Masai Mara National Reserve


  64 reviews
This review has been seen 547 times.
Reviewed by:
  • Safari enthusiast Safari enthusiast

First, and amazing, SAFARI!

Written on: April 22, 2013   |   I visited in September 1993 There was a tented camp next to the gate of the park we called “home” for a few days; outdoor kitchen, benches under the acacia tree for bonfires… magical. We learned “Malaika” – a song about angels, from the local Maasai and Kikuyu boys.

Dawn meant coffee, then driving into the park to see OUR FIRST ELEPHANT!! How TINY it looked all alone on the plain… it was in its expanse where it belonged. Then, it seemed to not take but a few minutes before Peter, our driver and guide, spotted something else… a lion under a bush, and oh - with a partner! A group of ostriches - - always running away, and you could never get a picture. An impala or other deer-type animal…

A few drives into the park, and we were amongst wildebeests galore mixed with the stately zebras. Had to drive slowly to part the throngs, but it was amazing to be interspersed with them. What a fantastic treat!
Quality of wildlife
Crowdedness*
Quality of lodging
Lodging not used
Overall rating
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
12 people gave this review kudus.
Showing the 10 most recent reviews See all reviews
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Sep 07, 2017   |   Visited: Aug 2017.
Maasai Mara is one of the most spectacular wildlife reserves in Africa. You will see lots of wild animals including the Big Five. If traveling in July through October, you will see the migration.
read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
0 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Sep 06, 2017   |   Visited: Jul 2017.
I had an amazing time in Maasai Mara Game Reserve. I was able to see all the big five animals, take pictures and experience the wildebeest crossing the Mara River. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
0 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: May 02, 2017   |   Visited: Feb 2017.
Its situated south west of Kenya. 4 to 5 hours drive from Nairobi. It's next to Serengeti in Tanzania forming one ecosystem. We visited in February this year and had a full day game drive around the reserve. We were lucky to see the big five except the leopard. We also saw other animals including giraffes, hippos, crocodiles, hyenas and different bird species. We t... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
1 person gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:
** Safari guru **

(5/5 stars) Written on: Apr 30, 2017   |   Visited: Apr 2017.
Mara River gets its name from Maasai Mara which in Maasai language means the spotted land from the view of the plains having many trees and bushes that make it look spotted.

This river has its origins in the Mau escarpment of the great rift valley hence the need to protect it as an important water catchment for the Mara /Serengeti ecosystem from encroachment. I... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
5 people gave this review kudus.

(5/5 stars) Written on: Apr 28, 2017   |   Visited: Sep 2016.
Very exciting park in Kenya.

I love Maasai Mara the most famous park in Kenya with plenty of animals, starting from the small five to the big five. Even for a two-day safari in Kenya you will see many many animals.
The annual migration is just wow.

read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
1 person gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Apr 17, 2017   |   Visited: Jan 2017.
Maasai Mar game reserve is indeed very rewarding in terms of game concentration, you will never be disappointed on your game drives. Come see all the Big Five and also witness the great animal migration if visiting between July and September.
Awesome park! read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
0 people gave this review kudus.

(4/5 stars) Written on: Apr 13, 2017   |   Visited: Jan 2017.
The best time to experience The great migration is between July to August. That's when a million plus wildebeest migrate. Make good friendship with the locals, they the best people to show you around, they are much familiar with the place read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
1 person gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Mar 23, 2017   |   Visited: Jan 2017.
Masai Mara is a awesome place to be, beautiful scenic and wild animals and the big five. Accommodation is good and meals are prefect. Visiting the Masai village was awesome. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
0 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Mar 06, 2017   |   Visited: Feb 2017.
For years I have visited Maasai Mara and it get better with time like wine, the view is amazing and the wildlife viewing is superb throughout the year.
It is quite easy to see the lions, leopards and cheetahs.
The yearly wildebeest migration is another attraction which many tourist come to Kenya to witness this amazing wonder of the world.

The Maasai community... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
2 people gave this review kudus.

(3/5 stars) Written on: Jan 23, 2017   |   Visited: Mar 2016.
Beautiful place to spend Vacations and wild safaris. From all angles one can spot animals just basking.
Maasai Mara is one of the most visited parks in Kenya. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
2 people gave this review kudus.
Showing the 10 most recent reviews See all reviews

Safari tour packages (838)   See all tour packages

Change currency:
This is a review for:
Masai Mara National Reserve
Enlarge map to see all parks and current weather
Quality of wildlife

Crowdedness*

Quality of lodging

Overall rating

See all 64 reviews

JodieO also reviewed

JodieO shared a highlight

JodieO

Catch the wildebeest migration here with tons of zebras.... it is the northern part of the Serengeti.

JodieO saw these animals

Elephant
Elephant
Giraffe
Giraffe
Hippopotamus
Hippopotamus
Expand/Reduce animals

JodieO did these activities

Game drives
Game drives
Photography
Photography
Shortlisted tour operators You can shortlist up to
5 tour operators