Masai Mara National Reserve


  59 reviews
This review has been seen 304 times.
Reviewed by:
  • Safari enthusiast Safari enthusiast

Spectacular Trip

Written on: January 14, 2014   |   I visited in September 2012 Located in the Southwest part of Kenya, Masai Mara is undoubtedly one of the top National Reserves in the world. My visit to the reserve did not disappoint. It took a six-hour drive from Nairobi to the Mara but there are 45 minute flights to the park.

I got the chance to see all kinds of wildlife that I could imagine from the big cats to buffalo and elephants. Staying at the Olonana Camp I had a great view of the Mara River where the famous wildebeest migration takes place. The proximity to the river gives a perfect view of the animals in their natural setting. I got to enjoy performances by the Masai community in the evening.
This was a magnificent experience for me, can't wait to go back again soon.

Tip: The best time to visit the national reserve is between July and October. This way you will be able to witness the wildebeest migration.
Quality of wildlife
Crowdedness*
Quality of lodging
Overall rating
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
12 people gave this review kudus.
Showing the 10 most recent reviews See all reviews
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Apr 17, 2017   |   Visited: Jan 2017.
Maasai Mar game reserve is indeed very rewarding in terms of game concentration, you will never be disappointed on your game drives. Come see all the Big Five and also witness the great animal migration if visiting between July and September.
Awesome park! read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
0 people gave this review kudus.

(4/5 stars) Written on: Apr 13, 2017   |   Visited: Jan 2017.
The best time to experience The great migration is between July to August. That's when a million plus wildebeest migrate. Make good friendship with the locals, they the best people to show you around, they are much familiar with the place read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
0 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Mar 23, 2017   |   Visited: Jan 2017.
Masai Mara is a awesome place to be, beautiful scenic and wild animals and the big five. Accommodation is good and meals are prefect. Visiting the Masai village was awesome. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
0 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Mar 06, 2017   |   Visited: Feb 2017.
For years I have visited Maasai Mara and it get better with time like wine, the view is amazing and the wildlife viewing is superb throughout the year.
It is quite easy to see the lions, leopards and cheetahs.
The yearly wildebeest migration is another attraction which many tourist come to Kenya to witness this amazing wonder of the world.

The Maasai community... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
2 people gave this review kudus.

(3/5 stars) Written on: Jan 23, 2017   |   Visited: Mar 2016.
Beautiful place to spend Vacations and wild safaris. From all angles one can spot animals just basking.
Maasai Mara is one of the most visited parks in Kenya. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
2 people gave this review kudus.

(5/5 stars) Written on: Jan 20, 2017   |   Visited: Oct 2016.
The Masai Mara is a destination which is suitable for the entire family and is good for first-time and returning visitors. A must-do adventure safari activity is the sunrise balloon flights safari.

read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
1 person gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Dec 15, 2016   |   Visited: Sep 2016.
Been to the Maasai Mara countless times and every time the Mara offers a new experience. The most thrilling activity here has to be the great wildebeest migration. So definitely my first stop has always been the Mara Triangle, anytime between July and December.

However, this doesn't mean that there is no much activity during other months! My favorite stops any ... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
4 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Dec 09, 2016   |   Visited: Dec 2016.
Maasai Mara Game Reserve is the best wildlife park for big cats viewing, with great concentration on game you will definitely feel your safari expectations met to your satisfaction. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
4 people gave this review kudus.

(5/5 stars) Written on: Oct 10, 2016   |   Visited: Aug 2016.
What a fabulous reserve. On our first day we saw the big 5 including lions with a kill then coming down to drink at a stream and a male lion roaring while looking for his pride. Couldn't have asked for more. It was fantastic and our guide was just wonderful. Antonio was very knowledgeable and ethical in regard to the welfare of the animals and obeying the rules of... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
4 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Jul 13, 2016   |   Visited: Oct 2011.
Masai Mara is Kenyan pride, it has all one would look for when it comes to African Safaris, the big 5,many species of birds, cultural visits, & beautiful scenery! read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
9 people gave this review kudus.
Showing the 10 most recent reviews See all reviews

Safari tour packages (771)   See all tour packages

Change currency:
This is a review for:
Masai Mara National Reserve
Enlarge map to see all parks and current weather
Quality of wildlife

Crowdedness*

Quality of lodging

Overall rating

See all 59 reviews

Koi also reviewed

Koi shared a highlight

Koi

Make a point of carrying a hat and some sun glasses to shade you from the sunlight. A pair of khaki trousers or shorts is the best attire for a day in the Mara National Reserve.

Koi saw these animals

African buffalo
African buffalo
Baboon
Baboon
Cheetah
Cheetah
Expand/Reduce animals

Koi did these activities

Bird watching
Bird watching
Cultural / Tribal visits
Cultural / Tribal visits
Game drives
Game drives
Expand/Reduce activities
Shortlisted tour operators You can shortlist up to
5 tour operators