Mgalaa Expeditions

33 reviews
Reviews: 33
Tour packages: 11 tours
Private, custom tours
Group, set date tours
Photos: 17
Main focus: Mid-range safaris
Established: 2018
Headquarters: Tanzania
Languages: English, Spanish, Swahili

Offers tours in


Contact info

About Mgalaa Expeditions

Mgalaa Expeditions, is a safari and trekking company based in Tanzania, committed to providing it's clients with the highest quality safaris, mountain climbing, and cultural experiences. We Organize different authentic Safaris, hiking and adventures to fit any groups & individuals needs. If you are looking for a company to arrange your lodge and camping safaris, trekking and hiking tours and beach holidays you have come to the right place.
"Unforgettable experience with Mgalaa Expeditions"
Safari enthusiast
United States United States
3 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Dec. 2020 Reviewed: Feb. 01, 2021 Submitted in:

From the first contact I had to the end of my stay in Tanzania, all the people who work for Mgalaa Expeditions made my climbing and safari experiences unforgettable. In times of COVID-19 they gave me all the necessary information and respected social distance and hygienic measures at every step of the process. For example, the group of visitors was reduced to respect distance, employees wore masks when distance was not possible, and frequently sanitized their hands, vehicles, and other materials. I felt very safe! In particular, my hike up the Kilimanjaro was wonderful: I enjoyed the company of my mountain guide and the crew. In fact, Mgalaa Expeditions is one of the few companies that hired a mountain guide. As a solo hiker this was very important to me. In addition, they are part of a large project to improve the training and working conditions of porters. I was very happy to contribute to this. The Safari was also well organized and the guide and the cook they were exceptional! I learned a lot about the national parks, wildlife and ways of life in Tanzania. I highly recommend anyone interested in visiting the beautiful country of Tanzania to contact Mgalaa Expeditions for a once in a lifetime experience.

Desde el primer contacto que tuve hasta el final de mi estancia en Tanzania, todas las personas que trabajan para Mgalaa Expeditions hicieron que mis experiencias de escalada y safari fueran inolvidables. En tiempos del COVID-19 me brindaron toda la información necesaria y respetaron la distancia social y las medidas higiénicas en cada paso del proceso. Por ejemplo, el grupo de visitantes se redujo para respetar la distancia, los empleados usaban máscaras cuando la distancia no era posible y frecuentemente desinfectaban sus manos, vehículos y otros materiales. ¡Me sentí muy seguro! En particular, mi caminata por el kilimankaro fue maravillosa: disfruté de la compañía de mi guía de montaña y de la tripulación. De hecho, Mgalaa Expeditions es una de las pocas empresas que contrató a una guía de montaña. Como excursionista en solitario, esto fue muy importante para mí. Además, forman parte de un gran proyecto para mejorar la formación y las condiciones laborales de los porteadores. Me sentí muy feliz de contribuir a esto. El Safari también estuvo bien organizado y el guía y el cocinero fueron excepcionales! Aprendí mucho sobre los parques nacionales, la vida silvestre y las formas de vida en Tanzania. Recomiendo encarecidamente a todas las personas interesadas en visitar el hermoso país de Tanzania que se comuniquen con Mgalaa Expeditions para una experiencia única en la vida.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
2People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
United States United States
Countries visited: South Africa Tanzania
Visited: Dec. 2020
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2021

2People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Write a review

Sort by:

"Excellent safari with Mgalaa | ОТЛИЧНОЕ САФАРИ С КОМАНДОЙ МГАЛА."
Tanzania Tanzania
1 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Mar. 2021 Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2021 Submitted in:

We had a great experience with the Mgalaa expeditions. We climbed Kilimanjaro with them. We also did a 4 day safari. We liked the various guides and porters. I highly recommend Mgalaa Expeditions as they are local, have many years of experience and are reliable. I appreciate the prompt response to any questions we have before and during the trip. They helped us navigate Covid19 testing the travel requirements. I highly recommend Mgalaa Expeditions.



У нас был отличный опыт работы с экспедициями Мгалаа. Мы проехали маршрут 7 Мачаме и подвели итоги Килиманджаро. Мы также совершили однодневную экскурсию к водопаду/кофейной плантации и прекрасному источнику. Кроме того, мы провели 4-дневное сафари. Нам понравились различные гиды и носильщики. Я настоятельно рекомендую Mgalaa Экспедиции, так как они являются местными, имеют многолетний опыт и являются надежными. Я ценю быстрый ответ на любые вопросы, которые у нас возникали до и во время поездки. Они помогли нам сориентироваться в Covid19, тестировавших требования к поездке. Я настоятельно рекомендую Mgalaa Expeditions.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Mar. 2021
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"The best tour company for a safari!"
By: marita
Travel writer
Poland Poland
5 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Jan. 2020 Reviewed: Jan. 07, 2021 Submitted in:

This was a 6-day, 5-night camping safari. After contacting well over 20 companies, we chose Mgala Expeditions because of a combination of high ratings, competitive prices and fast response time to our many questions -- a special thanks to Nema for this. For two people, this trip was quite an investment, so we were very happy that everything went smoothly and as planned. Our guide and chef were professional in many ways, including being always punctual and polite. Our guide Rasheed was highly-knowledgeable and respectful about local wildlife and nature, and our chef Cristian made the most amazing meals. A very special trip, with memories to last a long time.

