Laikipia Plateau


  5 reviews
This review has been seen 240 times.
Reviewed by:
  • Travel writer Travel writer
  • Safari guru Safari guru
  • African traveller African traveller

Stunning beauty - Kenya's Laikipia Plateau

Written on: July 08, 2015   |   I visited in November 2014 Quite possibly my favorite spot in the whole of Kenya, the Laikipia Plateau has stunning landscapes and incredible game. Rare species such as Grevy's zebra, Jackson's hartebeest, reticulated giraffe and Somali ostrich can be found throughout the area, often with the breathtaking backdrop of Mt. Kenya's snow-capped peak.

Even more interesting is the land-sharing model that exists in conservancies throughout the Plateau. Domesticated and wild animals share land in many instances, the former helping to fund continued existence of habitat for the latter. It's innovative and may be a large part of the future of African wildlife.

Two other places of note are in the Ol Pejeta Conservancy. It is one of the only places on earth to see the last remaining northern white rhino. A sad visit for sure, but a good and poignant reminder of why species and habitat preservation are so important. There is also a chimpanzee sanctuary in Ol Pejeta. While not endemic to Kenya, the Sweetwaters Chimpanzee Sanctuary allows visitors to see rescued chimps in a large natural enclosure while helping to support the rehabilitation of the animals.
Quality of wildlife
Crowdedness*
Quality of lodging
Overall rating
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
9 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(3/5 stars) Written on: Jun 30, 2015   |   Visited: Jul 2014.
The Laikipia plains are covered by open grasslands and basalt hills, with game roaming freely. This area is ideal for visitors who are interested in an excellent combination of culture and nature. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
10 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Sep 17, 2013   |   Visited: Sep 2012.
During the month of September, 2012, my friends and I drove to Laikipia Plateau by road from Nanyuki. Laikipia plateau is positioned amid the superb snow-capped Mount Kenya and the foot hills of the Aberdares. On our way there, we saw massive ranches that were mostly privately owned as we were told by our tour guide, though, now dedicated to conserving wildlife.
... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
13 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:
** Safari guru **

(5/5 stars) Written on: May 24, 2013   |   Visited: May 2013.
We made our last stop In Kenya at the Laikipia Plateau National Reserve. It's found in a remote and truly wild corner of Kenya on part of the renowned Masai Mara ecosystem on Laikipia plateau. We got there by sunrise and quickly began our walking safari for our one-day adventure. We were greeted by one of the friendly tour guides who was going to show us around th... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
12 people gave this review kudus.

(4/5 stars) Written on: May 11, 2013   |   Visited: Aug 2012.
A batch of friends and I took a drive from Kenya’s capital, Nairobi to the Lewa Conservancy on the Laikipia Plateau. From the Nyeri/Nanyuki road, you have the magnificent view of the towering Mt Kenya on east side and the rolling Aberdare ranges on the other. Further, into the plateau, you get a magnificent view of vast grassland that surprises with the odd sightin... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
11 people gave this review kudus.

Safari tour packages (36)   See all tour packages

Change currency:
This is a review for:
Laikipia Plateau
Enlarge map to see all parks and current weather
Quality of wildlife

Crowdedness*

Quality of lodging

Overall rating

See all 5 reviews

Gretchen also reviewed

Gretchen shared a highlight

Gretchen

An amazing diversity of wildlife within a stunning landscape

Gretchen saw these animals

Rhinoceros
Rhinoceros
Chimpanzee
Chimpanzee
Elephant
Elephant
Expand/Reduce animals

Gretchen did these activities

Horseback riding
Horseback riding
Bird watching
Bird watching
Bush walks
Bush walks
Expand/Reduce activities
Shortlisted tour operators You can shortlist up to
5 tour operators