Gilmag Safaris

20 reviews
Reviews: 20
Tour packages: 5 tours
Private, custom tours
Photos: 12
Main focus: Luxury
Established: 2016
Headquarters: Tanzania
Languages:
English


Contact info

About Gilmag Safaris

We are a Tanzanian company!!!We were born here, live here and work here; we know Africa. When you purchase a Gilmag Safaris package you are dealing directly with the company providing the services, not with an agent shopping for services in Africa on your behalf. Our guides are all local, knowledgeable and indigenous to this part of Africa – we do not employ foreign guides as we believe the best people to show you our homeland has to be a Tanzanian born and bred! When you think of superlatives, you must think of Tanzania. From the highest peaks of Africa with Mount Kilimanjaro, to the deepest depths of the continent with Lake Tanganyika. From the vast plains of the Serengeti, to the massive Selous Game Reserve. From the migration of more than two million wildebeest to the nocturnal movements of the predators that stalk them. You can find it all through Gilmag Safaris.
Write a review

Sort by:

"Magnificent 10 days Tanzania safari"
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Sep. 2021 Reviewed: Oct. 01, 2021 Submitted in:

Where do I begin writing a review on the most memorable trip of my life! I worked with Mary to develop a private tour with a custom itinerary for the 9 nights, 10 days that I was there. She made recommendations and accommodated my suggestions. I was provided options for accommodations along the way and they were all top notch. I especially like that my bucks went to a local company and stayed in Tanzania. Gilmag Safaris customized a tour just for us. We relied on their expertise for what to see and how to see it and were not disappointed. Everyone we met was friendly, helpful and polite.

Gilbert is the best guide! He knows the country inside and out, from the best restaurants to the hidden gems off the beaten path. Gilbert was great, his patience amazing, was always prepared, intuitive and thoughtful of our needs. He always knew the best spot for a picture, coffee or toilet! If you are looking for an unforgettable African journey, Gilmag Safaris delivers.

We cannot wait to return. We are definitely booking Gilmag Safaris and Gilbert.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Sep. 2021
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Great people with great knowledge."
By: BirkH
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Sep. 2021 Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2021 Submitted in:

As someone who has traveled with many companies, I can say Gilmag Safaris has been my favorite one by a long shot! The level of organization by Mary from pick up to drop off has been excellent!
Gilmag Safaris is a very personal safari company with local tour consultants that know everything about Tanzania’s points of interest, culture, wildlife and sandy beaches. Mary, the owner and operator selected all excellent lodging and organized a very intimate tour of some amazing game drives and arranged a tour to a local orphanage and village for a few days. Best part? We were able to communicate what we wanted on our own itinerary and Gilmag was able to deliver.
It was a very pleasant experience with Gilbert, our tour guide. He made extra effort to ensure we saw everything exciting on this adventure. We even watched as five lionesses stalked an impala. They didn’t get the kill, but came close. This was possible because of our wonderful guide Gilbert. He brought the skills of a big game hunter to the safari. All of us appreciated his sixth sense tracking animals. The vehicle was spotless clean and looked brand-new.
Overall: We were impressed with the service and had fun.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: BirkH
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Sep. 2021
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Mara River crossing"
By: NimitK
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Sep. 2021 Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2021 Submitted in:

We just came back from this epic tour. Great communication during the booking process with Gilmag Safaris. From the very beginning when we were planning our trip, the response from the company was quick and smooth, they were able to customize our trip to fit our preferences.

We had such a great time on this tour. Our driver, Nickson, was brilliant. All the scenery (view of the Ngorongoro crater from the crater rim was breathtaking) was amazing and Nickson knew great places to stop and eat. He also took us to some local markets and helped us get great prices. And he was just really nice and good fun. Witnessing millions of wildebeest cross the Mara River from Serengeti to Masai Mara, was an unforgettable experience. At the time of booking, Mary had assured us that with good luck we would see the crossing, and we did see it. Thank you Gilmag Safaris for such an incredible adventure.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: NimitK
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Sep. 2021
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Most recommended tour company in Tanzania"
By: MaylaY
Tanzania Tanzania
1 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Aug. 2021 Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2021 Submitted in:

