Altezza Travel

42 reviews
Reviews: 42
Tour packages: 5 tours
Private, custom tours
Group, set date tours
Photos: 11
Main focus: Mid-range safaris
Established: 2014
Headquarters: Tanzania
Languages: English, German, Russian


Contact info

About Altezza Travel

Altezza Travel is a team of dedicated wildlife specialists, whose mission is to turn your Tanzanian dreams into reality. We are vastly experienced in organizing top-notch Kilimanjaro climbing expeditions and wildlife safaris. Unparalleled safety standards, individual care for each guest and professional guides are the foundations of our vision. We will make your adventure a lifetime memory!
"Amazing! Kili, safari, and Materuni review"
Spain Spain
0 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Dec. 2020 Reviewed: May. 12, 2021 Submitted in:

My husband and I recently returned from Africa and it took us a bit to write a review but wanted to make sure we did. After A LOT of research, we decided to use Altezza as the company to use for our trek to Mount Kilimanjaro. Making the choice between hundreds of operators, itineraries and offers was very challenging, but, eventually, we haven’t regretted our decision for a moment!

If you are doubting which company to use - don’t look further!! Our only complaint is that we are now too spoiled after traveling with Altezza and don’t even know how to travel to other places around the world without them. We have been to many places and have never received care and detail that Altezza provides. WOW is all we can say! For those that are looking for a little more detail, I am sharing a bit of our life-changing trip.

From the beginning, Julia and Anna were absolutely amazing in answering all of our (thousands) of questions. They really helped us with all of our concerns and were really our first introduction to their amazing customer service.

We arrived in Tanzania and got picked up by Ombeni at the airport who was really awesome and was the first one to tell us a little bit about the city. We arrived at Aishi Machame Hotel, which is absolutely beautiful. The staff there is so amazing - especially Jacqueline at the front desk and a lady at the restaurant whose name we don’t remember. We decided to book a day trip with Altezza to the Materuni waterfall and it was the best of decisions! We got a chance to warm up a bit before the actual hike up Mount Kilimanjaro started. The waterfall was gorgeous! Our driver, David, and our tour guide, Deus, guided us along the beautiful forest, patiently waiting for us to take pictures. One of our favorite things from the trip was being able to see and be a part of the coffee making process from beginning to the end.

We spent a free day at the hotel and that same day got to meet the group coming with us to Kili, and Anna, who was awesome and explained everything that awaited us the next day. We were able to leave any items we did not wish to take to the mountain safely at the hotel. And they made sure we had all necessary equipment. I can’t even find the words to describe our trip with them up Kilimanjaro but we could not have wished for more! First off, our guides, Albert, Rama and Gerald went above and beyond to make sure we all were happy and taken care of. The six of us summited successfully thanks to them! Besides, we had a big crew (31 people in total) taking care of us. From a “bathroom engineer” to the extremely strong porters, our kind, and amazing waiter, Zadiki, and our chef, Bakari or “Boca” (hope I spelled their names correctly!). I never expected to eat well at camp, but I can tell you we all devoured our food every single day - I think I even gained some weight! We were having a health check every morning and evening to make sure we were ok to continue, and at night, the guides were giving us warm bunny pillows to sleep with. When we were moving through the rough terrain as well during the summit night our guides were even asking for our cameras to take pictures of us!! I would not have pictures of half of the trip if it wasn’t for them. During summit night, one of the girls in our group as well as myself were not feeling so well. We were both assisted and taken care of, and we were given oxygen to make sure we reached the top. When we were exhausted, they literally put on my crampons for me when I was sitting on the ground. And on summit night, apart from the three guides, three more people came up with us to make sure we had a 1X1 ratio. Haji carried my bag for me and gave me water when I was forgetting to drink. Throughout the trek, our guides noticed I was having sore knees and asked some of the other guys to help me walk down through the difficult terrain, Rashid and Eric were especially helpful during this time. Our tents were nothing but excellent. I can’t say enough great things about this amazing company! On our return, we received commemorative certificates.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Spain Spain
Countries visited:
Visited: Dec. 2020
Reviewed: May. 11, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Write a review

Sort by:

"An unbelievable experience!"
United States United States
0 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jul. 2020 Reviewed: May. 24, 2021 Submitted in:

Julia from Altezza planned an amazing safari for me and my dad this summer. It was a wonderful vacation! Our guide, Tom, was extremely friendly, intelligent, multi-lingual, and professional. We were able to see the big five and everything was planned/executed perfectly. If you want to experience an amazing African safari, Altezza Travel is the way to go! My experience with this company was extremely impressive.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
United States United States
Countries visited:
Visited: Jul. 2020
Reviewed: May. 21, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Well-Organized, Flexible, Inexpensive"
United States United States
0 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Apr. 2021 Reviewed: May. 21, 2021 Submitted in:

I had three safaris in total with Altezza Travel and visited Ngorongoro, Tarangire and Serengeti. We kept coming back because Altzezza offered the best itinerary and the best price. Alex, the head of Altezza, is extremely easy to contact and is very flexible with trip details. I would suggest choosing Altezza Travel for trips their attention to detail and good pricing.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
United States United States
Countries visited:
Visited: Apr. 2021
Reviewed: May. 21, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Climbing mountains and safari"
United States United States
0 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Dec. 2020 Reviewed: May. 19, 2021 Submitted in:

We had an excellent 3-week trip to Tanzania with Altezza. The guide Albert was excellent at helping and supervising everyone on the climbs (Mt. Meru & Mt Kilimanjaro) and the pace he set was ideal for everyone to make it to the top (pole-pole was very important). The safari part was remarkable (we visited Tarangire, Serengeti, Ngorongoro Crater). Saw lots of action close up. I will always remember this trip and hope others are as fortunate as I was.

