Marurumi Safaris

11 reviews
Reviews: 11
Tour packages: 10 tours
Private, custom tours
Group, set date tours
Photos: 11
Main focus: Mid-range
Established: 2019
Headquarters: Kenya
Languages:
English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Swahili


Contact info
About Marurumi Safaris
Marurumi Safaris Limited is an East African specialist tour operator based in Nairobi, Kenya. We create customized safari packages to suit our guests’ requirements, whether it’s a family with young children, a honeymooning couple or a work incentive trip. We can organize everything from the perfect accommodation to private transfers by air or land, adding experiences from an endless range. Choose from horse riding, hot-air ballooning, fly camping under the stars, camel trekking, local village visits to learn about different cultures and many more. We have tour guiding experience of over 20 years. We adjust our prices depending on the client's budget.
About our safari vehicles
We use either a mini-van 4*4 with pop-up roof or a land cruiser depending on the client's taste.
"Lifetime experience"
Kenya Kenya
0 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Nov. 2023 Reviewed: Dec. 07, 2023 Submitted in:

Robin was our guide and he couldn’t be better! He has a huge knowledge about the animals and National Parks, knows the perfect spots to find them! He gave us plenty of time to take pictures, admire the animals and the breathtaking landscapes. Robin is also a great driver, has a great control of time, never speeding or rushing. He’s not our guide anymore, he is our friend!
Marurumi safaris offers a lifetime experience and was way beyond our expectations! We can’t wait to do it again!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Kenya Kenya
Countries visited:
Visited: Nov. 2023
Reviewed: Dec. 06, 2023

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Write a review

Sort by:

"Great experience"
By: Asta
Lithuania Lithuania
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jan. 2024 Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2024 Submitted in:

We chose this company because of the low price, fast and detailed communication. And we were not disappointed. We had an amazing driver/guide Robie who became a friend over the 6 days of the safari. He was very sweet, a great driver and we were often first in the games. Although the car was old, it was clean. We always had enough water in the car. Robie solved all technical problems quickly and with a smile. The accommodation exceeded expectations, especially the Masai Mara. The food everywhere was delicious and there was a large selection. A suggestion for improvement would be to have at least 1 pair of binoculars in the car. I recommend that you ask about the car before the safari, it is always better to choose a 4x4 jeep, because it will be easier to pass on difficult roads, especially after the rain, and the windows are bigger.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Asta
Lithuania Lithuania
Countries visited:
Visited: Jan. 2024
Reviewed: Feb. 09, 2024

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"The whole trip was a 10/10, amazing experience from start to finish"
By: Jake
Australia Australia
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Dec. 2023 Reviewed: Jan. 02, 2024 Submitted in:

My trip with Marurumi Safaris could not have gone better. My guide Robie was always making sure my partner and I were having a good time. Mr. Robie was knowledgeable about all things during our safari.

Marurumi Safaris were easy to deal with, very reasonably priced and always happy to answer any questions I had before, during and after my trip. Mr. James catered to our needs and price range to ensure we got exactly what we wanted within our budget.

10/10 couldn’t recommend more.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Jake
Australia Australia
Countries visited:
Visited: Dec. 2023
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2023

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Amazing honeymoon safari with Davis!"
Kenya Kenya
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Oct. 2023 Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2023 Submitted in:

We had the most incredible time on Safari, through Marurumi. Our guide Davis was attentive, friendly and so knowledgeable. His knowledge of the three parks we visited, Navaisha, Nakuru and the Masai Mara and the excellent relationships he has with the park rangers and other guides, ensured we saw everything we wanted to, including the big 5 and the elusive Leopard. Davis went above and beyond for us and made our honeymoon Safari so memorable. The accommodation we stayed in at all three parks was top quality, our favourite was Zebra Plains tented camp on the Masai Mara, and the Sarova hotel in Navaisha was magical with Giraffes and Zebras on the hotel grounds.
In organising the trip, Marurumi were very good at communication, sharing various options with us and answering all our questions. The mid-range tour was exceptionally good value and we’d recommend this tour to anyone looking to travel to Kenya for Safari.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Kenya Kenya
Countries visited:
Visited: Oct. 2023
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2023

