Nairobi National Park


  19 reviews
This review has been seen 145 times.
Reviewed by:
** Safari guru **
  • Safari enthusiast Safari enthusiast
  • Top contributor Top contributor
  • Photo maestro Photo maestro

Wildlife oasis on the outskirts of a metropolis

Written on: February 23, 2015   |   I visited in January 2009 We had a layover at Nairobi Wilson airport and needed to kill quite a bit of time. I was super-dubious when I was told we could start our safari early by doing a day trip here. It sounded to me like it was going to be more like a zoo and not really a wildlife park. But, despite the fact that you can see some of the Nairobi skyline in the background, it really is a park. I saw oodles of zebra and some giraffes. It's also very, very crowded due to its proximity to the city.
It's worth a trip if you find you've time to kill, but doesn't touch the big places like Masai Mara or Serengeti.
Quality of wildlife
Crowdedness*
Quality of lodging
Lodging not used
Overall rating
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
10 people gave this review kudus.
Showing the 10 most recent reviews See all reviews

(2/5 stars) Written on: Dec 02, 2015   |   Visited: Oct 2015.
Nairobi National park happens to be the only park in the world where animals roam freely in their natural habitat and surprisingly located just next to Nairobi city. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
7 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Oct 08, 2015   |   Visited: Jan 2015.
Nairobi National Park is a short drive out of Nairobi’s central business district. This park has a wide variety of wildlife including the endangered black rhino, lions, leopards, cheetahs, hyenas, buffalo, giraffes and diverse bird life with over 400 species recorded. Visitors can enjoy the park’s picnic sites, three campsites and the walking trails for hikers.
Th... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
7 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Jul 24, 2015   |   Visited: Apr 2015.
Nairobi is the only city boasting of a national park next to its door step.
The park is located 15kms away from the city centre and despite this proximity, there are many species of mammals including four of the Big Five. The best time to visit the park is early in the morning or late afternoon everyday read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
12 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Jul 07, 2015   |   Visited: Nov 2014.
Nairobi is the only city in the world with a wildlife park within its borders. A short drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, its an ideal way to come off of a long journey and be instantly exposed to Africa's majestic wildlife. During my most recent visit, I opted to stay in the park rather than in the city or in a suburb like Karen. Within minutes of ent... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
9 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: May 26, 2015   |   Visited: Apr 2015.
Nairobi National Park is one of the rare places that you will have opportunity to see the wildlife within the lights of the city. I enjoyed every bit of my game drive with all the wild animals that I spotted. I would recommend this park for every visitor. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
11 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Mar 21, 2015   |   Visited: Mar 2015.
Halo to all of you whom shall be able to have the chance to read this text.

Nairobi National Park, it has changed to the best of the current parks we have in Kenya at this moment.
Wildlife are back in this park like floods brought by rain. I saw 12 lions (7 young ones),buffalo were just so many that you can count them as they stroll to drink water in the dams w... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
12 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(3/5 stars) Written on: Mar 13, 2015   |   Visited: Jan 2015.
A park that allows you to be on safari within minutes of leaving Nairobi Airport.
The National National Park boasts a wide diversity of game including lion and rhino, so why not start your safari from the moment you touchdown?
Amazing read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
11 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Mar 12, 2015   |   Visited: Feb 2015.
The park is unique by being the only protected area in the world close to a capital city with rich/diverse bird life. Animals to be seen include lion, leopard, hyena and cheetah. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
10 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Mar 12, 2015   |   Visited: Feb 2015.
Nairobi National Park is located approximately 7 km south of the centre of Nairobi, Kenya's capital city with an electric fence separating the park's wildlife from the metropolis.
This park gives all what you desire to see in the wilderness close to nature. In terms of birds there is a large variety of species in this park. It is also to rhinos.
If someone has ... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
10 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Mar 12, 2015   |   Visited: Feb 2015.
A safari in Nairobi National Park is only kilometres from the city centre. It is a very nice park you cant afford to miss if connections of flight on transit are Nairobi to JRO. Or while on a short business trip. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
11 people gave this review kudus.
Showing the 10 most recent reviews See all reviews

Safari tour packages (497)   See all tour packages

Change currency:
This is a review for:
Nairobi National Park
Enlarge map to see all parks and current weather
Quality of wildlife

Crowdedness*

Quality of lodging

Overall rating

See all 19 reviews

Wanderlust also reviewed

Wanderlust saw these animals

Elephant
Elephant
Giraffe
Giraffe
Warthog
Warthog
Expand/Reduce animals

Wanderlust did these activities

Photography
Photography
Shortlisted tour operators You can shortlist up to
5 tour operators