Gilmag Safaris

31 reviews
Reviews: 31
Tour packages: 5 tours
Private, custom tours
Photos: 12
Main focus: Luxury
Established: 2016
Headquarters: Tanzania
Languages:
English


Contact info
About Gilmag Safaris
We are a Tanzanian company!!!We were born here, live here and work here; we know Africa. When you purchase a Gilmag Safaris package you are dealing directly with the company providing the services, not with an agent shopping for services in Africa on your behalf. Our guides are all local, knowledgeable and indigenous to this part of Africa – we do not employ foreign guides as we believe the best people to show you our homeland has to be a Tanzanian born and bred! When you think of superlatives, you must think of Tanzania. From the highest peaks of Africa with Mount Kilimanjaro, to the deepest depths of the continent with Lake Tanganyika. From the vast plains of the Serengeti, to the massive Selous Game Reserve. From the migration of more than two million wildebeest to the nocturnal movements of the predators that stalk them. You can find it all through Gilmag Safaris.
"Incredible trip to Tanzania"
By: RochD
Tanzania Tanzania
1 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jun. 2022 Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2022 Submitted in:

I have traveled to Tanzania twice with Gilmag Safaris. Once with a group and then with friends.
Right from when we landed, Nickson and Gilbert helped us with the problems we had with our luggage, to the very end of our 1 week tour, including dropping us off and saying goodbye to us at the airport. During our week in Tanzania, They were very attentive to all of our needs. We could tell that they really care about their clients. Everything was planned perfectly and the guides were a wealth of knowledge so we could learn and explore so much about the region and its wildlife, history and culture.
The food was incredible and the accommodation was outstanding. The accommodation was unique, super clean and just in the most astonishing spots you can imagine. When you go on a vacation, most of the time you are looking to disconnect from the world, relax, recoup, and just enjoy your time. We were able to get in touch with nature, Tanzanian culture and ourselves.
We were so lucky to see so much wildlife during the tour. The knowledge of the guides was incredible, they knew everything about the animals and really made the trip great with all information they gave us. We really felt they did everything to make our trip perfect, which it was.
We went in June 2022 and it was one of our all time favorite trips. We have told many people about Gilmag Safaris and how they made our trip outstanding.
Definitely choose Gilmag when planning a trip around this magnificent part of the world. Thank you Mary and team, we would definitely recommend you with confidence to anyone.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: RochD
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Jun. 2022
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2022

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Write a review

Sort by:

"Gilmag Safaris – Amazing trip in Tanzania"
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jun. 2022 Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2022 Submitted in:

What an amazing experience this trip was! I have been wanting to do this for a while and a work trip to Tanzania gave me that kick to finally do it. Me being a planner, I researched a lot of tour companies and Gilmag Safaris received overwhelming positive feedback. Everything was very thoughtfully planned, from pick-up time and what to expect through on arrival, to sleeping accommodations, dining, etc.
Nickson, our tour guide while in Tanzania, was fantastic. He was so knowledgeable and was very patient with us and the hundreds of questions that were asked. During the tours he gave us plenty of time to explore the local markets, Tanzanite Experience, which was greatly appreciated. From a scale of 1 to 10, the trip itself was a 10, but Nickson made it a 15!
Over the course of our 8 days trip, with his wit, wisdom, encyclopedic knowledge, care, compassion, and sense of humor, Nickson became family. If you are fortunate enough to get Nickson as your guide, you are in for a special treat.
In Serengeti, I would highly recommend staying at Tanzania Pure Tented Camp and not a hotel. It is set in a beautiful location and the tents are very comfortable and showers are more than adequate.
I would definitely recommend Gilmag Safaris, and thank you, Nickson, for sharing your amazing country with us!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Jun. 2022
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2022

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Amazing Tanzania Safari"
By: Randall
Tanzania Tanzania
1 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Mar. 2022 Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2022 Submitted in:

We spent 7 days in Tanzania on our first international trip as boyfriend and girlfriend. It was amazing! At first, it seemed too expensive, but afterwards, we realized how much value we got out of it and how much we were able to see and learn with our guide who knew exactly where to take us and pretty much was a Tanzania encyclopedia for that matter.

By the time we landed at the airport, our tour guide, Nickson, was already waiting in the arrivals area with the sign. We had a free day before our tour started and Gilmag Safaris provided a full day, private tour of Arusha City. Every pickup was on time and effortless. Everyone spoke clear English and was easy to understand.