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"A great way to experience Kenya and the big five"
Austria Austria
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Oct. 2023 Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2023 Submitted in:

I had a great experience with Marurumi. Contacting them was easy, they replayed super fast and there were no hidden fees or surprises. They were also flexible with additional request, such as picking us up at our hotel e.t.c
The program included 4 different parks, which were unique in their own way. Each was fascinating with their different biome and landscape.
If you want to see a lot of animals, the Big five, this is the way to go.
Our guide, David was the star. He was great at finding animals, explaining things. I really enjoyed travelling and talking to him .
Thank you David and the whole Marurumi team

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: None
Austria Austria
Countries visited:
Visited: Oct. 2023
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2023

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Life changing experience"
Kenya Kenya
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Oct. 2023 Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2023 Submitted in:

We had an absolutely wonderful safari. Special thanks to our guide Robie. He always made sure that we lacked nothing. We saw so many animals. I don't even know where to start. Already on our very first game drive we were lucky enough to see some lionesses with their babies. We saw 4 of the big five - absolutely fantastic. On our second game drive we saw a whole pride of lions consisting of at least 15 lions. We had a really great time. We also liked the lodges we stayed in, especially Mtito Mara Camp.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: None
Kenya Kenya
Countries visited:
Visited: Oct. 2023
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2023

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Strong recommendation"
United Kingdom United Kingdom
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Oct. 2023 Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2023 Submitted in:

Marurumi Safaris will do everything to give you an amazing and a comforting stay.

We booked a seven day safari through all of Kenya.
Saw the Big Five, herds of all different animals, lions and hyenas with their prey, as well as the Masai village and the big city of Nairobi.

The main reason for our great adventure was our Guide Robinson.
Very commited, always caring and making sure we are happy and safe.
He was always in a great mood even after a 6 hours car ride.
Sometimes traffic can really slow down your journey to the next destination.
When that happened we switched the plans to still be able to go for a walking safari and fun boat ride.
Communication was good and clear. I would recommend getting the number of your driver at the beginning of the itineary to make sure you can contact him if needed.

The car was spacious and Robinson made sure it was clean every single morning.
Lots of drinking water is available so there is no need to worry.

On our last day Robinson surprised us once again when he not just drove us 5 hours to Nairobi, but also spend the rest of the day with us at Sarit Mall and then drove us to the airport at 10:30 PM so we don't have to be bored at the airport for our late night flight.

So all in all, we had an amazing week with a great guide and a supportive tour operator.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: None
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Countries visited:
Visited: Oct. 2023
Reviewed: Oct. 07, 2023

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Very rewarding experience!"
By: Laura19
Spain Spain
0 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Sep. 2023 Reviewed: Oct. 09, 2023 Submitted in:

We did a safari to Masai Mara 2 people for 3 days. We really liked the experience. Our guide, David G., was very careful with us and made sure we saw the animals. He took into consideration what we proposed while being careful with the reserve's fauna. If we were to repeat the safari, we would do it again with Marurumi.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Laura19
Spain Spain
Countries visited:
Visited: Sep. 2023
Reviewed: Oct. 05, 2023

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Best safari experience!"
By: MeryLM
Kenya Kenya
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Sep. 2023 Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2023 Submitted in:

I strongly recommend this company if you are looking for a safari in Kenya. This is the second safari that I do and this tour operator is excelent.
Since the first second that I contacted the touroperator, I received the quotation very fast.
James arranged our safari in the way we like it in a very efficient way, choosing the Parks to visit, the train to Mombasa...
The best value for money that you can find.
The van and the accommodations were perfect. The meals were buffet with many options available and the Lunch boxes to optimize the time at the safari were more than OK. Our driver, Robie is learning Spanish and he was very nice, reliable and willing to provide us an excellent experience. The driver drives very well, he tries to find the best spot to see the animals close, he is with a walkie to know if there are animals close and ask the cars to not miss anything.
If you are looking for a safari, contact Marurumi and you will have a great experience.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: MeryLM
Kenya Kenya
Countries visited:
Visited: Sep. 2023
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2023

