Go Volunteer Africa

12 reviews
Reviews: 12
Tour packages: 16 tours
Private, custom tours
Group, set date tours
Photos: 73
Main focus: Budget safaris
Established: 2009
Headquarters: Uganda
Languages: English, French, Swahili


Contact info

About Go Volunteer Africa

Go Volunteer Africa Holidays & Safaris is an award-winning volunteer travel operator. We provide sustainable and ethical volunteer projects and exciting adventure holidays in Africa. Go Volunteer Africa Holidays & Safaris is number one provider of affordable and meaningful volunteer vacations combined with wildlife safaris and exotic adventures in Africa. Go Volunteer Africa Holidays & Safaris combines community development, service learning, and fun filled adventures! We work on many different projects which support the advancement of education, healthcare and the relief of poverty by focusing on education, Agriculture, health, environment and social development. Go Volunteer Africa Holidays & Safaris leads the way in combining meaningful volunteer encounters and fun filled adventures in Africa - Work Hard and Have Fun.
"We had a nice trip with Go Volunteer Africa"
By: joz
Safari guru
Ireland Ireland
10 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Sep. 2019 Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2020

We have participated in Go Volunteer Africa’s family volunteer and explore program in Mombasa, Kenya for 15 days and we really enjoyed our time with them.

Tim, our coordinator, answered every question and request for changes very fast and patiently. So he planned the perfect program for us and volunteer guesthouse in Mombasa was really the perfect wish for our family.

Salim, our Project Manager and Guide, was very professional and really knows how to care for the family with little children. Salim is very knowledgeable and friendly. We shared many life experiences and the evening beach time was so awesome.

We got involved in a coast school and we spend most of the days painting and playing sports with the school children and our kids had a great time there too. In short, we had a great trip. We would therefore heartily recommend Go Volunteer Africa.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya
10People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: joz
Safari guru
Ireland Ireland
Countries visited: Kenya
Visited: Sep. 2019
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2019

10People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Write a review

Sort by:

"I had a really positive experience with Go Volunteer Africa."
Safari enthusiast
United Kingdom United Kingdom
7 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Oct. 2019 Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2020

I had a really positive experience with Go Volunteer Africa. The level of support and friendship I received from GVA staff members and fellow volunteers made this an incredibly rewarding and positive experience.

I researched a lot of organizations before I went to Kenya, some of which were cheaper and some better organized than Go Volunteer Africa, but I really wanted an organization that was part of the community.

It was such an amazing experience and I got so much more out of it than I thought, the cultural immersion, chatting with the kids, sharing meals with local families all made me feel so much more than a tourist or even a volunteer, I really felt part of the project.

I was in Kenya for 4 weeks and then traveled to Tanzania for another 2 weeks. I would recommend Go Volunteer Africa to anyone but if they do not have what you are looking for just get out there and do it you will not regret it!

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya Tanzania
7People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Countries visited: Kenya Tanzania
Visited: Oct. 2019
Reviewed: Feb. 04, 2020

7People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Award winning organisation?"
Safari enthusiast
Namibia Namibia
2 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Did not go on this tour Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2020

I booked a wildlife conservation project in Maun, Botswana in January 2020. After I paid $1620 and travelled to Maun, the project was cancelled 4 days before it would start by Jim Kruche, the Sales Officer. Which of course is unbelievable on such a short notice. He apologised and promised to refund the $1620.

It is very hard to get in touch with someone of Go Volunteer Africa, since they only have a general mail address. But finally, after 5 weeks, I got an email of Noah Kande on the 23rd of February. First I was relieved, but since then I did not have any response on my emails since 3 weeks now, so I think this is just fake.

Your African Safari published an interview with this reward winning organisation, but how did they win this reward. They are a scam! So I had no life-changing experience, I travelled to Maun, Botswana for nothing and I lost $1620.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

2People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Namibia Namibia
Countries visited:
Did not go on this tour
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2020

2People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Excellent and prompt support system in place"
By: sammyM
Safari enthusiast
Canada Canada
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Aug. 2019 Reviewed: Oct. 09, 2020

My name is Samantha, I have traveled to Maun in Botswana from Ontario, Canada. I took part in the wildlife conservation work for 4 weeks with Go Volunteer Africa between August and September 2019.

Being a part of this program was an incredible experience! In Maun I lived in a wild camp and I participated in various activities. I met the most amazing people throughout my 4 weeks and would do the whole thing over and over again.

Go Volunteer Africa were so speedy with responding to any concerns of mine and they sent me emails while I was in Botswana. The program was relatively cheap compared to other providers running the same program.

Excellent and prompt support system in place. Both before and during volunteer stint. Queries usually answered within a day (even Sundays). The conservation team were very friendly and flexible with program.

