Nasera Safaris

4 reviews
Reviews: 4
Tour packages: 0 tours
Private, custom tours
Group, set date tours
Main focus: Mid-range safaris
Established: 2005
Headquarters: Tanzania
Languages: English, Spanish


Contact info

About Nasera Safaris

Nasera Safaris is named for a 250' high monolith that looms over a rarely-visited part of the Serengeti. Joseph and David have taken people to this region for many years and continue to marvel at the stunning beauty of the area. Having a picnic lunch in the shade of the great rock, under the large acacias, marveling at the fig trees that ooze from rocky folds and creases, is an experience that you won't soon forget. Occasionally there are Maasai herders in the area and there can be all kinds of game on the drives to and from the rock. Both the rock and the fig tree have some fame. In various stories and legends from the past the tree is called "the place where the man was killed" for inconclusive and often contradictory reasons. It is also used as an iconic signpost in the middle of seemingly endless grasslands. The rock has sheltered humans for at least 10,000 years and still might harbor wild dogs, Maasai herders, and even the rare, bone-breaking lamagier. There are two excellent and relevant books that mention the area: My Serengeti Years by Myles Turner and The Tree Where Man Was Born by Peter Matthiessen.

Sort by:

Write a review
"Tanzania with Joseph"
Safari enthusiast
United States United States
72 kudus
Photos (5)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jan. 2013 Reviewed: May. 23, 2016

My wife and I went on Safari with Nasera Safaris in January and visited Arusha, Lake Manyara, Tarangire, Ngorongoro, and the Serengeti. The entire tour was absolutely fabulous and we came to know and love our guide Joseph and his driver. Making the arrangements was easy and they gave us a range of options to choose from. We were treated like royalty by Joseph, his son and everyone involved with Nasera. Joseph has literally decades of experience in this region and you cannot do better. The level of attention was perfect.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
United States{{ review.user.profile.country }}
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Jan. 2013
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014

12People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Our dream Safari with Joseph and his team at Nasera"
Safari enthusiast
United States United States
11 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Aug. 2014 Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2019

After years of dreaming about a family safari, I worried it was not possible to meet our expectations. Joseph and his team at Nasera Safaris exceeded all our dreams. He was with us from the time we disembarked our plane until we sadly headed home. Every location, each individual who supported our amazing experience was fabulous.
Africa is amazing, but it was the people who made the trip. No one should go to Tanzania without Joseph, Godried and their team.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
11People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
United States{{ review.user.profile.country }}
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Aug. 2014
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014

11People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Amazing Experience!"
By: Tex
Safari enthusiast
United States United States
11 kudus
Photos (0)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Jul. 2014 Reviewed: Jul. 03, 2016

My companion and I travelled in Tanzania with Joseph and his team at Nasera Safaris and visited Arusha, Lake Manyara, Ngorongoro, and the Serengeti. Simply put, it was the experience of a lifetime. Joseph participated in the planning of our trip and presented us with different options. Once we arrived in Africa, he was with us every step of the way throughout our trip. It would not have been the same experience without Joseph. He is experienced (worked for a number of years with one of the top large tour operators in Africa), knowledgeable, honest, very personable, passionate about wildlife, and a great raconteur (and he's got some fascinating stories to tell). Joseph gave our trip a whole different dimension.
Between my companion and me, we have visited over 100 countries and been on countless tours. We both agreed that Joseph is the best tour guide we have ever seen. That may sound like hyperbole, but it isn't. In my opinion, you are cheating yourself if you visit the places that we visited without Joseph and his team at Nasera Safaris.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
11People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
By: Tex
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
United States{{ review.user.profile.country }}
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Jul. 2014
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014

11People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
"Birding the northern circuit"
Travel writer
United States United States
66 kudus
Photos (5)
Reviews (1)
Visited: Nov. 2011 Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2018

I organized a birding safari for a group across the northern Tanzania safari parks. Joseph and Godfrey did an excellent job making the arrangements and were fun and professional with the tour participants. We visited Arusha National Park, "the lark plains", Lake Manyara NP, Tarangire NP, Lake Victoria, Serengeti NP, Ngorongoro, and the western Usambara Mountains over about two weeks. It's hard to single out any highlights as they were numerous. One of the many joys of a birding safari is that we pretty easily see all of the mammals, but every day at every location we continue to see new birds and we ended with somewhere between 400-500 species for the trip.
Again, Nasera did an excellent job and when I run into any of the group from that tour, they are still speaking fondly of it. As a tour leader I work with many ground-agents, and the Nasera Safari team were top-notch. I hope to return.

Meet and greet team
Responsiveness of staff
Quality of itinerary
Quality of vehicles
Caliber of guide
Overall rating

Countries visited: Tanzania
10People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
{{ review.user.profile.user_type_display }}
United States{{ review.user.profile.country }}
Countries visited: Tanzania
Visited: Nov. 2011
Reviewed: Dec. 05, 2014

10People gave this
a kudu

 Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
YAScore: 56/100
Based on 4 reviews

Overall rating
Cleanliness of vehicle
Meet and greet team
Quality of itinerary
Responsiveness of staff