Laikipia Plateau


  5 reviews
This review has been seen 408 times.
Reviewed by:
** Safari guru **
  • Safari enthusiast Safari enthusiast

A wild yet romantic haven

Written on: May 24, 2013   |   I visited in May 2013 We made our last stop In Kenya at the Laikipia Plateau National Reserve. It's found in a remote and truly wild corner of Kenya on part of the renowned Masai Mara ecosystem on Laikipia plateau. We got there by sunrise and quickly began our walking safari for our one-day adventure. We were greeted by one of the friendly tour guides who was going to show us around the spectacularly beautiful setting of the reserve. Through the walk we saw two main rivers found in the reserve the Ewaso Ng’iro and ewasa narok that run through the area attracting a rich variety of wildlife, including the second largest population of elephants in Kenya. There was also a variety of rare and endangered species which include African wild dog, Grevy’s zebra and the semi-aquatic sitatunga antelope, to see this unique wildlife was definitely a special moment.
The vast open plains in the shadow of the snow-capped silhouette of mount Kenya created a tranquil and secluded setting, where we encountered abundant wildlife. This was like a wild yet romantic haven. After enjoying the vast wildlife we went on an enthusiastic, exhilarating horse ride through one of Kenya’s most breathtaking landscapes. Each horse had been selected for its steady temperament and expertly trained, making adventure suitable for even the most inexperience riders. The view of the Mount Kenya was spectacular.
After the exhilarating horse ride, we spent the rest of the evening at the carnivore which a found to be a very jovial venue which was hailed as the ultimate “Beast of a feast”. I, being barbecue lover, enjoyed their very best roasted meat which was properly done to perfection on Masai swords over huge charcoal pit and served onto cast iron plates. All in all the Laikipia national reserve is a spectacular place.
Quality of wildlife
Crowdedness*
Quality of lodging
Overall rating
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
12 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Jul 08, 2015   |   Visited: Nov 2014.
Quite possibly my favorite spot in the whole of Kenya, the Laikipia Plateau has stunning landscapes and incredible game. Rare species such as Grevy's zebra, Jackson's hartebeest, reticulated giraffe and Somali ostrich can be found throughout the area, often with the breathtaking backdrop of Mt. Kenya's snow-capped peak.

Even more interesting is the land-sharing ... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
9 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(3/5 stars) Written on: Jun 30, 2015   |   Visited: Jul 2014.
The Laikipia plains are covered by open grasslands and basalt hills, with game roaming freely. This area is ideal for visitors who are interested in an excellent combination of culture and nature. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
10 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Sep 17, 2013   |   Visited: Sep 2012.
During the month of September, 2012, my friends and I drove to Laikipia Plateau by road from Nanyuki. Laikipia plateau is positioned amid the superb snow-capped Mount Kenya and the foot hills of the Aberdares. On our way there, we saw massive ranches that were mostly privately owned as we were told by our tour guide, though, now dedicated to conserving wildlife.
... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
13 people gave this review kudus.

(4/5 stars) Written on: May 11, 2013   |   Visited: Aug 2012.
A batch of friends and I took a drive from Kenya’s capital, Nairobi to the Lewa Conservancy on the Laikipia Plateau. From the Nyeri/Nanyuki road, you have the magnificent view of the towering Mt Kenya on east side and the rolling Aberdare ranges on the other. Further, into the plateau, you get a magnificent view of vast grassland that surprises with the odd sightin... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
11 people gave this review kudus.

Safari tour packages (36)   See all tour packages

Change currency:
This is a review for:
Laikipia Plateau
Enlarge map to see all parks and current weather
Quality of wildlife

Crowdedness*

Quality of lodging

Overall rating

See all 5 reviews

Lynn also reviewed

Lynn shared a highlight

Lynn

Before you go on a safari research to find their best seasons

Lynn saw these animals

Cheetah
Cheetah
Elephant
Elephant
Giraffe
Giraffe
Expand/Reduce animals

Lynn did these activities

Horseback riding
Horseback riding
Bush walks
Bush walks
Trekking
Trekking
Shortlisted tour operators You can shortlist up to
5 tour operators