Ruaha National Park


  6 reviews
This review has been seen 339 times.
Reviewed by:
  • Safari tour operator Tour operator

The Beauty of The Rains

Written on: February 27, 2015   |   I visited in January 2015 Having visited Ruaha last September during the dry season, I was eager to return after the rains had come as I know what a dramatic change it can be in Southern Tanzania.
While the animals tend to concentrate along the river during the dry season making for a prolific game drive, there are still many animals to be seen during the green season. However, with the trees in full-leaf and the grass much taller, you have to be more tuned into your surroundings in order to spot the animals.
You see one or two elephants and suddenly 3-4 materialize out of the bush so silently.
The colors of the animals also seem more vibrant against the green landscape.
Overall, I would recommend that one should try to visit the park in both seasons, and if I had to choose, I would definitely go in Jan or Feb.

I stayed at a lodge in the park and had a mixed experience given that the windows were only screened therefore when there was heavy rain during the night, the wind & rain blew into the room. As well during the wet season, it is best to check your bed sheets for spiders etc.

As the lodge is situated on the Ruaha River, the nocturnal sounds of the hippos can either be exciting or disturbing as they continue throughout the night calling and snorting amongst each other.
However the morning brings a brilliant sunrise over the mountains along with hippos, birds and occasional lions returning from the hunt.

If you like to be away from the crowds and not in a convoy of safari vehicles then this is a park for you!
Quality of wildlife
Crowdedness*
Quality of lodging
Overall rating
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
10 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Mar 01, 2016   |   Visited: Mar 2015.
I did a safari in Ruaha three years ago. It was my first experience on African soil. I was overwhelmed by its scope, its mammals and my nights spent in lodges. Unforgettable. And, yes, poaching exists. My guides showed me an elephant that had been killed 10 days earlier. Its head removed by chainsaws. My photos allow me to educate my friends on the horrific slaught... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
4 people gave this review kudus.

(4/5 stars) Written on: Jan 16, 2016   |   Visited: Aug 2012.
Ruaha National Park is a remote, peaceful, isolated and beautiful Tanzanian Park. This park offers unmatched game drive experience with less vehicle in the park in comparison with northern Tanzanian Parks. The environment at Ruaha is wild, authentic and untouched in comparison to Northern Parks.

Predators in the park have higher concentration than other souther... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
11 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:
** Safari guru **

(4/5 stars) Written on: Aug 07, 2014   |   Visited: Apr 2011.
I visited Ruaha on the heels of visiting Selous. I thought the two would be very similar and, in some respects, they were. But, Ruaha has even more dense foliage and less visitors. So, the animals were a bit harder to spot, but there were less crowds.
I prefer northern Serengeti because of the closed-sided vehicles and because you can do a private safari.
Oh, and... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
10 people gave this review kudus.

(5/5 stars) Written on: Sep 18, 2013   |   Visited: Oct 2012.
After spending time in northern Tanzania, I wasn't prepared for the marked change in climate in southern Tanzania. Ruaha is dense with foliage and has tsetse flies and mosquitoes galore. If you can look past that, it's what I thought a safari was supposed to be! We saw a fair number of lions and were pleasantly surprised at the paucity of fellow tourists. We were o... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
11 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:
** Safari guru **

(4/5 stars) Written on: May 27, 2013   |   Visited: Nov 2011.
When we first visited Tanzania we were told Tanzania's best kept secret was Katavi national park. And after an awesome visit there, we were told there was another contender for this exquisite title. The contender, as advised, was a natural, authentic, wild experience. Game was plenty here, there was less crowds and affordable superb game viewing experience.

Curi... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
12 people gave this review kudus.

Safari tour packages (36)   See all tour packages

Change currency:
This is a review for:
Ruaha National Park
Enlarge map to see all parks and current weather
Quality of wildlife

Crowdedness*

Quality of lodging

Overall rating

See all 6 reviews

Tatanca1 is part of the team at

Tatanca1 shared a highlight

Tatanca1

Ruaha in January is breathtaking and full of all the animals one dreams of

Tatanca1 saw these animals

Cheetah
Cheetah
Elephant
Elephant
Giraffe
Giraffe
Expand/Reduce animals

Tatanca1 did these activities

Bird watching
Bird watching
Bush walks
Bush walks
Game drives
Game drives
Expand/Reduce activities
Shortlisted tour operators You can shortlist up to
5 tour operators