Kidepo Valley National Park


  5 reviews
This review has been seen 265 times.
Reviewed by:
  • Safari tour operator Tour operator
  • Safari guru Safari guru

Beautiful Park!

Written on: January 19, 2016   |   I visited in August 2015 Abacus African Team took time off and visited Kidepo Valley National Park and it was one of our favorite activities we did in 2015. It is a bit of a drive to get there, but so worth it.

The scenery is absolutely mind blowing but even more amazing is the fact that it is still relatively unvisited so you literally feel like you have the park to yourself. We were there in high season (July/August) and across two game drives we only saw one other vehicle. The quantity of animal sightings was not even in the same ballpark as Murchison Falls, but when we did see them, the combination of the animals, scenery and perfect lighting made the quality of the experiences unreal every time, almost magical. I highly recommend doing a game drive later in the day as the lighting of the sun setting was phenomenal and really brought out the true beauty of Kidepo. We enjoyed this game drive far more than our morning one. The entire experience at Kidepo is the whole package and you really can't beat it!

Also, Kidepo valley National Park is the only park in Uganda that you find the big five on your game drive. Its the most beautiful park I have been to.
Quality of wildlife
Crowdedness*
Quality of lodging
Overall rating
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
7 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:
** Safari guru **

(4/5 stars) Written on: Dec 12, 2016   |   Visited: Nov 2015.
I visited Kidepo in November 2015. It was about an hour flight from Entebbe and is probably the most expensive park to visit due to its remote location.
I enjoyed the Apoka Lodge. The pool and the vistas are stunning and you really do feel like you've got the park to yourself.
In terms of quantity of wildlife, I much preferred QENP. We hardly saw any giraffe and... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
2 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:
** Safari guru **

(4/5 stars) Written on: Jan 13, 2016   |   Visited: Oct 2015.
I wasn't prepared for just how solitary this park would be. I visited in November and, while the volume of wildlife was underwhelming, the lack of commercial vehicles was refreshing.
We stayed at Apoka and the game drives were shared, which is also something to consider. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
10 people gave this review kudus.

(5/5 stars) Written on: Dec 04, 2015   |   Visited: Nov 2015.
I've been a tour guide for over 10 years, and Kidepo Valley National Park is my favorite park in Uganda. It's isolated and private and you cannot be the landscape. If you come visit and stay at Apoke Lodge, I'll gladly show you the beauty of this park! read more

I saw

Pangolin
Lion
Serval
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
9 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Sep 25, 2015   |   Visited: Jan 2008.
Perhaps the most difficult to reach of Uganda's parks, but absolutely worth the trouble. We ran the lodge here 2008, and while we (sadly) haven't been back since, the private outdoor double-wide bathtubs overlooking the savanna still fill me with happiness and relaxation just by remembering.
Slightly more crowded than it was during less secure times, you still ma... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
9 people gave this review kudus.

Safari tour packages (16)   See all tour packages

Change currency:
This is a review for:
Kidepo Valley National Park
Enlarge map to see all parks and current weather
Quality of wildlife

Crowdedness*

Quality of lodging

Overall rating

See all 5 reviews

Abacus African Vacations is part of the team at

Abacus African Vacations also reviewed

Abacus African Vacations shared a highlight

Abacus African Vacations

Wonderful game drive with amazing sightings

Abacus African Vacations saw these animals

African buffalo
African buffalo
Baboon
Baboon
Cheetah
Cheetah
Expand/Reduce animals

Abacus African Vacations did these activities

Bush walks
Bush walks
Cultural / Tribal visits
Cultural / Tribal visits
Game drives
Game drives
Expand/Reduce activities
Shortlisted tour operators You can shortlist up to
5 tour operators