Laikipia Plateau


  5 reviews
This review has been seen 436 times.
Reviewed by:
  • Safari enthusiast Safari enthusiast

Amazing Savannah

Written on: May 11, 2013   |   I visited in August 2012 A batch of friends and I took a drive from Kenya’s capital, Nairobi to the Lewa Conservancy on the Laikipia Plateau. From the Nyeri/Nanyuki road, you have the magnificent view of the towering Mt Kenya on east side and the rolling Aberdare ranges on the other. Further, into the plateau, you get a magnificent view of vast grassland that surprises with the odd sighting a herd of giraffes, zebras, gazelles and the occasional hyena.

Having spent most of day driving through the plateau, we finally arrived at the conservancy. The most amazing thing about this, and the other conservancies in the area, is the sheer vastness of the land on which it stands. Lewa sits on 30,000 hectares of savannah.

At Lewa, we took a guided bush walk through the grassland and enjoyed the peace of morning breeze against a backdrop of gazelles, zebras and wildebeest grazing on the dewy morning grass. The Ngare Ndare forest was amazing with its streams and bird life and we had a great picnic by the river. On the second day, we took a game drive and were able to see more of the expansive ranch and sight the more of the animals we dare not get close to, on a walk. The conservancy has lots of gazelles, zebra, rhino, buffalo, and even elephant.

On a clear morning, you can enjoy the amazing view of snow at the peak of Mount Kenya against a backdrop of sunrise from the east. It is an amazing site!

All in all the guides on both the game drive and the walk were great and knowledgeable and the accommodation and food at the campsite A+. The amazing thing is proceeds of fees for the park go into conserving endangered species in the area.
Quality of wildlife
Crowdedness*
Quality of lodging
Overall rating
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
11 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Jul 08, 2015   |   Visited: Nov 2014.
Quite possibly my favorite spot in the whole of Kenya, the Laikipia Plateau has stunning landscapes and incredible game. Rare species such as Grevy's zebra, Jackson's hartebeest, reticulated giraffe and Somali ostrich can be found throughout the area, often with the breathtaking backdrop of Mt. Kenya's snow-capped peak.

Even more interesting is the land-sharing ... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
9 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(3/5 stars) Written on: Jun 30, 2015   |   Visited: Jul 2014.
The Laikipia plains are covered by open grasslands and basalt hills, with game roaming freely. This area is ideal for visitors who are interested in an excellent combination of culture and nature. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
10 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Sep 17, 2013   |   Visited: Sep 2012.
During the month of September, 2012, my friends and I drove to Laikipia Plateau by road from Nanyuki. Laikipia plateau is positioned amid the superb snow-capped Mount Kenya and the foot hills of the Aberdares. On our way there, we saw massive ranches that were mostly privately owned as we were told by our tour guide, though, now dedicated to conserving wildlife.
... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
13 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:
** Safari guru **

(5/5 stars) Written on: May 24, 2013   |   Visited: May 2013.
We made our last stop In Kenya at the Laikipia Plateau National Reserve. It's found in a remote and truly wild corner of Kenya on part of the renowned Masai Mara ecosystem on Laikipia plateau. We got there by sunrise and quickly began our walking safari for our one-day adventure. We were greeted by one of the friendly tour guides who was going to show us around th... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
12 people gave this review kudus.

Safari tour packages (36)   See all tour packages

Change currency:
This is a review for:
Laikipia Plateau
Enlarge map to see all parks and current weather
Quality of wildlife

Crowdedness*

Quality of lodging

Overall rating

See all 5 reviews

LoiseK also reviewed

LoiseK shared a highlight

LoiseK

Temparatures can be pretty high. Wear light clothing and a wide straw hat.

LoiseK saw these animals

African buffalo
African buffalo
Elephant
Elephant
Giraffe
Giraffe
Expand/Reduce animals

LoiseK did these activities

Game drives
Game drives
Photography
Photography
Shortlisted tour operators You can shortlist up to
5 tour operators