Go Volunteer Africa

19 reviews
Reviews: 19
Tour packages: 1 tour
Private, custom tours
Group, set date tours
Photos: 73
Main focus: Budget
Established: 2009
Headquarters: Kenya
Languages:
English, French, Swahili


Contact info
About Go Volunteer Africa
Go Volunteer Africa is an award-winning volunteer travel operator. We provide sustainable and ethical volunteer projects and exciting adventure holidays in Africa. Go Volunteer Africa is number one provider of affordable and meaningful volunteer vacations combined with wildlife safaris and exotic adventures in Africa. Go Volunteer Africa combines community development, service learning, and fun filled adventures! We work on many different projects which support the advancement of education, healthcare and the relief of poverty by focusing on education, Agriculture, health, environment and social development. Go Volunteer Africa leads the way in combining meaningful volunteer encounters and fun filled adventures in Africa - Work Hard and Have Fun.
About our safari vehicles
Our safari vehicles have large sliding windows and pop-up roofs, offering excellent views and giving our guests fantastic opportunities for safe and undisturbed photography while on game drives. All our vehicles are fitted with a safari fridge, powered by the car battery, for keeping your drinks cold and refreshing. Our fleet of sturdy 4x4s is rigorously maintained and serviced to ensure that they cope with the challenges of safari country. A full ‘top-to-toe’ pre-safari inspection and service is carried out before every trip.
"The whole experience was brilliant for me"
Safari enthusiast
Canada Canada
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Aug. 2022 Reviewed: Dec. 08, 2022 Submitted in:

Kenya in general is an amazing country and my experience at orphanage and with Go Volunteer Africa was incredible. Paul my program agent is very professional and organized the trip just right from the moment I signed up.

I spent six weeks in Kenya working at the orphanage centre and enjoyed every moment of it!! I also accompanied a volunteer heading to Eldoret program site and I spent 5 days there. The activities were hands on, the wildlife during our safari was mind-boggling, the scenery was awe-inspiring and the staff were utterly fantastic.

The whole experience was brilliant for me. Simply living with the basics, cooking lunch and dinner for the children, organizing sports activities and enjoying a truly communal atmosphere was totally unique and wonderful.

I learnt so much from the endless knowledge of the staff members, and learnt even more about myself from simply going out there on my own and seeing how I coped. My favorite bit of my stay was vegetable gardens I set up with the children and my family also funded the knitting class.

I highly recommend the program in Kenya, the local team is just awesome. Thank you Go Volunteer Africa for giving me an opportunity to make a difference!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Canada Canada
Countries visited: Kenya
Visited: Aug. 2022
Reviewed: Dec. 07, 2022

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Write a review

Sort by:

"We had an amazing family experience as volunteers with Go Volunteer Africa in Kenya."
United Kingdom United Kingdom
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Aug. 2022 Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2022 Submitted in:

We had an amazing family experience as volunteers with Go Volunteer Africa in Kenya. We loved the whole experience and we miss the time with the local kids. My wife and I decided to travel with Go Volunteer Africa after reading so many positive reviews from past volunteers.

Of course we had a few reservations since this was our first time to travel abroad with our little children 5 & 9. We wanted to visit and explore Kenya but did not want to go as just tourists. While visiting, we wanted to experience the culture and give back if we could.

Go Volunteer Africa’s Paul organized everything we were looking for as a family. Cultural immersion, a chance to meet new people and make friends, a great place to stay, and affordable safari deals. This trip was worth every penny!

Herbert (the head of in-country staff) is such a wonderful guy and we promised him to leave a positive review because of the fabulous work he does. He was helpful, always a pleasure to be around and he has an amazing touch towards children.