What an experience!!! Great culture. Great experience. But what made it so enjoyable and such a great experience is Mary. She owns the company and serves you like no other can. Nice, outgoing, modern safari vehicle and great service. You are safe and secure with this company.
Overall, we had a great experience; the wonderful sights and sounds of Ngorongoro and Serengeti Parks. Best customer service I've experienced in a very long time. 100% recommended!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Randall
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Mar. 2022
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2022

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Phenomenal Tanzanian safari"
Tanzania Tanzania
2 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Feb. 2022 Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2022 Submitted in:

I found this company purely by searching the internet. The communication was straightforward from the very beginning and Mary made it easy for me to find a suitable offer. I was promised that this will be my life time unforgettable adventure and experience of life and literally it was as they said. The team organized a terrific and thoughtful itinerary that included lovely and luxurious properties.

The communication and details provided allowed for a worry free experience. They truly wanted to make us safe, comfortable and excited and they went out of their way to do so! They were always available to answer questions. Gilmag Safaris planned a perfect trip for us! We made some changes along the way, and it would have been really difficult without their help.
The lodgings at each location were welcoming with loving, joyful staff and all of our needs (if any) were attended to. The food was outstanding and did I mention how wonderful the Tanzanian people are? It was definitely the trip of a lifetime. Our guide, Gilbert was a careful driver and the best tour guide. He gave us a lot of information about the animals, birds, etc. We saw lots of animals.

Overall, the trip was exceptionally excellent. I highly recommend Gilmag Safaris to anyone who is planning a trip. I'd give them 6 stars if I could!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
2People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Feb. 2022
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2022

2People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Great safari experience in Tanzania"
Tanzania Tanzania
2 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Dec. 2021 Reviewed: Dec. 09, 2021 Submitted in:

Due to Covid-19 our trip was postponed several times. Throughout the rescheduling process, Mary was very helpful in rebooking our safari. We did a private customized 6 days tour, which included 1 night in Tarangire, 1 night in Manyara, 1 night in Ngorongoro and 2 nights in Serengeti. Everything was organized by Gilmag Safaris and we were really surprised how well organized the whole tour was. I always longed to visit Tanzania and choosing Gilmag Safaris was the best decision I ever made. Our safari guide was Gilbert and he was amazing in every aspect. I can’t thank him enough for taking such good care of us and making this adventure of a lifetime came true.
Thank you so much Team Gilmag Safaris for the great experience, I highly recommend you.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
2People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Dec. 2021
Reviewed: Dec. 09, 2021

2People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Amazing 7 day Tanzania safari"
By: TaylorT
Tanzania Tanzania
2 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Nov. 2021 Reviewed: Dec. 02, 2021 Submitted in:

Everything about this trip was planned in every single detail, in a very professional manner, starting with the moment I wrote to Mary from my country to ask her to organize this trip. She provided me all the details I needed, in a very short time after I asked her anything. Having travelled to many countries undertaking multiple activities, this has to be one of the best experiences we have ever had. Mary was instrumental in planning our 7 day Tanzania wildlife trip and arranged everything from airport pickup to drop off.

We did the safari in November and it was the best thing that happened during our stay in Tanzania. When we arrived at Kilimanjaro airport we were met and transferred to Mount Meru Hotel in Arusha and had a fantastic stay there. The other accommodations we stayed in were also very good and provided an abundance of tasty and varied foods. The following morning we started our safari. Our guide, Roman, was the best. He was extremely knowledgeable, engaging, chatty and funny. He took his time to answer all our questions and made sure we saw everything we were interested in seeing.

These guys are really some of the best professionals you can deal with if you want to take this trip, and if I was to do it again, I would pick up the same agency. I highly recommend them and express my gratitude for everything they have done. Hope to see you again! Guys, keep up the great job you are doing, you are destined for greatness!!!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
2People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: TaylorT
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Nov. 2021
Reviewed: Dec. 02, 2021

2People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Excellent luxury safari"
By: GilianH
Tanzania Tanzania
4 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Nov. 2021 Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2021 Submitted in:

Our experience with Gilmag Safaris was simply outstanding. I can't speak highly enough of Gilmag. Mary was our contact and she did an amazing job in ensuring that all our inquiries were answered promptly and in a timely manner. She listened to our needs patiently and arranged a fantastic safari.

