Tracks Safaris

32 reviews
Reviews: 32
Tour packages: 4 tours
Private, custom tours
Group, set date tours
Photos: 24
Main focus: Mid-range
Established: 2010
Headquarters: United Kingdom
Languages:
English


Contact info
About Tracks Safaris
UK based Tracks safaris are passionate about Africa - whether you are looking for a lodge or tented safari, a self drive, mobile, walking, flying or photographic safari or a safari for the whole family - let us give you some ideas and inspiration.We can arrange wedding and honeymoon safaris, small group or tailor-made safaris, birding, conservation, wild dog, or predator research safaris. Combine your safari with a time on the beach afterwards! We specialise in finding 'no single supplement' safaris. We travel extensively throughout Africa 4 or 5 times a year to give you the very best advice based on experience and have considerable experience of travelling with our own children across Africa and the world. Whatever your budget and interests our aim is to offer you the very best advice and help with planning your safari so that your safari is absolutely brilliant. Without compromise! We also offer wildlife and cultural experiences to India and Sri Lanka - please ask!
About our safari vehicles
Road safaris use 4 x 4 closed vehicles to avoid dust - many of the camps and lodges throughout Africa use open 4 x 4 vehicles for fly-in packages. Tracks Safaris are ATOL bonded and members of the Travel Trust Association for your complete financial protection and peace of mind.
"Botswana and Victoria Falls: The adventure of a lifetime."
Safari enthusiast
United Kingdom United Kingdom
46 kudus
Reviews (1)
Did not go on this tour Reviewed: Nov. 08, 2020

My wife and I recently returned from the most incredible adventure of our lives so far. Botswana is a staggeringly beautiful country. Gliding through the Okavango Delta on mokoros canoes was just breath-taking. On our game walks and game drives we saw all the wildlife you could possibly wish for. Wild camping in Botswana is an experience that we will never forget. The Victoria Falls, so majestic yet so powerful.
Tracks Safaris went out of their way to ensure that our trip was the adventure of a lifetime and we cannot thank them enough. Their attention to detail and knowledge of safaris are second to none.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Botswana Zimbabwe
7People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Countries visited: Botswana Zimbabwe
Visited: Apr. 2019
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2019

7People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Write a review

Sort by:

"Track safaris tanzania"
United Kingdom United Kingdom
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jul. 2023 Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2023 Submitted in:

We have had three trips booked with Sue at Track Safari and each one has been quite amazing. She listens to your wish list and requirements and magically produces the ideal Itinerary for you. We cannot praise her enough. This latest trip was to Tanzania for 12 nights with our granddaughter and the experience of being so close to the animals and the tented camps together with a stay at a lodge on the edge of the Ngorongoro Crater will always be with her. We saw all the animals including a black rhino and a leopard training her two young to stalk. Thank you Track safari.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: None
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Countries visited:
Visited: Jul. 2023
Reviewed: Sep. 09, 2023

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Ruaha and Tracks Safaris - a perfect combination"
United States United States
0 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jun. 2023 Reviewed: Sep. 08, 2023 Submitted in:

As a solo female traveller, it is vital that my tour operator listens and that we work collaboratively. I went to the Destinations Travel Show in London specifically looking for a new tour operator and as soon as I met Sue, I was taken with her knowledge, passion and generosity in the time that she afforded me. She listened to my thoughts on Ruaha and the type of camps that I prefer (no swimming pools, no spas !) and promised to come back to me with costings. She cut no corners with her proposals and gave me several options, all of which perfectly met the brief and between us we decided on an Asilia Africa package of Usangu Expeditions and Kwihala. After the booking was made, Sue updated me every time there were changes to flight schedules etc. and again, was never lazy in the work that she did for me. I never felt that corners were being cut. There were always options, even when I hadn't asked for them. Being in a service profession myself, the highest compliment that I can pay Sue is that she made me feel like I was the most valued client in the world. If you are looking for a personal service from an incredibly knowledgeable, generous and professional tour operator then I really cannot recommend Tracks Safaris highly enough.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
United States United States
Countries visited:
Visited: Jun. 2023
Reviewed: Aug. 09, 2023

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Perfect safari"
By: Ness
Denmark Denmark
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: May. 2023 Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2023 Submitted in:

My 12 day trip was perfect. I made a wish list of what I like in terms of habitat and animal and what I want to visit in Zambia and my wishes were heard loud and clear and they went the extra mile to make it much better for me as a single person travelling.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Zambia
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Ness
Denmark Denmark
Countries visited:
Visited: May. 2023
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2023

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Amazing safari"
By: TNVol
United States United States
1 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jun. 2023 Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2023 Submitted in:

I cannot say enough great things about Sue and Tracks Safaris. We used them on a seven day safari to Kenya and a few days in the Seychelles. She was amazing in helping us plan the perfect safari. She was referred to us by a friend and we were so pleased with her expertise. We live in the US and wanted to use Sue for her wealth of safari knowledge. We would definitely recommend to use Sue and Tracks Safari and we can’t wait to use them again.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: TNVol
United States United States
Countries visited:
Visited: Jun. 2023
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2023

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Trips with Tracks"
By: LiFi
United Kingdom United Kingdom
1 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: May. 2023 Reviewed: Jul. 06, 2023 Submitted in:

Have used Tracks Safaris since 2016 for safaris to Tanzania, Botswana, Kenya, Zimbabwe, NE India and NW India. All have been well organised with good local contacts, camps and guides. Sue has taken care and time to meet the briefs given. Wildlife sightings have been amazing, including being present at the births of a Giraffe and a Hippo, a Leopard mother with cub, two Striped Hyena, a Jungle Cat and, and, and........ How lucky we have been! Looking forward to our next ' Trip with Tracks'.
Thank you, Sue.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Zimbabwe
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: LiFi
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Countries visited:
Visited: May. 2023
Reviewed: Jul. 03, 2023

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Chobe Game Park & Victoria Falls"
Safari enthusiast
United Kingdom United Kingdom
1 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: May. 2023 Reviewed: Jun. 05, 2023 Submitted in:

Truly outstanding trip.
We waited 3 years for this, but wow! it was well worth waiting for, Tracks Safaris put together a fabulous package.
All the lodges were of a very high standard of accommodation with friendly well trained staff and excellent guides. Victoria Falls is magnificent, and Chobe National Park is wonderful, so sad when we had to leave.
How can you improve on this? Thank you Tracks Safaris for your knowledge and experience in making this a trip to remember.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Botswana Zimbabwe
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Countries visited: Botswana Namibia South Africa Zimbabwe
Visited: May. 2023
Reviewed: Jun. 03, 2023

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Tanzania Feb 2023 safari in the green great for birds, cats a bit more elusive"
By: JAS
Safari enthusiast
United Kingdom United Kingdom
1 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Feb. 2023 Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2023 Submitted in:

8 Days Safari Nomad Tanzania Camps – February 2023
This was the 5th Safari I have taken booked via Tracks Safari so that in itself tells you that I have had good experiences with Sue Preater of the Company. The organisation was good, and all pick-up arrangements worked well.
This was my first trip to Tanzania and the first safari “in the green”. What I would say is that of all my trips (previously Zambia, Botswana & Kenya), this was the most tricky in seeing ‘cats’ and it was surprising to have had 8 nights on safari and only seen 8 Lions in total.
Due to travel times, I had a night in Dar Es Salam pre-safari flight & on return. Very long transfer back to Dar on the way back – the given schedule was for about an hour but ended up taking three hours and going via Zanzibar. Those internal planes are a bit like buses. Nice hotel all be it chaotic on the way back as a popular Congo football team was staying and the hotel was full of fans!
My first camp Nomad Kigelia Ruha was a ‘typical’ tented bush camp. Comfortable tent with flushing toilet & bucket showers, plenty of space and a nice touch of a swinging seat outside. Really nice set-up.
Loads of elephants were about and they were the most commonest animal seen along with impala.
On the whole, the roads were reasonable, but some of the river crossings need repair. Well looked after by my guide and driver. Having the vehicle to myself we were able to take the time to stop and I was able to photograph ‘at will’.
I had 4 nights in the camp, 3 of which I was the only guest. I could not have been made more welcome and the food was always delicious. During my time I only saw two individual lions but had great views of 2 cheaters. Two wild dogs for about 60 seconds. There were leopards about but no luck for me. A honey badger was seen for again about 60 seconds. Plenty of Jackel about. Good variety of birds. I’d not done enough research as I thought this may be feeding of young time – but it was not.
The second camp was Nomad Sand Rivers Selous. This is a bit more upmarket with it having a small swimming pool and being run on a more ‘hotel’ feel. Guests are seated for meals in the parties they booked, so dinner for 1 for me. The food here was good but beaten into second place by my first camp.
The thatched open rooms have very large beds and mosquito nets for the night. It was very hot when I was there and I was glad that it had its power and a fan.
The camp is situated in a large area and again cats were scarce for me, 1 leopard for about 5 minutes and 6 lions seen one day only. It was fortunate that 4 wild dogs were close to camp and I saw these several times. Again, good bird life. A wider variety of animals here and some good lakes for viewing birds. There are more activities to try here – I really enjoyed the boat trip all be it not much seen.
The positive is there is lots of different scenery here – but the roads need attention. They are very rough, and some crossings are impossible due to erosion. The park needs to sort this out as it would not be the place to visit at the moment if you had any back problems. It was definitely hold on tight for a lot of the time to my camera. I know people joke about an African massage, but this was often an African pummel.
Here your guide is your driver as well. Mine Pay was excellent, very knowledgeable and tried to give you the best views of what was about whilst respecting the wildlife.
Both camps had electricity in the accommodation which was nice and Wi-Fi in the communal area (a first for me)
Definitely, good camps to visit but I think you need to like birds as well to keep your interest levels up as in the green as spotting wildlife can be tricky. I had contacted Nomad itself in advance saying I was interested in serval, caracal, and the more unusual cats. I was emailed that my request would be passed on. The reality was, neither of the camps would be great for these whatever time you visited, so a little disappointed.
It would be good if camps not only had lists of what is theoretically possible but more so what is likely to be seen. Nature is nature and there are never guarantees but realistic information would be better to help you choose where to go and when.
But overall saw some great things, particularly the dogs & birds. The bird count was 184 species between the 2 camps with several firsts for me – got to love a long-crested eagle.
Would I recommend Nomad camps – yes and Tracks Safari. However for my next trip more questions in advance to help manage expectations.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: JAS
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Countries visited: Botswana Kenya South Africa Tanzania Zambia
Visited: Feb. 2023
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2023

