Liwonde National Park


  3 reviews
This review has been seen 187 times.
Reviewed by:
  • Safari enthusiast Safari enthusiast

Rustic and real

Written on: January 28, 2016   |   I visited in December 2015 I had the pleasure of visiting Liwonde National Park in Malawi for two nights in December 2015. We stayed at 'Bushmans Camp' lodge, which I was very impressed with as a budget accommodation option. The food was particularly impressive. Wildlife could literally walk right through your camp at any point! I could have spent weeks on their viewing platform looking out at the elephants in the distance while sipping on a sundowner!

We also did a boat safari. As it was my first boat safari, I didn't really know what to expect...we ended up cruising up and down the river searching for hippos, crocs and elephants. We saw lots of all of these. There were also many water birds which were quite beautiful.

In the end, we were unfortunately limited on time and didn't get to explore much deeper into the park. I've definitely been on safaris with more variety of wildlife and fauna - however, I felt that Liwonde had a special remote charm. I wouldn't hesitate to return with some good company. :)
Quality of wildlife
Crowdedness*
Quality of lodging
Overall rating
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
10 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(3/5 stars) Written on: Feb 23, 2016   |   Visited: Nov 2015.
I visited Liwonde for the first time in early November 2015. I thoroughly enjoyed my time in Liwonde. I went on one game drive and one boat safari. The game drive was not particularly good - unfortunately, we didn't see much. Although we saw a hyena which is quite rare for Liwonde.

Although the game drive wasn't up to scratch the boat safari was incredible - it... read more

I saw

Hyena
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
7 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:
** Safari guru **

(4/5 stars) Written on: May 18, 2013   |   Visited: Apr 2012.
After spending a week relaxing at the modest but good Lake Malawi Camp we decided to head to Liwonde as we were sorely missing our game drives! We based ourselves at the Liwonde Safari Camp which was just outside the park gates. Greta camp, BEST showers and yummy food AND an almost walk-through animal highway! Apparently the camp has since built a viewing platform ... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
11 people gave this review kudus.

Safari tour packages (12)   See all tour packages

Change currency:
This is a review for:
Liwonde National Park
Enlarge map to see all parks and current weather
Quality of wildlife

Crowdedness*

Quality of lodging

Overall rating

See all 3 reviews

Lelocke also reviewed

Lelocke shared a highlight

Lelocke

Watching the elephants walk right through your camp at night!

Lelocke saw these animals

Baboon
Baboon
Elephant
Elephant
Hippopotamus
Hippopotamus
Expand/Reduce animals

Lelocke did these activities

Bird watching
Bird watching
Boating / canoeing
Boating / canoeing
Shortlisted tour operators You can shortlist up to
5 tour operators