Gilmag Safaris provided a very reasonable price and definitely 5 star services. They were responsive and flexible to accommodate all of our requests. This is a trustful tour operator, went the extra mile and stood behind their words. Honestly, we would be very happy with a “hassle free” experience. What they provided was way beyond that. Gilmag Safaris went above and beyond to make sure my friends and I had an unforgettable experience in such a magical country. I would like to point out specifically one of our tour guides, Gilbert. This man is a legend amongst mortals and made our trip unforgettable. His wealth of knowledge, which is driven by his burning passion to learn, preserve, and pass on is delivered in a very charismatic approach. You can tell he puts his own twist on this tour and it was going to be a very interesting experience from the moment he picked us up from the airport. Hands down Gilbert is the best tour guide I have ever had the pleasure of meeting! I was so impressed with how knowledgeable he is and you can tell he is passionate from the moment you meet him! Gilbert took care of us in a private guided tour in a group of 6. He definitely gave us a college level educational explanation. His positive and upbeat energy is contagious.

Kudos to the team at Gilmag Safaris for helping plan and execute a very memorable 15 day trip to Tanzania! The team was so personable, friendly, organized and professional that I would work with them again and recommend them to anyone who is considering travel to this amazing country.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: MaylaY
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Aug. 2021
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2021

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Serengeti big 5 safari"
Tanzania Tanzania
2 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Aug. 2021 Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2021 Submitted in:

I worked directly with Mary via email and WhatsApp to book our 9 nights 10 days tour. She was very quick to respond and extremely knowledgeable and helpful. I thought her price was fair and the accommodations she picked were really nice. Our itinerary was a good balance of tours and free time. Tanzania is beautiful and the people are so kind and welcoming. I’d highly recommend this organization to take care of your travel needs. They have the perfect balance of structure with flexibility. Special thanks to Mary for going above and beyond in helping us in so many ways, including helping us when our luggage was lost at the airport, teaching us a bit of Kiswahili, took some photos for us and was extremely attentive to our every need.

We definitely felt like we were in good hands from the start. We absolutely loved our driver, Junior! My husband and I were worried about spending so much time with a guide, but Junior was so fun and we quickly became friends. We have experienced the real hospitality and amazing experience with incredibly rich culture. We definitely want to go back. We became great friends with our guide and it was so hard to say goodbye!

When we arrived at the airport, Mary went out of her way to meet us and welcome us to our hotel. I can’t even begin to tell you how much they did for us, making sure our trip was special and most of all— fun!

One highlight was our picnic in Serengeti Park. They did a 3 course meal with champagne. Gilmag Safaris was really flexible when I fell in love with Tanzania they chose Mbugani Camp and wanted to change the itinerary to stay an extra night.
We have experienced the real hospitality and amazing experience with incredibly rich culture. We definitely want to go back.
Overall; a perfect experience and the highlight of our trip to Africa. We would recommend Gilmag Safaris a million times over.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
2People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Aug. 2021
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2021

2People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Best safari planners in Tanzania and Kenya"
Tanzania Tanzania
1 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Aug. 2021 Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2021 Submitted in:

Gilmag Safaris provided a first-class experience for us. A very well put together tour of Tanzania and Kenya!!! A seamless journey and an impeccable itinerary of Tarangire, Ngorongoro, Serengeti, Masai Mara, Lake Nakuru and Amboseli. Gilmag Safaris provided a high level of service; we were very well looked after.

Mary helped me through the whole process. Everything was well organized and well communicated. They were amazingly accommodating, working with us by email to come up with an itinerary that was perfect for us. They were prompt in reply, understood what we wanted, and ended up providing a package that was one of the best experiences of our lives. She organized an amazing once in a lifetime honeymoon for us! I would highly recommend travelling to Africa with this reputable company. What an amazing tour, it will be hard to beat. We were especially impressed by Abu, our highly professional Tanzanian guide, who was a delight to be around. He was an amazing tracker and wealth of information which immensely added to our experience. He was always willing to stay somewhere if we wanted to view an animal longer and answered all of our questions no matter how silly.

Bravo Gilmag Safaris!!!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya Tanzania
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Aug. 2021
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2021

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Best tour company. Best value for money"
Tanzania Tanzania
1 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jul. 2021 Reviewed: Aug. 02, 2021 Submitted in:

This had always been the trip that I dreamed of taking. The results were far beyond any dream! I did a lot of price comparison and Gilmag Safaris’ prices were terrific, especially once we realized and experienced the quality of service and accommodations. Mary, who organized everything for us, always replied super fast and took care about everything, even when we needed additional help. She provided us with all necessary information in detail and she is really professional.

