Laikipia Plateau


  5 reviews
This review has been seen 383 times.
Reviewed by:
  • Safari enthusiast Safari enthusiast

The Mind Blowing Laikipia Plateau

Written on: September 17, 2013   |   I visited in September 2012 During the month of September, 2012, my friends and I drove to Laikipia Plateau by road from Nanyuki. Laikipia plateau is positioned amid the superb snow-capped Mount Kenya and the foot hills of the Aberdares. On our way there, we saw massive ranches that were mostly privately owned as we were told by our tour guide, though, now dedicated to conserving wildlife.

We visited a number of large conservancies such as: Lekurruki Group Ranch, Loisaba Wilderness, Borana Ranch, IL N’gwesi Group Ranch, Lewa Wilderness Conservancy, Sosian Ranch, and Sabuk Wilderness. Most of these conservancies differ from one to the other, with some being used for educational purposes as well as research and projects, and the others being run by the Masai and Samburu communities. While moving around riding camels, we noticed some elephants on foot just roaming around.

We were surprised to see that the plateau had more species, mostly endangered, than anywhere we had visited within East Africa. Some of the rare species we saw included wild dogs, Jackson’s Hartebeest and the Grevy’s zebra. Some of the other species we saw were the Somali ostriches, Beisa oryxes, reticulated giraffes, gerenuks, lions, cheetahs and leopards, and numerous impalas and gazelles. There were also waterbucks, greater kudus, buffaloes and even giant forest hogs among other species, together with over 200 birds' species.
Quality of wildlife
Crowdedness*
Quality of lodging
Overall rating
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
13 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Jul 08, 2015   |   Visited: Nov 2014.
Quite possibly my favorite spot in the whole of Kenya, the Laikipia Plateau has stunning landscapes and incredible game. Rare species such as Grevy's zebra, Jackson's hartebeest, reticulated giraffe and Somali ostrich can be found throughout the area, often with the breathtaking backdrop of Mt. Kenya's snow-capped peak.

Even more interesting is the land-sharing ... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
9 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(3/5 stars) Written on: Jun 30, 2015   |   Visited: Jul 2014.
The Laikipia plains are covered by open grasslands and basalt hills, with game roaming freely. This area is ideal for visitors who are interested in an excellent combination of culture and nature. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
10 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:
** Safari guru **

(5/5 stars) Written on: May 24, 2013   |   Visited: May 2013.
We made our last stop In Kenya at the Laikipia Plateau National Reserve. It's found in a remote and truly wild corner of Kenya on part of the renowned Masai Mara ecosystem on Laikipia plateau. We got there by sunrise and quickly began our walking safari for our one-day adventure. We were greeted by one of the friendly tour guides who was going to show us around th... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
12 people gave this review kudus.

(4/5 stars) Written on: May 11, 2013   |   Visited: Aug 2012.
A batch of friends and I took a drive from Kenya’s capital, Nairobi to the Lewa Conservancy on the Laikipia Plateau. From the Nyeri/Nanyuki road, you have the magnificent view of the towering Mt Kenya on east side and the rolling Aberdare ranges on the other. Further, into the plateau, you get a magnificent view of vast grassland that surprises with the odd sightin... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
11 people gave this review kudus.

Safari tour packages (36)   See all tour packages

Change currency:
This is a review for:
Laikipia Plateau
Enlarge map to see all parks and current weather
Quality of wildlife

Crowdedness*

Quality of lodging

Overall rating

See all 5 reviews

Mwas also reviewed

Mwas shared a highlight

Mwas

Prepare to see what many would want to see!!!

Mwas saw these animals

African buffalo
African buffalo
Rhinoceros
Rhinoceros
Bushbaby
Bushbaby
Expand/Reduce animals

Mwas did these activities

Horseback riding
Horseback riding
Bird watching
Bird watching
Bush walks
Bush walks
Expand/Reduce activities
Shortlisted tour operators You can shortlist up to
5 tour operators