Masai Mara National Reserve


  64 reviews
This review has been seen 340 times.
Reviewed by:
** Safari guru **
  • Safari enthusiast Safari enthusiast

Home to the wildebeest

Written on: May 23, 2013   |   I visited in May 2013 The seventh safari was at the Masai Mara National Reserve still in Kenya. We arrived at the Masai by plane and were greeted warmly by the drivers who met us at the airstrip who drove us through the camp, just like that our safari had already begun. On our way to the campsite we saw some leopards relaxing after a bounty feast their stomachs full en eyes drowsy, the staff carried our luggage to our a tents that we were to share with my sister who accompanied me in one of my safaris. This were no ordinary tents but were full deluxe tents with separate beds, dressers, and bathrooms complete with showers on top was the food, again deluxe buffet of almost every food and drinks with outstanding service.
After a good night sleep the next morning we went on our safari tour the jungle was just outside not far from our tents, with the help of highly trained, enthusiastic experts who knew the area like the back of their home they took us around the rich full of wildlife like the amazing wildebeest we were actually lucky enough to catch the great wild beast migration they run making the earth tumble with their strong feet to experience this was a breathe taking experience. We also saw some lions here and there, impala hopping all over the place. Our last experience of the tour was a trip on a hot air balloon. We were all pretty excited for the one hour ride floating on air having this spectacular view of the great Masai Mara national park. I think this was the height of our safari, unforgettable experience which was totally worth parting with 300$.
Quality of wildlife
Crowdedness*
Quality of lodging
Overall rating
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
12 people gave this review kudus.
Showing the 10 most recent reviews See all reviews
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Sep 07, 2017   |   Visited: Aug 2017.
Maasai Mara is one of the most spectacular wildlife reserves in Africa. You will see lots of wild animals including the Big Five. If traveling in July through October, you will see the migration.
read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
0 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Sep 06, 2017   |   Visited: Jul 2017.
I had an amazing time in Maasai Mara Game Reserve. I was able to see all the big five animals, take pictures and experience the wildebeest crossing the Mara River. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
0 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: May 02, 2017   |   Visited: Feb 2017.
Its situated south west of Kenya. 4 to 5 hours drive from Nairobi. It's next to Serengeti in Tanzania forming one ecosystem. We visited in February this year and had a full day game drive around the reserve. We were lucky to see the big five except the leopard. We also saw other animals including giraffes, hippos, crocodiles, hyenas and different bird species. We t... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
1 person gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:
** Safari guru **

(5/5 stars) Written on: Apr 30, 2017   |   Visited: Apr 2017.
Mara River gets its name from Maasai Mara which in Maasai language means the spotted land from the view of the plains having many trees and bushes that make it look spotted.

This river has its origins in the Mau escarpment of the great rift valley hence the need to protect it as an important water catchment for the Mara /Serengeti ecosystem from encroachment. I... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
6 people gave this review kudus.

(5/5 stars) Written on: Apr 28, 2017   |   Visited: Sep 2016.
Very exciting park in Kenya.

I love Maasai Mara the most famous park in Kenya with plenty of animals, starting from the small five to the big five. Even for a two-day safari in Kenya you will see many many animals.
The annual migration is just wow.

read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
1 person gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Apr 17, 2017   |   Visited: Jan 2017.
Maasai Mar game reserve is indeed very rewarding in terms of game concentration, you will never be disappointed on your game drives. Come see all the Big Five and also witness the great animal migration if visiting between July and September.
Awesome park! read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
0 people gave this review kudus.

(4/5 stars) Written on: Apr 13, 2017   |   Visited: Jan 2017.
The best time to experience The great migration is between July to August. That's when a million plus wildebeest migrate. Make good friendship with the locals, they the best people to show you around, they are much familiar with the place read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
1 person gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Mar 23, 2017   |   Visited: Jan 2017.
Masai Mara is a awesome place to be, beautiful scenic and wild animals and the big five. Accommodation is good and meals are prefect. Visiting the Masai village was awesome. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
0 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Mar 06, 2017   |   Visited: Feb 2017.
For years I have visited Maasai Mara and it get better with time like wine, the view is amazing and the wildlife viewing is superb throughout the year.
It is quite easy to see the lions, leopards and cheetahs.
The yearly wildebeest migration is another attraction which many tourist come to Kenya to witness this amazing wonder of the world.

The Maasai community... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
2 people gave this review kudus.

(3/5 stars) Written on: Jan 23, 2017   |   Visited: Mar 2016.
Beautiful place to spend Vacations and wild safaris. From all angles one can spot animals just basking.
Maasai Mara is one of the most visited parks in Kenya. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
2 people gave this review kudus.
Showing the 10 most recent reviews See all reviews

Safari tour packages (854)   See all tour packages

Change currency:
This is a review for:
Masai Mara National Reserve
Enlarge map to see all parks and current weather
Quality of wildlife

Crowdedness*

Quality of lodging

Overall rating

See all 64 reviews

Lynn also reviewed

Lynn shared a highlight

Lynn

Always have a tour guide with you

Lynn saw these animals

Giraffe
Giraffe
Wildebeest
Wildebeest
Zebra
Zebra

Lynn did these activities

Bush walks
Bush walks
Hot air balloons
Hot air balloons
Shortlisted tour operators You can shortlist up to
5 tour operators