Gilmag Safaris

26 reviews
Quick to reply to quote requests!
Reviews: 26
Tour packages: 5 tours
Private, custom tours
Photos: 12
Main focus: Luxury
Established: 2016
Headquarters: Tanzania
Languages:
English


Contact info
About Gilmag Safaris
We are a Tanzanian company!!!We were born here, live here and work here; we know Africa. When you purchase a Gilmag Safaris package you are dealing directly with the company providing the services, not with an agent shopping for services in Africa on your behalf. Our guides are all local, knowledgeable and indigenous to this part of Africa – we do not employ foreign guides as we believe the best people to show you our homeland has to be a Tanzanian born and bred! When you think of superlatives, you must think of Tanzania. From the highest peaks of Africa with Mount Kilimanjaro, to the deepest depths of the continent with Lake Tanganyika. From the vast plains of the Serengeti, to the massive Selous Game Reserve. From the migration of more than two million wildebeest to the nocturnal movements of the predators that stalk them. You can find it all through Gilmag Safaris.
"Fantastic solo safari"
Tanzania Tanzania
4 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jul. 2021 Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2021 Submitted in:

I am happy to share my great experience I had from Gilmag Safaris as a Solo traveler. I took a 4 days safari and covered Tarangire, Manyara and Ngorongoro Crater, since I did not have more time to do a long trip.

I could hardly believe the level of comfort and excellent service in my accommodations at Mount Meru Hotel, Maramboi in Tarangire and Marera Valley Lodge in Manyara. They were really sort of luxury serving excellent dishes and sumptuous breakfast. My driver, Nickson made sure I saw everything possible, including rare sightings of a Rhino at close range in Ngorongoro. The car was in great condition, and we never had a problem or breakdown. It included even some extras, such as electric plugs to charge my phone or camera, a fridge for some cold drinks and hot water for coffee/tea. There was so much to see ranging from wild animals, beautiful scenery and nice hotels to relax in.

I had a perfect time, thanks to the great planning and execution by the Gilmag Safaris team. I unreservedly recommend this company fully.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Jul. 2021
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2021

4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Write a review

Sort by:

"Amazing 7 day Tanzania safari"
By: TaylorT
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Nov. 2021 Reviewed: Dec. 02, 2021 Submitted in:

Everything about this trip was planned in every single detail, in a very professional manner, starting with the moment I wrote to Mary from my country to ask her to organize this trip. She provided me all the details I needed, in a very short time after I asked her anything. Having travelled to many countries undertaking multiple activities, this has to be one of the best experiences we have ever had. Mary was instrumental in planning our 7 day Tanzania wildlife trip and arranged everything from airport pickup to drop off.

We did the safari in November and it was the best thing that happened during our stay in Tanzania. When we arrived at Kilimanjaro airport we were met and transferred to Mount Meru Hotel in Arusha and had a fantastic stay there. The other accommodations we stayed in were also very good and provided an abundance of tasty and varied foods. The following morning we started our safari. Our guide, Roman, was the best. He was extremely knowledgeable, engaging, chatty and funny. He took his time to answer all our questions and made sure we saw everything we were interested in seeing.

These guys are really some of the best professionals you can deal with if you want to take this trip, and if I was to do it again, I would pick up the same agency. I highly recommend them and express my gratitude for everything they have done. Hope to see you again! Guys, keep up the great job you are doing, you are destined for greatness!!!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: TaylorT
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Nov. 2021
Reviewed: Dec. 02, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Excellent luxury safari"
By: GilianH
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Nov. 2021 Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2021 Submitted in:

Our experience with Gilmag Safaris was simply outstanding. I can't speak highly enough of Gilmag. Mary was our contact and she did an amazing job in ensuring that all our inquiries were answered promptly and in a timely manner. She listened to our needs patiently and arranged a fantastic safari.

We have had several trips, but this safari by far was the most excellent luxury one and worth every penny spent. The luxury accommodations, with Little Chem Chem being the highlight were something else. We were privileged to have Gilbert as our guide. He paid a lot of attention to our needs and took perfect care of us. We saw all the Big 5 and much more.

