Liwondé National Park


  3 reviews
This review has been seen 182 times.
Reviewed by:
  • Safari tour operator Tour operator

If elephants are your favourite, Bushmans is the place

Written on: February 23, 2016   |   I visited in November 2015 I visited Liwonde for the first time in early November 2015. I thoroughly enjoyed my time in Liwonde. I went on one game drive and one boat safari. The game drive was not particularly good - unfortunately, we didn't see much. Although we saw a hyena which is quite rare for Liwonde.

Although the game drive wasn't up to scratch the boat safari was incredible - it's great to get so close to hippos, crocs and elephants. It's a completely different experience to viewing them from a vehicle.

I stayed at Bushmans Baobabs. The food was exceptional and there was plenty of it. The accommodation fits so well with the bush experience. The highlight of the trip was witnessing a herd of elephants stroll through the lodge grounds - apparently this is a regular occurrence.

I look forward to going back later this year.
Quality of wildlife
Crowdedness*
Quality of lodging
Overall rating
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
8 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(3/5 stars) Written on: Jan 28, 2016   |   Visited: Dec 2015.
I had the pleasure of visiting Liwonde National Park in Malawi for two nights in December 2015. We stayed at 'Bushmans Camp' lodge, which I was very impressed with as a budget accommodation option. The food was particularly impressive. Wildlife could literally walk right through your camp at any point! I could have spent weeks on their viewing platform looking out ... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
11 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:
** Safari guru **

(4/5 stars) Written on: May 18, 2013   |   Visited: Apr 2012.
After spending a week relaxing at the modest but good Lake Malawi Camp we decided to head to Liwonde as we were sorely missing our game drives! We based ourselves at the Liwonde Safari Camp which was just outside the park gates. Greta camp, BEST showers and yummy food AND an almost walk-through animal highway! Apparently the camp has since built a viewing platform ... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
11 people gave this review kudus.

Safari tour packages (12)   See all tour packages

Change currency:
This is a review for:
Liwondé National Park
Enlarge map to see all parks and current weather
Quality of wildlife

Crowdedness*

Quality of lodging

Overall rating

See all 3 reviews

Rory is part of the team at

Rory shared a highlight

Rory

The viewing platform at Bushmans is great; watch elephants by day and shooting stars by night

Rory saw these animals

Hyena
Hyena

Rory did these activities

Bird watching
Bird watching
Boating / canoeing
Boating / canoeing
Shortlisted tour operators You can shortlist up to
5 tour operators