived in different places all over the world. Thanks to Gill and Graham at Africa 2000 Tours, this was the best holiday ever!! It was a truly wonderful adventure from beginning to end! Every place that we stayed along the way was excellent and unique in their own ways. All the folks we met, in particular Lips at Muchenge (Botswana), Eunice at Islands of Siankaba (Zambia), and Joseph at Nottens (S. Africa) all made us feel so welcome and educated us in so many ways. Last but not least having Graham be our guide for the end of the trip (Capetown and Wine Country) was just brilliant. Every moment, from having an elephant nibble the roof of our hut in Botswana, to walking with the lions in Zambia, to having a leopard lapping a puddle next to our Rover in South Africa - it all was great. Driving back in the rain in Sabi Sand to be greeted with a bottle of champagne and a bubble bath - priceless! Food excellent the whole way....well, you can see I have been boring all my friends with tales of our adventures.

Magnificent trip thanks to Africa 2000 Tours!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Botswana South Africa Zambia
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: kdk
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
United States United States
Countries visited: Botswana South Africa Zambia
Visited: Nov. 2015
Reviewed: Jan. 05, 2016

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Picture perfect"
By: I&E
Safari enthusiast
United States United States
38 kudus
Photos (2)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Aug. 2015 Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2018

My wife and I contacted Gill to help plan our 20th anniversary trip two years in advance. After many emails with Gill we decided to move the trip up a year because we became so excited to go. Gill was the perfect person to work with as I am the son of an ex travel agent and it is very hard for me to give up control but working with Gill was so easy. We put together an outline of what my wife and I wanted to see and within a day Gill had an itinerary that only needed a few tweaks and then we added in some extras.

We had the pleasure of having Graham as our guide during our stay in Capetown and he was unbelievable. A real gentleman who made our trip both educational and a ton of fun. Even when we were hit by two days of storms Graham found ways to keep us entertained and show us the beauty of Capetown. The other excursions to Vic Falls, Chobe and Sabi Sands went as smooth as clock work and we can thank Gill and her team for that. My wife and I cant stop raving about the trip to friends and acquaintances and always recommend anyone that is thinking of going to Africa to make sure they get in touch with Gill and Graham.

Looking forward to our next trip to Tanzania and Rwanda.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Botswana South Africa Zambia Zimbabwe
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: I&E
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
United States United States
Countries visited: Botswana South Africa Zambia Zimbabwe
Visited: Aug. 2015
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2016

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Show more