I highly recommend Gilmag Safaris.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: GilianH
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Nov. 2021
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Amazing Tanzania experience"
By: MossD
Tanzania Tanzania
2 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Nov. 2021 Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2021 Submitted in:

We contacted different tour companies to see who could create a custom itinerary for me. Mary stepped up to the task and put together a wonderful itinerary covering some of the major attractions/experiences we wanted to see and do. During planning, Mary was very responsive over e-mail and WhatsApp to all my questions. We took 8 days safari to Kilimanjaro, Tarangire, Ngorongoro and Serengeti with many stops in between.

We had a great time. The driving was safe and solid, we stayed on schedule. The accommodations were comfortable and high value; and included breakfast, lunch and dinner. During game drives, we had bottled mineral water, hot tea and coffee. The guides (Abu, Freddy and Nickson) were incredibly helpful in every respect, and willing to accommodate anything.

It was my first time in Tanzania, and it was the best choice with Gilmag Safaris. Everything went perfect, we had so much fun and could experience so many things...the country is rich in wildlife, history, culture and with the guys (Abu, Freddy and Nickson) it was great. 14 other people were with me and all of them could tell the same, they loved it.

Excellent trip! Excellent people! Excellent experience! It was amazing and the organization was perfect! Unforgettable trip! Sincerely I recommend this Company. We will go back and choose them again! Gilmag Safaris is the king of tours!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
2People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: MossD
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Nov. 2021
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2021

2People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Excellent 7 days safari"
By: JoanC
Tanzania Tanzania
3 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Nov. 2021 Reviewed: Nov. 09, 2021 Submitted in:

We have just been on the trip of a lifetime with Gilmag Safaris exploring Tarangire, Manyara, Ngorongoro and Serengeti. The food was delicious everywhere. The views from each accommodation were breathtaking, especially Kubu Kubu. Tents, fireplace and proximity of lions and monkeys were an unforgettable experience. Our guide, Gilbert, was amazing.
All in all we had a fantastic adventure and memories to treasure forever. I highly recommend Gilmag Safaris.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
3People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: JoanC
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Nov. 2021
Reviewed: Nov. 09, 2021

3People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"True African experience"
By: AndieM
Tanzania Tanzania
4 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Nov. 2021 Reviewed: Nov. 08, 2021 Submitted in:

Our trip around the Kenya and Tanzania has been the most amazing and unique experience of our lifetime. We chose Gilmag Safaris on the basis of TripAdvisor and Google reviews. It was an extraordinary trip in magical places. We felt safe and cared for at every step.

The price was fair compared with prices we received from other companies. This local based tour company is well knowledgeable of Africa and provides a professional service to the clients in terms of places of interest. The Masai Mara and Serengeti were a dream and these were the best days of my life. Both our tour guides (Christopher and Nickson) from Kenya and Tanzania were extremely knowledgeable. They were the best and made our dream safari come true.

I will be recommending Gilmag Safaris to anyone who listens. You will not regret it and when you get here it’ll be the best decision you ever made, trust me! This company is a gem. Thank you Mary and the team at Gilmag.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Kenya Tanzania
4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: AndieM
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Nov. 2021
Reviewed: Nov. 06, 2021

4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Gilmag Safaris stands out from the crowd"
By: AlexM
Tanzania Tanzania
4 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Oct. 2021 Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2021 Submitted in:

The first thing I must mention is the level of professionalism at Gilmag Safaris. The tour was completely tailored to our desires. Lots of little extras!!! We recently had 9 days in Tanzania and wanted to make the most of it. We were referred to Gilmag Safaris who put together a customized itinerary which included picking us up at the airport, transferring us to our hotel in Arusha and the safari itself. Gilbert who picked us from the airport was super welcoming and knowledgeable during the entire trip.
In a sea of tour providers and options, Gilmag Safaris stands out from the crowd. We had an amazing African trip and returned back with great memories. We had a blast. I would high recommend Gilmag Safaris. I will definitely go to Tanzania again, and will definitely hire Tour Company again.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: AlexM
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Oct. 2021
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2021

4People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Magnificent 10 days Tanzania safari"
Tanzania Tanzania
5 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Sep. 2021 Reviewed: Oct. 01, 2021 Submitted in:

Where do I begin writing a review on the most memorable trip of my life! I worked with Mary to develop a private tour with a custom itinerary for the 9 nights, 10 days that I was there. She made recommendations and accommodated my suggestions. I was provided options for accommodations along the way and they were all top notch. I especially like that my bucks went to a local company and stayed in Tanzania. Gilmag Safaris customized a tour just for us. We relied on their expertise for what to see and how to see it and were not disappointed. Everyone we met was friendly, helpful and polite.

