Gilmag Safaris

13 reviews
Quick to reply to quote requests!
Reviews: 13
Tour packages: 5 tours
Private, custom tours
Photos: 10
Main focus: Luxury safaris
Established: 2016
Headquarters: Tanzania
Languages:
English


Contact info

About Gilmag Safaris

We are a Tanzanian company!!!We were born here, live here and work here; we know Africa. When you purchase a Gilmag Safaris package you are dealing directly with the company providing the services, not with an agent shopping for services in Africa on your behalf. Our guides are all local, knowledgeable and indigenous to this part of Africa – we do not employ foreign guides as we believe the best people to show you our homeland has to be a Tanzanian born and bred! When you think of superlatives, you must think of Tanzania. From the highest peaks of Africa with Mount Kilimanjaro, to the deepest depths of the continent with Lake Tanganyika. From the vast plains of the Serengeti, to the massive Selous Game Reserve. From the migration of more than two million wildebeest to the nocturnal movements of the predators that stalk them. You can find it all through Gilmag Safaris.
"An adventurous Tanzanian trip with Gilmag Safaris"
By: Addie
Safari enthusiast
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Oct. 2020 Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2020

Gilmag Safaris is a very serious and wonderful safari outfitter. We booked 8 days safari in April 2020 but postponed it to October 2020 due to Covid-19. The main reason we chose Gilmag was the positive reviews they had. Gilmag was very helpful in rescheduling our trip at no extra cost. It was wonderful dealing with Mary from start to finish. She was always prompt in answering our emails.

We felt safe considering the fact that Gilmag Safaris and all accommodations booked observed the necessary safety protocols. Our guide, Nickson, was awesome. He had the passion for his job and extensive knowledge of the parks. Overall, we were very happy with the services provided by this company and the price as well.

If you want an experience that is exciting and unforgettable, then we would highly recommend Gilmag Safaris.

Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Addie
Safari enthusiast
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Oct. 2020
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2020

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Write a review

Sort by:

"Good choice for a fantastic safari"
By: AlfonsT
Tanzania Tanzania
1 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jul. 2021 Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2021 Submitted in:

My son and I decided we wanted to go on a safari and reached out to Gilmag Safaris to help us plan our trip. My son did an intensive research before we finally booked our trip. Based on all of the reviews there was no way that we could have booked with anyone else. Mary Maguke was our advisor and she did an excellent job of listening to what we wanted. My first taste of safari - this was supposed to be a trip of a lifetime and I was so excited to be going. But this far exceeded all my expectations. We were treated like royalties from the time; we stepped in to the airport to the time we departed from the airport. From the moment we exited the international airport to the moment we were dropped off there again at the end of our safari everything ran so well that we soon just knew things would happens as we wanted.
The camps and lodges booked were all inviting; the guest tents were fitted with all the comforts of home. The food was plentiful & delicious and the service was perfect. Our guide, Gilbert was knowledgeable and excellent in every aspect. We learned so much and there were optional extras available such as our visit to a Maasai village in Ngorongoro.

When planning your trip, make sure you do the hot air balloon ride in the Serengeti; also, consider visiting Oldupai/Olduvai gorge where the Leakey’s discovered many major human fossils dating back to centuries ago. I would highly recommend Gilmag Safaris if you want to see the widest variety of animals and the beauty of Tanzania.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: AlfonsT
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Jul. 2021
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2021

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Fantastic solo safari"
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jul. 2021 Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2021 Submitted in:

I am happy to share my great experience I had from Gilmag Safaris as a Solo traveler. I took a 4 days safari and covered Tarangire, Manyara and Ngorongoro Crater, since I did not have more time to do a long trip.

I could hardly believe the level of comfort and excellent service in my accommodations at Mount Meru Hotel, Maramboi in Tarangire and Marera Valley Lodge in Manyara. They were really sort of luxury serving excellent dishes and sumptuous breakfast. My driver, Nickson made sure I saw everything possible, including rare sightings of a Rhino at close range in Ngorongoro. The car was in great condition, and we never had a problem or breakdown. It included even some extras, such as electric plugs to charge my phone or camera, a fridge for some cold drinks and hot water for coffee/tea. There was so much to see ranging from wild animals, beautiful scenery and nice hotels to relax in.