The only thing that came to us as a surprise was how cold it really could get an route. We did not bring along enough warm and wind-proof clothes. At the Ngorongoro camping site temperatures went down to +13C in the late evening and morning in early June, and throughout the trip the car can get very breezy with the roof hatches up and windows open. So pack warm. Everything else was great!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: marita
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Poland Poland
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Jan. 2020
Reviewed: Jan. 05, 2021

4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Once in a lifetime experience to see the Great Migration"
By: Simone
Germany Germany
5 kudus
Photos (3)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Sep. 2020 Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2020 Submitted in:

We decided to go on safari in September 2020 with Mgalaa Expeditions in order to see the migration during the dry season. It was spectacular to see thousands of wildebeest, and we were so lucky that we had the best guide, William, of Mgalaa Expeditions. We were able to see the wildebeest crossing the Mara River, twice! We even saw a hurt wildebeest being attacked by a hyena, and then the vultures swooped in after. Sad and exciting to watch at the same time, I totally recommend Mgalaa Expeditions and visiting this wonderful Serengeti National park.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
5People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Simone
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Germany Germany
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Sep. 2020
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2020

5People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Hike and safari with Mgalaa Expeditions"
Safari enthusiast
United States United States
18 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Sep. 2018 Reviewed: Nov. 04, 2020

We were a group of 8. My friends and I climbed Kilimanjaro with Mgalaa Expeditions. After the climb, we went on a 5-day safari with my friends that did the climb (Tarangire, Serengeti, Ngorongoro and Lake Manyara).

During our climb, the staff made us feel as comfortable as possible throughout the trek and went above and beyond to accommodate any special requests. They also remained completely calm and patient every step of the way and were always ready with encouraging words and a helping hand whenever I was experiencing physical or emotional difficulty brought on by the magnitude of the climb.

By the end of the trip, the staff felt more like family. The safari that followed was excellent as well. It was a great experience! They did a good job. I highly recommend them! Don't hesitate and book your Mgalaa Expeditions with this company!!

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
18People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
United States United States
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Sep. 2018
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2018

18People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Really class organization"
Safari enthusiast
Australia Australia
94 kudus
Photos (9)
Reviews (5)
Visited: Dec. 2018 Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2020

We finished climbing Kilimanjaro 8 days and 4 days safari with Mgalaa Expeditions. We climbed the Lemosho Route. We have choose Mgalaa because they have the best reviews. Right from the beginning they exceeded all our expectations. Our guides Mood and Innocent checked in on us day-to-day to make sure we were acclimatizing well. The porters and crew always made sure our tents were set-up and ready for us when we arrived after hiking. We would highly recommended Mgalaa Expeditions to everyone. We want to support a local Tanzanian company. Thank you for such a wonderful and memorable journey. It was the best.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
14People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Australia Australia
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Dec. 2018
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2019

14People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Experiencia brillante. Expediciones Mgalaa. Muy recomendable!"
Safari enthusiast
Spain Spain
16 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Aug. 2018 Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2020

It was August 12, 2018, when my friends and I decided to climb Mount Kilimanjaro. We contacted some tour operators to make a good choice in which company to travel. I liked Mgalaa Expeditions from its first email: it was brief, clear and very understandable. We booked my trip at very short notice. Nema was very patient and informative to answer all my questions promptly.

We booked the route of Lemosho for 8 days with a night in the crater that helps to acclimatize enough. My guide (mood) was very friendly and obviously was close to me all the time during the walk, he took good care of me and made sure that we are well. We had a team of 12 porters and a cook who was very hardworking. When they arrived at the camp everything was ready, that is, hot water, tents, coffee, porridge, soup, food, etc. I really appreciated the crew.

Finally, the adventure in Tanzania ended with a four-day safari that was also incredible. The first and last night were in a shelter and midnight in a tent in the Serengeti. The safari guide was top notch as well. All three of us give many thanks to the Mgalaa Expeditions team. Highly recommended for all, Mgalaa Expeditions is the right choice
________________________________________________________________________________________________

Fue el 12 de agosto de 2018, cuando decidimos escalar la montaña del Kilimanjaro, mis amigos y yo. Nos pusimos en contacto con algunos operadores turísticos para poder hacer una buena elección en qué compañía viajar, agradecí desde el primer correo electrónico a Mgalaa Expeditions Como fue breve, claro y bien comprensible. Reservamos mi viaje con muy poca antelación. Nema fue muy paciente e informativo para responder a todas mis preguntas con prontitud. Reservamos durante 8 días la ruta de Lemosho con una noche en el cráter que ayuda a aclimatarse lo suficiente. Mi guía (estado de ánimo) era muy amigable y obviamente estaba cerca de mí todo el tiempo durante la caminata, me cuidó bien y se aseguró de que estamos bien,
Teníamos un equipo de 12 porteros y un cocinero que era muy trabajador, ya que cuando llegaron al campamento todo estaba listo, es decir, agua caliente, carpas, café, gachas, sopa, comida, etc. Realmente aprecio a la tripulación. Finalmente, la aventura en Tanzania terminó con un safari de cuatro días que también fue increíble. La primera y la última noche estaban en un albergue y la media noche en una tienda de campaña en el Serengeti. La guía de Safari fue de primera categoría también. No se puede creer. Podemos hacer que sean tres personas, en resumen, muchas gracias al equipo de Mgalaa Expeditions. Muy recomendado para todos, Mgalaa Expeditions es la elección correcta

