Log In

Laikipia Plateau reviews

5 reviews

Stunning beauty - Kenya's Laikipia Plateau

Gretchen
Visited: Nov 2014 Reviewed: Jul 08, 2015

Quite possibly my favorite spot in the whole of Kenya, the Laikipia Plateau has stunning landscapes and incredible game. Rare species such as Grevy's zebra, Jackson's hartebeest, reticulated giraffe and Somali ostrich can be found throughout the area, often with the breathtaking backdrop of Mt. Kenya's snow-capped peak.

Even more interesting is the land-sharing model that exists in conservancies throughout the Plateau. Domesticated and wild animals share land in many instances, the former helping to fund continued existence of habitat for the latter. It's innovative and may be a large part of the future of African wildlife.

Two other places of note are in the Ol Pejeta Conservancy. It is one of the only places on earth to see the last remaining northern white rhino. A sad visit for sure, but a good and poignant reminder of why species and habitat preservation are so important. There is also a chimpanzee sanctuary in Ol Pejeta. While not endemic to Kenya, the Sweetwaters Chimpanzee Sanctuary allows visitors to see rescued chimps in a large natural enclosure while helping to support the rehabilitation of the animals.

Quality of wildlife
Crowdedness
Quality of lodging
Overall rating

* Crowded parks have a lower rating

Like this review?

Go on, give it a kudu!

9 People gave this
review kudus.
 

More reviews

Laikipia Plateau

Visited: Jul 2014 Reviewed: Jun 30, 2015

The Laikipia plains are covered by open grasslands and basalt hills, with game roaming freely. This area is ideal for visitors who are interested in an excellent combination of culture and nature. Read more

Like this review?

Go on, give it a kudu!

10 People gave this
review kudus.
 

The Mind Blowing Laikipia Plateau

Visited: Sep 2012 Reviewed: Sep 17, 2013

During the month of September, 2012, my friends and I drove to Laikipia Plateau by road from Nanyuki. Laikipia plateau is positioned amid the superb snow-capped Mount Kenya and the foot hills of the Aberdares. On our way there, we saw massive ranches that were mostly privately owned as we were told by our tour guide, though, now dedicated to conserving wildlife.
... read more

Like this review?

Go on, give it a kudu!

13 People gave this
review kudus.
 

A wild yet romantic haven

Visited: May 2013 Reviewed: May 24, 2013

We made our last stop In Kenya at the Laikipia Plateau National Reserve. It's found in a remote and truly wild corner of Kenya on part of the renowned Masai Mara ecosystem on Laikipia plateau. We got there by sunrise and quickly began our walking safari for our one-day adventure. We were greeted by one of the friendly tour guides who was going to show us around th... read more

Like this review?

Go on, give it a kudu!

12 People gave this
review kudus.
 

Amazing Savannah

Visited: Aug 2012 Reviewed: May 11, 2013

A batch of friends and I took a drive from Kenya’s capital, Nairobi to the Lewa Conservancy on the Laikipia Plateau. From the Nyeri/Nanyuki road, you have the magnificent view of the towering Mt Kenya on east side and the rolling Aberdare ranges on the other. Further, into the plateau, you get a magnificent view of vast grassland that surprises with the odd sightin... read more

Like this review?

Go on, give it a kudu!

11 People gave this
review kudus.