Ssamba Foundation

5 reviews
Reviews: 5
Tour packages: 1 tour
Private, custom tours
Group, set date tours
Photos: 1
Main focus: Budget
Established: 2006
Headquarters: Uganda
Languages:
English

Offers tours in

Contact info
About Ssamba Foundation
Operating in Mukono district, Uganda, Ssamba Foundation manage a wide range of sustainable development and humanitarian projects since 2006. Ssamba Foundation addresses some of the most pervasive problems in rural Uganda, including poor healthcare systems, hunger, poor education system, access to clean drinking water, environment degradation and extreme poverty. Volunteering with Ssamba Foundation in Mukono district of Uganda is 100% free. Although you are responsible for your flight, visas and living costs, there is no program or weekly fees to get involved. We appreciate your time and allow you to use your compassion and skills to help make the world a better place at no cost to you! Our tourism division, Ssamba Safaris provide sightseeing and activities such as Day tours, extreme adventure activities, Game and Wildlife viewing Safaris, Chimpanzee and Gorilla Tracking Safaris and Culture immersion experiences.
About our safari vehicles
For our guided sightseeing tours and safaris, we only use well-maintained, comprehensively insured cars with high-specifications. Our vehicles are customized to give the best experience to our clients. Each vehicle is equipped with leather chairs and windows, ensuring a comfortable and scenic journey. In addition to providing all day comfort, Ssamba Foundation ensures your safety during guided tours. We take your trust seriously which is why our fleet of tour vehicles is one of the newest available. Maintained daily and serviced by a local professional automotive garage.
"It has been the most humbling, eye opening and wonderful experience"
Safari enthusiast
Spain Spain
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Oct. 2022 Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2022 Submitted in:

I have spent two months in Kyampisi. This has been the best time of my life. The people are so cordial, I directly felt like being home. Once I got to Uganda, everyone was very happy to help and very supportive. I had an amazing time at my project teaching Spanish.

I worked in a local high school and helped the classroom with Spanish lessons, I taught 3 classes. The children were eager and motivated to learn. I was encouraged by Mr. Ssamba to teach Spanish lessons and it turned out to be a really good experience and I enjoyed to be a teacher although that were really exhausting days.

At the end of my volunteer project, I ended my time here with a weeklong safari to Bwindi for Gorilla trekking experience and Queen Elizabeth national park, all organized by Mr. Ssamba.

After the school teaching, I went to the gardens and I always joined the family on farm work, planting beans, matooke (bananas), and feeding the chicken at the volunteer house. Sandy, my sister who runs the house, was a wonderful host throughout my stay and she is the kindest most loving person you can imagine.

The people I have met have all been so wonderful and with the biggest hearts. There is so much to see and do here. I am very sad to leave Kyampisi, it has been the most humbling, eye opening and wonderful experience. Thank you to everyone who has opened their hearts to me. Uganda truly is a very beautiful place.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Uganda
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Spain Spain
Countries visited: Uganda
Visited: Oct. 2022
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2022

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Write a review

Sort by:

"The best free volunteer program in Uganda"
Safari enthusiast
Australia Australia
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: May. 2022 Reviewed: Aug. 04, 2022 Submitted in:

My trip to Uganda with Ssamba Foundation was incredible. I went for six weeks, and enjoyed every moment of it!! The activities were explorative, the wildlife was mind-boggling, the scenery was awe-inspiring and the staff were utterly fantastic.

This is not my first time volunteering but it is my first time volunteering anywhere abroad. At first, I didn’t know what to expect so I was a little apprehensive but pleasantly surprised when I got there. As an Aussie I can confirm this is the best free volunteer program in Uganda and in the world.
The teaching out there is challenging and rewarding, especially when you get to talk to the locals and begin to understand how much difference you can make to improve lives.

I can honestly say that “I really did not want to leave!”. I hope that, when you consider doing this project, you understand that yes it is an adventure and yes it is a once in a life time experience; but also you get as much as you put in.

The whole experience was brilliant for me. Simply living in the rural jungle and going back to basics, cooking lunch and dinner for each other every day and enjoying a truly communal atmosphere was totally unique and wonderful.

I learnt so much from the endless knowledge of the staff members, more especially Hon. Isaac Ssamba, the Founder and George my daily contact, and learnt even more about myself from simply going out there on my own and seeing how I coped. I took some excellent photos, I grew as a person and I made some now beloved friends in the process.