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
16People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Spain Spain
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Aug. 2018
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2019

16People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Mount Meru and safari"
By: Franco
Safari enthusiast
Brazil Brazil
20 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Mar. 2019 Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2020

We recently returned from Tanzania for our 4 days Mount Meru climb and 3 days safari organized by Mgalaa expeditions. I can simply say that everything went perfect and sometimes beyond our expectations. They were quick to respond to our countless emails, offered a reasonable price and made our holiday unforgettable one.

We had great guides for both trek and safari who were knowledgeable,fun and helpful. We ate delicious food and sleep in a perfect clean places.

If you are looking for a great operator to organize your Tanzania holiday then, look no further but Mgalaa Expeditions.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
10People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Franco
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Brazil Brazil
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Mar. 2019
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2019

10People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Excellent team, great trip (Kilimanjaro climb & safari)"
By: Markom
Travel writer
New Zealand New Zealand
18 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Aug. 2018 Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2020

I was part of a group of 9 (4 men, 5 women) that climbed Mt Kili in August, followed by a safari.

We took the 8 day Lemosho route for better acclimatization. Everything was perfectly organized, from pick up at the airport, transport to and from hotel, to the hike itself. The guides were very knowledgeable, porters, cooks and others who helped us absolutely friendly.

We had a fantastic time and made it all up to the summit! Unforgettable!

We then went on a 4 day safari to including Tarangire NP, Serengeti and Ngorongoro Crater.
Again, everything was perfectly organized and we saw all the animals you could think of! Absolutely wonderful! Definitely a ‘once in a lifetime’ trip.

I can only recommend Mgalaaexpeditions.com and the whole team! They are doing a fantastic job
from beginning to end!

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
18People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Markom
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
New Zealand New Zealand
Countries visited: Madagascar South Africa Tanzania
Visited: Aug. 2018
Reviewed: Nov. 05, 2018

18People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Very impressive experience with a fantastic team!"
By: Tatiana
Safari enthusiast
Swaziland Swaziland
33 kudus
Photos (4)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Oct. 2019 Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2020

Our summit of Uhuru peak via the Lemosho Route with Mgalaa Expeditions was absolutely amazing. The company was top notch! The equipment was clean and well taken care of they were so helpful, so knowledgeable,
Mgalaa Expeditions are simply awesome!!! The best experience we could have hoped for... absolute 10/10. I would wholeheartedly recommend this company to anyone planning to climb Kili. We were led by the legend 'Crazy Peter' and his band of merry men. 'Where am a' & Dowdy. From the get-go the whole outfit was exceptionally professional, personable, and fun. What is abundantly clear is that they take safety and altitude sickness extremely seriously. It is no joke. There is a respect and seriousness for this trip which we got from the off. But Mgalaa Expeditions kept the whole expedition fun, personable and totally inspiring. Liberatus, the cook was fantastic, great food. Cups of tea and coffee in the tent at 6 am and the equipment was top notch. We were spoiled with a touch of creature comforts in an environment where we expected none. We bonded with the 20+ group immediately (and hats off to the porters they are machines and cover the whole distance we did just with triple the weight! Insane).
They helped us, guided us, inspired us and on the final day pushed us to the top. We submitted first at 5.45 am having overtaken 10+ leading groups, but only because the guides knew we could. Cheers, laughter, views, dancing, memories, bonds, and sheer exhilaration. What a trip. Thank you all so much. I will remember our time on the mountain forever.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
10People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Tatiana
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Swaziland Swaziland
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Oct. 2019
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2019

10People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Excellence with Mgalaa Expeditions"
Safari enthusiast
Canada Canada
16 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jan. 2019 Reviewed: Sep. 07, 2020

My family and I used Mgalaa Expeditions to climb Kilimanjaro (9 day Lemosho Route) as well as 5 day safari afterwards. Nema they took care of us every step of the way from airport pick-up to airport drop-off. Our climbing guides were amazing in getting us to the summit and the cook did a tremendous job feeding us. The rest of the team always had camp set up by the time we arrived, supported us, and were a pleasure to be around!

The safari was an great experience as well. The guides were really friendly and informative. We saw plenty of animals from lions and leopards to elephants and giraffes. The accommodations we spent our nights at were absolutely amazing. Mgalaa Expeditions is the way to explore.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
16People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Canada Canada
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Jan. 2019
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2019

16People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Show more
YAScore: 80/100
Based on 33 reviews

Overall rating
Cleanliness of vehicle
Meet and greet team
Quality of itinerary
Responsiveness of staff

Park reviews written by None
Latest photos (17)