Maddie and I cannot thank you enough for such an incredible time. Choosing to travel with you was and still is the best decision that we made last summer and we shall do it again next summer. We highly recommend this organization for family volunteer experiences due to our personal positive experiences with them! They are local, so they know where they need the help. Our kids learned a lot about themselves and the world outside.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Countries visited:
Visited: Aug. 2022
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2022

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"An eye opening experience"
Safari enthusiast
Australia Australia
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jun. 2022 Reviewed: Jul. 02, 2022 Submitted in:

I have been in Rwanda for one month working within the women support staff here and it has been an absolute eye opener and one which has allowed me to experience many new things. From the moment I arrived on camp I was taken away by the beauty of our surroundings- the green forest surrounding the back of the camp and our views out over the green tea farms and the surrounding areas. Stunning.

Living within a local community has also been a real eye opener, seeing their way of life and how they have adapted to live in this small paradise has been amazing- specially the way that they have allowed us to fit into their village and are willing to help us with anything we may need.

I have genuinely enjoyed every aspect of the program I have done here and I am so grateful to Go Volunteer Africa for making this arrangement. The local crew are also extremely fun to work with and the mixture of people on camp means that there is plenty to learn and never a boring moment.

I would recommend Rwanda women empowerment program to anyone, but be prepared for basic living standards! This is genuinely not a problem and I believe it has added to my experience here- but maybe bring a few luxuries from home with you!! Enjoy!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Rwanda
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Australia Australia
Countries visited: Rwanda
Visited: Jun. 2022
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2022

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Go Volunteer Africa is a legit volunteer travel company"
By: jpark
Israel Israel
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Apr. 2022 Reviewed: Jun. 01, 2022 Submitted in:

Go Volunteer Africa is a legit volunteer travel company. I’ve just got back from a project in Uganda- can’t believe how quickly it went, the whole experience was amazing and I’m gutted to be home already. I’m already missing the crew out there loads, everyone got on so well and I’ll definitely be meeting up with some of them for a night out soon. The place itself is like something out of a film- unbelievably beautiful and the weather is bloody amazing- which meant the night parties were very cool!

Even working at the school which I thought would be boring was an unexpectedly mind-blowing experience- the culture is so different from what any of us were used to but the people were legendary- really friendly and so appreciative of our work. Would definitely recommend Go Volunteer Africa and no problems in terms of organization.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Uganda
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: jpark
Israel Israel
Countries visited:
Visited: Apr. 2022
Reviewed: May. 31, 2022

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"The arrangement was above and beyond my expectations."
Safari enthusiast
Sweden Sweden
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jan. 2022 Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2022 Submitted in:

My flight was delayed which meant I would have missed my pick up with the staff and I arrived late at night. But when I got in contact with Emmanuel, he was very helpful in making sure I got a driver for the night and he made sure I make it to the volunteer house that night.

When I arrived, I was immediately welcomed by Emmanuel, the Go Volunteer Africa Country Coordinator of the Rwanda projects. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The work we did with the women was very important and educating. We have learned a lot during our stay, and would definitely love to come back to this project.

The arrangement was above and beyond my expectations. I felt very welcomed to the group, didn’t take long to get settled. There is a very good mix of professional work and having fun. The staff clearly care about the project, are passionate and were happy to help with any of our needs.
I felt like I really contributed to the local projects which is very fulfilling. We all felt like one big family after a week or so which not only made the program life fun and enjoyable but also made everyone look out for each other and push each other to do better in the projects. It was a nice mix of work and fun.

I had an amazing time and really enjoyed this project it was a culture shock when we first arrived however we were very well informed of what to do and where to go. I recommend future volunteers make sure that you really discuss with the local teams to understand what you are going to do, to get the best out of the program.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Rwanda
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Sweden Sweden
Countries visited: Rwanda
Visited: Jan. 2022
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2022

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Very shady, be careful"
By: Lujan
Qatar Qatar
1 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jan. 1900 Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2021 Submitted in:

My husband and I applied to Go Voluneteer Africa for a service trip in Kenya. We were then contacted by Paul, who told us we needed to pay a placement booking fee to reserve our program, which was $360, and then we could pay the remaining $920 in cash upon arrival to Africa. So, we sent the initial electronic payment and withdrew cash to pay the rest on arrival. Paul then sent us a packet which had all the information we would need for our trip, along with the contact information for the Director of the program in Nairobi (Josephat). We booked our flights and got everything ready to go, and then a few weeks before we left, Paul changed his mind and said we had to pay via electronic payment. We told him this was not possible because we already withdrew the money and even sent him photos of our bank statement. Paul then completely ignored us for a few weeks. We sent a few emails but he would not answer.

