Great Lake Expedition

12 reviews
Reviews: 12
Tour packages: 25 tours
Private, custom tours
Group, set date tours
Photos: 38
Main focus: Budget safaris
Established: 2010
Headquarters: Tanzania
Languages:
English, German, Mandarin, Russian, Swahili


Contact info

About Great Lake Expedition

With some years of experience Great Lake Expedition has a proven expertise on East Africa Adventures. We lead over 400 climbs per year, with more than 600 adventurers climbing with us annually. Literally thousands of climbers have stood on the top of Kilimanjaro and enjoy safaris with us. Our clients have included journalists, photographer and high profile people. Whether you’re travelling on a budget or wanting the best accommodation available, we have the right style for you. Budget or Luxury two levels, but whichever you choose, you’ll be guaranteed one great adventure with us at Great Lake Expedition, here in beautiful Tanzania
"A perfect 7 days Kilimanjaro climbing"
By: tdythom
Tanzania Tanzania
1 kudus
Reviews (2)
Visited: May. 2021 Reviewed: May. 25, 2021 Submitted in:

We have already booked the Kilimanjaro climb via the Rongai route with Great Lake Expedition in February 2020. Then Corona came. We thought back and forth for a long time whether to do this trip or not. Great Lake Expedition has always been extremely understanding and tolerant. In the end, we decided to fly to Tanzania.

Together with another younger couple from Canada, we (50 + 51 years old) took off with Mcregan and his team. It was absolutely fantastic. The camps were empty and there were only four of us. Finally we were happily standing at Uhuru Peak on 01.05.21!

The guides were amazing: the perfect mix of friendliness, sovereignty and professionalism. We felt comfortable, safe and in good hands from the very first moment. Our health was checked every day, including the oxygen level in our blood.
We hiked, talked, laughed and sang together.
Our cook and porters also did an outstanding job. A super friendly, helpful team - you can't praise them enough. They often left us speechless with their service - it was simply incredible. Kudus to them!

I actually wanted to write this review immediately after our return, but as is often the case, time passes so quickly. But since not a week goes by without us thinking back happily to this Kilimanjaro climb, I would just like to take this opportunity to say THANK YOU once again to the entire Great Lake Expedition team for an unforgettable week on Mt. Kilimanjaro!
We can highly recommend Great Lake Expedition without hesitation

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: tdythom
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: May. 2021
Reviewed: May. 25, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Write a review

Sort by:

"Kilimanjaro summit and safari"
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Reviews (2)
Visited: Jun. 2021 Reviewed: Jul. 06, 2021 Submitted in:

My 16 year old daughter and I (55) planned a pre-Covid trip to and decided to keep our trip from USA after training and excitement grew. I’m very glad we did; the airlines, Kili Wonders Hotel, Bouganvillea safari lodge and Great Lake Expeditin all took precautions to ensure our safety. The trails on Kili were not busy and we were treated as VIPs as everyone was grateful we made the trip. Kili is not easy but with training and determination we both summited. Great Lake Expedition’s Simon, Chale and Japhet were great trek and Safari guides.
A trip we will never forget. I wouldn’t hesitate the make the same decision again. Get busy living!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Jun. 2021
Reviewed: Jul. 06, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Exceeded expectations"
By: 892et7
Russia Russia
0 kudus
Reviews (2)
Visited: Jun. 2021 Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2021 Submitted in:

This trip far exceeded any and every expectation that I had. The Great Lake Expedition crew that was put together was professional, and by the time we got to the bottom of the mountain they felt like family. Our guide and assistant guide (Paulo and Kevoo) were ever encouraging and provided knowledge and insight on the mountain that only someone growing up in the Machame village could provide. Our trip, even though it was far less than 1/2 the cost of other trips, was not lacking for amenities. The food was delicious, the transportation was prompt, and everyone was kind and professional. The hotel was great, and the Great Lake Expedition team in Moshi made sure that we were taken care of, even after our expedition was over.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: 892et7
Russia Russia
Countries visited:
Visited: Jun. 2021
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Great experience, trust worthy, highly recommend!!"
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Reviews (2)
Visited: May. 2021 Reviewed: May. 24, 2021 Submitted in:

We had an amazing trek with our guides, Juma and Peter, and the team: the cook, our ‘personal assistant’ and the porters. They were all amazing and helped us climbing Kilimanjaro successfully! They always were positive, helpful, caring and made us laugh. Thanks to them, the good camping gear and the great food (Dastan is an amazing chef!) we reached the peak. 5 stars all the way!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: May. 2021
Reviewed: May. 22, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Am so glad that I chose Great Lake Expedition!!!!"
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Reviews (2)
Visited: Apr. 2021 Reviewed: May. 06, 2021 Submitted in:

Incredible service from our trip manager, guides and porters. We felt very safe in the hands of the Great Lake Expedition team. Would highly recommend using them.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Apr. 2021
Reviewed: May. 06, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Amazing Kilimanjaro"
By: Claudia
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Reviews (2)
Visited: Mar. 2021 Reviewed: Apr. 08, 2021 Submitted in:

This tour group provided by Great Lake Expedition was very well organized and offered periodic medical checks that many other tour groups do not. Highly recommend!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Claudia
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Mar. 2021
Reviewed: Apr. 08, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Satisfied with the level of services, highly recommend"
Tanzania Tanzania
1 kudus
Reviews (2)
Visited: Mar. 2021 Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2021 Submitted in:

Great Lake Expedition did a great job of organizing our climb of Mt Kilimanjaro -- from start to finish. We would never have succeeded without their constant help, professionalism and kindness. The entire team made our climb as comfortable as possible and our ultimate success is a testament to their high quality service. Would highly recommend them and hope to use them again for future adventures !

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Mar. 2021
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Memorable experience"
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Reviews (2)
Visited: Jan. 2021 Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2021 Submitted in:

Incredible experience! Definitely one of the trips in my life! 5 star service and highly recommend Great Lake Expedition
one of the best adventure I have done. Superb company and crew.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Jan. 2021
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Kilimanjaro climb Lemosho Route 8 day"
By: nat1888
Tanzania Tanzania
1 kudus
Reviews (2)
Visited: Jan. 2021 Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2021 Submitted in:

Climbing the Uhuru peak was a life changing experience for me. Even though this year was a difficult one, the Great Lake Expedition made sure we had the best conditions to enjoy our trip. The guides Innocent, Saidy, Tuma made our team feel strong and ready to face the challenge of the summit. The porters were very friendly and helpful and the cook had remarkable skills making us feel spoiled throughout our journey to the rooftop of Africa. Excellent is not enough for this company. I strongly recommend them as the to-go agency for summits.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: nat1888
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Jan. 2021
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2021

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"7 day Machame Route. Thanks to Great Lake Expedition"
United Kingdom United Kingdom
0 kudus
Reviews (2)
Visited: Dec. 2020 Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2021 Submitted in:

We chose Climb Kili based on a referral from a friend. We could not have asked for a better group of guides and porters. Innocent and Saidy (007) were our guides and we could not have been happier with them both. Both made sure we had sufficient breaks during our climb and let us know what to expect the next day. Two of us were a little worried when we learned our group of four would be split into two groups for our summit climb. We had followed Innocent for four and half days and were now going to reach the summit led by Saidy. Our worries were completely left behind as soon as we began our ascent. Saidy set our tempo (pole pole) and wanted us to reach the summit as much as we did. A short way in, he was quick to see that I was overheating and promptly had me remove my parka - what a difference! A couple of times we had slower groups in front of us and he led us on routes around them. His knowledge of the trail with only headlamps was amazing. When we caught up to the other two in our group he made sure we all made it to Stella Point before heading for the summit. Four out of four of made it to Uhuru Peak with huge smiles on our frozen faces. I would highly recommend Great Lake Expedition. We did the 7 day Machame route with our summit being New Year's day. All of our porters were amazing, but the top of my list were Chef (stomach engineer), Swalehe, Juma, Tom and Salim (toilet engineer).

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Countries visited:
Visited: Dec. 2020
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Successfully Kilimanjaro Summit"
Safari enthusiast
Tanzania Tanzania
1 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jun. 2019 Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2020

Kilimanjaro trekking is a pretty hard activity that cannot be accomplished without proper planning and expert support. Great Lake Expedition organized a 7 day trek using the Machame route for our volleyball team of 9 and it turned out perfectly. They attended perfectly to our needs and listened to our wishes making the climb experience pretty smooth. As the team captain I picked very important leadership traits from Godfrey, the lead guide for our huge party of climbers and climb support crew.
I cannot possibly draw fault to any aspect of our trek because our crew was experienced, very professional and fun to be with, we were provided with top class tents, sleeping bags and the invaluable chemical toilet. We really loved and enjoyed the food served during the trek!
100% summit success rate was a proud moment for our team!
Great Lake Expedition is definitely a perfect pick for Kilimanjaro trekking

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Safari enthusiast
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Jun. 2019
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2020

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Show more