Kilimanjaro

Kilimanjaro National Park

10 reviews

Safari suitability: 2/10

Write a review

Visitors will see some big game and other African animals on their trek, but this park is really all about summiting the tallest mountain in Africa.

Found in: Tanzania
Companies: 164
Tour packages: 485
Wildlife: 2 animals listed
Total area: Encompasses the entire mountain above the tree line
Year established: 1973
Anti-malarial: Not required

What YAS members think

Quality of wildlife:
Crowdedness:
Quality of lodging:
Most-visited month:
January
* Crowded parks have a lower rating

Highlights

  • Home to the tallest mountain in Africa.

  • There is the ability to do smaller, day hikes and to see some of Tanzania’s wildlife.

  • The park’s proximity to Arusha makes it easy for people to add a northern Tanzania safari on to their Kilimanjaro summit.

About Kilimanjaro National Park

In the northeastern part of Tanzania, and very close to the Kenyan border, lies the tallest mountain in Africa – Mount Kilimanjaro. At nearly 6000 meters – 5895 m (19,340 ft) – it is the largest free-standing volcanic mass in not only all of Africa, but in all of the world. Kilimanjaro is comprised of several peaks, with Uhuru Peak being the highest. The park was established in 1973 and encompasses the entire mountain above the tree line. In 2005, the park boundary was extended to include the Kilimanjaro National Forest Reserve. 

The vegetation of the mountain varies dramatically as the elevation increases, and it is more pronounced that some other mountains as the base Mount Kilimanjaro or “Kili” starts at around 700 m (2296 ft) on the southern slopes. Climbers will start in a humid, rainforest zone and continue up into alpine desert and finally into the barren, glacial zone. The dramatic variation in climate means layers are a necessity for all those who wish to climb and summit Kilimanjaro. Most people who visit Kilimanjaro National park come to climb and not for a safari. It is, however, possible to see many animals in almost all of the zones, such as: black and white colobus monkeys, blue monkeys and olive baboons. Buffalo, elephants and elands also live here but they are seldom seen. 


What are the climbing routes of Kilimanjaro?

It is generally agreed that Kilimanjaro has six official trekking routes: Lemosho, Machame, Marangu, Rongai, Shira and Umbwe. Marangu and Rongai are considered to be the easier routes, but also the less-scenic of routes, particularly Rongai. Marangu is nicknamed the ‘Coca-Cola Route’ due to the huts along the way where people can buy Coke and because it’s quicker and easier than most of the other routes. It also is not a circuitous route and climbers must use the same route for their descent. Rongai is the only northern approach to Kilimanjaro and, although it is one of the easier routes, its final summit is one of the most difficult. Of all the routes, Machame is considered the most scenic but steeper route, which also makes it one of the most popular and crowded routes. It has the highest success rate of the six routes. Shira and Lemosho routes also have good success rates and are scenic options with fewer visitors than Machame. Umbwe is a very direct route, which means it is a shorter option, but also offers much less time for acclimatization. It tends to be less popular than the other routes. 

Climbers are advised to allot anywhere between five and nine days for summit and descent, depending on fitness levels and route selected. Many people also opt for an extra day for acclimatization, which can have a significant impact on success rate. It is recommended that climbers and trekkers thoroughly research their guide and outfitter, as the guide can make or break the trip. There are numerous companies offering guided treks up Mt. Kilimanjaro, and a bit of research prior to choosing an outfitter will pay off in the long run. 


When is the best time to climb Kilimanjaro?

Kilimanjaro can be climbed year-round. The months which are considered to be optimum climbing months are January, February, and September. These months are high tourist season. The end of March through May is the heavy rains seasons, which means the mountain may be shrouded in heavy cloud. It does, however, mean the crowds are much thinner. The winter months of June through September are also recommended, but temperatures tend to be lower than in December through February. 