Three weeks before our departure date, we still had not heard back from Paul so we looked through the packet he sent us and found the program director's (Josephat's) contact information, so we reached out to him and explained the situation. He solved the issue and said we would be able to pay in cash on arrival. No problem. Three weeks later we left on our trip (still not having received any response whatsoever from Paul). We had a poor experience with Josephat and the organization in general, so when we finished the trip, my husband left an honest review so other travelers would be informed of risks associated with the GVA Program. Immediately, we received threatening emails from Paul calling my husband a liar and stating that he would use our sensitive information on our GVA application against us. He said that he had access to our physical addresses and emergency contacts and made all sorts of threats.

If the president of the Go Volunteer Africa Program is reading this, please reach out to either me or my husband and we can send you all of the email communications we have had with Paul. I do not think he is someone you would like to be representing your program. Everybody else who is considering a humanitarian trip in Africa, it is a good idea! but stay as far away from GVA as you can. Seriously, dealing with them is way too much stress.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Lujan
Qatar Qatar
Countries visited:
Visited: Jan. 1900
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2021

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Terrible planning and communication"
By: Heath
United States United States
1 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jan. 1900 Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2021 Submitted in:

My wife and I loved Kenya and loved working with the kids. We would 100% recommend that anyone and everyone come and volunteer.

However, you should definitely either come on your own or find a program other than “Go Volunteer Africa”. Our experience with them was absolutely awful. I think it is safe to say that we were the first ones that ever volunteered with them here in Githurai.

There is no such thing as a volunteer house here. I won’t complain about the living accommodations because everything can be expected. We got used to no running water, no internet, cold baths with a bucket and everything being generally filthy, but what I found unacceptable was being completely ignored by the staff from the moment we paid the program cost and the complete laziness of the planning altogether.

Josephat was the program director and the only person we had “contact” with while in Kenya. We saw him about three times during the entire three-week program. On the fourth day, he walked with us to a random school and just asked them if we could teach there. It was clear that the director of the school had never seen him before and that he had not prepared any activities for us to do at all. Our entire last week was spent in our dirty apartment bored out of our minds because the school was on break and Josephat had nothing for us to do. We had no idea the school was even going to be on break. Based on this description, you might think we told them we were coming the night before we arrived but rest assured we told them we were coming months in advance.

On top of all the abysmal planning, Josephat was completely unresponsive. I have never been flat out ignored so much in my life. Just getting fresh water to drink is like pulling teeth with Josephat once he has already been paid. He didn’t answer a single one of my calls the entire time we were there (I called him probably 6 or 7 times for urgent matters) and 75% of my messages went completely unanswered while the other 25% took days to receive a response. On a few occasions we even caught him hiding from us or pretending to be sick to avoid us since we were staying in the same building where he lived. Honestly, he turned what could have been a phenomenal experience into a very stressful one.

I should reiterate that I would still recommend coming to Kenya to do volunteer work as it is very rewarding, but if Josephat is still the director of the program here, do yourself a favor and find a different program.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Heath
United States United States
Countries visited:
Visited: Jan. 1900
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2021

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"I had a really positive experience with Go Volunteer Africa."
Safari enthusiast
United Kingdom United Kingdom
8 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Did not go on this tour Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2020

I had a really positive experience with Go Volunteer Africa. The level of support and friendship I received from GVA staff members and fellow volunteers made this an incredibly rewarding and positive experience.