I had a perfect time, thanks to the great planning and execution by the Gilmag Safaris team. I unreservedly recommend this company fully.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Jul. 2021
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Unforgettable wild tour"
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Apr. 2021 Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2021 Submitted in:

This was our first trip to Africa for our group of 42 people. Our agent from Armenia organized everything. Our safari started in Zanzibar, and then we took a flight to Kilimanjaro. We had an amazing experience that we will never forget. We visited Tarangire, Lake Manyara, Serengeti, the Ngorongoro Crater and Lake Eyasi. The accommodations chosen by Gilmag Safaris were all superb, and a nice variety of styles from lodges to tented camps. Ngorongoro Coffee Lodge was our favourite. We spent two nights here and wished we had more. We were in a convoy of 7 vehicles, each vehicle having an English speaking guide and a Russian translator. Our guides Freddy and Ally were awesome. Thumbs up to Gilmag Safaris for the fabulous trip. We have recommended this company to our friends and most definitely they will be visiting soon. We will also come back.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Apr. 2021
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Great safari, great guide"
By: AnitaM
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jul. 2021 Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2021 Submitted in:

We chose Gilmag Safaris on the recommendation of a colleague who had travelled with them in 2018. There are so many companies out there to choose from and it’s hard to know where to start. This was our first safari and first time in Africa and Gilmag Safaris made it near effortless on our part. The staff was extremely friendly and went out of their way to ensure all was as it should be. Upon our arrival to Kilimanjaro airport, a representative (Vivian) from Gilmag Safaris was holding a sign with our names on it and waiting for us to provide transportation to our accommodations in Arusha. She conducted a very thorough briefing, including tipping guideline and what to expect in our safari.

All the arrangements were done according to the plan. All the hotels were very good, especially the tented camps and lodges. We were treated to delicious 3 course meals and had great packed lunches. We can't speak highly enough of how amazing everyone was. Our guide, Gilbert was simply outstanding: helpful, knowledgeable, friendly and very hardworking. Most of all, he listened and knew what we did (and did not) want to see each day. Our tour with the Hadzabe and Datoga tribes was very interesting and informative. The Hadzabe is a nomadic tribe that speaks 'click' language, a very interesting language!!!

In summary, our experience was beyond exceptional, thanks to this outstanding tour company. We would highly recommend using them.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: AnitaM
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Jul. 2021
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Luxury VIP safari"
Tanzania Tanzania
1 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jul. 2021 Reviewed: Jul. 08, 2021 Submitted in:

My fiancé & I booked the all inclusive VIP package. After getting some initial information, and after many comparisons with other recommended safari tour companies, I chose Gilmag Safaris. The staff is very knowledgeable. The best was Vivian, who helped us craft our trip. She was very responsive-usually emailing back within 30 minutes or less.
On arrival at Kilimanjaro airport, we were warmly welcomed and driven to our hotel at the foot of Kilimanjaro Mountain. Our resort was all-inclusive and we had nothing to worry about. The places chosen to stay were terrific - the Camps/Lodges are right in there in the most pristine and central regions of the National Parks, and very-well maintained and full of the most delicious food and terrific hospitality. Great choices made by Gilmag Safaris!!!
My favorite was Ngorongoro National Park with its evergreen trees and stunning breathtaking views. The other places were also really great. We had an enthusiastic and knowledgeable tour guide, Gilbert who taught us so much about the parks, animals and the birds. What a fantastic time we had! If this is your one and only opportunity to visit Tanzania, don’t even hesitate about paying extra for safari because it is absolutely worth it. As a conclusion I would say that I strongly recommend Gilmag Safaris. They are a fabulous company; well-run, and clearly cares about customers and their satisfaction.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Jul. 2021
Reviewed: Jul. 08, 2021

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Pure professionalism and empathy"
By: CoraJ
Tanzania Tanzania
1 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: May. 2021 Reviewed: Jul. 01, 2021 Submitted in:

We booked this trip in 2019 and looked so much forward to it but unfortunately, we postponed because of Covid-19 and finally travelled in 2021. I wanted to share with you how professional Gilmag Safaris handled everything from booking to the postponement of this trip. They were very quick in responding to every question I had. From booking to tours end, we were very impressed with the level of professionalism and attention to detail. As I had never booked a guided tour before, I read all the reviews of the various tour groups, but ultimately chose Gilmag Safaris because of the private tour option for our family group of young children and great reviews. Maguke gave us suggestions that proved invaluable and she was a pleasure to work with. It was an amazing experience and more than what I paid for with Gilmag Safaris. Everything I wanted to see and photograph were covered, especially our trip to Lake Eyasi was an eye opener about the Hadzabe people and Datoga tribe! Our tour guide Gilbert went above and beyond to make sure that everything that we wanted was shown as planned. Those wonderful sunset picnics in Serengeti at a riverbank were exceptional. Gilbert’s knowledge of the area was seemingly endless, answering all kinds of questions and imparting a wealth of information. When experiencing such breathtaking and awe-inspiring sights, your mind wanders to all kinds of topics, of which Gilbert was happy to participate in. This trip was INCREDIBLE! I cannot overstate how happy we were with the trip overall, but especially with our tour guide, Gilbert. Shout out to Gilbert, Maguke and the team!!!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: CoraJ
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: May. 2021
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2021

