Great Lake Expedition

14 reviews
Reviews: 14
Tour packages: 25 tours
Private, custom tours
Group, set date tours
Photos: 38
Main focus: Budget safaris
Established: 2010
Headquarters: Tanzania
Languages:
English, German, Mandarin, Russian, Swahili


Contact info

About Great Lake Expedition

With some years of experience Great Lake Expedition has a proven expertise on East Africa Adventures. We lead over 400 climbs per year, with more than 600 adventurers climbing with us annually. Literally thousands of climbers have stood on the top of Kilimanjaro and enjoy safaris with us. Our clients have included journalists, photographer and high profile people. Whether you’re travelling on a budget or wanting the best accommodation available, we have the right style for you. Budget or Luxury two levels, but whichever you choose, you’ll be guaranteed one great adventure with us at Great Lake Expedition, here in beautiful Tanzania
"Satisfied with the level of services, highly recommend"
Tanzania Tanzania
1 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Mar. 2021 Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2021 Submitted in:

Great Lake Expedition did a great job of organizing our climb of Mt Kilimanjaro -- from start to finish. We would never have succeeded without their constant help, professionalism and kindness. The entire team made our climb as comfortable as possible and our ultimate success is a testament to their high quality service. Would highly recommend them and hope to use them again for future adventures !

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Mar. 2021
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Write a review

Sort by:

"Venturing Kilimanjaro"
By: 37899
United States United States
2 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Jul. 2021 Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2021 Submitted in:

The overall hike and comradery with the Great Lake Expedition guides and porters really made this an amazing experience. They took us up the very scenic Machame Route. We had breathtaking and scenic views of both upper and lower mountain. The food and hospitality was that of a 5 star hotel. The guys would even sing for us time to time keeping us in very good spirits as we climbed our way of the mountain. In addition, they paid close attention to our health ensuring it was always safe to continue. They made sure that we all made it to the top, helping and holding us if needed. This was by far one of the most exception experiences of my life. Great Lake Expedition is an experience team of professionals guides and porters and I would highly recommend them to anyone wanting an exception experience venturing Kilimanjaro; even if you go alone and not in a group you will feel as though you are with family.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: 37899
United States United States
Countries visited:
Visited: Jul. 2021
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2021

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"They are the best for Kili and safari"
By: sas@gag
United States United States
1 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Jul. 2021 Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2021 Submitted in:

Thank you once again all at Great Lake Expedition for the unforgettable days!
Damsoni for all info, fast responding and arranging. A safe feeling to be picked up en brought back at the airport.
Emanuel, I’ve learned a lot about the country, Kilimanjaro, vegetation and the culture. You’re a great guide and person! Raphael, it was pleasure in the parks driving around with you and to spot a diversity of beautiful animals so near.
Butterfly, every day you put a smile on my face:)
Emanuel always happy and a good team with Kizito helping during summit!
The food during the Kili trek was really good, I was impressed by it. Three times a day a warm healthy and tasty dish! Jonas, Kamen, Job, Diana and all above, you do a great job and you operate as a team!
Highly recommend the Kilimanjaro trek with you and Tarangire park. Accommodations I recommend: Great Lake Expedition tent at Kilimanjaro;) of course, Rivertrees Country Inn (near entrance Arusha park) and Tarangire Safari Lodge (for a sleep in the park!)

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: sas@gag
United States United States
Countries visited:
Visited: Jul. 2021
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2021

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Kilimanjaro summit and safari"
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Jun. 2021 Reviewed: Jul. 06, 2021 Submitted in:

My 16 year old daughter and I (55) planned a pre-Covid trip to and decided to keep our trip from USA after training and excitement grew. I’m very glad we did; the airlines, Kili Wonders Hotel, Bouganvillea safari lodge and Great Lake Expeditin all took precautions to ensure our safety. The trails on Kili were not busy and we were treated as VIPs as everyone was grateful we made the trip. Kili is not easy but with training and determination we both summited. Great Lake Expedition’s Simon, Chale and Japhet were great trek and Safari guides.
A trip we will never forget. I wouldn’t hesitate the make the same decision again. Get busy living!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Jun. 2021
Reviewed: Jul. 06, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Exceeded expectations"
By: 892et7
Russia Russia
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Jun. 2021 Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2021 Submitted in:

This trip far exceeded any and every expectation that I had. The Great Lake Expedition crew that was put together was professional, and by the time we got to the bottom of the mountain they felt like family. Our guide and assistant guide (Paulo and Kevoo) were ever encouraging and provided knowledge and insight on the mountain that only someone growing up in the Machame village could provide. Our trip, even though it was far less than 1/2 the cost of other trips, was not lacking for amenities. The food was delicious, the transportation was prompt, and everyone was kind and professional. The hotel was great, and the Great Lake Expedition team in Moshi made sure that we were taken care of, even after our expedition was over.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: 892et7
Russia Russia
Countries visited:
Visited: Jun. 2021
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"A perfect 7 days Kilimanjaro climbing"
By: tdythom
Tanzania Tanzania
1 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: May. 2021 Reviewed: May. 25, 2021 Submitted in:

We have already booked the Kilimanjaro climb via the Rongai route with Great Lake Expedition in February 2020. Then Corona came. We thought back and forth for a long time whether to do this trip or not. Great Lake Expedition has always been extremely understanding and tolerant. In the end, we decided to fly to Tanzania.

Together with another younger couple from Canada, we (50 + 51 years old) took off with Mcregan and his team. It was absolutely fantastic. The camps were empty and there were only four of us. Finally we were happily standing at Uhuru Peak on 01.05.21!

The guides were amazing: the perfect mix of friendliness, sovereignty and professionalism. We felt comfortable, safe and in good hands from the very first moment. Our health was checked every day, including the oxygen level in our blood.
We hiked, talked, laughed and sang together.
Our cook and porters also did an outstanding job. A super friendly, helpful team - you can't praise them enough. They often left us speechless with their service - it was simply incredible. Kudus to them!

I actually wanted to write this review immediately after our return, but as is often the case, time passes so quickly. But since not a week goes by without us thinking back happily to this Kilimanjaro climb, I would just like to take this opportunity to say THANK YOU once again to the entire Great Lake Expedition team for an unforgettable week on Mt. Kilimanjaro!
We can highly recommend Great Lake Expedition without hesitation

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: tdythom
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: May. 2021
Reviewed: May. 25, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Great experience, trust worthy, highly recommend!!"
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: May. 2021 Reviewed: May. 24, 2021 Submitted in:

We had an amazing trek with our guides, Juma and Peter, and the team: the cook, our ‘personal assistant’ and the porters. They were all amazing and helped us climbing Kilimanjaro successfully! They always were positive, helpful, caring and made us laugh. Thanks to them, the good camping gear and the great food (Dastan is an amazing chef!) we reached the peak. 5 stars all the way!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: May. 2021
Reviewed: May. 22, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Am so glad that I chose Great Lake Expedition!!!!"
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Apr. 2021 Reviewed: May. 06, 2021 Submitted in:

Incredible service from our trip manager, guides and porters. We felt very safe in the hands of the Great Lake Expedition team. Would highly recommend using them.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Apr. 2021
Reviewed: May. 06, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Amazing Kilimanjaro"
By: Claudia
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Mar. 2021 Reviewed: Apr. 08, 2021 Submitted in:

This tour group provided by Great Lake Expedition was very well organized and offered periodic medical checks that many other tour groups do not. Highly recommend!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Claudia
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Mar. 2021
Reviewed: Apr. 08, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Memorable experience"
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Jan. 2021 Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2021 Submitted in:

Incredible experience! Definitely one of the trips in my life! 5 star service and highly recommend Great Lake Expedition
one of the best adventure I have done. Superb company and crew.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Jan. 2021
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Kilimanjaro climb Lemosho Route 8 day"
By: nat1888
Tanzania Tanzania
1 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Jan. 2021 Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2021 Submitted in:

Climbing the Uhuru peak was a life changing experience for me. Even though this year was a difficult one, the Great Lake Expedition made sure we had the best conditions to enjoy our trip. The guides Innocent, Saidy, Tuma made our team feel strong and ready to face the challenge of the summit. The porters were very friendly and helpful and the cook had remarkable skills making us feel spoiled throughout our journey to the rooftop of Africa. Excellent is not enough for this company. I strongly recommend them as the to-go agency for summits.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: nat1888
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Jan. 2021
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2021

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Show more