"The best tour company for Kilimanjaro and safari!"
Travel writer
Poland Poland
2 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Jan. 2020 Reviewed: Jan. 05, 2021 Submitted in:

I have just completed 8 days my Kilimanjaro trekking with Mgalaa Expeditions which was wonderful, I couldn't ask for more. Our trekking team was one of the most humbled people in the entire world, our chef made for us best meals for the entire trip. They do have best sleeping bags and trekking equipment. I and my husband highly recommend Kilimanjaro Trekking with Mgalaa Expeditions and you will never regret. Doing both Kilimanjaro trek and safari have been the best experience for us. I recommend this kind of trip for anyone looking to go Tanzania for a lifetime trip.

Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating
Route: Lemosho Altitude sickness meds: No Summited: Yes

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
By: marita
Travel writer
Poland Poland
Visited: Jan. 2020
Reviewed: Jan. 05, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!

Sort by:

"A life time trip!! Thanks to Great Lake Expedition"
United Kingdom United Kingdom
0 kudus
Photos (1)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Dec. 2020 Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2021 Submitted in:

-Choose the right tour operator -Tips highly appreciated at the end of climbing -Listening to your guide is the key to success -Choose the right route and have at least one day for acclimatization

Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating
Route: Machame Altitude sickness meds: Yes Summited: Yes

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
None
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Visited: Dec. 2020
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Hakuna matata with Almighty Kilimanjaro"
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Photos (1)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Jan. 2021 Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2021 Submitted in:

The right outfitter is the key to success and make sure you have at least one acclimatization day also tips is highly appreciated at the end of climbing

Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating
Route: Machame Altitude sickness meds: Yes Summited: Yes

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
None
Tanzania Tanzania
Visited: Jan. 2021
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Machame with Kilimanjaro Bound"
Romania Romania
4 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Sep. 2020 Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2021 Submitted in:

We booked 7 days Machame route climb. Aggrey was our climbing guide, and we were accompanied by an assistant guide, a cook and the 9 porters. The crew was very supportive, helpful and friendly. The food was very tasty and it met our requirement of nutrition for the trek. We had varieties of fruits every day for breakfast. We had hot tea every morning, and hot water was prepared for us whenever we had to freshen up. The porters would carry our belongings and the tents, reach the campsite and set it up before we could arrive. They were all very cheerful throughout the hike and ensured they lifted our spirits. We were slow, when compared to many other groups around us, but Aggey never hurried us. We were allowed to hike in our pace, and he motivated us to move on, whenever we would rest for too long. On the summit day, we had to leave around midnight to catch a glimpse of the sunrise. Without the support of the guides and the crew, we would not have been able to complete the trek. Aggey and the assistant guide used to check our vitals often, to ensure we were safe and sound at all times. The descent was a little difficult as it was slippery. But the crew helped us and ensured we reached the base safe. We could not have asked for a better team to accompany us on the trek.

Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating
Route: Machame Altitude sickness meds: No Summited: Yes

2People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
By: Adithya
None
Romania Romania
Visited: Sep. 2020
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2021

2People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Amazing trek to Uhuru Peak"
Germany Germany
6 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Dec. 2020 Reviewed: Jan. 09, 2021 Submitted in:

Make sure to eat and drink a lot whilst on the mountain - you'll need the energy. Climbing Kilimanjaro is not only physically demanding but mentally as well. Just take it slowly, enjoy the views (they are stunning) and you'll have an amazing experience you'll never forget!

Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating
Route: Machame Altitude sickness meds: No Summited: Yes

3People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
None
Germany Germany
Visited: Dec. 2020
Reviewed: Jan. 09, 2021

3People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Kilimanjaro trekking - A life changing experience"
Safari enthusiast
United States United States
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Jan. 2020 Reviewed: Jan. 05, 2021 Submitted in:

Make sure that, you drink enough water on the way as well as taking altitude sickness medications. It is better to equip yourself with proper mountain gears such as gaiters

Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating
Route: Lemosho Altitude sickness meds: Yes Summited: Yes

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
By: Michal
Safari enthusiast
United States United States
Visited: Jan. 2020
Reviewed: Jan. 05, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Mount Kilimanjaro trekking"
United States United States
5 kudus
Photos (3)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Jan. 2020 Reviewed: Jan. 03, 2021 Submitted in:

For better success to the summit of Mount Kilimanjaro, drink plenty of water and carry your ipod or music player (phone). No matter how you feel, you will need to eat as walking days are more intense and energy draining. Reaching Stella Point at sunrise to enjoy the beautiful views just before the summit was the highlight.

Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating
Route: Marangu Altitude sickness meds: No Summited: Yes

3People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
By: JeanLuc
None
United States United States
Visited: Jan. 2020
Reviewed: Jan. 03, 2021

3People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Machame Route on Kilimanjaro"
Tanzania Tanzania
1 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Dec. 2020 Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2020 Submitted in:

Did the Machame Route with Lelaa. I can honestly say that this was the trip of a life time. We travelled all over the world and done and seen some amazing things, but this was so different. They should try and see how beautiful it is.

Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating
Route: Machame Altitude sickness meds: Yes Summited: Yes

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
None
Tanzania Tanzania
Visited: Dec. 2020
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2020

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Summited Kilimanjaro on 8 Day Lemosho Route"
Safari guru
Hungary Hungary
8 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Nov. 2020 Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2020 Submitted in:

I definitely perfected the art of Pole Pole which is often repeated on the mountain reminding climbers to climb slowly. Making it to the summit was not easy but I know I only got to the top because of my Guide Aggey and great team of porters.

Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating
Route: Lemosho Altitude sickness meds: Yes Summited: Yes

4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
Safari guru
Hungary Hungary
Visited: Nov. 2020
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2020

4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Amazing experience"
Safari guru
Tanzania Tanzania
129 kudus
Photos (21)
Reviews (1)
Visited: May. 2020 Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2020 Submitted in:

This mountain is amazing place to climb. By doing Kilimanjaro you will get chance to see nice views from shira plateau. No any technical difficulties it’s is free standing mountain you reach summit very easy.

Quality of wildlife
Quality of lodging
Crowdedness rating
Overall rating
* Crowded parks have a lower rating
Route: Lemosho Altitude sickness meds: No Summited: Yes

2People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a Kudu!
Safari guru
Tanzania Tanzania
Visited: May. 2020
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2020

2People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!

Driving to Kilimanjaro National Park

Due to its proximity to JRO, Kilimanjaro Internationnal Airport, the drive to Kili is around an hour to 90 minutes, depending on which route you'll be climbing. 

Riverside Shuttle also runs between Nairobi, Arusha, Moshi, Kilimanjaro and JRO and is an option for budget travelers. 

The following airlines travel to Kilimanjaro National Park


company logo

Scheduled domestic services in Tanzania. Air Tanzania Corporation (ATC) the Tanzanian flag-carrier, was established on 11 March, 1977, to operate the services suspended following the dissolution of East African Airways (EAA), which was owned jointly by Tanzania, Kenya and Uganda. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

As Salaam Air has grown to be a leading air carrier between the Tanzanian Islands. Our experienced team understands that customer satisfaction is important to the creation of a successful flight operation. Thus, we go above and beyond to satisfy our clients. The airline plies eight routes to promote tourism within and outside the country. We have two fuel-efficient aircraft – Cessna 208B Grand Caravan and Embraer EMB 120 Brasilia, which are good for the environment and the safety of our clients.We would like to help you discover more about our Islands here on our website and at every step of your journey Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

Coastal Aviation is an airline operating out of Dar es Salaam - charter flights. Coastal Aviation flying to some 100 strips located in some of the most isolated pockets of the East African Region. The scheduled Coastal network also connects visitors to Kenya, Uganda and Rwanda with the world-famous Serengeti, links the emerging tourism destinations of Mozambique with the Southern Tanzania parks of Selous and Ruaha, and unites the tropical island paradises of Pemba, Zanzibar, Mafia and Fanjove Private Iaslandwith the National Parks and towns of the mainland. Our state of the art fleet is composed of 20 aircraft and has been expertly-adapted to the African safari environment, without compromise to safety and comfort. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

