Go Volunteer Africa

30 reviews
Reviews: 30
Tour packages: 1 tour
Private, custom tours
Group, set date tours
Photos: 73
Main focus: Budget
Established: 2009
Headquarters: Kenya
Languages:
English, French, Swahili


Contact info
About Go Volunteer Africa
Go Volunteer Africa is an award-winning volunteer travel operator. We provide sustainable and ethical volunteer projects and exciting adventure holidays in Africa. Go Volunteer Africa is number one provider of affordable and meaningful volunteer vacations combined with wildlife safaris and exotic adventures in Africa. Go Volunteer Africa combines community development, service learning, and fun filled adventures! We work on many different projects which support the advancement of education, healthcare and the relief of poverty by focusing on education, Agriculture, health, environment and social development. Go Volunteer Africa leads the way in combining meaningful volunteer encounters and fun filled adventures in Africa - Work Hard and Have Fun.
About our safari vehicles
Our safari vehicles have large sliding windows and pop-up roofs, offering excellent views and giving our guests fantastic opportunities for safe and undisturbed photography while on game drives. All our vehicles are fitted with a safari fridge, powered by the car battery, for keeping your drinks cold and refreshing. Our fleet of sturdy 4x4s is rigorously maintained and serviced to ensure that they cope with the challenges of safari country. A full ‘top-to-toe’ pre-safari inspection and service is carried out before every trip.
"The whole experience was brilliant for me"
Safari enthusiast
Canada Canada
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Aug. 2022 Reviewed: Dec. 08, 2022 Submitted in:

Kenya in general is an amazing country and my experience at orphanage and with Go Volunteer Africa was incredible. Paul my program agent is very professional and organized the trip just right from the moment I signed up.

I spent six weeks in Kenya working at the orphanage centre and enjoyed every moment of it!! I also accompanied a volunteer heading to Eldoret program site and I spent 5 days there. The activities were hands on, the wildlife during our safari was mind-boggling, the scenery was awe-inspiring and the staff were utterly fantastic.

The whole experience was brilliant for me. Simply living with the basics, cooking lunch and dinner for the children, organizing sports activities and enjoying a truly communal atmosphere was totally unique and wonderful.

I learnt so much from the endless knowledge of the staff members, and learnt even more about myself from simply going out there on my own and seeing how I coped. My favorite bit of my stay was vegetable gardens I set up with the children and my family also funded the knitting class.

I highly recommend the program in Kenya, the local team is just awesome. Thank you Go Volunteer Africa for giving me an opportunity to make a difference!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Canada Canada
Countries visited: Kenya
Visited: Aug. 2022
Reviewed: Dec. 07, 2022

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Write a review

Sort by:

"Very legit company. Great experience in Madagascar!"
Safari enthusiast
Norway Norway
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Dec. 2023 Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2024 Submitted in:

I have been in Madagascar for 2 months now and love it. It is truly a unique place to visit, in terms of culture and wildlife. On my first day we went on a snorkel on home reef, saw loads of anemone fish, a giant puffer and a hawksbill turtle.

We then went for a walk to a local village, on the way spotting a family of black lemurs and a Chameleon. Not too bad for the first day! Since then, I have been able to explore further afield through science work and seen even more wonderful creatures. The local village that we live next to have a strong sense of community, inviting us to parties, celebrations and even a carnival! Out here you get sun, sea, sand and science! Perfect combination!

Working within the marine staff here has been an absolute eye opener and one which has allowed me to experience many new things. From the moment I arrived on camp I was taken away by the beauty of our surroundings- the green forest surrounding the back of the camp and our views out over the ocean and the surrounding areas.

The diving is not the most amazing in the world but there is a wide variety of extremely colorful fish, rays and occasional turtles. I have genuinely enjoyed every dive I have done here and some of the dives have amazing coral formations so I would not overlook Madagascar as a diving location.
Being able to carry out science whilst on the dives is also a really enjoyable experience and has allowed me to learn more about the reef fauna and flora in the area. The marine crew are also extremely fun to work with and the mixture of people on camp means that there is plenty to learn and never a boring moment.

