Masai Mara National Reserve


  60 reviews
This review has been seen 216 times.
Reviewed by:
  • Safari enthusiast Safari enthusiast
  • Safari guru Safari guru

A TOUR TO REMEMBER

Written on: May 11, 2013   |   I visited in July 2012 Masai Mara is probably the most interesting national park one can ever visit. It is Africa’s greatest wildlife reserve which is at South west of Kenya. It stretches about 1,510 sq Km and about 1550-2180 meters above sea level. This reserve will take your a breath after a day or two of visiting. This national reserve has gone into the Guinness book of records for the greatest wildebeest migration on earth known as the great migration. It has the highest lion population in its ecosystem in the world. The reserve holds over two million wildebeests, Thomson Gazelles and zebra that migrate annually.

My visit was in mid-July because I wanted to have the breathtaking experience of the great wildebeest migration. The first day of my visit was quite interesting because I went on a walking safari with a few friends and we explored the land and saw breathtaking landscape scenery. As the evening sun disappeared to the horizon and beautified the azure sky with the golden rays we started our journey back to our conservatory where we slept. Tourist service and accommodation at this place is incredible, especially the food.

The second day was a day I will live to remember as I happened to witness the wildebeest migration. We went for a game drive. The nearer you get to the Mara River the better the scene. The wildebeest migrate from Serengeti National Park in Tanzania to Masai Mara reserve for greener pastures. During the crossing of the Mara River, crocodile are ready to devour weak wildebeests as the dive into the deep Mara River.

Another spectacle that caught my eye was the big cat, the lion. This reserve holds the highest density of lions. A game drive, late in the evening will give you the satisfaction you need in seeing this spectacular animals. The lion especially is a marvel to the eye especially when you see it close enough. One of the most interesting things is that when the wildebeest arrive at the river for the crossing, they gather up and wait at the right moment speculating on which the best crossing point. When they eventually cross the point may be harbored by crocodiles and sometimes too deep for the claves to cross. The reserve is vast and three to four game drives are most suitable if one has to cover a large area. The reserve holds one of the tribes that have the richest culture in Kenya, the Masai People. They are hospitable and kind to tourists and their dances are unique and very interesting to watch
Quality of wildlife
Crowdedness*
Quality of lodging
Overall rating
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
12 people gave this review kudus.
Showing the 10 most recent reviews See all reviews

(5/5 stars) Written on: Apr 28, 2017   |   Visited: Sep 2016.
Very exciting park in Kenya.

I love Maasai Mara the most famous park in Kenya with plenty of animals, starting from the small five to the big five. Even for a two-day safari in Kenya you will see many many animals.
The annual migration is just wow.

read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
0 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Apr 17, 2017   |   Visited: Jan 2017.
Maasai Mar game reserve is indeed very rewarding in terms of game concentration, you will never be disappointed on your game drives. Come see all the Big Five and also witness the great animal migration if visiting between July and September.
Awesome park! read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
0 people gave this review kudus.

(4/5 stars) Written on: Apr 13, 2017   |   Visited: Jan 2017.
The best time to experience The great migration is between July to August. That's when a million plus wildebeest migrate. Make good friendship with the locals, they the best people to show you around, they are much familiar with the place read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
0 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Mar 23, 2017   |   Visited: Jan 2017.
Masai Mara is a awesome place to be, beautiful scenic and wild animals and the big five. Accommodation is good and meals are prefect. Visiting the Masai village was awesome. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
0 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Mar 06, 2017   |   Visited: Feb 2017.
For years I have visited Maasai Mara and it get better with time like wine, the view is amazing and the wildlife viewing is superb throughout the year.
It is quite easy to see the lions, leopards and cheetahs.
The yearly wildebeest migration is another attraction which many tourist come to Kenya to witness this amazing wonder of the world.

The Maasai community... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
2 people gave this review kudus.

(3/5 stars) Written on: Jan 23, 2017   |   Visited: Mar 2016.
Beautiful place to spend Vacations and wild safaris. From all angles one can spot animals just basking.
Maasai Mara is one of the most visited parks in Kenya. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
2 people gave this review kudus.

(5/5 stars) Written on: Jan 20, 2017   |   Visited: Oct 2016.
The Masai Mara is a destination which is suitable for the entire family and is good for first-time and returning visitors. A must-do adventure safari activity is the sunrise balloon flights safari.

read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
1 person gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Dec 15, 2016   |   Visited: Sep 2016.
Been to the Maasai Mara countless times and every time the Mara offers a new experience. The most thrilling activity here has to be the great wildebeest migration. So definitely my first stop has always been the Mara Triangle, anytime between July and December.

However, this doesn't mean that there is no much activity during other months! My favorite stops any ... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
4 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Dec 09, 2016   |   Visited: Dec 2016.
Maasai Mara Game Reserve is the best wildlife park for big cats viewing, with great concentration on game you will definitely feel your safari expectations met to your satisfaction. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
4 people gave this review kudus.

(5/5 stars) Written on: Oct 10, 2016   |   Visited: Aug 2016.
What a fabulous reserve. On our first day we saw the big 5 including lions with a kill then coming down to drink at a stream and a male lion roaring while looking for his pride. Couldn't have asked for more. It was fantastic and our guide was just wonderful. Antonio was very knowledgeable and ethical in regard to the welfare of the animals and obeying the rules of... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
4 people gave this review kudus.
Showing the 10 most recent reviews See all reviews

Safari tour packages (771)   See all tour packages

Change currency:
This is a review for:
Masai Mara National Reserve
Enlarge map to see all parks and current weather
Quality of wildlife

Crowdedness*

Quality of lodging

Overall rating

See all 60 reviews

Protraveller shared a highlight

Protraveller

Have a pair of safari boots for treking and bushwalks

Protraveller saw these animals

African buffalo
African buffalo
Bat-eared fox
Bat-eared fox
Rhinoceros
Rhinoceros
Expand/Reduce animals

Protraveller did these activities

Horseback riding
Horseback riding
Bird watching
Bird watching
Bush walks
Bush walks
Expand/Reduce activities
Shortlisted tour operators You can shortlist up to
5 tour operators