Lake Manyara National Park


  22 reviews
This review has been seen 267 times.
Reviewed by:
  • Safari tour operator Tour operator

Game Drive at Lake Manyara NP Tanzania

Written on: January 13, 2015   |   I visited in June 2014 It takes about 2 hours to drive from Arusha, the 'Gateway' to the Serengeti to Lake Manyara on a well paved road. Lake Manyara is a scenic gem and lies between the eastern and western escarpments of the Rift Valley.

The Lake Manyara area is known for its resident forest that fed by an underground water forest that keeps the park green throughout the year. This attracts both wetland and migratory birds. The lake is dominated by shallow alkaline-saline soda waters that evaporate from the Rift Valley's heat leaving high concentrations of sodium carbonate and saline (salt) . This creates an ideal environment for micro-organism's to thrive that produces blue-green benthic algae. This attracts flamingos that feed on it. In addition to flamingos, Manyara National Parks's common species include large troops of baboons, vervet monkeys, blue / syke monkeys, buffalos, giraffes, tree climbing lions, kudus, wildebeest, zebras, hippos, elephants, Grant and Thomson gazelles, lions, impalas, cheetahs,hyrax, elands, bush backs, warthogs, leopards, waterbucks, and dik diks. Manyara also has diverse bird species. Night game drives can be booked in advance.

Mto wa Mbu, a town near to the national park, has a population of 18,000 people from 85 different tribe, making it one of the most culturally rich towns in Africa. This cultural confluence has led to it becoming the center for a variety of multicultural activities. You have village walk, bicycle around the lake and to waterfalls for the well fit, canoe and tour a local brewery.
Quality of wildlife
Crowdedness*
Quality of lodging
Overall rating
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
9 people gave this review kudus.
Showing the 10 most recent reviews See all reviews
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Sep 19, 2016   |   Visited: Jan 2016.
Lake Manyara National Park that the name of the park that's found in rift valley. It was amazing tour in this park of northern Tanzania, we saw many birds and animals. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
2 people gave this review kudus.

(5/5 stars) Written on: Dec 23, 2015   |   Visited: Jul 2015.
Lake Manyara is a very picturesque and is a scenic beauty and is among the must visit parks on a Tanzanian safari. The park is well known for its tree-climbing lions and its vast array of birds. You will always cherish the moment when a lion king is resting on an Acacia tree and you witness and capture the moment.
Lake Manyara is not a very big park. It's a relat... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
9 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:
** Safari guru **

(5/5 stars) Written on: Dec 21, 2015   |   Visited: Jan 2014.
What I read abput Lake Manyara was very nice and make me curious to go to there. And, it is very nice to visit.
Coming out of the rain forest, crossing a river by car, and then you're in the park. Baboons on the car later lots of elephants we saw walking. There is a big quagmire and we wait there. A few minutes later the first elephants are playing in the mud. An... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
9 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:
** Safari guru **

(5/5 stars) Written on: Dec 18, 2015   |   Visited: Feb 2013.
Lake Manyara a place also with many different animals and not so very busy. Coming out of the woods, you see the lake and the view is marvelous. During this day we didn't see any other cars. Very nice to be there alone.

Monkeys, wildebeest, buffalo, elephants, gazelle. (Thank Joseph you saw him) all kind of birds, giraffe and more.

Loveley place to stay.
... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
6 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(3/5 stars) Written on: Jun 20, 2015   |   Visited: Jun 2015.
Ok, so we only spent a few hours here, but I was in awe of all the bird life. If you like pelicans, flamingos and other big birds, this is the park for you. I did not see any tree climbing lions. :( read more

I saw

Warthog
Zebra
Baboon
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
10 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: May 26, 2015   |   Visited: Jan 2014.
Lake Manyara is a scenic gem with the eastern and western escarpments of the Rift Valley surrounding it. I have been there many times.

The national park is known for its resident forest that is fed by an underground water forest, keeping the park green throughout the year. This attracts both migratory and wetland birds. Two-thirds of the lake is dominated by sha... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
9 people gave this review kudus.

(4/5 stars) Written on: Jan 02, 2015   |   Visited: Jun 2014.
In our 8 days Safari, Lake Manyara was one of the National Park that we visited. We had one night only inside Lake Manyara and it sounded enough. This is one of the parks that, when we entered it, we started to enjoy ground water forest where a lot of baboon troops are around the way to greet you.

As we were doing game drive; large buffalo, wildebeest and zebra ... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
9 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Dec 22, 2014   |   Visited: Jan 2011.
A day in Lake Manyara is just perfect. It allows you to see the lake, look for tree-climbing lions and, if you're an avid bird watcher, you have to spent a few hours watching the myriad bird life. Due to its small size, it is crowded, especially at the entry gate. read more

I saw

Vervet monkey
Warthog
Zebra
Baboon
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
10 people gave this review kudus.

(4/5 stars) Written on: Oct 29, 2014   |   Visited: Oct 2014.
Manyara National Park is a small park in Tanzania (around 350 kmq) very famous for its biodiversity. We have the forest, the plain and the lake.
There is a very high baboons concentration, in fact we spent long time watching baboons grooming, eating, playing and making noise everywhere in the park. The hippo pool has a nice view point, you can enjoy your time and... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
13 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Oct 21, 2014   |   Visited: Apr 2014.
We only spent the better part of a day here, but we saw so much bird life, it was worth it! I wasn't prepared for the volume of pelicans, flamingos and more that were on the lake.
The park is on the small side, and it was pretty crowded, so I wouldn't say it was my favourite place, but it deserves a stop, especially if you're a bird-lover! read more

I saw

Elephant
Vervet monkey
Warthog
Baboon
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
12 people gave this review kudus.
Showing the 10 most recent reviews See all reviews

Safari tour packages (501)   See all tour packages

Change currency:
This is a review for:
Lake Manyara National Park
Enlarge map to see all parks and current weather
Quality of wildlife

Crowdedness*

Quality of lodging

Overall rating

See all 22 reviews

Ken Firestone is part of the team at

Ken Firestone also reviewed

Ken Firestone shared a highlight

Ken Firestone

Lake Manyara is very accessible and the you can get relatively close to the exotic birds along its shoreline. Watching its to ups of baboons at a very close distance carrying their young on their backs and bellies is fascinating.

Ken Firestone saw these animals

African buffalo
African buffalo
Baboon
Baboon
Elephant
Elephant
Expand/Reduce animals

Ken Firestone did these activities

Bird watching
Bird watching
Boating / canoeing
Boating / canoeing
Bush walks
Bush walks
Expand/Reduce activities
Shortlisted tour operators You can shortlist up to
5 tour operators