Hwange National Park


  5 reviews
This review has been seen 458 times.
Reviewed by:
  • Safari enthusiast Safari enthusiast
  • Safari guru Safari guru

Birds of a feather in Hwange National Park

Written on: February 08, 2014   |   I visited in October 2011 Driving into Hwange National Park for the first time, I didn't really know what to make of it. The park was virtually devoid of any and all tourists, and this was made more apparent when my small party pulled into Sukumi Tree Lodge and we ended up being the only guests at the resort for three days. The apparent desolation aside, we headed into the park at the crack of dawn each day and found impressively large herds of elephant, zebra, impala, giraffe and the more rare gemsbok. But nothing could have prepared us for the expansive variety of 'fauna in flight'! There were several congregations of Steppe Eagles, literally hundreds! Other stars of the show included the Burchell's sandgrouse, the Red-billed spurfowl, and Rufous-naped lark. Hwange National Park is a bird lover's paradise.

It's also important to note that there are several private areas within the park, designated for those staying at an number of the nearby exclusive resorts. However, if you're here in October, you're bound to find it relatively empty!
Quality of wildlife
Crowdedness*
Quality of lodging
Overall rating
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
12 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(5/5 stars) Written on: Feb 10, 2015   |   Visited: May 2014.
Hwange is particularly renowned for its great elephant herds. Extended family groups of close to a hundred elephant can be found. An excellent chance to observe interaction between the generations and peers. This is the place to see Elephant, and hundreds of them!! Enormous herds flow to the different water holes created in the area. read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
12 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Jul 21, 2014   |   Visited: Apr 2014.
Visited Hwange on the heels of my visit to Victoria Falls. I was pleasantly surprised with this park and really loved the lodging there. It wasn't high season for me, so they weren't over-crowded. I did a self-drive safari and found it fairly easy. I would recommend going with a group. I went with three other friends and felt safe. read more

I saw

Elephant
Giraffe
Zebra
Baboon
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
11 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:

(4/5 stars) Written on: Jan 24, 2014   |   Visited: Dec 2013.
One of the nice things about going on safaris is that it appeals to all ages. Young children, teenagers, parents and grandparents can all have fun doing something together.

Last December, my extended family and I spent two nights at Hwange National Park. The age range of our group was from 7 to 72, and we all had a wonderful time. We stayed at Main Camp. The ch... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
11 people gave this review kudus.
Reviewed by:
** Safari guru **

(4/5 stars) Written on: May 17, 2013   |   Visited: Mar 2010.
Hwange’s a brilliant park located not too far from Victoria Falls making it the ideal game park should you wish to get the best of Africa in one short visit. This was the first ever game park I visited, before returning to Africa to work for three years.

We’d originally planned to do a day trip here but were advised against it because the roads from Vic Falls w... read more
Like this review? Go on, give it a kudu!
 
12 people gave this review kudus.

Safari tour packages (40)   See all tour packages

Change currency:
This is a review for:
Hwange National Park
Enlarge map to see all parks and current weather
Quality of wildlife

Crowdedness*

Quality of lodging

Overall rating

See all 5 reviews

UrbanXenophile also reviewed

UrbanXenophile shared a highlight

UrbanXenophile

Bring binoculars and make sure your camera is equipped with a telephoto lens .

UrbanXenophile saw these animals

Bat-eared fox
Bat-eared fox
Dik dik
Dik dik
Mongoose
Mongoose
Expand/Reduce animals

UrbanXenophile did these activities

Bird watching
Bird watching
Photography
Photography
Shortlisted tour operators You can shortlist up to
5 tour operators