I would recommend Madagascar with Go Volunteer Africa to anyone, but be prepared for basic living standards! This is genuinely not a problem and I believe it has added to my experience here- but maybe bring a few luxuries from home with you!! Enjoy!

Thank you, Paul, Herbert and the entire Go Volunteer Africa for making this happen!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Madagascar
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Norway Norway
Countries visited: Madagascar
Visited: Dec. 2023
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2024

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Best volunteer safari experience with Go Volunteer Africa"
By: Jkemp
Safari enthusiast
France France
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jan. 2024 Reviewed: Feb. 06, 2024 Submitted in:

We have just come back from our amazing trip to Tanzania. Leaving on the ferry to our first stop, then a bus ride to the fantastic village of --- it was right by the beach and the kids went to get us coconuts while we watched the local rugby game at the school.

We went to church, all dressed up in our kitenge on the Sunday, we all introduced ourselves and sang with the choir. After the kids took us around the beach and showed us the fish, we came back to a feast!

Tanzania has been an eye-opening experience for us. We have thoroughly enjoyed our time there and made some amazing friends with the other volunteers and staff alike. The medical camp is right on the beach which means we have amazing views of the sunset. All the staff are very welcoming and the locals are friendly and always willing to teach you some swahili.

Joanna & I had one of the most enjoyable and exciting times of our lives. We have learnt a lot about the healthcare in Africa and doing rounds at the hospital which was very useful to us. Overall Tanzania is an amazing place to be a Go Volunteer Africa volunteer and we have had a brilliant time here. Traveling with Go Volunteer Africa was the best choice and its best and most affordable volunteer company

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Jkemp
France France
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Jan. 2024
Reviewed: Feb. 04, 2024

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"I will come back for another trip in Tanzania"
Safari enthusiast
United States United States
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Nov. 2023 Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2024 Submitted in:

My initial impressions and thoughts of this trip have been surpassed by what I have experienced in these past six weeks. As soon as I arrived at the airport in Arusha I felt a warm welcome, with my fellow travelers, friendly staff and an impressive accommodation.

I arrived in the country early so had a few days to relax before I met up with the others on the project site. We spent a couple of days with the coordinator who took us around and showed us the community and the projects supported by Go Volunteer Africa.

For me the experience of being on a project in a group and with the young people was much better than what I thought it would be, the project was very well run and there were lots of activities available to do in the evening if you chose to.

The most enjoyable part of the project was being with the youth soccer team preparing for the regional tournaments. The project is not only for youngsters there is no age limit and no matter what age you will love it here.

I was impressed by the organization of the sports and athletics project, and straight away I was involved in coaching activities. Thanks to Paul my contact at Go Volunteer Africa, who made everything possible.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
United States United States
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Nov. 2023
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2024

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"I had an amazing 3 weeks in Nairobi, Kenya"
Safari enthusiast
Netherlands Netherlands
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Aug. 2023 Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2023 Submitted in:

I had an amazing 3 weeks in Nairobi, Kenya. I went for a volunteering experience working in the slums of Kibera. I was placed at a community outreach center. It was enriching and the best possible way to spend a summer break. I loved the opportunity to not be a tourist, but actually, immerse myself in a culture completely unlike mine.

At work, I had a lot of self-direction in what I did, but some of my larger tasks included; researching and drafting a grant proposal, writing a weekly newsletter, overseeing fundraising. I also chose to work with the kids in the Early Childhood Development Center when I had some free time. I was always learning something new at work and felt completely welcomed by the entire staff. I was touched and left in happy tears on my last day of work as the staff gathered to say goodbye and gave me a lovely handwritten letter with notes from everyone at the staff.

In my free time I explored Masai Mara with other volunteers, I also visited Mombasa, the Masai markets, surfing. and seeing as many sunsets as possible. All the other volunteers were lovely, it was sad saying bye, but exciting having a network of friends all across the world.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Netherlands Netherlands
Countries visited: Kenya
Visited: Aug. 2023
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2023

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"I had an incredible experience"
By: ottoso
Safari enthusiast
Canada Canada
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Aug. 2023 Reviewed: Sep. 08, 2023 Submitted in:

I volunteered for three weeks in August at a children’s centre and hospital in Masaka, Uganda with go volunteer Africa. I had an incredible experience! During the planning stages I was a bit apprehensive but my contact, Paul, was very professional.