Highly recommend Altezza Travel as a guide service.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
United States United States
Countries visited:
Visited: Dec. 2020
Reviewed: May. 19, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Couldn't have asked for more"
By: wortOUT
Spain Spain
0 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Sep. 2020 Reviewed: May. 18, 2021 Submitted in:

We took a 6-day trip with Altezza Travel in September and can't agree more with the comments in all the reviews below.The booking process went extremely smooth and both accommodation and transport was very well organised throughout the trip. Overall great experience and would recommend these guys to anyone planning to visit Tanzania!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: wortOUT
Spain Spain
Countries visited:
Visited: Sep. 2020
Reviewed: May. 16, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"An unforgettable experience!"
United States United States
0 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jun. 2020 Reviewed: May. 17, 2021 Submitted in:

Julia from Altezza Travel planned an amazing safari for me and my dad in summer 2020. It was a wonderful vacation! Our guide, Tom, was extremely friendly, intelligent, multi-lingual, and professional. We’ve seen the big five and everything was planned and executed just perfectly. If you want to experience an amazing African safari, Altezza Travel is the way to go! We had an excellent time with this company!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
United States United States
Countries visited:
Visited: Jun. 2020
Reviewed: May. 14, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Unlike anything I’ve ever experienced in my life"
By: GoJoone
United States United States
0 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Mar. 2021 Reviewed: May. 17, 2021 Submitted in:

Just back from my greatest adventure ever! Everything was organized so nice and smooth I can’t even think of things to work on. Alex, the owner of the company, is a great person and will do everything he can to sort out any problem even if it’s not related to the trip itself... My friend had an issue with his passport and Alex did everything to help him... The trip program was very great including the sites we have visited. Camp life was a bit rough for us, but at the end of the day it was a good experience (especially in comparison to other camps we saw on the mountain). The food was fantastic... the chef knows how to prepare real soul food just like home! The greatest was our safari guide/driver Omary...I highly recommend him, he has lots of knowledge and experience and many many stories to tell... thank you again Omary and thank you to Alex as well.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: GoJoone
United States United States
Countries visited:
Visited: Mar. 2021
Reviewed: May. 14, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Amazing team work!"
United States United States
1 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Feb. 2021 Reviewed: May. 13, 2021 Submitted in:

I knew we found the best company even before booking! Our managers both online and on the ground were extremely patient and helpful. Our every need was seen to, no matter if we’d spontaneously decide to visit the snake park or just drive around town. On safari we couldn’t help but marvel at our guide who, like a hawk, would spot animals that were completely invisible to our eyes in the bush or on the bark of the trees. On Kilimanjaro our guides were the only reason we made it to the top. They sure know their job very well and know how to help if you start feeling unwell. I’ll be recommending Tanzania and Altezza to all my friends and colleagues!!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
United States United States
Countries visited:
Visited: Feb. 2021
Reviewed: May. 12, 2021

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Unforgettable trip to Tanzania"
United States United States
0 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Dec. 2020 Reviewed: May. 12, 2021 Submitted in:

Booked a trek up Mt Kilimanjaro and a four day safari with my wife and friend. My expectations were exceeded in every way. The experience, service and value of this trip was second to none. I wholeheartedly recommend a trip to Tanzania and encourage you to book with Altezza. I am very grateful I did.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
United States United States
Countries visited:
Visited: Dec. 2020
Reviewed: May. 12, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"3 day safari with Altezza Travel just great!"
By: CutGrif
United States United States
1 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Dec. 2020 Reviewed: May. 12, 2021 Submitted in:

We were with our two kids on safari with Altezza Travel for 3 days. We got everything we wanted. The driver was the best I've ever had. (Have already experienced the safari 5 times, but for the first time with Altezza Travel).
We can highly recommend the company, it is worth the money spent. If we travel to Tanzania again, we will certainly book again with Altezza Travel. Altezza Lodge in Moshi is also great. They also left nothing to be desired.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: CutGrif
United States United States
Countries visited:
Visited: Dec. 2020
Reviewed: May. 10, 2021

1 Person gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Our trusted safari guiding service in Tanzania"
By: McCoy
United States United States
0 kudus
Reviews (1)
Visited: Feb. 2021 Reviewed: May. 12, 2021 Submitted in:

I chose this company for organizing our honeymoon trip and never regretted the decision. Altezza Travel has been attentive to the details and always reachable. I was one hundred percent satisfied with the well-planned itinerary, and several little surprises that awaited us here and there. Everything was organized at the highest level, I will definitely return and I know exactly who will help me organize another exciting trip!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: McCoy
United States United States
Countries visited:
Visited: Feb. 2021
Reviewed: May. 10, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Show more