Mana Pools National Park


  4 reviews
This review has been seen 372 times.
Reviewed by:
** Safari guru **
  • Safari enthusiast Safari enthusiast
  • Top contributor Top contributor
  • Safari guru Safari guru
  • Photo maestro Photo maestro

All on my own

Written on: September 07, 2013   |   I visited in June 2012 Foreign visitors rarely make it to Zimbabwe, put off by the country's misguided reputation. Zimbabwean people are some of the kindest and most welcoming in the world, and when they see a foreign face they're desperate to show that their reputation is undeserved. It's a very safe and beautiful country, marred by political news stories. At Mana Pools, I was the only tourist.

Located beside the lower Zambezi River, the park blossoms into a broad expanse of lakes during the rainy season. From a viewing deck I spent six hours watching the continual flow of elephants coming to access a water hole. Lone males were chased of by large herds, who respected each other's power and waited for this turn. Elephants interacted amusingly, some desperate for status but one always controlling who could access the water.

Hippos and crocodiles were regularly spotted on game drives. The former always hidden apart from a telltale snout, the latter always playing dead in the sun. Buffalo were also migrating in large numbers. They're strange creatures, shabby haired beasts who seem to define the word nomadic. But Mana Pools' star attraction is the solitude. There are no other people, just animal life going about its business. Don't come expecting to get awe inspiring photos. Put your camera away and watch another world slowly reveal itself.
Quality of wildlife
Crowdedness*
Quality of lodging
Overall rating
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
12 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Jul 23, 2014   |   Visited: Apr 2014.
I had such a fab time here! Like some of the other reviewers, I included a canoe safari and was able to get so close to the wildlife. I had the misfortune of going near the end of the rainy season, and it was so hot and muggy the day I was canoeing. But, the small time I was there has made me want to return during the dry season.
Bring a waterproof bag for your c... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
10 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Jan 12, 2014   |   Visited: Jun 2013.
Mana Pools is a UNESCO World Heritage Site on the southern bank of the Zambezi. Along this stretch the mighty river is surrounded by floodplains, islands, channels and sandbanks. The broad winding river and lush green trees and vegetation that line the bank are set against a backdrop of hazy mountains, creating magic scenery.

The wildlife is abundant. Elephants ... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
10 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:
** Safari guru **

(5/5 stars) Written on: Jun 01, 2013   |   Visited: Sep 2012.
Mana would have to be, in my humble opinion, one of the most underrated game parks in Africa. For game viewing, this is hand down as good as anything you’ll find in Kenya and Tanzania, yet the fact that it’s a pain in the butt to reach and not nearly as ‘organized’ means your feeling of being completely out in the wilderness is multiplies ten-fold. Took our group o... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
13 people gave this review kudus.

Safari tour packages (21)   See all tour packages

Change currency:
This is a review for:
Mana Pools National Park
Enlarge map to see all parks and current weather
Quality of wildlife

Crowdedness*

Quality of lodging

Overall rating

See all 4 reviews

Stephen Bailey also reviewed

Stephen Bailey shared a highlight

Stephen Bailey

Don't be scared of visiting Zimbabwe...it's a very safe country to travel in

Stephen Bailey saw these animals

African buffalo
African buffalo
Baboon
Baboon
Elephant
Elephant
Expand/Reduce animals

Stephen Bailey did these activities

Game drives
Game drives
Shortlisted tour operators You can shortlist up to
5 tour operators