Masai Mara National Reserve


  62 reviews
This review has been seen 298 times.
Reviewed by:
  • Safari enthusiast Safari enthusiast

The Ultimate Safari!

Written on: August 24, 2013   |   I visited in August 2012 A Maasai Mara safari is a great adventure like no other. The main attraction, of course, is the amazing Migration of wildebeests across the Mara River between August and November every year. We visited Masai Mara National Reserve in August 2012 which is considered to be the peak season for Tourism there. We checked in to Mara Serena Lodge.

The first view of Masai Mara grassland savannah was really a treat to watch. Driving through the reserve in the wilderness with the animals is something which is beyond expression. We were able to see all members of the "Big Five" (lion, leopard, African elephant, African buffalo and Black Rhinoceros).

We also took a hot air balloon safari; the view was exciting having to observe the animals in an undisturbed sight for over an hour.

The road safari was bumpy and precautionary procedures should be observed while driving. The lodges are there in variety depending on what you pay for. Our experience of Mara Serena Lodge was really an exciting one. The campsites were very quiet, nice showers and bathrooms. It stands center-stage to view the eighth wonder of the world, the legendary migration of the wildebeest.

Masai Mara is famous for the wildebeest and zebra migration to Serengeti National Park in Tanzania across the Mara River. We were extremely lucky that we were able to see the greatest wildlife show on earth of wildebeest migration, and that was something which has left deep memories to me and my friends.
Quality of wildlife
Crowdedness*
Quality of lodging
Overall rating
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
12 people gave this review kudus.
Showing the 10 most recent reviews See all reviews
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: May 02, 2017   |   Visited: Feb 2017.
Its situated south west of Kenya. 4 to 5 hours drive from Nairobi. It's next to Serengeti in Tanzania forming one ecosystem. We visited in February this year and had a full day game drive around the reserve. We were lucky to see the big five except the leopard. We also saw other animals including giraffes, hippos, crocodiles, hyenas and different bird species. We t... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
1 person gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:
** Safari guru **

(5/5 stars) Written on: Apr 30, 2017   |   Visited: Apr 2017.
Mara River gets its name from Maasai Mara which in Maasai language means the spotted land from the view of the plains having many trees and bushes that make it look spotted.

This river has its origins in the Mau escarpment of the great rift valley hence the need to protect it as an important water catchment for the Mara /Serengeti ecosystem from encroachment. I... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
5 people gave this review kudus.

(5/5 stars) Written on: Apr 28, 2017   |   Visited: Sep 2016.
Very exciting park in Kenya.

I love Maasai Mara the most famous park in Kenya with plenty of animals, starting from the small five to the big five. Even for a two-day safari in Kenya you will see many many animals.
The annual migration is just wow.

read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
1 person gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Apr 17, 2017   |   Visited: Jan 2017.
Maasai Mar game reserve is indeed very rewarding in terms of game concentration, you will never be disappointed on your game drives. Come see all the Big Five and also witness the great animal migration if visiting between July and September.
Awesome park! read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
0 people gave this review kudus.

(4/5 stars) Written on: Apr 13, 2017   |   Visited: Jan 2017.
The best time to experience The great migration is between July to August. That's when a million plus wildebeest migrate. Make good friendship with the locals, they the best people to show you around, they are much familiar with the place read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
1 person gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Mar 23, 2017   |   Visited: Jan 2017.
Masai Mara is a awesome place to be, beautiful scenic and wild animals and the big five. Accommodation is good and meals are prefect. Visiting the Masai village was awesome. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
0 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Mar 06, 2017   |   Visited: Feb 2017.
For years I have visited Maasai Mara and it get better with time like wine, the view is amazing and the wildlife viewing is superb throughout the year.
It is quite easy to see the lions, leopards and cheetahs.
The yearly wildebeest migration is another attraction which many tourist come to Kenya to witness this amazing wonder of the world.

The Maasai community... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
2 people gave this review kudus.

(3/5 stars) Written on: Jan 23, 2017   |   Visited: Mar 2016.
Beautiful place to spend Vacations and wild safaris. From all angles one can spot animals just basking.
Maasai Mara is one of the most visited parks in Kenya. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
2 people gave this review kudus.

(5/5 stars) Written on: Jan 20, 2017   |   Visited: Oct 2016.
The Masai Mara is a destination which is suitable for the entire family and is good for first-time and returning visitors. A must-do adventure safari activity is the sunrise balloon flights safari.

read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
1 person gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Dec 15, 2016   |   Visited: Sep 2016.
Been to the Maasai Mara countless times and every time the Mara offers a new experience. The most thrilling activity here has to be the great wildebeest migration. So definitely my first stop has always been the Mara Triangle, anytime between July and December.

However, this doesn't mean that there is no much activity during other months! My favorite stops any ... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
4 people gave this review kudus.
Showing the 10 most recent reviews See all reviews

Safari tour packages (790)   See all tour packages

Change currency:
This is a review for:
Masai Mara National Reserve
Enlarge map to see all parks and current weather
Quality of wildlife

Crowdedness*

Quality of lodging

Overall rating

See all 62 reviews

Davekirui also reviewed

Davekirui shared a highlight

Davekirui

Be the change that you wish to see in the world.

Davekirui saw these animals

African buffalo
African buffalo
Elephant
Elephant
Giraffe
Giraffe
Expand/Reduce animals

Davekirui did these activities

Bird watching
Bird watching
Game drives
Game drives
Hot air balloons
Hot air balloons
Expand/Reduce activities
Shortlisted tour operators You can shortlist up to
5 tour operators