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Tour of Namibia"
United Kingdom United Kingdom
1 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: May. 2022 Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2023 Submitted in:

We met Tracks Safaris at the Destinations Show in early 2020. They planned an excellent itinerary for a self-drive tour of northern Namibia which should have happened in 2020 but, due to Covid, was postponed until 2021 and again to May 2022. Sue Preater helped us with all the re-arrangements and managed to hold many of the prices to the original levels. The trip was worth the wait. Namibia is a stunning country with so many varied highlights. We visited the Kalahari desert, the dunes of Sossusvlei, Damaraland - where we saw desert-adapted elephants and a rhino, and Etosha, which is so unlike other safari destinations. In terms of lodges, we particularly liked Kulala at Sossusvlei and Ongava Tented Camp at Etosha. The driving was long and quite tiring but perfectly manageable and we felt safe throughout.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Namibia
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Countries visited:
Visited: May. 2022
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2023

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Kenya. Two years late but well worth the wait."
By: Triggs
United Kingdom United Kingdom
1 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Oct. 2022 Reviewed: Nov. 09, 2022 Submitted in:

Our family holiday of a lifetime was originally planned for October 2020 but was postponed on several occasions due to the pandemic.
Sue at Tracks Safaris was very efficient at rearranging accommodation, dates and flights and the itinerary was perfect for our first ever safari. This consisted of a 6 night night safari (Masai Mara, Naivasha Lake, Amboseli and Tsavo National Park) followed by 5 nights all inclusive at the Baobab Beach Resort and Spa at Diani Beach near Mombasa.
The safari tour company that looked after us really made the holiday very special. Our safari guide was very friendly, knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour. The company even arranged for us to be collected from the airport, took us to our hotel as well as organising boarding passes for onward flights.
Everything ran very smoothly. Thank you Sue for all you help.
I highly recommend Tracks Safaris.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Triggs
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Countries visited:
Visited: Oct. 2022
Reviewed: Nov. 05, 2022

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"A…MAZ...ING!"
By: suecole
United Kingdom United Kingdom
1 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Sep. 2022 Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2022 Submitted in:

What a fantastic experience our long-awaited first safari was and well worth the 3 year wait! Our first animal encounter was with five cheetahs 15 minutes after landing on a dusty grass runway in Amboseli - WOW! what a start to the holiday and it just got better and better.

We stayed at three different Porini camps in Kenya all of which were all outstanding, the staff were very friendly, the food was excellent, and nothing was too much trouble. The guides at all the camps were five-star and helped us tick off the Big 5, the Ugly 5 and pretty much everything in between, we were also treated to a very rare sighting of a serval, 3 honey badgers, bushbabies, and even a black mamba!

Thank you Tracks Safaris for the excellent itinerary and organisation and helping us make great memories on our Kenyan Safari adventure.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: None
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Countries visited:
Visited: Sep. 2022
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2022

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Show more
YAScore: 65/100
Based on 32 reviews

Overall rating
Cleanliness of vehicle
Meet and greet team
Quality of itinerary
Responsiveness of staff

Latest photos (24)