Hwange National Park


  5 reviews
This review has been seen 429 times.
Reviewed by:
** Safari guru **
  • Safari enthusiast Safari enthusiast
  • Top contributor Top contributor
  • Safari guru Safari guru
  • African traveller African traveller
  • Photo maestro Photo maestro

Ideal for those short on time: Vic Falls & Elephants in one swift drive!

Written on: May 17, 2013   |   I visited in March 2010 Hwange’s a brilliant park located not too far from Victoria Falls making it the ideal game park should you wish to get the best of Africa in one short visit. This was the first ever game park I visited, before returning to Africa to work for three years.

We’d originally planned to do a day trip here but were advised against it because the roads from Vic Falls were not very good at the time. Totally happy that we managed to squeeze in a 3-day trip instead, because the park really deserved it. Our first game sighting was an elephant on the road out of Vic Falls on the Zambian side and we spent like an hour looking at him...not knowing that we’d see absolutely huge herds for the nest three days! (lol)

Anyway, I remember falling in love with this park and even in retrospect I’d rate it as one of the best. A LOT more luscious then I’d expected (considering its close proximity to the desert) and absolutely brimming with wildlife, which is no easy feat in Zimbabwe, especially in the last few years when poaching has been rather strife.

We stayed at the self-catering camps both nights and they were more than fine, if not a little simple. When we win the lotto and come back we’ll definitely pick one of the 5* lodges...geeeez they looked divine!

My highlights here would be an almost eye-to-eye meet with a hyena during a night drive and a camp visiting family of Pumbas!!!

Expect to see a lot of elephants and lots of birds, along with most big game and enjoy gorgeous walks to watering holes. All in all, ideally located and just grand.
Quality of wildlife
Crowdedness*
Quality of lodging
Lodging not used
Overall rating
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
12 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Feb 10, 2015   |   Visited: May 2014.
Hwange is particularly renowned for its great elephant herds. Extended family groups of close to a hundred elephant can be found. An excellent chance to observe interaction between the generations and peers. This is the place to see Elephant, and hundreds of them!! Enormous herds flow to the different water holes created in the area. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
12 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Jul 21, 2014   |   Visited: Apr 2014.
Visited Hwange on the heels of my visit to Victoria Falls. I was pleasantly surprised with this park and really loved the lodging there. It wasn't high season for me, so they weren't over-crowded. I did a self-drive safari and found it fairly easy. I would recommend going with a group. I went with three other friends and felt safe. read more

I saw

Elephant
Giraffe
Zebra
Baboon
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
11 people gave this review kudus.

(4/5 stars) Written on: Feb 08, 2014   |   Visited: Oct 2011.
Driving into Hwange National Park for the first time, I didn't really know what to make of it. The park was virtually devoid of any and all tourists, and this was made more apparent when my small party pulled into Sukumi Tree Lodge and we ended up being the only guests at the resort for three days. The apparent desolation aside, we headed into the park at the crack... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
12 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Jan 24, 2014   |   Visited: Dec 2013.
One of the nice things about going on safaris is that it appeals to all ages. Young children, teenagers, parents and grandparents can all have fun doing something together.

Last December, my extended family and I spent two nights at Hwange National Park. The age range of our group was from 7 to 72, and we all had a wonderful time. We stayed at Main Camp. The ch... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
11 people gave this review kudus.

Safari tour packages (40)   See all tour packages

Change currency:
This is a review for:
Hwange National Park
Enlarge map to see all parks and current weather
Quality of wildlife

Crowdedness*

Quality of lodging

Overall rating

See all 5 reviews

Laurapattara also reviewed

Laurapattara shared a highlight

Laurapattara

Stop by the spotted dog santcuary!!

Laurapattara saw these animals

African buffalo
African buffalo
Elephant
Elephant
Impala
Impala
Expand/Reduce animals

Laurapattara did these activities

Bird watching
Bird watching
Bush walks
Bush walks
Game drives
Game drives
Expand/Reduce activities
Shortlisted tour operators You can shortlist up to
5 tour operators