I researched a lot of organizations before I went to Kenya, some of which were cheaper and some better organized than Go Volunteer Africa, but I really wanted an organization that was part of the community.

It was such an amazing experience and I got so much more out of it than I thought, the cultural immersion, chatting with the kids, sharing meals with local families all made me feel so much more than a tourist or even a volunteer, I really felt part of the project.

I was in Kenya for 4 weeks and then traveled to Tanzania for another 2 weeks. I would recommend Go Volunteer Africa to anyone but if they do not have what you are looking for just get out there and do it you will not regret it!

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya Tanzania
8People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Countries visited: Kenya Tanzania
Visited: Oct. 2019
Reviewed: Feb. 04, 2020

8People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"We had a nice trip with Go Volunteer Africa"
By: joz
Safari enthusiast
Safari guru
Ireland Ireland
10 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Did not go on this tour Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2020

We have participated in Go Volunteer Africa’s family volunteer and explore program in Mombasa, Kenya for 15 days and we really enjoyed our time with them.

Tim, our coordinator, answered every question and request for changes very fast and patiently. So he planned the perfect program for us and volunteer guesthouse in Mombasa was really the perfect wish for our family.

Salim, our Project Manager and Guide, was very professional and really knows how to care for the family with little children. Salim is very knowledgeable and friendly. We shared many life experiences and the evening beach time was so awesome.

We got involved in a coast school and we spend most of the days painting and playing sports with the school children and our kids had a great time there too. In short, we had a great trip. We would therefore heartily recommend Go Volunteer Africa.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya
10People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: joz
Ireland Ireland
Countries visited: Kenya
Visited: Sep. 2019
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2019

10People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Award winning organisation?"
Safari enthusiast
Namibia Namibia
2 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Did not go on this tour Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2020

I booked a wildlife conservation project in Maun, Botswana in January 2020. After I paid $1620 and travelled to Maun, the project was cancelled 4 days before it would start by Jim Kruche, the Sales Officer. Which of course is unbelievable on such a short notice. He apologised and promised to refund the $1620.

It is very hard to get in touch with someone of Go Volunteer Africa, since they only have a general mail address. But finally, after 5 weeks, I got an email of Noah Kande on the 23rd of February. First I was relieved, but since then I did not have any response on my emails since 3 weeks now, so I think this is just fake.

Your African Safari published an interview with this reward winning organisation, but how did they win this reward. They are a scam! So I had no life-changing experience, I travelled to Maun, Botswana for nothing and I lost $1620.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

2People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Namibia Namibia
Countries visited:
Did not go on this tour
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2020

2People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Excellent and prompt support system in place"
By: sammyM
Safari enthusiast
Canada Canada
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Did not go on this tour Reviewed: Oct. 09, 2020

My name is Samantha, I have traveled to Maun in Botswana from Ontario, Canada. I took part in the wildlife conservation work for 4 weeks with Go Volunteer Africa between August and September 2019.

Being a part of this program was an incredible experience! In Maun I lived in a wild camp and I participated in various activities. I met the most amazing people throughout my 4 weeks and would do the whole thing over and over again.

Go Volunteer Africa were so speedy with responding to any concerns of mine and they sent me emails while I was in Botswana. The program was relatively cheap compared to other providers running the same program.

Excellent and prompt support system in place. Both before and during volunteer stint. Queries usually answered within a day (even Sundays). The conservation team were very friendly and flexible with program.

I highly recommend this program. Every day was an adventure to explore, my mind is full of lovely memories and I will keep them forever.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Botswana
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: sammyM
Canada Canada
Countries visited: Botswana
Visited: Aug. 2019
Reviewed: Oct. 09, 2020

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Show more
YAScore: 75/100
Based on 19 reviews

Overall rating
Cleanliness of vehicle
Meet and greet team
Quality of itinerary
Responsiveness of staff

Latest photos (73)