Masai Mara National Reserve


  62 reviews
This review has been seen 304 times.
Reviewed by:
  • Safari enthusiast Safari enthusiast
  • Safari guru Safari guru

Masai Mara: The pearl of Africa

Written on: July 01, 2013   |   I visited in March 2013 To local or international tourists, Masai Mara has always inspired this unparalleled breath taking awe. Visiting Masai Mara is a fast addiction sooner than anyone might notice. To someone who has been to Kenyan’s premier tourist destination, the 4 to 5 hours of travel by road to Masai Mara might seem just like an hour. I have always had this pregnant expectation that my mind readily yields to when I am on a safari to Masai Mara every other time I have been to the great game reserve.
Masai Mara lies within Narok County, and it is about 270 kilometers from Kenya’s capital city. I have never taken a flight to Masai Mara because I love road traveling, it always give me an appetizing kind of experience before the actual courses within the great expanse of the reserve. However, you can also book for a scheduled flight from Wilson Airport in Nairobi; it takes roughly 45 minutes to fly from Nairobi to Masai Mara. The reserve is home greatest wildebeest migration, an annual animal migration phenomenon in between Serengeti National Park in Tanzania and the Masai Mara reserve in Kenya. Wildebeest migration attracts thousands of tourists both local and international. The thrilling experience of being and seeing live, over 1.3 million wildebeest and a host of other wild herbivores either crossing into Tanzania or Kenya is awe inspiring. Movements of these wild animals are controlled by availability of lush green vegetation on either side. If you are visiting Mara between July and August you will be treated to this lifetime experience that Kenya’s premier game reserve offers.
The expansive 430 square miles of rolling plains of the great Maasai land offers a great wild animals viewing experience. This is the reserve that Karen Blixen wrote about in her best seller ‘Out of Africa’. For movie lovers, you must have gotten a glimpse of what Masai Mara is in the movie ‘Out of Africa’ that premiered in 1985.
A lot of people come to Masai Mara to see the Big 5 which is a guaranteed experience in your African safari to Masai Mara. The rolling plains will give you close ups with the famous black-maned lions, the hippos in the great Mara river, wildebeest and elephants among other animals.
The reserve area is bordered by the Maasai community which is inarguably one of the most popular communities in Kenya, across the Africa and the world at large. These people’s lives are so close to animals both wild and domestic that it is uncommon to find them grazing their herds of livestock within some parts of the reserve. If you freak out because of ‘the roar of the king of the jungle’, Maasai herdsmen will always amaze you with their matching brevity against the lions.
During my last African Safari to Masai Mara in March 2013, I checked into Fairmont Mara for an overnight stay after fun filled safari through the driving tracks within Masai Mara. Travel and Leisure magazine has actually rated Fairmont Mara among the top 20 premier resorts in the world. From dining to accommodation services, you can surely bet that you will get fast class facilities.
When you come to this wonderful place on earth where African taste meets comfort, I can only bet on you getting addicted to visiting this place every other time you are embarking on African safari. And when you carry your camera to Masai Mara you will get the perfect shots for everlasting memories. Every time I am in Masai Mara and press my shutter release button on my Nixon camera, am adding to the countless shots that I have taken there. Masai Mara instills this kind of a mystique taste that creates insatiability in safari goers.
Quality of wildlife
Crowdedness*
Quality of lodging
Overall rating
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
11 people gave this review kudus.
Showing the 10 most recent reviews See all reviews
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: May 02, 2017   |   Visited: Feb 2017.
Its situated south west of Kenya. 4 to 5 hours drive from Nairobi. It's next to Serengeti in Tanzania forming one ecosystem. We visited in February this year and had a full day game drive around the reserve. We were lucky to see the big five except the leopard. We also saw other animals including giraffes, hippos, crocodiles, hyenas and different bird species. We t... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
0 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:
** Safari guru **

(5/5 stars) Written on: Apr 30, 2017   |   Visited: Apr 2017.
Mara River gets its name from Maasai Mara which in Maasai language means the spotted land from the view of the plains having many trees and bushes that make it look spotted.

This river has its origins in the Mau escarpment of the great rift valley hence the need to protect it as an important water catchment for the Mara /Serengeti ecosystem from encroachment. I... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
5 people gave this review kudus.

(5/5 stars) Written on: Apr 28, 2017   |   Visited: Sep 2016.
Very exciting park in Kenya.

I love Maasai Mara the most famous park in Kenya with plenty of animals, starting from the small five to the big five. Even for a two-day safari in Kenya you will see many many animals.
The annual migration is just wow.

read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
1 person gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Apr 17, 2017   |   Visited: Jan 2017.
Maasai Mar game reserve is indeed very rewarding in terms of game concentration, you will never be disappointed on your game drives. Come see all the Big Five and also witness the great animal migration if visiting between July and September.
Awesome park! read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
0 people gave this review kudus.

(4/5 stars) Written on: Apr 13, 2017   |   Visited: Jan 2017.
The best time to experience The great migration is between July to August. That's when a million plus wildebeest migrate. Make good friendship with the locals, they the best people to show you around, they are much familiar with the place read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
1 person gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Mar 23, 2017   |   Visited: Jan 2017.
Masai Mara is a awesome place to be, beautiful scenic and wild animals and the big five. Accommodation is good and meals are prefect. Visiting the Masai village was awesome. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
0 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Mar 06, 2017   |   Visited: Feb 2017.
For years I have visited Maasai Mara and it get better with time like wine, the view is amazing and the wildlife viewing is superb throughout the year.
It is quite easy to see the lions, leopards and cheetahs.
The yearly wildebeest migration is another attraction which many tourist come to Kenya to witness this amazing wonder of the world.

The Maasai community... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
2 people gave this review kudus.

(3/5 stars) Written on: Jan 23, 2017   |   Visited: Mar 2016.
Beautiful place to spend Vacations and wild safaris. From all angles one can spot animals just basking.
Maasai Mara is one of the most visited parks in Kenya. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
2 people gave this review kudus.

(5/5 stars) Written on: Jan 20, 2017   |   Visited: Oct 2016.
The Masai Mara is a destination which is suitable for the entire family and is good for first-time and returning visitors. A must-do adventure safari activity is the sunrise balloon flights safari.

read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
1 person gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Dec 15, 2016   |   Visited: Sep 2016.
Been to the Maasai Mara countless times and every time the Mara offers a new experience. The most thrilling activity here has to be the great wildebeest migration. So definitely my first stop has always been the Mara Triangle, anytime between July and December.

However, this doesn't mean that there is no much activity during other months! My favorite stops any ... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
4 people gave this review kudus.
Showing the 10 most recent reviews See all reviews

Safari tour packages (785)   See all tour packages

Change currency:
This is a review for:
Masai Mara National Reserve
Enlarge map to see all parks and current weather
Quality of wildlife

Crowdedness*

Quality of lodging

Overall rating

See all 62 reviews

Izak Mc'owiti shared a highlight

Izak Mc'owiti

The rolling plains will give you close ups with the famous black-maned lions

Izak Mc'owiti saw these animals

Hippopotamus
Hippopotamus
Lion
Lion
Wildebeest
Wildebeest
Expand/Reduce animals

Izak Mc'owiti did these activities

Bird watching
Bird watching
Cultural / Tribal visits
Cultural / Tribal visits
Game drives
Game drives
Expand/Reduce activities
Shortlisted tour operators You can shortlist up to
5 tour operators