Flightlink is a scheduled airline with Air Operator Certificate (AOC) and Air Service License (ASL) granted by Tanzania Civil Aviation Authority & Kenya Civil Aviation Authority to conduct Private & Scheduled Flight under Public Transport category within the region. All the aircraft in our fleet are chosen for their excellent safety records and their ability to perform in even in the most hostile conditions, so landing be it in the bush or on tarmac is not at all taxing. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

At flydubai we’re committed to making air travel more affordable. Dubai based flydubai operates routes to more than 95 destinations across the Middle East, Subcontinent, Africa, Russia and Eastern Europe. flydubai is dedicated to reducing the cost of air travel in the region. We keep things simple, reducing our operating costs and passing the savings on to you. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

Precision Air is a publicly-listed Tanzanian airline and a leader in providing scheduled flight services to over 10 destinations within and outside Tanzania from its main hub Dar es Salaam. The company operates on the principle that quick, comfortable and reliable service is the best way to serve its customers. Through its customer-focused approach, many have become part of the Precision Air family. Precision Air started with its headquarters in Arusha - the midpoint between the Cape and Cairo, which is the entry point to many of Tanzania's world-renowned landmarks and national parks. The headquarters of Precision Air are now Dar es Salaam, the business complex of the country, which is home to a vast size of traffic travelling within and outside Tanzania. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

Premium Charter Service is an air charter broker based in Tanzania. We offer our valued clients a truly exclusive flying experience, one that combines luxury with the convenience of flying privately. Our network of domestic and international operators adheres to strict standards of quality. We deliver a superior experience to our clients with a high level of professionalism. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

Regional air is a recognized leader in the aviation industry in Tanzania, the airline began in 1997 with one pilot and one aircraft. They are affiliated to the long-established Nairobi-based domestic airline, Airkenya. We are based in the northern Tanzanian town of Arusha. Arusha is the starting point of safaris into Northern Tanzania, as the airline also offers charters to these various parks and game reserves. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

Premier safari airline and charter. Safarilink is Kenya's premier safari airline with a network of connecting domestic scheduled services to all the best safari destinations within Kenya and across the border into northern Tanzania. From it's base at Wilson Airport, Nairobi SafariLink provides daily scheduled flights to Masai Mara, Amboseli, Tsavo West, Naivasha, Nanyuki, Lewa Downs, Samburu, Lamu, Kilimanjaro, Loisaba, Migori and Diani Beach. Additionally it can also provide private charter flights if a client's particular requirement as regards destination or timing cannot be met by the scheduled services. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

TANZANAIR was formed in 1969 and pioneered aviation throughout Tanzania. Today it continues to live up to its slogan as the“Complete Aviation Company”. It was founded by Dinos J Samaras who managed the Company until he passed away in April 2010. It is now headed by his son John Samaras who was his deputy since 1983. With 45 years’ experience, TANZANAIR offers tailor-made air travel to suit the needs of its customers. With a modern fleet of twin and single-engine Cessna and Beechcraft turbine aircraft, TANZANAIR’s well-established reputation leads the way in air charter services throughout the region. TANZANAIR operates out of its own purpose-built Passenger Terminal located between Terminal I and II at Julius Nyerere International Airport in Dar es Salaam. The passenger lounge is adjacent to the two hangars. It is housed within a secure wall enclosed compound with ample parking facilities. Visit website

Also flies to:


company logo

Flown by an international team of pilots, Zantas Air has one of the youngest fleets of Cessna Grand Caravans in Tanzania. These are maintained to the highest safety standards and comply with the ICAO, CESSNA, and TCAA directives. We have an exclusive lounge at Arusha airport. Guests can relax in our comfortable lounge while they wait for their flight. Our operations are designed to suit our client's needs with a customized itinerary based on their schedule. Zantas Air works with its sister company, Mbali Mbali Lodges and Camps, to offer shared charter flights. We fly passengers from Northern Tanzania to Western Tanzania twice a week on Monday and Thursdays. Visit website

Also flies to:

Kilimanjaro map
Articles on Tanzania
Latest photos
See all photos (468)