I highly recommend this program. Every day was an adventure to explore, my mind is full of lovely memories and I will keep them forever.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Botswana
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: sammyM
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Canada Canada
Countries visited: Botswana
Visited: Aug. 2019
Reviewed: Oct. 09, 2020

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"I recommend the program"
By: Lcaz
Safari enthusiast
Spain Spain
3 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Sep. 2019 Reviewed: Oct. 07, 2020

I spent 2 weeks volunteering in Tanzania working on the childcare project. It was an incredible experience which has given me an insight into their different culture and way of life. The pre departure information was informative and helpful.

The host family was very accommodating and couldn’t have been more welcoming. The accommodation was okay you get used to the cold showers. The childcare project was very enjoyable although not what I expected.

There were a lot of volunteers which meant making friends and traveling together. I went on the weekend safari trip and Go Volunteer Africa also organized a trip to Zanzibar. This was definitely amazing and we can’t thank them enough.

I am looking forward to go back to Tanzania. I definitely recommend the program.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
3People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Lcaz
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Spain Spain
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Sep. 2019
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2019

3People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Excellent team!!"
Safari enthusiast
Norway Norway
1 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Oct. 2019 Reviewed: Oct. 07, 2020

We used Go Volunteer Africa to plan our honeymoon in October 2019 for two weeks in Tanzania and Zanzibar and I must say they are the best.

We wanted to have a meaningful honeymoon with some engagement at a vulnerable children's centre in Arusha, a safari to Serengenti and honeymoon experience in Zanzibar.

We were well received at the airports by our guides and we got the best deals since they got us the best hotels in both countries and the safari was memorable.

The activities were well planned out and they kept communication throughout our entire trip to ensure everything was running smoothly.

They made everything perfect and we would like to thank especially Paul for taking care of us and inquiries.

We are definitely going to be using Go Volunteer Africa again because with them you get personalised services. Thank you GVA team for making our honeymoon in Africa memorable!! We recommend you for honeymooners interested in giving back to communities.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Norway Norway
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Oct. 2019
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2020

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"It was an amazing and life changing experience to do volunteering work in Zambia! "
By: sunny
Safari enthusiast
Canada Canada
5 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jan. 2020 Reviewed: Oct. 04, 2020

I spent six weeks in Zambia with Go Volunteer Africa. It was an amazing and life changing experience to do volunteering work in Zambia! The host family was of great help, both during the project weeks as well as other activities in the weekends.

The overall experience was just incredible and those weeks have significantly changed my life forever. The country manager was an amazing man and he is doing an incredible job and there is nothing I can say but thank him.

He did not just continuously ask if we were fine and made everything to make us feel comfortable but also organized trips for us and even joined us on several trips so that he can ensure that we were safe.

I worked with a local school and the work was also fulfilling and it differed a lot from helping in the classroom to sports and lots of outdoor activities. It is completely up to the volunteer what he/she wants to do to support the projects.

There were two other volunteers living with me for the whole time of my stay. I can just recommend going on such an experience as it will change your life forever.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Zambia
5People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: sunny
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Canada Canada
Countries visited: Zambia
Visited: Jan. 2020
Reviewed: Apr. 09, 2020

5People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"I recommend Go Volunteer Africa"
By: tommiem
Safari enthusiast
Norway Norway
4 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jan. 2020 Reviewed: Sep. 04, 2020

I would recommend you coming to volunteer in Uganda with Go Volunteer Africa - I have been here for 6 weeks and had an absolutely fantastic time. There was a real sense of pleasure in arriving at the school and having children running towards me with a smile and a shout of 'Tommie' or 'Hello teacher'.

The volunteer work I have been doing in Mukono, very close to the Lake Victoria, over the last few weeks has definitely been as personally rewarding as anything I have ever done. In summary, I have had some awesome and varied volunteering experiences, met some wonderful people, and had a really great time in the village; there is a lot to do (and good nightlife!).

My experience here could not be better. The family is amazing, and my home stay mother is incredible. The volunteer project is a perfect fit, we were very busy there and I believe we truly made a difference. We went to Murchison Falls national park for a safari and it was an incredible experience.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Uganda
4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: tommiem
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Norway Norway
Countries visited: Uganda
Visited: Jan. 2020
Reviewed: Mar. 08, 2020

4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"I got the experience I wanted in Uganda"
By: jeish
Safari enthusiast
Czech Republic Czech Republic
3 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Sep. 2019 Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2020

I wanted to have an international experience and combine it with an internship in Public Health. I ended up going with GVA to Uganda, Ashley at GVA arranged for me to intern with a hospital in Mukono, a lively town east of Kampala.

I had an amazing experience; they found the perfect hospital for me to work at. GVA team treated me well from the first time I ever sent them an email regarding placement positions in Africa.

I had mentioned to them that I would love to work with a pediatrician and that I also liked more surgical procedures, so they placed me in a hospital where I could shadow a pediatrician in the afternoons as well as work in the ER in the mornings.