We lived in a small accommodation (but very comfortable beds) with other amazing volunteers from all over the world (we were 6 solo travelers). We lived as a family and we had two incredible local people living with us, who took care, shared moments and cooked for all of us. The local meals were delicious and their generosity and support made us feel right at home.

I worked in a hospital every morning. I took an easy ride with a funny bus to the hospital. I could go to operating room and help also in some operations. I spent some time in the emergency department. It was a good learning experience. I could share knowledge with local doctors, learn from them and try to do my best in order to help the patients.

Afternoons I often went to the children’s centre and play with the children and also take care of them. Then evenings and weekends we spent most of our time with the other volunteers. Going to karaoke and having a beer and chatting with locals was one of our main hobbies.

My first day at the children’s centre was kind of overwhelming but at the same time it's was an incredible experience. It is a life experience that I strongly suggest to anyone that want to spend some time abroad and want to have an amazing experience!!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Uganda
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: ottoso
Canada Canada
Countries visited: Kenya Namibia Tanzania Uganda Zimbabwe
Visited: Aug. 2023
Reviewed: Sep. 07, 2023

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"I enjoyed my project"
By: BMurr
Safari enthusiast
Germany Germany
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: May. 2023 Reviewed: Aug. 02, 2023 Submitted in:

I thoroughly enjoyed my time on the childcare and welfare project in Nakuru, Kenya. Everyone, volunteers and locals alike, were highly friendly and many locals would attempt to stop on the street to chat with you.

The accommodation was basic but suitable. Everyone had their own bed and the food each night was delicious! The tap water was not suitable to drink, which meant that you spend some money on bottled water.

The project itself was enlightening, and very worthwhile. Sometimes the work could be hard with the little children, as you would see issues that would be very unlikely to arise in Germany, but the people /staff made everything worthwhile.

The weekends were packed full of tourist-safari trips, and it was very interesting to see the difference between "Locals-Kenya" and "Tourist-Kenya".
The project was an amazing and rewarding time of my life, and I made friends with people whom I hope I stay in touch with. The project felt well organized but also was relaxed and enjoyable.

Overall, I enjoyed my project and would volunteer with Go Volunteer Africa again in a heartbeat. The staff at GVA, especially Paul, was very helpful in making the arrangements.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: BMurr
Germany Germany
Countries visited: Kenya
Visited: May. 2023
Reviewed: Aug. 02, 2023

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"I would recommend Tanzania to anyone"
United Kingdom United Kingdom
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Apr. 2023 Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2023 Submitted in:

Go Volunteer Africa offers a fantastic opportunity to both people who are looking to make a difference in their own way, but also to people who want to progress further into their chosen fields of study and to have the opportunity to practically implement this in the field.

I was in Tanzania with Go Volunteer Africa for two months and working within the rural education development program there has been an absolute eye opener and one which has allowed me to experience many new things.

From the moment I arrived in Tanzania I was taken away by the beauty of our surroundings- the green forest surrounding the back of the home and our views out over the mountain and the surrounding areas.

Living within a local community has also been a real eye opener, seeing their way of life and how they have adapted to live in this paradise has been amazing- specially the way that they have allowed us to fit into their village and are willing to help us with anything we may need.

I have genuinely enjoyed every day of my stay there. The school staff are also extremely fun to work with and the mixture of people means that there is plenty to learn and never a boring moment.

I would recommend Tanzania to anyone, but be prepared for basic living standards! This is genuinely not a problem and I believe it has added to my experience there- but maybe bring a few luxuries from home with you!! Enjoy!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Countries visited:
Visited: Apr. 2023
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2023

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Best program and best value for money"
By: chloe
United States United States
1 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Mar. 2023 Reviewed: May. 19, 2023 Submitted in:

For the record, I went to Tanzania recently and loved it. The program was everything I expected. The orphanage I worked at was amazing and I would highly recommend this program to anyone.

Tanzania is a beautiful country full of wonderful people. I learned a lot about myself as well as about another culture. The work was full of challenges, but was incredibly rewarding. Overall Go Volunteer Africa offered great support and is connected with a very good organization. If you are considering, just go!