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Such an amazing experience!"
Netherlands Netherlands
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jun. 2023 Reviewed: Jul. 06, 2023 Submitted in:

My experience with Marurumi Safaris was great! James was very organized and responsive when we were planning out everything and the delivery was just as good. It is evident that James has years of experience as he is knowledgeable, patient, and able to work on the fly if need be. After having James as company on the safari and working with him on the itinerary, I honestly think the guiding and organization is more important than any animal that you will see! Also, Ol Pejeta is a wonderful little gem (highly recommend the extra white rhino experience).
If I am ever back in the area, I will definitely work with Marurumi Safaris again!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Netherlands Netherlands
Countries visited:
Visited: Jun. 2023
Reviewed: Jul. 04, 2023

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"WOW. Throughly enjoyed our Masai Mara - Lake Naivasha 4 day tour"
United Kingdom United Kingdom
0 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jun. 2023 Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2023 Submitted in:

Wow is the best way to describe my experience this past week with Marurumi Safaris. At all times, James went above and beyond the expectations of a safari guide. He has been guiding for a long time, knows where the best spots are to take you, and his English is flawless.

We did the 4 day Masai Mara, Lake Naivasha, budget tour. We spent a lot of time browsing options before booking our trip and we are so grateful we chose this tour.

James, the owner of the company, was our guide. He was timely on pickups, flexible with the schedule and allowed us to see more than we would have with any other guide.

During the first evening game drive he got us up close to a black rhino, family of elephants, multiple groups of giraffes, zebras and more. The best part of the evening was the endless amount of cool facts James knew off the top of his head about each animal. Watching the sun set over the savanna while watching ostriches run right in front of our tour van was also a highlight.

Every restaurant he brought us to had great food, a nice private seating, an awesome vibe, and great scenery views. The safari accommodations were by far the nicest and cleanest places we stayed in Nairobi, which was a perk as well. I also appreciated his dedication to cleaning out the van every night, restocking the water cooler, and giving us the option of what time to start the day. We usually started between 6:45-7:45am.

The last 3 days were a blur of good experiences as well… the next day game drive was BEYOND exciting. Our van was 10 feet away from with a lion eating a zebra for breakfast. Then we saw hippos, leopards, gazelles, hyenas, warthogs, the Tanzania border, parked in the road and had a family of ~13 lions walk around us (on either side), had an awesome picnic lunch and then learned about the Masai culture with a personal tour guide and by visiting a village.

The lake navasha tour was super unique, being on the boat and seeing eagles swoop to grab fish right besides our boat, and cruising past hippos at sunset was amazing.

I highly recommend the Hells Gate Bicycle tour, as we biked past zebras and giraffes, saw some rock climbing, collected obsidian rocks, and learned about the history of the Hells Gate national park.

The short hike at the end of the bike tour had jaw dropping views of Africas version of the Grand Canyon.

Last but definitely not least we had the opportunity to do a walking safari before heading back to town… standing 5-10 ft away from giraffes, zebras, antelope and more was an unexpected and amazing surprise. Seeing a 7 hour old zebra and a 8 day old giraffe was precious.

To top it all off, after dropping us off at our hotel that evening, James offered to take us to the train station the next afternoon at 3pm.

All in all, James and his team are amazing and if you ever get the chance- book a safari with Marurumi safaris, it won’t disappoint you!!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: None
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Countries visited:
Visited: Jun. 2023
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2023

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
YAScore: 74/100
Based on 11 reviews

Overall rating
Cleanliness of vehicle
Meet and greet team
Quality of itinerary
Responsiveness of staff