Gilbert is the best guide! He knows the country inside and out, from the best restaurants to the hidden gems off the beaten path. Gilbert was great, his patience amazing, was always prepared, intuitive and thoughtful of our needs. He always knew the best spot for a picture, coffee or toilet! If you are looking for an unforgettable African journey, Gilmag Safaris delivers.

We cannot wait to return. We are definitely booking Gilmag Safaris and Gilbert.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
5People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Sep. 2021
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2021

5People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Great people with great knowledge."
By: BirkH
Tanzania Tanzania
5 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Sep. 2021 Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2021 Submitted in:

As someone who has traveled with many companies, I can say Gilmag Safaris has been my favorite one by a long shot! The level of organization by Mary from pick up to drop off has been excellent!
Gilmag Safaris is a very personal safari company with local tour consultants that know everything about Tanzania’s points of interest, culture, wildlife and sandy beaches. Mary, the owner and operator selected all excellent lodging and organized a very intimate tour of some amazing game drives and arranged a tour to a local orphanage and village for a few days. Best part? We were able to communicate what we wanted on our own itinerary and Gilmag was able to deliver.
It was a very pleasant experience with Gilbert, our tour guide. He made extra effort to ensure we saw everything exciting on this adventure. We even watched as five lionesses stalked an impala. They didn’t get the kill, but came close. This was possible because of our wonderful guide Gilbert. He brought the skills of a big game hunter to the safari. All of us appreciated his sixth sense tracking animals. The vehicle was spotless clean and looked brand-new.
Overall: We were impressed with the service and had fun.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
5People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: BirkH
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Sep. 2021
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2021

5People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Mara River crossing"
By: NimitK
Tanzania Tanzania
6 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Sep. 2021 Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2021 Submitted in:

We just came back from this epic tour. Great communication during the booking process with Gilmag Safaris. From the very beginning when we were planning our trip, the response from the company was quick and smooth, they were able to customize our trip to fit our preferences.

We had such a great time on this tour. Our driver, Nickson, was brilliant. All the scenery (view of the Ngorongoro crater from the crater rim was breathtaking) was amazing and Nickson knew great places to stop and eat. He also took us to some local markets and helped us get great prices. And he was just really nice and good fun. Witnessing millions of wildebeest cross the Mara River from Serengeti to Masai Mara, was an unforgettable experience. At the time of booking, Mary had assured us that with good luck we would see the crossing, and we did see it. Thank you Gilmag Safaris for such an incredible adventure.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
6People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: NimitK
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Sep. 2021
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2021

6People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Most recommended tour company in Tanzania"
By: MaylaY
Tanzania Tanzania
6 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Aug. 2021 Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2021 Submitted in:

Gilmag Safaris provided a very reasonable price and definitely 5 star services. They were responsive and flexible to accommodate all of our requests. This is a trustful tour operator, went the extra mile and stood behind their words. Honestly, we would be very happy with a “hassle free” experience. What they provided was way beyond that. Gilmag Safaris went above and beyond to make sure my friends and I had an unforgettable experience in such a magical country. I would like to point out specifically one of our tour guides, Gilbert. This man is a legend amongst mortals and made our trip unforgettable. His wealth of knowledge, which is driven by his burning passion to learn, preserve, and pass on is delivered in a very charismatic approach. You can tell he puts his own twist on this tour and it was going to be a very interesting experience from the moment he picked us up from the airport. Hands down Gilbert is the best tour guide I have ever had the pleasure of meeting! I was so impressed with how knowledgeable he is and you can tell he is passionate from the moment you meet him! Gilbert took care of us in a private guided tour in a group of 6. He definitely gave us a college level educational explanation. His positive and upbeat energy is contagious.

Kudos to the team at Gilmag Safaris for helping plan and execute a very memorable 15 day trip to Tanzania! The team was so personable, friendly, organized and professional that I would work with them again and recommend them to anyone who is considering travel to this amazing country.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
6People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: MaylaY
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Aug. 2021
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2021

6People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Show more