Masai Mara National Reserve


  55 reviews
This review has been seen 322 times.
Reviewed by:
  • Travel writer Travel writer

Can't Go to Kenya Without Visiting the Masai Mara!

Written on: January 20, 2014   |   I visited in June 2010 I visited the Masai Mara on a college course trip. Our safari consisted of two nights sleeping in beds within canvas tents. There was a toilet and a shower in each tent, and even electricity in the evening until 10pm when the generators abruptly cut off. But, it was more than enough when you're in the middle of the Serengeti grasslands and you have the most beautiful, bright stars I've ever seen to embrace without the light pollution electricity offers.

Our safari consisted of two parts; one full day safari where we were bumping along the dirt roads in the Masai Mara, spotting fantastic animals such as zebras, giraffes, and even a lioness sitting amongst the grass. The next day, we awoke and were ready in the vans at sunrise, to do an early morning halfday safari. This is a fantastic opportunity since many animals are quite active in the morning time. This day, we saw a baby elephant with its momma and herd. Our safari guide, who was very friendly, humorous and knowledgeable, informed us that he felt the baby was only hours old as he wobbled around on his gangly legs. It was quite a site to see! And the herd crunching and munching on the leaves was equally as awe-striking to hear.

Overall, taking a safari in the Masai Mara will give you that quintessential safari experience you think of when you think of an African safari. Doing a grasslands safari is something you can't miss when in East Africa. It will definitely create lifelong memories and is a once-in-a-lifetime experience!
Quality of wildlife
Crowdedness*
Quality of lodging
Lodging not used
Overall rating
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
14 people gave this review kudus.
Showing the 10 most recent reviews See all reviews

(3/5 stars) Written on: Jan 23, 2017   |   Visited: Mar 2016.
Beautiful place to spend Vacations and wild safaris. From all angles one can spot animals just basking.
Maasai Mara is one of the most visited parks in Kenya. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
2 people gave this review kudus.

(5/5 stars) Written on: Jan 20, 2017   |   Visited: Oct 2016.
The Masai Mara is a destination which is suitable for the entire family and is good for first-time and returning visitors. A must-do adventure safari activity is the sunrise balloon flights safari.

read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
1 person gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Dec 15, 2016   |   Visited: Sep 2016.
Been to the Maasai Mara countless times and every time the Mara offers a new experience. The most thrilling activity here has to be the great wildebeest migration. So definitely my first stop has always been the Mara Triangle, anytime between July and December.

However, this doesn't mean that there is no much activity during other months! My favorite stops any ... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
3 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Dec 09, 2016   |   Visited: Dec 2016.
Maasai Mara Game Reserve is the best wildlife park for big cats viewing, with great concentration on game you will definitely feel your safari expectations met to your satisfaction. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
4 people gave this review kudus.

(5/5 stars) Written on: Oct 10, 2016   |   Visited: Aug 2016.
What a fabulous reserve. On our first day we saw the big 5 including lions with a kill then coming down to drink at a stream and a male lion roaring while looking for his pride. Couldn't have asked for more. It was fantastic and our guide was just wonderful. Antonio was very knowledgeable and ethical in regard to the welfare of the animals and obeying the rules of... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
4 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Jul 13, 2016   |   Visited: Oct 2011.
Masai Mara is Kenyan pride, it has all one would look for when it comes to African Safaris, the big 5,many species of birds, cultural visits, & beautiful scenery! read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
9 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Jul 07, 2016   |   Visited: Sep 2015.
The Mara is a relatively small park. If visited in the off-peak seasons, you can access a very wide variety of animals. Having visited it many times over the last 30 years, I have never been disappointed.

This year a group of aspiring photographers and I were also treated to an unusually late and breathtaking migration crossing. The scene lasted just a few minut... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
8 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Apr 28, 2016   |   Visited: Jul 2015.
Masai Mara gives you an opportunity to experience the great migration considered as the 8th world wonder. You'll witness the hunting by the big cats as well as see the other members of big 5.

This is once in a lifetime experience,. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
8 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Feb 26, 2016   |   Visited: Feb 2016.
We made a safari to Maasai Mara and We enjoyed all the incredible animals, getting to see the Big Five plus numerous others. We took many great pictures & videoed the whole safari for many special memories. Everything including the wonderful Serena hotels & Ashnil luxury tents & knowledgeable drivers with excellent driving skills definitely met our expectations.
... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
9 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Feb 15, 2016   |   Visited: Jan 2016.
The adventure in Masai Mara was so great and with the best part so far for view the wildlife. You have great camps to stay at, too (Governors main camp, Little governor, II Moran) just to mention few.
read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
11 people gave this review kudus.
Showing the 10 most recent reviews See all reviews

Safari tour packages (713)   See all tour packages

Change currency:
This is a review for:
Masai Mara National Reserve
Enlarge map to see all parks and current weather
Quality of wildlife

Crowdedness*

Quality of lodging

Overall rating

See all 55 reviews

FrugallyFickle Traveler also reviewed

FrugallyFickle Traveler shared a highlight

FrugallyFickle Traveler

A grasslands safari is something you can't miss when in East Africa

FrugallyFickle Traveler saw these animals

Cheetah
Cheetah
Elephant
Elephant
Giraffe
Giraffe
Expand/Reduce animals

FrugallyFickle Traveler did these activities

Bird watching
Bird watching
Cultural / Tribal visits
Cultural / Tribal visits
Game drives
Game drives
Shortlisted tour operators You can shortlist up to
5 tour operators