I would highly recommend this project for anybody who is outgoing, adventurous and enjoys having simply an amazing time.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Uganda
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Australia Australia
Countries visited: Uganda
Visited: May. 2022
Reviewed: Aug. 04, 2022

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Beautiful unforgettable experience, I can’t recommend enough!"
By: Sophie
Spain Spain
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Nov. 2021 Reviewed: May. 13, 2022 Submitted in:

This volunteer trip to Uganda was one of the most amazing experiences of my life. I stayed a total of three weeks in Mukono doing the childcare support work and it is the best travel experience of my life so far.

I spent most of my days working on creative projects with “my” kids. The caretakers and volunteers at the children’s centre made me feel so welcome. The centre needs more volunteers, please join them.

From the moment I stepped into Uganda, I felt like meeting long lost friends. I stepped out of the airport to a warm welcome from Sandie (my sweet little Ugandan sister). Mr. Ssamba’s family made me feel so comfortable living with them. The support stayed top notch as the everyday love from home to work was extraordinary.

The living accommodation was comfortable and local dishes – wow! This program made me grow as a person and opened my eyes to the world. The weekends were always filled with trips and safaris, I got the chance to explore the Murchison Falls safari park, too. Mr. Ssamba organized everything for us. I highly recommended Ssamba Foundation without a doubt!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Uganda
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Sophie
Spain Spain
Countries visited: Uganda
Visited: Nov. 2021
Reviewed: May. 13, 2022

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Volunteering in Uganda was an amazing life changing experience"
By: julie
Safari enthusiast
United States United States
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Aug. 2021 Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2022 Submitted in:

My name is Julie; I am an American university student who volunteered with Ssamba Foundation this past summer. Isaac asked me to leave a review by sharing my experience with his organization, I am glad to do so. Like other participants who shared their experiences here, volunteering in Uganda was an amazing life changing experience, and I would 100% do it again given the opportunity.

I was nervous going to a place so different from anywhere I had ever been before, without my family or anyone I knew, for four weeks, but the support from Isaac made it seem possible. From the get-go, he answered all my questions by e-mail and WhatsApp. He sent me all the information I needed to know, so that I felt prepared for my trip to Uganda.

While in Uganda, I stayed with his family at Kalaji, a small town north of Mukono. Isaac also arranged the safari trips for the volunteer team to Queen Elizabeth and Murchison falls national parks, we also visited Jinja to see the source of river Nile.

I worked with a microcredit program with local women groups in the surrounding villages of Kalaji, helping them design business plans. I was able to meet and work with the local people, as well as with other volunteers from all over the world.

I would recommend Ssamba Foundation for anyone looking to volunteer abroad for the first time! The best moment of the experience- its free, I paid 200$ donation to confirm my stay and that was all (we paid for safari trips separately). I covered my flights, visas, insurance and all logistics of the trip.

Thank you Isaac and your team for the giving me the opportunity to serve and explore Uganda.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Uganda
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: julie
United States United States
Countries visited: Uganda
Visited: Aug. 2021
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2022

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Isaac Ssamba is my hero. A super hero he is!"
Uganda Uganda
0 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jun. 2021 Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2021 Submitted in:

Isaac Ssamba started Ssamba Foundation, a community-based organization that change lives in Mukono, central Uganda in 2006. He started to empower the vulnerable rural communities of Mukono district.

Today, Ssamba Foundation has grown into one of the biggest community-owned charities in Mukono, Uganda. Ssamba and his team offer free charitable support in the community, from building classrooms for village school, constructing boreholes for the community to get clean water to supporting women with skills and capital to start on the independent life.

I was lucky to volunteer with Ssamba Foundation for a few months. During that period, I saw several lives being changed; vulnerable youth helped to join vocational skills training institutions, orphans and vulnerable children enrolled to school, people with HIV given a new hope for living and helpless children being given their first formal lessons and dressing.

I have no doubt in my heart, Isaac Ssamba is my hero. A super hero he is!

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Uganda
0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
Uganda Uganda
Countries visited:
Visited: Jun. 2021
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2021

0People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
YAScore: 62/100
Based on 5 reviews

Overall rating
Cleanliness of vehicle
Meet and greet team
Quality of itinerary
Responsiveness of staff