Kidepo Valley National Park


  5 reviews
This review has been seen 304 times.
Reviewed by:
  • Non-profit Non-profit
  • Safari guru Safari guru

Private Paradise

Written on: September 25, 2015   |   I visited in January 2008 Perhaps the most difficult to reach of Uganda's parks, but absolutely worth the trouble. We ran the lodge here 2008, and while we (sadly) haven't been back since, the private outdoor double-wide bathtubs overlooking the savanna still fill me with happiness and relaxation just by remembering.
Slightly more crowded than it was during less secure times, you still may be one of less than a dozen vehicles on 1,400 square kilometers.
The best lion-viewing in the country; the best secret sun-downer spots; the largest buffalo herd; red-necked ostrich; elephants that still congregate in immense extended families and answer back to you when you say hello.
So close to Kenya and Sudan, adding this stop to your safari in Uganda is like adding a second country - wildlife and vistas here are different than anywhere in Uganda.
Quality of wildlife
Crowdedness*
Quality of lodging
Overall rating
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
9 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:
** Safari guru **

(4/5 stars) Written on: Dec 12, 2016   |   Visited: Nov 2015.
I visited Kidepo in November 2015. It was about an hour flight from Entebbe and is probably the most expensive park to visit due to its remote location.
I enjoyed the Apoka Lodge. The pool and the vistas are stunning and you really do feel like you've got the park to yourself.
In terms of quantity of wildlife, I much preferred QENP. We hardly saw any giraffe and... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
2 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Jan 19, 2016   |   Visited: Aug 2015.
Abacus African Team took time off and visited Kidepo Valley National Park and it was one of our favorite activities we did in 2015. It is a bit of a drive to get there, but so worth it.

The scenery is absolutely mind blowing but even more amazing is the fact that it is still relatively unvisited so you literally feel like you have the park to yourself. We were... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
7 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:
** Safari guru **

(4/5 stars) Written on: Jan 13, 2016   |   Visited: Oct 2015.
I wasn't prepared for just how solitary this park would be. I visited in November and, while the volume of wildlife was underwhelming, the lack of commercial vehicles was refreshing.
We stayed at Apoka and the game drives were shared, which is also something to consider. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
10 people gave this review kudus.

(5/5 stars) Written on: Dec 04, 2015   |   Visited: Nov 2015.
I've been a tour guide for over 10 years, and Kidepo Valley National Park is my favorite park in Uganda. It's isolated and private and you cannot be the landscape. If you come visit and stay at Apoke Lodge, I'll gladly show you the beauty of this park! read more

I saw

Pangolin
Lion
Serval
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
9 people gave this review kudus.

Safari tour packages (16)   See all tour packages

Change currency:
This is a review for:
Kidepo Valley National Park
Enlarge map to see all parks and current weather
Quality of wildlife

Crowdedness*

Quality of lodging

Overall rating

See all 5 reviews

Rebecca also reviewed

Rebecca shared a highlight

Rebecca

The duiker who escaped the lions by diving into our pool in the middle of a BBQ!

Rebecca saw these animals

Aardvark
Aardvark
African buffalo
African buffalo
African caracal
African caracal
Expand/Reduce animals

Rebecca did these activities

Bird watching
Bird watching
Bush walks
Bush walks
Game drives
Game drives
Expand/Reduce activities
Shortlisted tour operators You can shortlist up to
5 tour operators