Mana Pools National Park


  4 reviews
This review has been seen 423 times.
Reviewed by:
** Safari guru **
  • Safari enthusiast Safari enthusiast
  • Top contributor Top contributor
  • Safari guru Safari guru
  • African traveller African traveller
  • Photo maestro Photo maestro

Amazing uncharted territory brimming with animals!

Written on: June 01, 2013   |   I visited in September 2012 Mana would have to be, in my humble opinion, one of the most underrated game parks in Africa. For game viewing, this is hand down as good as anything you’ll find in Kenya and Tanzania, yet the fact that it’s a pain in the butt to reach and not nearly as ‘organized’ means your feeling of being completely out in the wilderness is multiplies ten-fold. Took our group of overland tourists here so we were completely self-sufficient for two days and bush camped (sorry, can’t review any camps). We did not see a single tourist-filled 4WD the entire time we were in there, only hordes of hippos, zebras, hyenas, wild dogs and an unbelievable amount of crocodiles in the Zambezi. The elephants were some of the largest we’d ever seen in Africa, so perhaps they also appreciate the tranquility here.

The scenery here is absolutely breathtaking and the fact it is not as visited as Hwange makes it infinitely more attractive...to us tour guides anyway! Seriously, park yourself up by the riverside, enjoy the mountainous backdrop and just be patient, this is one animal kingdom where the animals will all, at some stage, find you instead.
Quality of wildlife
Crowdedness*
Quality of lodging
Lodging not used
Overall rating
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
13 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Jul 23, 2014   |   Visited: Apr 2014.
I had such a fab time here! Like some of the other reviewers, I included a canoe safari and was able to get so close to the wildlife. I had the misfortune of going near the end of the rainy season, and it was so hot and muggy the day I was canoeing. But, the small time I was there has made me want to return during the dry season.
Bring a waterproof bag for your c... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
10 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Jan 12, 2014   |   Visited: Jun 2013.
Mana Pools is a UNESCO World Heritage Site on the southern bank of the Zambezi. Along this stretch the mighty river is surrounded by floodplains, islands, channels and sandbanks. The broad winding river and lush green trees and vegetation that line the bank are set against a backdrop of hazy mountains, creating magic scenery.

The wildlife is abundant. Elephants ... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
10 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:
** Safari guru **

(4/5 stars) Written on: Sep 07, 2013   |   Visited: Jun 2012.
Foreign visitors rarely make it to Zimbabwe, put off by the country's misguided reputation. Zimbabwean people are some of the kindest and most welcoming in the world, and when they see a foreign face they're desperate to show that their reputation is undeserved. It's a very safe and beautiful country, marred by political news stories. At Mana Pools, I was the only ... read more

I saw

Elephant
Hippopotamus
African buffalo
Baboon
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
12 people gave this review kudus.

Safari tour packages (21)   See all tour packages

Change currency:
This is a review for:
Mana Pools National Park
Enlarge map to see all parks and current weather
Quality of wildlife

Crowdedness*

Quality of lodging

Overall rating

See all 4 reviews

Laurapattara also reviewed

Laurapattara shared a highlight

Laurapattara

Rent a fully-equipped 4WD from Lusaka and head here on your own!

Laurapattara saw these animals

African buffalo
African buffalo
Baboon
Baboon
Cheetah
Cheetah
Expand/Reduce animals

Laurapattara did these activities

Bird watching
Bird watching
Night drives
Night drives
Photography
Photography
Shortlisted tour operators You can shortlist up to
5 tour operators