We have had several trips, but this safari by far was the most excellent luxury one and worth every penny spent. The luxury accommodations, with Little Chem Chem being the highlight were something else. We were privileged to have Gilbert as our guide. He paid a lot of attention to our needs and took perfect care of us. We saw all the Big 5 and much more.

I highly recommend Gilmag Safaris.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: GilianH
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Nov. 2021
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2021

4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Amazing Tanzania experience"
By: MossD
Tanzania Tanzania
4 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Nov. 2021 Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2021 Submitted in:

We contacted different tour companies to see who could create a custom itinerary for me. Mary stepped up to the task and put together a wonderful itinerary covering some of the major attractions/experiences we wanted to see and do. During planning, Mary was very responsive over e-mail and WhatsApp to all my questions. We took 8 days safari to Kilimanjaro, Tarangire, Ngorongoro and Serengeti with many stops in between.

We had a great time. The driving was safe and solid, we stayed on schedule. The accommodations were comfortable and high value; and included breakfast, lunch and dinner. During game drives, we had bottled mineral water, hot tea and coffee. The guides (Abu, Freddy and Nickson) were incredibly helpful in every respect, and willing to accommodate anything.

It was my first time in Tanzania, and it was the best choice with Gilmag Safaris. Everything went perfect, we had so much fun and could experience so many things...the country is rich in wildlife, history, culture and with the guys (Abu, Freddy and Nickson) it was great. 14 other people were with me and all of them could tell the same, they loved it.

Excellent trip! Excellent people! Excellent experience! It was amazing and the organization was perfect! Unforgettable trip! Sincerely I recommend this Company. We will go back and choose them again! Gilmag Safaris is the king of tours!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: MossD
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Nov. 2021
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2021

4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Excellent 7 days safari"
By: JoanC
Tanzania Tanzania
5 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Nov. 2021 Reviewed: Nov. 09, 2021 Submitted in:

We have just been on the trip of a lifetime with Gilmag Safaris exploring Tarangire, Manyara, Ngorongoro and Serengeti. The food was delicious everywhere. The views from each accommodation were breathtaking, especially Kubu Kubu. Tents, fireplace and proximity of lions and monkeys were an unforgettable experience. Our guide, Gilbert, was amazing.
All in all we had a fantastic adventure and memories to treasure forever. I highly recommend Gilmag Safaris.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
5People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: JoanC
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Nov. 2021
Reviewed: Nov. 09, 2021

5People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"True African experience"
By: AndieM
Tanzania Tanzania
5 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Nov. 2021 Reviewed: Nov. 08, 2021 Submitted in:

Our trip around the Kenya and Tanzania has been the most amazing and unique experience of our lifetime. We chose Gilmag Safaris on the basis of TripAdvisor and Google reviews. It was an extraordinary trip in magical places. We felt safe and cared for at every step.

The price was fair compared with prices we received from other companies. This local based tour company is well knowledgeable of Africa and provides a professional service to the clients in terms of places of interest. The Masai Mara and Serengeti were a dream and these were the best days of my life. Both our tour guides (Christopher and Nickson) from Kenya and Tanzania were extremely knowledgeable. They were the best and made our dream safari come true.

I will be recommending Gilmag Safaris to anyone who listens. You will not regret it and when you get here it’ll be the best decision you ever made, trust me! This company is a gem. Thank you Mary and the team at Gilmag.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya Tanzania
5People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: AndieM
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Nov. 2021
Reviewed: Nov. 06, 2021

5People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Gilmag Safaris stands out from the crowd"
By: AlexM
Tanzania Tanzania
6 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Oct. 2021 Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2021 Submitted in:

The first thing I must mention is the level of professionalism at Gilmag Safaris. The tour was completely tailored to our desires. Lots of little extras!!! We recently had 9 days in Tanzania and wanted to make the most of it. We were referred to Gilmag Safaris who put together a customized itinerary which included picking us up at the airport, transferring us to our hotel in Arusha and the safari itself. Gilbert who picked us from the airport was super welcoming and knowledgeable during the entire trip.
In a sea of tour providers and options, Gilmag Safaris stands out from the crowd. We had an amazing African trip and returned back with great memories. We had a blast. I would high recommend Gilmag Safaris. I will definitely go to Tanzania again, and will definitely hire Tour Company again.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
6People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: AlexM
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Oct. 2021
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2021

6People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Show more