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Great safari experience!!!"
By: Audrey
Tanzania Tanzania
1 kudus
Reviews (2)
Visited: Jun. 2021 Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2021 Submitted in:

My booking was done professionally and tailored to my preference and budget. A trip like this is a once in a life time experience and you want to make sure it is effected properly and stress free so you have time to enjoy the experience. Mary answered all our questions, explained interesting facts, made suggestions and gave good travel tips. 10 golden stars!!!

The lodges and camps booked were great, the food awesome and the wildlife viewing spectacular. Our tour guide, Gilbert, was just beyond excellent. Besides being a very nice person, he did a great job. His passion showed through and made our safari a fabulous experience. We would definitely book another tour, particularly if Gilbert is our guide. Gilbert was not only very knowledgeable but also really funny and the tour was a definite highlight of our trip!!

Traveling with Gilmag Safaris was the best decision we ever made. I highly recommend them.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Audrey
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Jun. 2021
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Seamless honeymoon experience"
By: RolandM
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Aug. 2020 Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2021 Submitted in:

From the moment we established first contact with Gilmag Safaris we were convinced that we were dealing with safari experts.
All our queries were answered upfront and timely. Of all the companies we reached out to, only Gilmag Safaris was willing to share how safaris costing were reached at. We needed a detailed cost so that we could decide which activities to consider during our trip. Mary was always quick to respond and made sure everything met our expectations. All details of the trip were superbly handled from beginning to end.

When we arrived to the airport, Nickson was already waiting there for us and welcomed us with bright huge smile. Nickson is one of a kind guide - very knowledgeable, eyes as sharp as a hawk, knows the animals and birds intimately. He had lots of stories about Tanzania. He was an excellent companion to spend the time with. We saw giraffes, zebras, lions, buffalo, elephants, wildebeests, rhinos, monkeys, hyena, and so many more. Our most unforgettable experience was seeing lions teasing buffalo and the extremely rare leopards 2 days in a row. We also had a very exciting memorable balloon safari in central Serengeti.

For anyone looking for a trip of a lifetime, do not hesitate to book through Gilmag Safaris. They are the perfect planners. Kudos!!!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: RolandM
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Aug. 2020
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Most refreshing trip after lockdown"
By: ElenaH
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (2)
Visited: Jun. 2021 Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2021 Submitted in:

After a year of being in lockdown we really wanted to get out and just enjoy the world. Covid-19 has taught us a lesson – life is shot, we have to live and enjoy it.

For this trip, we needed a local operator. Gladly we found Gilmag Safaris online. We chose Gilmag Safaris due to multiple positive feedbacks we got from previous travelers. From start to finish, the communication was superb and we felt safe that we were dealing with the right company. Mary put together the perfect itinerary. Our guide Junior was excellent in all aspects. Due to his expansive knowledge of Tanzania parks we saw complete "Big Five" and many other animals. It is difficult to find the right words to express how much we enjoyed our safari with Gilmag, but it was thrilling and refreshing.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: ElenaH
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Jun. 2021
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Our dream safari came true, thanks to Gilmag Safaris"
By: KlausH
Tanzania Tanzania
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jun. 2021 Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2021 Submitted in:

This was our first time on safari. We were referred to Gilmag Safaris by our friends. Communication with Maguke was easy and we always got rapid response to all our questions. The planning and negotiating with places to stay, eat and tour were stellar. It was 5 stars on about every dimension you could imagine.
From our arrival in Tanzania to the last day, our guide, Nickson was excellent. Nickson was the best guide we could've asked for. He knew all of the national parks so well. He went above and beyond to make our experience memorable. We will never forget hunting with the Hadzabe Bushmen. This was an incredible experience.
In overall, we all had such a great time. It was an amazing experience! Thank you for everything you did to make our trip so enjoyable and easy. Those many months of pre-planning were so apparent in our daily schedule!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: KlausH
Tanzania Tanzania
Countries visited:
Visited: Jun. 2021
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Show more