The safari far exceeded our wishes and expectations. We visited 5 parks in 9 days and spent many hours on the road or on safari with Danny, our guide and driver. Danny was the best in getting us as close as possible to the action to take the best pictures. He seemed to know exactly where we needed to be for the best shots.

Our favourite tented camp was Mbugani Camps in Serengeti. This place was stunning! Hospitality was at great level and we could watch all wildlife just in front of our self contained tent. All Covid-19 measures were followed and we felt really safe.
We cannot recommend Gilmag Safaris high enough. We had an amazing time. We are now looking forward to returning to Tanzania in 2022 and visiting the Ndutu Area, and of course booking through Gilmag Safaris - hopefully with Danny as our guide

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Jul. 2021
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2021

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Good choice for a fantastic safari"
By: AlfonsT
Tanzania Tanzania
1 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jul. 2021 Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2021 Submitted in:

My son and I decided we wanted to go on a safari and reached out to Gilmag Safaris to help us plan our trip. My son did an intensive research before we finally booked our trip. Based on all of the reviews there was no way that we could have booked with anyone else. Mary Maguke was our advisor and she did an excellent job of listening to what we wanted. My first taste of safari - this was supposed to be a trip of a lifetime and I was so excited to be going. But this far exceeded all my expectations. We were treated like royalties from the time; we stepped in to the airport to the time we departed from the airport. From the moment we exited the international airport to the moment we were dropped off there again at the end of our safari everything ran so well that we soon just knew things would happens as we wanted.
The camps and lodges booked were all inviting; the guest tents were fitted with all the comforts of home. The food was plentiful & delicious and the service was perfect. Our guide, Gilbert was knowledgeable and excellent in every aspect. We learned so much and there were optional extras available such as our visit to a Maasai village in Ngorongoro.

When planning your trip, make sure you do the hot air balloon ride in the Serengeti; also, consider visiting Oldupai/Olduvai gorge where the Leakey’s discovered many major human fossils dating back to centuries ago. I would highly recommend Gilmag Safaris if you want to see the widest variety of animals and the beauty of Tanzania.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: AlfonsT
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Jul. 2021
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2021

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Fantastic solo safari"
Tanzania Tanzania
1 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jul. 2021 Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2021 Submitted in:

I am happy to share my great experience I had from Gilmag Safaris as a Solo traveler. I took a 4 days safari and covered Tarangire, Manyara and Ngorongoro Crater, since I did not have more time to do a long trip.

I could hardly believe the level of comfort and excellent service in my accommodations at Mount Meru Hotel, Maramboi in Tarangire and Marera Valley Lodge in Manyara. They were really sort of luxury serving excellent dishes and sumptuous breakfast. My driver, Nickson made sure I saw everything possible, including rare sightings of a Rhino at close range in Ngorongoro. The car was in great condition, and we never had a problem or breakdown. It included even some extras, such as electric plugs to charge my phone or camera, a fridge for some cold drinks and hot water for coffee/tea. There was so much to see ranging from wild animals, beautiful scenery and nice hotels to relax in.

I had a perfect time, thanks to the great planning and execution by the Gilmag Safaris team. I unreservedly recommend this company fully.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Jul. 2021
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2021

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Unforgettable wild tour"
Tanzania Tanzania
2 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Apr. 2021 Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2021 Submitted in:

This was our first trip to Africa for our group of 42 people. Our agent from Armenia organized everything. Our safari started in Zanzibar, and then we took a flight to Kilimanjaro. We had an amazing experience that we will never forget. We visited Tarangire, Lake Manyara, Serengeti, the Ngorongoro Crater and Lake Eyasi. The accommodations chosen by Gilmag Safaris were all superb, and a nice variety of styles from lodges to tented camps. Ngorongoro Coffee Lodge was our favourite. We spent two nights here and wished we had more. We were in a convoy of 7 vehicles, each vehicle having an English speaking guide and a Russian translator. Our guides Freddy and Ally were awesome. Thumbs up to Gilmag Safaris for the fabulous trip. We have recommended this company to our friends and most definitely they will be visiting soon. We will also come back.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
2People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Apr. 2021
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2021

2People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Show more