I lived with other volunteers and interns at a group house, and that was amazing. We hung out at night and on weekends. Some of them traveled together, but I went on my own with local GVA guide to see gorillas on a safari at Bwindi national park.

I was able to connect with the staff in the hospital and at the group house. The GVA coordinators in Uganda were also extremely helpful to me. Lawrence (my safari guide) would always call to check on me and would even call to simply invite me to get some coffee in the best parts of town so I could get to know the city a little better.

I truly felt they had a passion in getting people to volunteer and explore their country. I highly recommend Go Volunteer Africa to anyone with a dream to volunteer in Africa.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Uganda
3People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: jeish
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Czech Republic Czech Republic
Countries visited: Uganda
Visited: Sep. 2019
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2020

3People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Our experience in East Africa was excellent and rewarding"
By: kylie
Safari enthusiast
Australia Australia
3 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Dec. 2019 Reviewed: Jul. 08, 2020

All we could say about Go Volunteer Africa is wow and thank you for making our Christmas holiday memorable and awesome! As a family, we were so confused in the beginning, we had lots of interests and we wanted to volunteer in Rwanda, see gorillas in Uganda, go to the coast in Kenya and spend some time in Zanzibar too.

We wanted to use various companies and we didn’t want to put all our eggs in one basket. Although GVA offers products and services in all the countries, we had not used it before and, since it's African based, we had some doubts.

We were skeptical due to the fact some offers were extremely too low-cost compared to other providers, for instance Mombasa and Zanzibar. However we gave them a benefit of doubt and decided to book the first 2 destinations with them and that is Rwanda and Uganda Safari.

Once we booked their program to Kigali. We received all information within three days and they gave us access to talk to local coordinator in Kigali who was awesome and helpful.

Our experience in Rwanda was excellent and rewarding, the challenge was the language barrier with locals who some still use French (the country has just transited to English), but my brother Allen who speaks French was always at hand to help out and our Coordinator. After the one week, we proceeded to Uganda, the road trip was one of the best, multiple stops as we requested, our guide James was also very professional and knowledgeable and this was life assuring.

Our week in Uganda was also good and full of experiences; although Rwanda seemed more organized than Uganda but it was no doubt that we wanted to travel with them to Mombsa (Kenya) at the coast and Zanzibar (Tanzania) for our sisters’ birthday.

They arranged the bus tickets for Kenya from Uganda, train trip from Nairobi city to Mombasa, arranged all our hotels, sightsee activities and we were glad to be offered a night at their guest house for free when we missed our train back to Nairobi to catch the Arusha bus. These guys are awesome- Jim and your team at Go Volunteer may God bless you.

Although we had not planned to spend a full day in Arusha, “OPP” the “GVA Man of Arusha” as he prefers to call himself, who received us in Arusha advised us to spend a day in the city and also visit Moshi town, where we got the bus to Darasalm and then Zanzibar. At every stop, these guys had someone to meet us, greet us, arrange stuff and wish us a safe trip, they are well connected throughout.

Zanzibar and Rwanda were a little more expensive than earlier anticipated, but everything went well. As a family, we highly recommend them and our parents are looking forward for their trip to Mauritius. On a personal note, I will be joining their program to Senegal next summer!

The experience we had volunteering and traveling around East Africa with Go Volunteer Africa far exceeded our expectations. Kudos!

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya Rwanda Tanzania Uganda
3People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: kylie
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Australia Australia
Countries visited: Kenya Rwanda Tanzania Uganda
Visited: Dec. 2019
Reviewed: Jan. 08, 2020

3People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Musanze is an amazing place "
By: rebpen
Safari enthusiast
Uganda Uganda
3 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jul. 2019 Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2020

Musanze is an amazing place and my experience at the women’s center and with Go Volunteer Africa was incredible. It was very well organized right from the moment I signed up, Jim supported me throughout the entire experience, all of my questions were answered thoroughly and promptly and I had the experience of a lifetime.

Although I had wanted to stay in Kigali, but Jim’s offer for Musanze turned out to be the best. I stayed with a local host family for culture experience. The host mother was outstanding and really caring. The project Manager Damien helped me and the other volunteers in every aspect of our trip. He knew a lot about the area, making it easy to get around, visit the best places and shops.

During my time in Rwanda, I met a few other volunteers while I was there and we would catch up for a meal or go for swimming. GVA Rwanda is a very affordable, safe and flexible volunteering option. I would definitely recommend GVA if you are interested in a great volunteer experience in Rwanda.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Rwanda
3People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: rebpen
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
Uganda Uganda
Countries visited: Rwanda
Visited: Jul. 2019
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2019

3People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Show more
YAScore: 65/100
Based on 12 reviews

Overall rating
Cleanliness of vehicle
Meet and greet team
Quality of itinerary
Responsiveness of staff

Latest photos (73)