I volunteered with two other companies in the past but Go Volunteer Africa was by far the best. Best program and best value for money - DO IT! Best experience of my life. I'm guessing the other volunteers rubbishing GVA probably didn't even volunteer with them.

The orphanage and the kids have been my highlight. Before I got to Tanzania, I was worried there would be no other volunteers but I have met a lot of really nice people from around the world. GVA having a big program (lots of volunteers and placements) is another big benefit of going with them.

Although they were some glitches here and there, overall, I had a great experience and would recommend the program 100%!
Chloe

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: chloe
United States United States
Countries visited:
Visited: Mar. 2023
Reviewed: May. 18, 2023

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"I will definitely be back"
Switzerland Switzerland
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Mar. 2023 Reviewed: May. 15, 2023 Submitted in:

I spent three weeks volunteering with Go Volunteer Africa in Rwanda after hearing about the organization from a previous participant in Botswana. Cindy had spent two months with Go Volunteer Africa and was full of great stories and enthusiasm for the project. I had wanted to visit Rwanda since 2018 and after returning home from Botswana, Cindy's tales stayed with me. As a keen photographer of wildlife, I also wanted the opportunity to photograph Gorillas in the wild and see them roaming freely.

I was met in Kigali by the very friendly John and Agatha and immediately felt at ease in their company. We set off on the 2-hour journey to Musanze, where I worked with the women training them about financial literacy and computer skills.

John was very knowledgeable and answered all my questions about the country and the projects. The project was a new experience. A lot of hard work but I think it's something that builds character. I'm happy I did it, I feel a lot more world wise. After this I can do anything and eat anything!

Sitting down with women and talk about women-matters was by far the most enjoyable activity of my stay. Visiting the local schools was also a great highlight. The kids were so gorgeous, with friendly, open and curious smiles.

John showed them some nature videos as well as one about the work that Go Volunteer Africa does. The headmaster seemed very pleased the whole exercise and was also keen to have the children exposed to things outside of their daily lives.

He became very interested in my practice of yoga and so we decided I would teach about 50 of the students a thirty-minute yoga practice. Agatha and I put together a short video presentation about yoga, its history etc., to show them before the practice.

On the day the kids were great, although the girls remained in their skirts which meant a quick rethink of poses! But they were very enthusiastic, and eager to please, and did really well. It was great fun and I thoroughly enjoyed being able to give something to the school.

Everyone on the project was so accommodating and friendly and I felt very well taken care of. The food was absolutely delicious and I don't think there was a single dish that I didn't love. And our trips into the lovely national park provided lots of great wildlife photography and viewing.

All in all, it was an unforgettable experience and I left feeling that I have contributed just a little to the great work that Go Volunteer Africa does. I will definitely be back.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Rwanda
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Switzerland Switzerland
Countries visited:
Visited: Mar. 2023
Reviewed: May. 15, 2023

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Loving the trip and love Go Volunteer Africa"
By: mclist
United Kingdom United Kingdom
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Feb. 2023 Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2023 Submitted in:

I have been in Kenya with Go Volunteer Africa for 2 months now and love it. It is truly a unique place to visit, in terms of culture and wildlife. The location of projects is beautiful; situated on a white sandy beach and clear waters of Indian Ocean.

The project is within a small village where all the locals are very friendly. They have a strong sense of community, inviting us to parties, celebrations and even a carnival! Out here you get sun, sea, sand and life! Perfect combination!

The group of other volunteers and the local team have been great, after just 2 months I feel like I've known them for years and everyone really pulls in and helps each other out. The accommodation is basic, but it’s also so much more interesting than staying in a standard hotel.

There is quite a large group of us here at the moment, it is a very busy period and everyone tends to be all over the place. Although I strangely miss home already, the time is going quickly, especially when I am teaching and I have made many friends here. Everyone is so friendly. Can't recommend it enough!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: mclist
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Countries visited:
Visited: Feb. 2023
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2023

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Show more
YAScore: 69/100
Based on 30 reviews

Overall rating
Cleanliness of vehicle
Meet and greet team
Quality of itinerary
Responsiveness of staff

Latest photos (73)