Masai Mara National Reserve


  57 reviews
This review has been seen 305 times.
Reviewed by:
** Safari guru **
  • Safari enthusiast Safari enthusiast

Home to the wildebeest

Written on: May 23, 2013   |   I visited in May 2013 The seventh safari was at the Masai Mara National Reserve still in Kenya. We arrived at the Masai by plane and were greeted warmly by the drivers who met us at the airstrip who drove us through the camp, just like that our safari had already begun. On our way to the campsite we saw some leopards relaxing after a bounty feast their stomachs full en eyes drowsy, the staff carried our luggage to our a tents that we were to share with my sister who accompanied me in one of my safaris. This were no ordinary tents but were full deluxe tents with separate beds, dressers, and bathrooms complete with showers on top was the food, again deluxe buffet of almost every food and drinks with outstanding service.
After a good night sleep the next morning we went on our safari tour the jungle was just outside not far from our tents, with the help of highly trained, enthusiastic experts who knew the area like the back of their home they took us around the rich full of wildlife like the amazing wildebeest we were actually lucky enough to catch the great wild beast migration they run making the earth tumble with their strong feet to experience this was a breathe taking experience. We also saw some lions here and there, impala hopping all over the place. Our last experience of the tour was a trip on a hot air balloon. We were all pretty excited for the one hour ride floating on air having this spectacular view of the great Masai Mara national park. I think this was the height of our safari, unforgettable experience which was totally worth parting with 300$.
Quality of wildlife
Crowdedness*
Quality of lodging
Overall rating
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
12 people gave this review kudus.
Showing the 10 most recent reviews See all reviews
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Mar 23, 2017   |   Visited: Jan 2017.
Masai Mara is a awesome place to be, beautiful scenic and wild animals and the big five. Accommodation is good and meals are prefect. Visiting the Masai village was awesome. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
0 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Mar 06, 2017   |   Visited: Feb 2017.
For years I have visited Maasai Mara and it get better with time like wine, the view is amazing and the wildlife viewing is superb throughout the year.
It is quite easy to see the lions, leopards and cheetahs.
The yearly wildebeest migration is another attraction which many tourist come to Kenya to witness this amazing wonder of the world.

The Maasai community... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
2 people gave this review kudus.

(3/5 stars) Written on: Jan 23, 2017   |   Visited: Mar 2016.
Beautiful place to spend Vacations and wild safaris. From all angles one can spot animals just basking.
Maasai Mara is one of the most visited parks in Kenya. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
2 people gave this review kudus.

(5/5 stars) Written on: Jan 20, 2017   |   Visited: Oct 2016.
The Masai Mara is a destination which is suitable for the entire family and is good for first-time and returning visitors. A must-do adventure safari activity is the sunrise balloon flights safari.

read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
1 person gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Dec 15, 2016   |   Visited: Sep 2016.
Been to the Maasai Mara countless times and every time the Mara offers a new experience. The most thrilling activity here has to be the great wildebeest migration. So definitely my first stop has always been the Mara Triangle, anytime between July and December.

However, this doesn't mean that there is no much activity during other months! My favorite stops any ... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
4 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Dec 09, 2016   |   Visited: Dec 2016.
Maasai Mara Game Reserve is the best wildlife park for big cats viewing, with great concentration on game you will definitely feel your safari expectations met to your satisfaction. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
4 people gave this review kudus.

(5/5 stars) Written on: Oct 10, 2016   |   Visited: Aug 2016.
What a fabulous reserve. On our first day we saw the big 5 including lions with a kill then coming down to drink at a stream and a male lion roaring while looking for his pride. Couldn't have asked for more. It was fantastic and our guide was just wonderful. Antonio was very knowledgeable and ethical in regard to the welfare of the animals and obeying the rules of... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
4 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Jul 13, 2016   |   Visited: Oct 2011.
Masai Mara is Kenyan pride, it has all one would look for when it comes to African Safaris, the big 5,many species of birds, cultural visits, & beautiful scenery! read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
9 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Jul 07, 2016   |   Visited: Sep 2015.
The Mara is a relatively small park. If visited in the off-peak seasons, you can access a very wide variety of animals. Having visited it many times over the last 30 years, I have never been disappointed.

This year a group of aspiring photographers and I were also treated to an unusually late and breathtaking migration crossing. The scene lasted just a few minut... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
8 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Apr 28, 2016   |   Visited: Jul 2015.
Masai Mara gives you an opportunity to experience the great migration considered as the 8th world wonder. You'll witness the hunting by the big cats as well as see the other members of big 5.

This is once in a lifetime experience,. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
8 people gave this review kudus.
Showing the 10 most recent reviews See all reviews

Safari tour packages (736)   See all tour packages

Change currency:
This is a review for:
Masai Mara National Reserve
Enlarge map to see all parks and current weather
Quality of wildlife

Crowdedness*

Quality of lodging

Overall rating

See all 57 reviews

Lynn also reviewed

Lynn shared a highlight

Lynn

Always have a tour guide with you

Lynn saw these animals

Giraffe
Giraffe
Wildebeest
Wildebeest
Zebra
Zebra

Lynn did these activities

Bush walks
Bush walks
Hot air balloons
Hot air balloons
Shortlisted tour operators You can shortlist up to
5 tour operators